vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Requests/Questions (Unpaid) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   Secure or not Secure thats my question (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=61925)

Mickie D 02-25-2004 10:20 PM

Secure or not Secure thats my question
 
is it possible to have a forum both HTTPS and HTTP

i know you can have it but can you have it without the privacy reports when you switch from one to the other ?

i get alot of privacy reports when i am not using https and that shows up all the images as being https

cheers i would like to have the option of either if possible

Regards
Mickie

NTLDR 02-26-2004 02:48 PM

Any item included via HTML on a HTTPS page that is on a HTTP URL will generate a warning if the user has selected for there browser to warn them.

Mickie D 02-26-2004 08:18 PM

ok then i was thinking this

making 2 sections of the forums like this

forum

forums

and editing the php file that calls the settings db and the style db calls

so it hard calls maybe settings and settings1 and style and style1
(settings1 and style1 are copies of settings and style from the DB)

now they are complete copies of each other apart from the fact that one has https and the other has http URLS

basicly i dont like all the privacy reports stopping my https and vice versa

anyway thats what i am after doing and if i had the time i would probably do it myself but i dont know if its a problem with vbulletin to run to copies even though they are the same forum ? and also i dont know which files and i am sure it will be lots of them aswell

Andreas 02-26-2004 08:37 PM

Hmm ...

What about replacing all hard-coded http:// in the PHP-Files & Templates with $protocol and then set $portocol at the beginning of global.php to either http:// or https:// depending on the value of getenv('SERVER_PORT')?
(And for the URLs in array vboptions too)
This way you would not have to duplicate anything but it should still have http or https only.

Mickie D 02-26-2004 10:12 PM

see i knew there was an easier way lol i can code a small amount of php and in my spare time i teach myself :)

i have seen a hack b4 that used the same server_port code

so help me out with this then please m8
PHP Code:

if getenv('SERVER_PORT' 80)
{
$secure http;
}
elseif 
getenv('SERVER_PORT' 443)
{
$secure https;


i done that off the top of me head will it be ok ?

Mickie D 02-27-2004 02:53 PM

ok after more attempts i came up with this (with help from another source aswell)

but i cant get it to work anyone have any ideas why i am getting parse errors ?

PHP Code:


// Mickies secure non secure hack
if getenv($_SERVER['SERVER_PORT'] = 80)
{
$secure 'http';
}
elseif 
getenv($_SERVER['SERVER_PORT'] = 443)
{
$secure 'https';



NTLDR 02-27-2004 03:00 PM

PHP Code:

if ($_SERVER['SERVER_PORT'] == 80) {
    
$secure 'http';
} elseif (
$_SERVER['SERVER_PORT'] == 443) {
    
$secure 'https';


Should do the trick. However there are probably very few, if any references to http://..... in the source and templates so a better option IMO would be to just change the value of the boards URL:

PHP Code:

if ($_SERVER['SERVER_PORT'] == 443) {
    
$vboptions['bburl'] = 'https://mydomain.com/forums';


Of course you'll still get errors for inline images in [IMG] code if there are on HTTP but thats unavoidable unless you disable it.

Mickie D 02-27-2004 05:06 PM

cheers m8 i will give that a try.

and try and get it working with the styles lol

thanks again

Mickie D 02-27-2004 05:18 PM

i was just thinking does the style take the vboptions if there is no hard coded http in the style settings ??

i.e it normally would look like

/images/misc/

if you get my drift ?

NTLDR 02-27-2004 06:32 PM

If its not a full URL, ie its /images/misc and not http://mydomain.com/images/misc then it will automaticlly use HTTPS.

Mickie D 02-28-2004 07:40 AM

PHP Code:

if ($_SERVER['SERVER_PORT'] == 80) { 
    
$vboptions['bburl'] = 'http://mydomain.com/forums'


i have my doman setup for https so vboptions is https://mydomain.com

so i changed the above code around

this is not working :(, it does not change the url as it still calls https and changes over to https when i just visit from http

i hope that makes sense ?

thanks again for your help

Regards
Mickie

NTLDR 02-28-2004 06:35 PM

Where have you added this code?

Mickie D 02-28-2004 11:29 PM

forums/global.php

i hope thats the right one lol

Andreas 02-29-2004 01:14 AM

Should be the right place - if you put it somewhere after

PHP Code:

require_once('./includes/init.php'); 

Otherweise init.php will unset $vboptions and then populate it with the values from the database.

Mickie D 02-29-2004 10:12 PM

ahhh i c i put it at the bloody top of the file thanks very much for your insight i will give it a try now :)

hopefully this is useful for others aswell as me :)

Mickie D 02-29-2004 11:19 PM

Brilliant this is almost complete :)

all i gotta do is sort out the navbar as that must be calling stuff not using the vboptions i think

thanks again its gr8 now you can switch between https or http with no privacy reports and just a padlock or no padlock

now i gotta work out how to port this into photopost and thats the whole site covered ;)

Regards
Mickie

Mickie D 02-29-2004 11:42 PM

Right the NavBar is being a right pain in the backside :(

i have gone through it and found all the hrefs are pointing to $vboptions[bburl]/etc/etc

and i am getting the MS popup to display non secure items :(

i checked all the src= and they are pointing to the $style whatever ?

and the links on the navbar when i am in https still show http ? but everywhere else on the site is fine ? .. can secure sites not use java ?

thanks for all the help people

Regards
Mickie

Andreas 02-29-2004 11:56 PM

@MickieD
Can you post the URL of your board? So I could check which elements (Images, etc.) cause problems.

Mickie D 03-01-2004 09:52 PM

cee we are moving server and its on my spare box (linux) at home waiting to be transfered but i know the only problem is the navbar

but i have looked at the navbar and they all seem to have vbulletinoptions for the links

but i did check the other navbar template and it has a $nav_url insert and i cannot find any reference to this anywhere ?

thanks again i cant move until i fix the ssl and i am not making much progress, but thanks for your help its much appreicated :)

Regards
Mickie

Mickie D 03-02-2004 09:55 PM

anyone got any ideas why my https wont work with the navbar ??

thanks in advance :)

Andreas 03-02-2004 10:00 PM

$nav_url is being used in function construct_navbits () in file includes/functions.php

I think i'll make a test setup to find out if there are problems with the navbar.

Mickie D 03-02-2004 10:07 PM

thanks very much kirbyDE thats really kind of you m8y

i want to install my forums by thursday so i am porting them tomoz and i will give you a link and you can see if you like on my setup but wont be until tomorrow

again thanks m8 i really need to try and get this sorted :)

Andreas 03-02-2004 10:17 PM

Hmm ... I just setup SSL for my Testboard and it seems to work - even without putting the bburl-replacement-code into global.php

I don't get security warnings.

Did you make any changes to the default style?

Mickie D 03-03-2004 07:49 AM

i have done quite a few bits to templates lol

let me add the default style as a new style and try it

if not then i give you link :)

Mickie D 03-03-2004 07:57 AM

i took out the hack you helped me create

and the bloody thing works ?

im a little lost as to how but it works completely ?

no privacy no errors ?

i dont understand it ?, but im happy it works though lol

thanks again for all your help


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01330 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,773KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_php_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (25)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete