vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Move Thread Presets (New Version - Templates Only) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=66319)

Michael Morris 06-18-2004 10:00 PM

Move Thread Presets (New Version - Templates Only)
 
Moving threads is something we all do on a somewhat regular to fairly regular basis. The existing move system is very flexiable, but if you find yourself making repeated moves to the same forum it can become tedious, especially if you are on dialup.

This template mod (version 1.0 was a hack) takes some of the pain out of the repetition by allowing you make the thread move with a single mouse click from the thread presets.

This is a very simple modification. It only requires 3 modifications spread over 2 templates.

The main advantage of version 2.0 over version 1.1 is that no code modifications are necessary. This makes things less of a pain during upgrades. And as a bonus it doesn't void your support plan from Jelsoft.

Version 2.01 - bug fix.

EDIT: You can also make a preset that copies threads with this hack if you specify $_POST['method'] = 'copy'; instead of 'move' or 'movered'

Dean C 06-19-2004 09:51 PM

You forgot to add your attachment and instructions :)

Chris Gwynne 06-19-2004 09:52 PM

Nice for you to include it. :)

Floris 06-19-2004 10:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris Gwynne
Nice for you to include it. :)

I clicked install :D

SnowBot 06-19-2004 11:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael_Morris
- it's not really all *that* .

hehe this is true :)

Michael Morris 06-20-2004 03:26 AM

I'm trying, but the server keeps timing out anytime I try to attach the file or edit the first post.

Michael Morris 06-20-2004 03:38 AM

Ok I figured it out. You see, I drive a truck for a living and usually I access the net through WIFI or my cell phone. However, this weekend I'm on my home's LAN, and the router has a glitch blocking large HTML sends I never have figured out. Instead I dodge the issue by hooking the computer straight into the DSL modem when I need to send files. Sorry for the confusion.

Yahhoon23 06-20-2004 10:41 AM

Just one thing.

I use a recycle bin or trash area, so by installing this hack and having the new option Move Thread to Bin, how can I make it default so Move Thread Without Redirect is a default preset along with the Recycle Bin Forum that will be a preset default?

Dean C 06-20-2004 11:18 AM

Thankyou for sharing your work with the community :)

Michael Morris 06-20-2004 11:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Yahhoon23
Just one thing.

I use a recycle bin or trash area, so by installing this hack and having the new option Move Thread to Bin, how can I make it default so Move Thread Without Redirect is a default preset along with the Recycle Bin Forum that will be a preset default?

Add this line in the if statement directly after the forum id of your recycle bin.

Code:

$_POST['method'] = 'move';
Hence the whole if statement should read something like this...

Code:

if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'archive')
{
 $_POST['do'] = 'domovethread';
 $_POST['forumid'] = '52';
 $_POST['method'] = 'move';
}

Thanks for pointing this out. I don't necessarily want redirects either but I didn't bother to check to see whether or not they were being left.

Yahhoon23 06-20-2004 12:03 PM

Thanks alot. Worked like a champ.

This is one of those hacks that might not seem like a major deal, but it actually does save a tad bit of bandwidth of reloading the move thread page for people with alot of threads to move.

And also, well just makes it alot easier for my lazy people :)

Thanks again.

Michael Morris 06-20-2004 12:25 PM

NP, and thanks for pointing it out. Updated the attachment to reflect the information we just discussed.

Yahhoon23 06-20-2004 12:37 PM

Yeah, just a tidbit. I am using Gold 3.0.0 and it works fine on here.

sketch42 06-20-2004 12:44 PM

im using 3.0.1 wo0t im gettin lazier and lazier by the min :lick:

Intex 06-21-2004 08:33 AM

Can you list what additional options this provides. Thx.



Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael_Morris
I believe this is stable - it's not really all *that* complicated. This hack creates some preset moves for your mods.

Edit: Finally figured out why I couldn't get the upload to work. Router problems.

Edit2: Added additional information so you can choose whether or not to leave behind a thread redirect in the preset.

Edit3: I'm running RC4 - I'm pretty sure it will function in later releases as well since most of the patches had nothing to do with postings.php to my limited knowledge.


Erwin 06-21-2004 10:05 AM

Simple, yet effective. :) Thanks a lot.

pie 06-21-2004 11:45 AM

Any chance of a screenshot, i dont understand exactly what this does?

Yahhoon23 06-21-2004 11:51 AM

It adds this option to your thread tools in threads.

It's basically like a one-time click type deal.

Normally, when you click the other option "Move Thread" you have to pick the forum you want it to be moved to, and if you want to copy it, or move it, or move it without redirect.

The way I have it set up is we move all garbage posts into a Recycle Bin. So with this, I click that option, and with one click, it's moved into the forum i chose (Bin) automatically without a redirect.

Boofo 06-21-2004 11:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by floris
I clicked install :D

Then you must have clicked uninstall, too. ;)

Michael Morris 06-22-2004 04:14 PM

Thanks all for the support. I'm still struggling to learn MySQL and PHP better - would anyone know of any good tutorial sites for this? I've downloaded the respective manuals and I'm slowly getting back up to speed - I haven't done extensive coding since working with C=64 BASIC - programming conventions sure have changed.

SamirDarji 08-31-2004 02:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael Morris
...C=64 BASIC...

The C=64 ruled! www.php.net is where I started learning about php. If you have any experience in other languages such as C or Java, php is pretty easy to pick up. Coming from basic will require a little adjustment, but not too much. Good luck!

Revan 09-25-2004 04:28 PM

[high]* Revan has it installed.
[/high]
[high]* Revan also found an error :)
[/high]

Code:

<div><label for="ao_dbump"><input type="radio" name="do" id="ao_archive" value="archive" />$vbphrase[archiveit]</label></div>
Should obviously be
Code:

<div><label for="ao_archive"><input type="radio" name="do" id="ao_archive" value="archive" />$vbphrase[archiveit]</label></div>
;)
It puzzled me for ages, but it wasn't until now I could actually be bothered to research it :)

Michael Morris 10-28-2004 12:09 PM

I'm proud to announce I've upgraded this hack to version 2.0. It's now even EASIER to install and maintain because it no longer has a code modification component - it works entirely through templates.

In case you missed the update email here are the uprgrade instructions. Using the original instructions, remove the changes made to postings.php (They won't be needed). Then, using the new instructions, install the changes outlined for the PHPINCLUDE_START template. You don't need to make any changes to SHOWTHREAD if you're upgrading.

Revan 11-02-2004 11:34 AM

This hack still got the bug v1 had....
If I use "ao_mvt" as the instructions indicate, the radio selection goes to "Move/Copy Thread".
I had to use the ao_archive as I did with v1.....

Michael Morris 11-02-2004 09:28 PM

Oops.. Sorry, let me correct dat.

mp3dreaming 01-21-2005 04:04 PM

Thanks Micheal very nice! I'm having a small problem making this the default choice in the threadadmin_movethread area. It stays at copy/move even though I put checked="checked" in correct area. What should the code be in there? Thanks for any help!

Ahh I got it, Thanks anyway :)

Noonster 06-30-2005 04:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael Morris
Add this line in the if statement directly after the forum id of your recycle bin.

Code:

$_POST['method'] = 'move';
Hence the whole if statement should read something like this...

Code:

if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'archive')
{
 $_POST['do'] = 'domovethread';
 $_POST['forumid'] = '52';
 $_POST['method'] = 'move';
}

Thanks for pointing this out. I don't necessarily want redirects either but I didn't bother to check to see whether or not they were being left.

Thanks for making this great hack... :D

Following on from the above... I have the same (IE a trash can)... However instead of moving the thread there I want the thread to be deleted and then moved all in that one click... The reason for this is that i want a reason to be left as to why its been deleted.

EXAMPLE
- Unwanted thread
- Select move (delete) to Trash Can
- Next page, you enter reason and leave it as soft delete and click submit
- THEN it kicks in and moves it to the trash, without leaving redirect (<-- Just like yours does now)

Is this possible or am i trying to make it work to hard??
- Your help on this would be very much appreciated.

Cheers
Daz ;)

derekivey 09-30-2005 09:44 PM

Does this work with vB 3.5?

danrak 11-25-2005 10:20 PM

Any updates on this for vb3.5?

brvheart 01-30-2006 05:59 PM

3.5 would be great :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01149 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,797KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_code_printable
  • (7)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (30)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete