vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Blank showthread.php, anyone a wiz on this? (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=67983)

vajb 08-04-2004 10:38 AM

Blank showthread.php, anyone a wiz on this?
 
Started setting up my forum, got it to work the way I wanted (to start with) except for one thing, showthread.php ends up all white, so I suppose I've done a doodie in there somewhere. Since this is my first confrontation with vb3 I'm not familiar with it yet.

Think anyone can spot the error? Probably something small & stupid :/

v3Articles, v3Arcade, Statistics hacks installed.

http://www.vajb.se/forums
http://www.vajb.se/forums/showthread.php?t=1

Attaching showthread.php / functions_showthread.php.

[edit]

http://vajb.se/forums/announcement.php?f=2 - didn't work too well either :(

Colin F 08-04-2004 10:52 AM

Well you get a valid error message if the thread isn't around. (t=88)
I also get a foreach error on line 653 of the functions_showthread file, which when I check in your file is something from the arcade

I think it's missing the $awards variable, but I see a global $awards, so let's have a look at the showthread file as well...

OK, it's not in the showthread file either. I don't know the arcade hack that well.
Go through the instructions again and check if you did everything the way it says...

vajb 08-04-2004 10:57 AM

Okay, so if VB3 misses a variable it just doesn't ignore that "part" but blanks out the page instead?

I'll browse through the arcade straigth away.

Colin F 08-04-2004 11:05 AM

it doesn't have anything to do with vBulletin but rather with PHP

you inserted code which asked it to do something with a variable. Because it can't find that variable (I'm assuming that's the problem) it displays an error.

vajb 08-04-2004 11:09 AM

Well the only thing that doesn't seem right straight away would be that it instructs me to find;

// ###################### Start getreputationimage #######################

and Add this Above it;

Code:

if ($arcadegeneral['awardson']==1) {
        // declares the arcade image directory
        $stylevar['imgdir_arcade'] = "images/arcade";
        $arcade_result = $DB_site->query("SELECT shortname,title,gamesettings,highscorerid,highscore,miniimage,gameid FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "games ");
        while ($arcade = $DB_site->fetch_array($arcade_result)){
                if (($arcade[gamesettings] & $_GAMESCHECK['showaward'])){
                        $awards[$arcade[shortname]]['userid'] = $arcade['highscorerid'];
                        $awards[$arcade[shortname]]['gametitle'] = $arcade['title'];
                        $awards[$arcade[shortname]]['icon'] = $arcade['miniimage'];
                        $awards[$arcade[shortname]]['highscore'] = $arcade['highscore'];
                        $awards[$arcade[shortname]]['gameid'] = $arcade['gameid'];
                }
        }
}

----------------------------

Though, there is no get reputation image line, but - there is something i thought was similar, which made me add it before that part instead.
Code:

                // get reputation
                if ($vboptions['reputationenable'])
                {
                        fetch_reputation_image($post, $checkperms["$post[userid]"]);
                        $show['reputation'] = true;
                }
                else
                {
                        $show['reputation'] = false;
                }

-----------------------------

This part did not exist in functions_showthread either:

Code:

// sorts through all the stuff to return the postbit template
Where you should place this below it:
Code:

        // arcade
        global $awards,$arcadegeneral;

So i ended up placing it "here" instead:
Code:

        // arcade
        global $awards,$arcadegeneral;
        // do alternate postbit types


Colin F 08-04-2004 11:13 AM

I found the second part.

try looking for this:
Code:

// ###################### Start getpostbit #######################
function construct_postbit($post, $maintemplatename = 'postbit', $alternate = '')
{
        // sorts through all the stuff to return the postbit template

and if you don't find exactly that, try looking for parts of it. It should be around line 85

I coudn't find the first part in the functions_showthread file either...

vajb 08-04-2004 11:19 AM

Sorted the secondpart, dunno how I could've missed it to be honest, still no result from trying to look at threads/announcements, hopeless.

Hmm, tried replacing showthread and includes/functions_showthread with the "original" ones from the vb package, still no result, hence the error is not in there.

This might be the spot for me to express a loud Blah!

Colin F 08-04-2004 11:26 AM

:)

Once again, try going through the whole instructions...

vajb 08-04-2004 11:41 AM

Already did, think I'll just to the whole install procedure over again in a couple of hours when I get back, something lost track somewhere. Did follow the instructions for the arcade, and the article/ statistics weren't complicated nor deep enough to cause problems i reckon.

I normally just code my own stuff, a cs-gamingleague for a few friends, getting into someone elses code is just the worst thing :)

Xenon 08-04-2004 04:05 PM

vajb: I have deleted the files from your first post.
Our board rules do not allow to upload full vb files.

Just so you know of next time.

vajb 08-04-2004 04:08 PM

Ouch, very sorry, didn't think that far, kind of obvious rule, point taken :)

vajb 08-04-2004 06:05 PM

Reinstalled from scratch and remade all changes for the arcade, eventually the error occured again so I reuploaded an unmodified file, when I reuploaded global.php the showthread page worked fine again.

==========
global.php
==========

Find:
__________________________________________________ ______________________________ ___________

echo "End call of global.php: $aftertime\n";
echo "\n<hr />\n\n";
}

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

Below this, add:
__________________________________________________ ______________________________ ___________

// Creates general settings for the Arcade
$arcadegeneral = convert_bits_to_array($arcadesettings,$_ARCADE);
$arcadeuser = convert_bits_to_array($bbuserinfo['arcadesettings'],$_ARCADEUSER);
$arcadepermissions = convert_bits_to_array($permissions['arcadepermissions'],$_BITFIELD['usergroup']['arcadepermissions']);

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
==============
Save and Close
==============

So its something in there in global.php that my forum just doesnt like (unmodified except for this install of the arcade)


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01279 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,747KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (12)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete