vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Closed Poll thread title (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=52610)

noppid 05-04-2003 10:00 PM

Closed Poll thread title
 
A user requested that if a poll is closed the thread be preceeded by Closed Poll: instead of just Poll:.

Here's a few lines of code that did it for us. (see attachment )

All you have to do is insert a few lines of code to forumdisplay.php.

Good luck, hope it helps.

History:
  • 1.4
    Added closed poll functionality to search.php in showresult function.
  • 1.3
    Added field to poll table lookup.
    Added condition to show poll closed when timeout has occured.
    Elimiated HTML tags for bold since the default vB prefixes are not bold.
  • 1.2
    Removed HTML tag for font color.
  • 1.1
    Added condition to show poll closed if thread or poll is closed.
  • 1.0
    Initial release.

noppid 05-05-2003 01:49 PM

Here's a preview.

flup 05-05-2003 02:04 PM

Nice

Dean C 05-05-2003 03:04 PM

Good idea - i'm going to use this :)

- miSt

hayl 05-05-2003 07:29 PM

nice idea

all-the-vb 05-05-2003 08:24 PM

Nice :D

colicab-d 05-05-2003 10:42 PM

good idea

WEForums 05-05-2003 11:15 PM

...doesn't seem to do anything....strange.....

EDIT: Nevermind. It doesn't work when locking a poll (locking the entire thread, that is).

Boofo 05-06-2003 03:47 AM

Does this add a query for every poll in the forum? Or just the closed ones?

noppid 05-06-2003 04:21 AM

Quote:

Today at 12:47 AM Boofo said this in Post #9
Does this add a query for every poll in the forum? Or just the closed ones?
A query occurs for each thread with a poll attached that is going to be displayed to see if it is open or closed.

The guys that wrote vB are sharp, we're not dealing with "ALL" the posts in the forum when we do a display. We get the number of threads that is set in the admin panel displayed. So, if I'm reading this code correctly, a forum display of 15 threads occuring would yield - worst case senario if all 15 threads have polls - 15 additional queries per forumdisplay. This is usually about 3 or 4 from what I've seen. Boards with more polls may want to be aware of the over head though.


Thanks. That help?

Regards

noppid 05-06-2003 04:27 AM

Quote:

Yesterday at 08:15 PM WEForums said this in Post #8
...doesn't seem to do anything....strange.....

EDIT: Nevermind. It doesn't work when locking a poll (locking the entire thread, that is).

We do not have this issue. When we lock a thread with a closed poll, the closed poll tag still shows. Maybe you can show the block of code you edited so we can debug.

Regards

Boofo 05-06-2003 04:38 AM

Quote:

Today at 12:21 AM noppid said this in Post #10
A query occurs for each thread with a poll attached that is going to be displayed to see if it is open or closed.

The guys that wrote vB are sharp, we're not dealing with "ALL" the posts in the forum when we do a display. We get the number of threads that is set in the admin panel displayed. So, if I'm reading this code correctly, a forum display of 15 threads occuring would yield - worst case senario if all 15 threads have polls - 15 additional queries per forumdisplay. This is usually about 3 or 4 from what I've seen. Boards with more polls may want to be aware of the over head though.


Thanks. That help?

Regards

I have a forum that is just for polls. So all of the threads would have polls. Ouch. ;)

noppid 05-06-2003 06:53 PM

Quote:

Today at 01:38 AM Boofo said this in Post #12
I have a forum that is just for polls. So all of the threads would have polls. Ouch. ;)
When ya think about it in the terms of the amount of queries some pages have, IMHO 15 indexed queries is not really an ouch. I'd think most of the lookups would actually be cached after the first time it ran as well. If you have a way of benchmarking then perhaps a true measure of the overhead could be taken. I'm curious to know how effiecent a single field indexed lookup is or isn't.

Thanks for the reply.

Regards

Boofo 05-06-2003 06:59 PM

Your idea here might be a good thing to add to my Polls Start Date and Time hack. I could have it automatically do a Poll Closed when the poll is over. Could I save some queries doing it that way?

noppid 05-06-2003 07:03 PM

Unfortunatly I'm not familiar with the code you refer to, but I'd be glad to look at it. Perhaps we can create a tighter piece of code for the Poll closed hack.

Got a link? Can ya post the code snippet for the hack and where it goes in what form?

Thanks

Boofo 05-06-2003 07:32 PM

It's in my signature in this message. ;)

WEForums 05-06-2003 09:30 PM

Quote:

Today at 06:27 AM noppid said this in Post #11
We do not have this issue. When we lock a thread with a closed poll, the closed poll tag still shows. Maybe you can show the block of code you edited so we can debug.

Regards

I followed the instructions. I created a new thread, locked the entire thread, and get "Poll:" still.

Anyone else having this problem?

Locking the poll works, but not the thread.

Boofo 05-06-2003 09:46 PM

Does it say Closed Poll: before you close the thread?

noppid 05-06-2003 09:50 PM

If the poll is closed yes, they are seperate functions.

Boofo 05-06-2003 10:06 PM

Here is the link to my poll hack. Let me know if you think we can combine the two. ;)

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachmen...&postid=372862

Attrox 05-06-2003 11:16 PM

Cool addition, small, yet very useful. *clicks install*

Nice idea. :)

WEForums 05-06-2003 11:35 PM

Quote:

Yesterday at 11:46 PM Boofo said this in Post #18
Does it say Closed Poll: before you close the thread?
It only says "Closed Poll:" when the poll is closed via the moderator edit button. When closing the entire thread all that appears is "Poll:" like normal.

noppid 05-07-2003 03:09 AM

Quote:

Yesterday at 08:35 PM WEForums said this in Post #22
It only says "Closed Poll:" when the poll is closed via the moderator edit button. When closing the entire thread all that appears is "Poll:" like normal.
A new version 1.1 is posted with a new condition to show the poll closed if the thread is closed.

Thanks for the feedback.

Regards

noppid 05-07-2003 01:09 PM

Quote:

Yesterday at 07:06 PM Boofo said this in Post #20
Here is the link to my poll hack. Let me know if you think we can combine the two. ;)

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachmen...&postid=372862

I was toast last night and really couldn't see well enough to read your code. I'll look closer at it today.

Boofo 05-07-2003 01:11 PM

Quote:

Today at 09:09 AM noppid said this in Post #24
I was toast last night and really couldn't see well enough to read your code. I'll look closer at it today.
No problem. Just when you get some time. ;)

noppid 05-07-2003 02:37 PM

OK to this line you need to add the active column name.

PHP Code:

FROM:
  
$polldatetime $DB_site->query_first("SELECT dateline, timeout from poll where pollid = $thread[pollid];");

TO:
  
$polldatetime $DB_site->query_first("SELECT dateline, timeout,active from poll where pollid = $thread[pollid];"); 

That will enable you to do this conditional check and output or similar...

PHP Code:


if($polldatetime['active']==|| $thread[open]==0) {
    
$thread[typeprefix]="<b><font color=#567688>Closed Poll:</b></font> ";
}   
else
    
$thread[typeprefix]=$pollthreadprefix

Hope that helps.

Regards

Boofo 05-07-2003 04:40 PM

I almost have it. I am working on a small problem. How do I go about get the total votes on a poll. I can pull them out but they look like this:

3|||2|||3|||2|||4|||

Like that. How do I get them into a total?

noppid 05-07-2003 05:13 PM

You can use a foreach loop with an explode statement .

PHP Code:

$totalvotes=0;
$myvotes explode("|||",$votesstring);
foreach(
$myvotes as $v ) {
    
$totalvotes $totalvotes $v;


That should work though I didn't test it.


EDIT:
repaired code

Boofo 05-07-2003 05:24 PM

Just tried it. It gives me 0 as the total votes and there are 10. ;)

noppid 05-07-2003 05:30 PM

Does $votesstring exist for you? If not did you substitute you var name that contains the ||| delimited string?

Boofo 05-07-2003 05:33 PM

Here's my query:

$polldatetime = $DB_site->query_first("SELECT dateline,timeout,active,votes,voters from poll where pollid = $thread[pollid];");

noppid 05-07-2003 05:40 PM

Change $votesstring to $polldatetime['votes'] as below...

PHP Code:

$totalvotes=0;
$myvotes explode("|||",$polldatetime['votes']);
foreach(
$myvotes as $v ) {
    
$totalvotes $totalvotes $v;


EDIT:
repaired code

Boofo 05-07-2003 05:43 PM

I tried that just before you wrote this and now the count reads 1 vote. ;)

noppid 05-07-2003 05:50 PM

try

PHP Code:

 $totalvotes $totalvotes intval($v);


I don't have your code in place to test it for ya.

EDIT:
repaired code

Boofo 05-07-2003 05:56 PM

Still only shows 1. ;)

noppid 05-07-2003 06:00 PM

Dammit man, it's my fault!!! I left the $ off of the var...
Here ya go.
PHP Code:

$totalvotes=0;
$myvotes explode("|||",$polldatetime['votes']);
foreach(
$myvotes as $v ) {
    
$totalvotes $totalvotes $v;



Boofo 05-07-2003 06:03 PM

I put the $ on the variable when I tried it. It gave me an error until I did. ;)

noppid 05-07-2003 06:05 PM

Quote:

Today at 03:03 PM Boofo said this in Post #37
I put the $ on the variable when I tried it. It gave me an error until I did. ;)
I left the $ off of 2 vars
$polldatetime['votes']
and
$totalvotes

Boofo 05-07-2003 06:07 PM

Oh, ok. Now it works. You meant the $totalvotes variable. You also left it off of the polldatetime['votes'] the first time. LOL Great! Now it work fantastic. Do you want to look over everything now that I have it working to give me your honest opinion? I can pm it to you. ;)

noppid 05-07-2003 06:10 PM

If it's based on your existing code, from what I saw you should be fine.

I guess it's time to post an update to your hack.

I'd be glad to review it.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01380 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,835KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_php_printable
  • (10)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete