vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Removing Unknown Location in WOL (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=73159)

T3MEDIA 12-21-2004 11:03 AM

Removing Unknown Location in WOL
 
Is there a way to only show what vb is aware of in Who's online?

I dont care if a user is in a area that is Unknown and really prefer it not be there.

ANY ideas what so ever on this?

THANKS!

Natch 12-21-2004 11:05 AM

You do know that it's only shown to Admin's with the approriate permissions: you can change your own admin Permissions to not permit yourself to see it...

T3MEDIA 12-21-2004 11:08 AM

no... I mean (thanks for the fast reply btw) I want everyone to see it. that isnt a issue. I want the UNKNOWN locations not to show up. If a user is in a unknown location just keep where they were last.

See what happens is a user might be in chat. then goto a page I made that is unknown... I rather it simply keep where they were last. and ignore unknown locations.

Paul M 12-21-2004 02:22 PM

You could add the location to your WOL, or alter the "Unknown" message.

T3MEDIA 12-21-2004 03:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M
You could add the location to your WOL, or alter the "Unknown" message.

ok... lets do that. How would you add the location to WOL?

ericgtr 12-21-2004 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T3MEDIA
ok... lets do that. How would you add the location to WOL?

Here you go.. https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=60019

T3MEDIA 12-21-2004 04:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ericgtr

That wasnt funny.

I need a way for it to work with WHO'S online. That shows users online on anypage. two differnt things.

MeTaL_oRgY 12-21-2004 04:11 PM

hmmm... open online.php and search:
Code:

      // Let's show the admin the location but put something false up for everyone else..
      if ($bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 6) {
        $userinfo[location] = htmlspecialchars(stripslashes(replacesession($userinfo[location])));
        $userinfo[where] = "<b>Unknown Location:</b> <a href=\"$userinfo[location]\">$userinfo[location]</a>";
      } else {
        // We were unable to parse the location
        $userinfo[where] = "$bbtitle <a href='index.php?s=$session[sessionhash]'>Main Index</a>";
      }
  }

I'm not the better person for this, but I'm sure that must be modified. Have you tried removing this line:
Code:

        $userinfo[where] = "<b>Unknown Location:</b> <a href=\"$userinfo[location]\">$userinfo[location]</a>";

T3MEDIA 12-21-2004 04:16 PM

ya think its a hack then... darn I was hoping I could template it out some how...
the two unknow locations are the same.... they never change...
/forums/pull.php?do=footer this is my footer... its like the bottom menu. would be nice if it said using members menu
/forums/vbindex.php? (sometimes the ? sint there) is my main page. would be nice if it could say main page.

This code removal... that is the ticket just to remove unknown locations period?

I would use that if I have no alternative.

MeTaL_oRgY 12-21-2004 04:28 PM

yeah, it would remove the unknown locations for sure.. I've been trying to do this and can't find a solution.. not that I'm such a huge hacker.. but I'm learning.. lol... you should wait for someone capable of doing this... that's the only advice I can give you.. sorry I couldn't be of more help.

T3MEDIA 12-21-2004 04:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MeTaL_oRgY
yeah, it would remove the unknown locations for sure.. I've been trying to do this and can't find a solution.. not that I'm such a huge hacker.. but I'm learning.. lol... you should wait for someone capable of doing this... that's the only advice I can give you.. sorry I couldn't be of more help.

Hey man... you tried. Thank you regardless.

Paul M 12-21-2004 05:37 PM

Adding anything to the WOL involves making two edits to functions_online.php ;

Find ;

Code:

        case 'bugs.php':
                $userinfo['activity'] = 'bugs';
                break;

and below it add ;

Code:

        case 'xxxxx.php':
                $userinfo['activity'] = 'xxxxx';
                break;

Then find ;

Code:

                case 'modcplogin':
                        $userinfo['action'] = $vbphrase['moderator_control_panel_login'];
                        break;

and below it add ;

Code:

                case 'xxxxx':
                        $userinfo['action'] = " zzzzz zzzzz zzzzz";
                        break;

Where "xxxxx.php" is the php script file name and "zzzzz zzzzz zzzzz" is the description you want to appear in the WOL when a person is using that particular script.

:)

T3MEDIA 12-21-2004 09:42 PM

And.... what do I do again? I knotice the lingo is so out there... but I love you guys cuz you try to help. that is cool.

So the zzzzz is where I ummm put like something? like user is busy ect?

T3MEDIA 12-21-2004 09:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M
Adding anything to the WOL involves making two edits to functions_online.php ;

Find ;

Code:

        case 'bugs.php':
                $userinfo['activity'] = 'bugs';
                break;

and below it add ;

Code:

        case 'xxxxx.php':
                $userinfo['activity'] = 'xxxxx';
                break;

Then find ;

Code:

                case 'modcplogin':
                        $userinfo['action'] = $vbphrase['moderator_control_panel_login'];
                        break;

and below it add ;

Code:

                case 'xxxxx':
                        $userinfo['action'] = " zzzzz zzzzz zzzzz";
                        break;

Where "xxxxx.php" is the php script file name and "zzzzz zzzzz zzzzz" is the description you want to appear in the WOL when a person is using that particular script.

:)

Ohhh I see... your saying to place the php I am messing with into this file with a descript?

watch after I am done your like... um no. lol.

T3MEDIA 12-21-2004 10:35 PM

What version you got? Im 3.0.3 i dont see this code. Darn.


Quote:

Originally Posted by MeTaL_oRgY
hmmm... open online.php and search:
Code:

      // Let's show the admin the location but put something false up for everyone else..
      if ($bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 6) {
        $userinfo[location] = htmlspecialchars(stripslashes(replacesession($userinfo[location])));
        $userinfo[where] = "<b>Unknown Location:</b> <a href=\"$userinfo[location]\">$userinfo[location]</a>";
      } else {
        // We were unable to parse the location
        $userinfo[where] = "$bbtitle <a href='index.php?s=$session[sessionhash]'>Main Index</a>";
      }
  }

I'm not the better person for this, but I'm sure that must be modified. Have you tried removing this line:
Code:

        $userinfo[where] = "<b>Unknown Location:</b> <a href=\"$userinfo[location]\">$userinfo[location]</a>";


MeTaL_oRgY 12-21-2004 11:09 PM

oh.. sorry.. I'm at vB 2.3.5 .... but try opening online.php and search for the word "Unknown".. you'll find what you are looking for there ;)

Paul M 12-22-2004 12:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T3MEDIA
And.... what do I do again? I knotice the lingo is so out there... but I love you guys cuz you try to help. that is cool.

So the zzzzz is where I ummm put like something? like user is busy ect?

If you don't understand my post (which is fairly basic hacking) then you probably shouldn't be attempting to change or hack anything in vB - instead, find someone who does understand. :)

T3MEDIA 12-22-2004 06:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M
If you don't understand my post (which is fairly basic hacking) then you probably shouldn't be attempting to change or hack anything in vB - instead, find someone who does understand. :)

Yeah but you didnt not state if the mod the other gentleman did works with what your saying to do. you also say if you mod one you should mod the other. so I am un sure if this is cuppled with what you said or not.

That makes sense no?

Paul M 12-22-2004 11:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T3MEDIA
Yeah but you didnt not state if the mod the other gentleman did works with what your saying to do. you also say if you mod one you should mod the other. so I am un sure if this is cuppled with what you said or not.

That makes sense no?

Errr, no, it doesn't make much sense to me. I'll leave you in the hands of others I think. :)

vBTotal 05-31-2005 02:40 PM

I am a little late, but I just did this for my site :) thanks


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01147 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,773KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (12)bbcode_code_printable
  • (9)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (20)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete