vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Even better spider archive? (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=66083)

krohnathlonman 06-11-2004 10:00 PM

Even better spider archive?
 
in archive/index.php go down around line 189....

PHP Code:

          echo "<div id=\"content\">\n<ol start=\"$start\" id=\"thread\">\n";
          while (
$thread $DB_site->fetch_array($threads))
          {
          
$bah                         str_replace(" ""_"$thread[title]);
          
             echo 
"\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid]$bah.html\" d=\"$thread[lastpost]\">$thread[title]</a></li>\n";
          }
          echo 
"</ol>\n</div>\n"

Here's this quick mod in action: http://www.iamnotageek.com/archive/index.php/f-48.html

basically it puts the Thread title into the URL which in my testing seems to give better search rankings than the URL without the name of the topic in it.

Obviously your mileage may vary..... THis is NOT to start a debate on search placements.

Kwak 06-12-2004 12:05 AM

*Clicks Install.
Thanks mate.

krohnathlonman 06-12-2004 12:10 AM

I'm planning some more archive mods :) My article system will be seeing a variation of this.

The biggest thing I'm working on with it is a uhhh.... Different way of reading threads. Basically it'll mass replace words. It's going to be an addon for humorous reading. Like say everywhere it says computer could be replaced with pie... Of course for my site I'm not going to be using mild words.... It'll have NO affect on the DB, it'll be done completely in PHP.

Kwak 06-12-2004 12:18 AM

Looking forward to it.
You are working on an article mod for vB?? :cool:

krohnathlonman 06-12-2004 12:20 AM

oh, you haven't seen the article system? I had a public beta for a couple weeks and then took the download down....

http://iamnotageek.com/articles.php

ChuanSE 06-12-2004 08:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by krohnathlonman
in archive/index.php go down around line 189....

PHP Code:

          echo "<div id=\"content\">\n<ol start=\"$start\" id=\"thread\">\n";
          while (
$thread $DB_site->fetch_array($threads))
          {
          
$bah                         str_replace(" ""_"$thread[title]);
          
             echo 
"\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid]$bah.html\" d=\"$thread[lastpost]\">$thread[title]</a></li>\n";
          }
          echo 
"</ol>\n</div>\n"

Here's this quick mod in action: http://www.iamnotageek.com/archive/index.php/f-48.html

basically it puts the Thread title into the URL which in my testing seems to give better search rankings than the URL without the name of the topic in it.

Obviously your mileage may vary..... THis is NOT to start a debate on search placements.

What should i exactly do with this code?
it's interfearing with the [you] hack :(

PHP Code:

cho "<div id=\"content\">\n<ol start=\"$start\" id=\"thread\">\n";
        while (
$thread $DB_site->fetch_array($threads))
        {
            
$thread['title'] = preg_replace('/\[you\]/i'$bbuserinfo['username'], $thread['title']);
            echo 
"\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid].html\" d=\"$thread[lastpost]\">$thread[title]</a></li>\n";
        }
        echo 
"</ol>\n</div>\n"


Ian Montgomerie 06-12-2004 09:26 PM

Checking your site, there is a bug if there is a "/" in the thread title.

ChuanSE 06-12-2004 10:18 PM

hmm, i meant that i couldn't add your hack because the [you] hack is also modded in that piece of orig vb code. Can you adapt your code together with it, so i can use your hack 2? :D

Would be great ;)

Osterling 06-13-2004 01:51 AM

With the code you provide.. what do I do with it? Sorry if that is a stupid question..

monstergamer 06-13-2004 04:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by exasko
With the code you provide.. what do I do with it? Sorry if that is a stupid question..

you replace this
PHP Code:

 echo '<div id="navbar">' $vboptions['bbtitle'] . "</div>\n<hr />\n";
 echo 
"<p class=\"largefont\" style=\"text-align: left\">$vbphrase[view_full_version]: <a href=\"$vboptions[bburl]/$vboptions[forumhome].php\">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></p>\n";
 echo 
"<div id=\"content\">\n";
 
print_archive_forum_list();
 echo 
"</div>\n"

with this

PHP Code:

 echo '<div id="navbar">' $vboptions['bbtitle'] . "</div>\n<hr />\n";
 echo 
"<p class=\"largefont\" style=\"text-align: left\">$vbphrase[view_full_version]: <a href=\"$vboptions[bburl]/$vboptions[forumhome].php\">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></p>\n";
 echo 
"<div id=\"content\">\n";
 
print_archive_forum_list();
 echo 
"</div>\n"


Smitty 06-13-2004 08:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ian Montgomerie
Checking your site, there is a bug if there is a "/" in the thread title.

Is this still a problem? I have a lot of threads with a / in the thread title.

Osterling 06-13-2004 08:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by monstergamer
you replace this
PHP Code:

 echo '<div id="navbar">' $vboptions['bbtitle'] . "</div>\n<hr />\n";
 echo 
"<p class=\"largefont\" style=\"text-align: left\">$vbphrase[view_full_version]: <a href=\"$vboptions[bburl]/$vboptions[forumhome].php\">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></p>\n";
 echo 
"<div id=\"content\">\n";
 
print_archive_forum_list();
 echo 
"</div>\n"

with this

PHP Code:

 echo '<div id="navbar">' $vboptions['bbtitle'] . "</div>\n<hr />\n";
 echo 
"<p class=\"largefont\" style=\"text-align: left\">$vbphrase[view_full_version]: <a href=\"$vboptions[bburl]/$vboptions[forumhome].php\">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></p>\n";
 echo 
"<div id=\"content\">\n";
 
print_archive_forum_list();
 echo 
"</div>\n"


isn't that the same code?

Osterling 06-13-2004 09:10 AM

let me shake your hand.. great hack!

monstergamer 06-13-2004 07:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by exasko
isn't that the same code?

LOL i was tierd last night

RichieBoy67 07-02-2004 06:40 PM

Is there any way to test this so I know if I did it corrrectly??

krohnathlonman 07-02-2004 06:48 PM

You mean other than the fact that the URLs will have the title in the address?

porschinho 07-17-2004 12:58 AM

i have a problem with this hack. in some cases if there is a ":" in the threadtitle, the link in the forumview will not be right.
example:

threadtitle: CPU: welche AMD64 Prozessoren machen 32Bit
generated link: t-8341cpu:_welche_AMD64_Prozessoren_machen_32Bit.htm l

but:

CD/DVD: DVD Brenner <---- this one works!

i think its only if there are exactly 3 or 4 characters before the ":" in the title. and i have many of them. ( HDD: FDD: WIN: LAN: WLAN: )

do you know the problem?

regards

michael

krohnathlonman 07-17-2004 01:16 AM

under this:
PHP Code:

$bah                         str_replace(" ""_"$thread[title]); 

Put
PHP Code:

$bah                         str_replace(":"""$thread[title]); 

I've also noticed the problem with -'s basically anthing that causes an error have it search and replace ;)

Smitty 07-17-2004 01:46 AM

It appears vB version 3.0.3 broke this. I wanted to try it out but it looks like archive/index.php has significantly changed. Am I missing something?

krohnathlonman 07-17-2004 01:56 AM

I haven't tried .3 yet..... I have too much tied into VB to make an upgrade simple!

porschinho 07-17-2004 09:04 AM

thank you, it works...

Smitty 07-17-2004 04:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by krohnathlonman
I haven't tried .3 yet..... I have too much tied into VB to make an upgrade simple!

let us know if you check out the upgrade. The archive/index.php file has significantly changed.

krohnathlonman 07-17-2004 04:53 PM

it'll probably be a while before I even think about doing an upgrade.... I'll have to wait till a low traffic point so I don't lose too much $$$ there's also an alternative to the built in /archive which I prefer using.

infiniterb 07-18-2004 11:28 PM

What is the alternative to the built in archive?

krohnathlonman 07-18-2004 11:42 PM

I didn't subscribe to the thread I found it in LOL search through my posts

porschinho 07-20-2004 07:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by krohnathlonman
under this:
PHP Code:

$bah                         str_replace(" ""_"$thread[title]); 

Put
PHP Code:

$bah                         str_replace(":"""$thread[title]); 

I've also noticed the problem with -'s basically anthing that causes an error have it search and replace ;)

there is a litte mistake in the code. there must be:
PHP Code:

$bah                         str_replace(":"""$bah); 

if you call the replace function the second time :) ... and the third ...and so on...

krohnathlonman 07-20-2004 08:29 PM

yeah LOL I was tired when I put that in

Mr. Brian 07-30-2004 08:41 PM

So what should we do actually?

TTG 07-30-2004 09:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr. Brian
So what should we do actually?


Good question .. seems like a good hack if we mere mortals could understand what to do with it :)

SaN-DeeP 07-30-2004 11:03 PM

Installed it. but 2 questions

1. Will this really help in increasing spiders ? or better spider visits etc. ?

2. Can we remove t-299, t-2220 appearing the thread URL ? in archive

Thnx for nice hack.

SaN-DeeP 08-05-2004 02:54 AM

Bump. I installed this hack 5 days back. and now google spider stopped visiting my archive ;)

any ideaz :)

SaN-DeeP 08-05-2004 07:09 PM

sorry had to uninstall this,. and moment it got uninstalled google started hogging in again.
I am bit confused on google archiving :S

sorry for uninstall.
but a very nice hack for a fresh board only :)

fiber1 08-07-2004 04:23 AM

Would be nice to try if we actually knew what to do.

With no disrespect! The instruction need to be updated with clearity.

Fiber

dethfire 08-10-2004 05:10 PM

a colon in a thread title breaks the script ex. (RE: cats and dogs), how can we fix that?

Mr. Brian 08-15-2004 02:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SaN-DeeP
sorry had to uninstall this,. and moment it got uninstalled google started hogging in again.
I am bit confused on google archiving :S

sorry for uninstall.
but a very nice hack for a fresh board only :)

I thought you might be interested with the Xenon's version.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...979#post542979

Simple to install and with full details provided. :)

hasan2k 10-29-2004 11:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by krohnathlonman
in archive/index.php go down around line 189....

PHP Code:

          echo "<div id=\"content\">\n<ol start=\"$start\" id=\"thread\">\n";
          while (
$thread $DB_site->fetch_array($threads))
          {
          
$bah                         str_replace(" ""_"$thread[title]);
          
             echo 
"\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid]$bah.html\" d=\"$thread[lastpost]\">$thread[title]</a></li>\n";
          }
          echo 
"</ol>\n</div>\n"

Here's this quick mod in action: http://www.iamnotageek.com/archive/index.php/f-48.html

basically it puts the Thread title into the URL which in my testing seems to give better search rankings than the URL without the name of the topic in it.

Obviously your mileage may vary..... THis is NOT to start a debate on search placements.


I tried using your code. It does not WORK. There is probably something you didnt instruct us on.

CostaRicaForums 11-07-2004 03:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr. Brian
I thought you might be interested with the Xenon's version.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...979#post542979

Simple to install and with full details provided. :)

Sorry, but I have to disagree.

I've seen the example posted in that thread and doesn?t seem to work. At least I don?t see the thread name in the URLs.

But this one, I installed in under 2 minutes, and worked great!

However, I made a couple of small modifications to it.

1- I changed the underscore for a dash, that from my SEO experience seems to work better, and also added a dash as shown below:

Instead of using:

= str_replace(" ", "_", $thread[title]);

I used

= str_replace(" ", "-", $thread[title]);

2- Instead of using:

echo "\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid]$bah.html\"

I used:

echo "\t<li><a href=\"t-$thread[threadid]-$bah.html\"

This way the outcome would be:

HTML Code:

http://www.yoursite.com/archive/index.php/t-18-whatever.html
Instead of:

HTML Code:

http://www.yoursite.com/archive/index.php/t-18whatever.html
Which I think is even better.

But anyway, I?m not a coder? I?m just an SEO and I?m sure this mod will give a big boost to my archive files.

BIG Kudos and clicking InStALL !!!

You can see it working at my
Costa Rica Forum?s archive.

Here?s also the example of the modified thread regarding Costa Rica Food. ( notice the URL in the Status Bar )

By the way... as you can see, even though the URLs of the threads are changed, the name of the forum in not affected by this cool mod... :ermm: which would be great. Any coder out there with a tip on how to make this? :rolleyes:

Thanks

IC-Games 12-11-2004 05:03 AM

Does anyone know exactly what we are supposed to do in this thread or do you need to belong to some secret club :D

The instructions are very unclear to beginners

version2 12-16-2004 03:29 PM

Unclear to beginners? Im no beginner and I still am wondering what to do with this code.

auveeb 12-17-2004 11:19 PM

What exactly am I supposed to do with the provided code?


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01504 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,878KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_html_printable
  • (13)bbcode_php_printable
  • (11)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete