vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Member Archives (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=202)
-   -   Functions.php Error From Hell (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=41569)

Diva 07-27-2002 12:28 AM

Functions.php Error From Hell
 
Hi. I tried to do a very easy hack. change the name "Guest". Now I can't see the individual threads and I get this error:

Quote:

Parse error: parse error, expecting `']'' in /home/diva/public_html/test/admin/functions.php(281) : eval()'d code on line 31

Here's the weird part. I tried putting back the original functions.php and even a new one... I still get that error. Any ideas?

DrkFusion 07-27-2002 02:03 AM

Hmm...did you edit functions.php alot?

You can maybe try reuploading the original functions.php if the hack was the only one, if not, just paste what you modified.

Imyself am not good with php, I get thrown off with parseerrors hehe, but I can compare and try to find a solution.

Drk

Diva 07-27-2002 02:06 AM

Hi! Thanks for answering so fast. Actually, I hadn't really hacked a lot at that point. But even when I replaced the functions.php, it stayed there. I had a friend set up another test board and he thinks it may have something to do with the style design. But it says it's the function.php. :\

DrkFusion 07-27-2002 02:10 AM

Can you paste whats on line 31 in functions.php?
Did you replace functions.php with the one you downloaded in vb members area? If not, then try download fresh copy of vb and replacing the file.

Drk

Diva 07-27-2002 02:13 AM

Sure! This is lines 28-31:

Quote:

if ($pagenumber>1) {
$prevpage = $pagenumber-1;
eval("\$prevlink = \"".gettemplate("pagenav_prevlink")."\";");
}

DrkFusion 07-27-2002 02:17 AM

I am assuming that } is at line 31?

Diva 07-27-2002 02:18 AM

yes.

DrkFusion 07-27-2002 02:19 AM

Try this,

find
Code:

// ###################### Start getpagenav #######################
all the way to line 31, which I hopefully think it is ) and replace it with

Code:

// ###################### Start getpagenav #######################
// template-based page splitting system from 3dfrontier.com
function getpagenav($results,$address) {
        global $perpage,$pagenumber,$pagenavpages;

        if ($results <= $perpage) {
                return "";
        }

        $totalpages = ceil($results/$perpage);

        if ($pagenumber>1) {
                $prevpage = $pagenumber-1;
                eval("\$prevlink = \"".gettemplate("pagenav_prevlink")."\";");
        }


DrkFusion 07-27-2002 02:22 AM

Sorry about that smilie in the code

Drk

Diva 07-27-2002 02:24 AM

is line 31 a blank space?

DrkFusion 07-27-2002 02:25 AM

No } is there.

Drk

Diva 07-27-2002 02:28 AM

d'oh! I'm sorry... I meant line 32...

DrkFusion 07-27-2002 02:31 AM

No you should have
Code:

        if ($pagenumber<$totalpages) {
                $nextpage = $pagenumber+1;
                eval("\$nextlink = \"".gettemplate("pagenav_nextlink")."\";");
        }

from line 32-35

Drk

Diva 07-27-2002 02:37 AM

Argh!!! I'm so mad I could just spit! It just isn't working... :(

DrkFusion 07-27-2002 02:38 AM

Hold on let me PM you with something that may help

Drk

DrkFusion 07-27-2002 02:39 AM

...Actually, just head over to www.vbulletin.com and download fresh copy of vb2.2.6 and upload functions.php

Drk

Diva 07-27-2002 02:45 AM

SIGH..... I've tried that. This is the fifth time so far... No dice.

I really appreciate all of your help. Thank you, DrkFusion. Kinda like a Superhero's name! Yeah, I'm lame.

DrkFusion 07-27-2002 03:06 AM

Sorry, I really don't know why there is an error, it seems to be alright, its similar to my functions.php...sorry I couldn't help, maybe one of the other experienced guys like Xenon or Firefly can help :)

Drk

Sparkz 07-27-2002 06:33 AM

It looks like you have a bug in some template. That's what the errormessage is saying, at least.

DrkFusion 07-27-2002 01:56 PM

Yea, thats what she told me over PM...hund down that man, and ask him what html he added.

Drk

Diva 07-27-2002 08:20 PM

so, he can't be reached right now. Any clues on how I can search this? Remember... You are working with a blonde here. That's worse than a newbie at times. :/

Sparkz 07-27-2002 09:30 PM

Is this happening in showthread.php?
We kind of need to filter the amount of possible templates :)

Diva 07-27-2002 10:02 PM

Ummm.... I think so. It's when I click on an individual thread to view that post. The post does not show and the error is above the forum design.

Sparkz 07-28-2002 06:44 AM

Then it looks like it could be in the postbit-templates somewhere.
What we're looking of is probably a variable looking something like this $varname['key] or something.

Diva 07-28-2002 09:17 PM

This is driving me bonkers! I couldn't find any "$varname" or "['key]". Thank you for your help!

Diva 07-31-2002 04:03 AM

I'm going to ^BUMP^ this baby up, in hopes that someone else might know what is wrong. Any and all help appreciated!

Diva 08-02-2002 06:30 AM

Still hoping for a miracle..... Anyone? ^^BUMP^^

Diva 08-02-2002 02:21 PM

Here's the template [I hope!], FireFly!

<a href="$address&pagenumber=$prevpage" title="previous page">&laquo;</a>

Do your magic! :) *Crosses fingers and toes*

Admin 08-02-2002 03:10 PM

Ack, that's not it, sorry. You pasted the wrong line. Paste here line 281. :)

Diva 08-02-2002 03:37 PM

But that's all that was there! Where am I looking?

Admin 08-02-2002 04:01 PM

I mean line 281 of functions.php.

(And don't tattoo my name on your arse! :o)

Diva 08-02-2002 05:33 PM

What if I already did? :rolleyes:

Here's line 271 - 284. Line 281 is a"}"

// do ip addresses
if ($post[ip]!="") {
if ($logip==2) {
eval("\$post[iplogged] .= \"".gettemplate("postbit_ip_show")."\";");
}
if ($logip==1) {
eval("\$post[iplogged] .= \"".gettemplate("postbit_ip_hidden")."\";");
}
if ($logip==0) {
$post[iplogged]="";
}
} else {
$post[iplogged]="";
}

Admin 08-02-2002 05:51 PM

That can't be. Line 281 must contain a eval() call.

Diva 08-03-2002 05:02 AM

Okay. Sigh... I was told it was the birthday hack, so I removed the php, postbit and installed yet another fresh copy of vb functions.php. No dice. Now it gives me an error about not finding the birthday.php. I even updated all the counters, etc...

Any suggestions? I really liked that hack, too. :/

Admin 08-03-2002 07:57 AM

The error is not in the files, it's in one of your templates (the one that is used in line 281, which is why that line MUST contain a eval() call, or you're not talking in the right file).


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01315 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,773KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (35)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete