vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Remove Posting Redirection (like vB3) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=52098)

Brad 04-24-2003 10:00 PM

Remove Posting Redirection (like vB3)
 
Hack: Remove posting redirection.

By: Anime-loo

Current Version:
Pre Release: [high]1.2pr 1[/high]
Stable: [high]1.1[/high]

[high]What dose this do?[/high]

This hack will removed the redirection pages that apper after posting a reply/thread. Insted of seeing a "Thanks for posting, we are now sending you to..." message before a user is sent to their post, they are sent directly to it. On 56k ive noticed a big improvement in speed.

[high]Latest news:[/high]

12 - 26 - 2003:

Version 1.2 pre release 1 released, this version answers the request(s) of many that are using this hack. That is no redirection screens after editing a post or deleting it.

If you are using 1.1 you can upgrade to 1.2pr 1 via the second attachment in this post. At this time there is no install file for 1.2 pr 1, install 1.1 then upgrade.

[high]Modification info:[/high]

5 ([high]8 for 1.2 pr 1[/high]) file edits
(files: newreply.php, newthread.php, poll.php, editpost.php ([high]1.2 pr 1 only[/high]))
1 new template

Issues with other hacks: [high]READ BEFORE INSTALLING!![/high]

Xenon's Prevent Double Posting hack --

One extra code edit to newreply.php is required if you have this hack installed. [high][click here for the fix][/high]


Version History:
version 1.2 pr 1 update released!

-- Got rid of redirection after editing/deleting posts

([high]Un-tested, upgrade at own risk!![/high])

version 1.1 released! ([high]Stable[/high])

-- got rid of redirection page after posting poll
-- added custom template for redirection page if poll option is click on newthread/reply

version 1.0 released

-- Frist code release to public

alkatraz 04-25-2003 03:36 AM

will this affect the way vbulletin performs? Why would the developers add the posting redirection if it wasn't required somehow? plz let me know cuz i'd like to install this

romanticyao 04-25-2003 03:37 AM

Quote:

Today at 11:36 PM alkatraz said this in Post #2
will this affect the way vbulletin performs? Why would the developers add the posting redirection if it wasn't required somehow? plz let me know cuz i'd like to install this
same question...

Brad 04-25-2003 03:39 AM

Quote:

Why would the developers add the posting redirection if it wasn't required somehow?
Mostly to let the user know whats going on, and to pass some important info to the url.

I found a way of getting the url without the extra pageload (redirection).

I have it running on my board and the members are loving it. The only change im seeing in performance is a big speed up on the users end when it comes to posting. ;) :)

Koutaru 04-25-2003 03:48 AM

:) glad to see you got this working. I think I'm going to check it out

Kurayami 04-25-2003 06:07 AM

Interesting... I'm definitely giving this a try! *Whaps Install* :)

Erwin 04-25-2003 06:28 AM

I use a different version, but nice work getting the URL variable to be passed. :)

vB3 doesn't have redirection pages either. ;) It's not needed. I haven't had them for over a year with no problems.

Brad 04-25-2003 06:32 AM

Thanks Erwin, ive been trying to do this for awhile and never found a 'working' hack for it. If you dont mind can you pm me a link to your forums, i know its a private url you dont give out but ive been wanting to see it for ages cause it sounds like youve done alot of work there :).

Areku 04-25-2003 07:24 AM

Lovely!!!!!

/me licks install!!

Areku 04-25-2003 07:29 AM

Uh oh

I think I never hacked the redirection stuff, but I only got these in vb 2.2.0:

// redirect
if ($prevpost[visible]) {
$goto="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&postid=$postid#post$postid";
} else {
$goto="forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$forumid";
}
eval("standardredirect(\"".gettemplate("redirect_p ostthanks")."\",\"$goto\");");

AND

// redirect
if ($visible && !$returntowhere) {
$goto="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&postid=$postid#post$postid";
} else {
if ($returntowhere=="forumhome") {
$goto="index.php?s=$session[sessionhash]";
} elseif ($returntowhere=="thread") {
$goto="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&postid=$postid#post$postid";
} else {
$goto="forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$threadinfo[forumid]";
}
}
eval("standardredirect(\"".gettemplate("redirect_p ostthanks")."\",\"$goto\");");

1st is fine but second does not match...

ideas?

Brad 04-25-2003 07:38 AM

Use this for the second one:

PHP Code:

// redirect
if ($visible && !$returntowhere) {
$goto="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&postid=$postid&goto=newpost";
} else {
if (
$returntowhere=="forumhome") {
$goto="index.php?s=$session[sessionhash]";
} elseif (
$returntowhere=="thread") {
$goto="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&postid=$postid&goto=newpost";
} else {
$goto="forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$threadinfo[forumid]";
}
}
@
header ("Location: $goto")
exit; 


Areku 04-25-2003 08:20 AM

Tu!

Ps. Is it me or u missed a ; after the last header sentence?

Ihsahn 04-25-2003 08:27 AM

Very nice one ... congratz :)

[high]* Ihsahn clicks Install ![/high]

Tony G 04-25-2003 10:40 AM

Nice mod AL! Might use this one. :)

Zelda-King 04-25-2003 10:48 AM

How about applying this to editpost.php too (I know it has different code)?

Pady 04-25-2003 12:08 PM

great looking hack - i have always hated sitting around waiting for slow sites to load up the new page - good job anime-loo :D

jibious 04-25-2003 01:12 PM

maybe search.php as well? :)

if you can that is. it uses no // redirect code in the file but rather just the templates already created (same with editpost.php). which, i'm guessing, is the reason you didn't do this in the first place. :)

*installed*

PiotrasG 04-25-2003 04:20 PM

AWESOME hack, works with no problems

Brad 04-25-2003 05:10 PM

Quote:

Today at 05:20 AM Areku said this in Post #12
Tu!

Ps. Is it me or u missed a ; after the last header sentence?


Yea I did, sorry about that.


Zelda-King: I like to let the user know that the changes have been saved via the redirect, but ill look into it for you.

jibious: ill look into that to. :)

zajako 04-25-2003 06:52 PM

good work

Hobbes 04-26-2003 01:11 AM

great hack....only one problem i encountered....

this hack code interferes with Xenon's Prevent Double Posting hack found Here

any help? if needed, i'll post my code up:P

Brad 04-26-2003 02:44 AM

Xenon's Prevent Double Posting hack fix:

----------------------------
Open newreply.php
----------------------------

Find:

PHP Code:

if ($visible) {
            
$goto "showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&postid=" $lastpost['postid'] . "#post" $lastpost['postid'];
              } else {
            
$goto "forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$threadinfo[forumid]";
              }
              eval(
"standardredirect(\"".gettemplate("redirect_postthanks")."\",\"$goto\");");
              exit;     
      } 

Replace with:

PHP Code:

if ($visible) {
            
$goto "showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&goto=lastpost&threadid=$threadid";
              } else {
            
$goto "forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$threadinfo[forumid]";
              }
              @
header ("Location: $goto");
              exit;     
      } 

// Dev note - if user has double posted he had the last post in thread anyway. Showthread link was changed because of this.

Hobbes 04-26-2003 05:45 AM

THANKS!!!!!!!!

*dances*....awesome hack *clicks install becuz he forgot earlier* heh *dances*

alkatraz 04-26-2003 08:57 AM

Quote:

04-24-03 at 09:36 PM alkatraz said this in Post #2
will this affect the way vbulletin performs? Why would the developers add the posting redirection if it wasn't required somehow? plz let me know cuz i'd like to install this
Glad to hear it works!


Just tried installing it but my code is much different...

your code says to find:

[code]// redirect
if ($prevpost[visible]) {
$goto="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&postid=$postid#post$postid";
} else {
$goto="forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$forumid";
}
eval("standardredirect(\"".gettemplate("redirect_p ostthanks")."\",\"$goto\");");[/quote]

But My code looks like this:

Code:

// redirect
      if ($visible) {
        $goto="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&postid=$postid#post$postid";
      } else {
        $goto="forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$threadinfo[forumid]";
      }
      if ($closeopen) {
        if (!ismoderator($threadinfo[forumid],'canopenclose')) {
          $permissions=getpermissions($threadinfo[forumid]);
          if (!$permissions[canview] or !$permissions[canopenclose]) {
            show_nopermission();
          } else {
            $firstpostinfo=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT userid FROM post WHERE threadid='$threadid' ORDER BY dateline LIMIT 1");
            if ($bbuserinfo[userid]!=$firstpostinfo[userid]) {
              show_nopermission();
            }
          }
        }

        updateuserforum($threadinfo[forumid]);

        if ($threadinfo[open]) {
          $threadinfo[open]=0;
          $action='closed';
        } else {
          $threadinfo[open]=1;
          $action='opened';
        }

        $threadinfo[notes]="Thread $action by $bbuserinfo[username] on ".vbdate($dateformat." ".$timeformat,time()).". $threadinfo[notes]";
        $DB_site->query("UPDATE thread SET open=$threadinfo[open],notes='".addslashes($threadinfo[notes])."' WHERE threadid='$threadid'");

        eval("standardredirect(\"".gettemplate("redirect_openclose")."\",\"showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&threadid=$threadid\");");

I haven't done any mods that I can think of that would change the code in this area..?

Brad 04-26-2003 09:37 AM

Looks like you installed the open/close checkbox option for mods and admins.

At any rate the code block you gave me is incomplete so I cant give you a fix. Link me to the hack you have installed (so I can add it to the issues list and make a fix) or give me the compleate block (from // redirect to where redirect_postthanks is evaled) and ill provide you with a fix.

MindTrix 04-26-2003 02:29 PM

**claps hands** amazing :> I h8 that loading page (cause i got 56k) so sometimes ur starin at it for agessss.

Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuu

**clicks install loadsss of times :p **

gwhooooey 04-26-2003 08:47 PM

You wouldn't have to edit anything else if you're using quick reply would you?

Brad 04-26-2003 11:02 PM

Nope, the hack works perfectly with the quick reply box.

MetaRidley 04-27-2003 12:15 AM

I'm having problems, both newreply and newthread are giving parse errors. Maybe it's related to that missing semicolon?
Edit: Figured it out.

Alien 04-27-2003 01:37 AM

Excellent job, it works perfectly for me! :)

I look forward to your editpost modification!

EvilLS1 04-27-2003 11:42 AM

Nice hack. Thanks!

MetaRidley 04-27-2003 02:29 PM

Ok, one problem left. This line is giving me a parse error in newthread.php:
PHP Code:

$goto="poll.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&threadid=$threadid&polloptions=".intval($polloptions); 

This is from the second edit of newthread. 'Cuse my newb questions, but I need to figure out what I did wrong.
EDIT: I just figured out that it's not that line, but the line below it. I still can't figure it out though...

jibious 04-28-2003 11:03 AM

well, taking a look at the line below this, you get:

Code:

eval("standardredirect(\"".gettemplate("redirect_buildingpoll")."\",\"$goto\");");
so i have to ask, did you add the new template?

redirect_buildingpoll

i'd take the guess that you didn't :)

MetaRidley 04-28-2003 08:50 PM

I did.

Smoothie 04-30-2003 04:51 AM

nice.

Smoothie 04-30-2003 04:52 AM

nice. I had previously used another hack to remove re-directs, but removed it and use this one. I like that you have re-directs where needed, and removed the ones that aren't.

themonarch 04-30-2003 10:26 AM

Awesome hack! Works just fine on 2.3.0.

Kohhal 04-30-2003 05:02 PM

Great hack, installed perfectly :D

Austin Dea 04-30-2003 09:12 PM

When submitting a post through the QRB, I get a little javascript error in my task bar. Then it goes away and works like normal. Any idea where this may be from?

Smoothie 05-02-2003 12:06 AM

what about removing the re-directs from search?


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01347 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,837KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (4)bbcode_php_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete