![]() |
New vBCode Tags: [Countdown] and [Countup] timers for users
Have you or any of your members ever had the need or desire to post a countdown or countup in a post?
Something that automatically shows the remaining days, hours, minutes and seconds of that upcoming Walt Disney World trip? Or want to show everyone how many days, hours, minutes and seconds that the user has gone without a cigarette, drink, sex? - LOL I came up with this one here. It basically gives your users two new vB Code Tags, [countdown] and [countup]. Now there is no need to worry that the user will mess up your threads with incorrect JavaScript. All they have to do is use these tags, just like most other tags. For counting down, they would just have to do the following: [countdown=May 21, 2002 12:32 PM EST;We are off to see Mickey Mouse;RED]My Walt Disney World Trip Begins in [/countdown] Same for counting up with just different text of course. I guess this would qualify as a hack as you do need to change one field in the database to store this. Luckily, it's in a very small table so it should not slow anything down in theory. Modify the database Modify the field bbcodereplacement in the bbcode table to increase the storage size. Change the field properties from varchar(200) to LONGTEXT. This is needed for the new vB Code replacement to follow. I used phpMyAdmin which is very easy to use for this change. Add new JavaScript Add the following JavaScript code to your Style under Head Insert preferrably at the bottom. Be sure to do this for every style that you defined in your database. PHP Code:
Using the Admin CP, add the following; vB Code tag ----------------------------------------------------- countdown vB Code replacement ----------------------------------------------------- PHP Code:
----------------------------------------------------- [countdown="May 4, 2002;Currently At WDW Now;BLUE"]My Countdown to Disney World[/countdown] vB Code explanation ----------------------------------------------------- Enter any text you would like to say to your members here. Use {option} ? ----------------------------------------------------- Select YES Add the [countup] tag next; vB Code tag ----------------------------------------------------- countup vB Code replacement ----------------------------------------------------- PHP Code:
----------------------------------------------------- [countup="May 4, 2002;Waiting for my last cigarette;RED"]Smokefree Days[/countup] vB Code explanation ----------------------------------------------------- Enter any text you would like to say to your members here. Use {option} ? ----------------------------------------------------- Select YES There are many variations that can be use here for how the text field looks. We can post suggestions here for everyone to share :) I can post a screenshot tomorrow if you would like. It's really just a text field containing the days, hours, minutes and seconds of the timers with the {param} text over it. Edit: Reformatting some of the text as the PHP blocks are very wide. Also fixed a case conversion that the PHP code tag is making in my post. |
demo or screen?
|
OMG Kevin you are SO awesome! :cheeky: Thank you SO much, I will give you full credit on my site, You are too cool. :rambo: Thank you so much!!
|
wow great job. this is awsome.
|
I'm too lazy to install this unless I know what it actually looks like. Please post a demo or screenshot ;)
|
Nice man. Here is a image.
|
ummsmm... Seems very interesting and useful! Thanks Kevin!
|
Uhm, the countdown is managed by the javascript? Not client-side? - little bit disappointing.. but I most surely LIKE this .. would be very cool to have this on vB3 in the calendar in many ways I can think of :)
|
It's a very useful hack and idea is very nice either, congratulations! :)
Just one tiny concern in my side: You (and your members) will use the vbcode for a few messages only, however the java code in the header will be loaded with every page (not just for messages either, with even in calender or user CP pages) in your board. Maybe it could be nice to check the message inside "showthread.php" before displayed whether vbcode exits or not and if it exits, make the neccessary parsing inside the same script again. This method both saves you from the java header and it could also be possible to count down according to thread reader's local time ;) Even if you wouldnt regard this method, adding the java code to a relevant template (which is related to thread displaying only) can help to get rid of it for at least unrelevant pages. Just my 0.2 cents. Congratulations again! :) Logician |
Quote:
Oh, and for changing the field in the DB to LONGTEXT... Why on earth would you need to be able to fit 4 GB in there? Changing it to text should be MORE than sufficient, unless you plan on having replacements bigger than 64kb, which I doubt anyone would ever need... Not that the field itself will end up bigger by the change, (unless you actually fill it, that is) but I was just wondering why it had to be LONGTEXT and not just text... http://www.mysql.com/doc/n/o/node_368.html |
I meant server-side.
I hate client-side stuff. It gives complaints, because every system if different. |
@kevinG
Hi KevinG, looks beautiful, but don't work with European time Format? Could you explain me, how must I write the Statement that works with European Time? I have try so many, doesn't work... The next one, works with Opera? I don't know exactly... The last ist, you should replace the Quote:
Code:
<script type="text/javascript"> because I get errors in my IE5.5.... |
Thanks for the compliments folks and thank you neo for the screenshot. :) If we apply some css to it, they can come out looking mush better.
Quote:
Quote:
I just stuck it into the header so every page would have the ability to use the JS. By making it available in the header, the main code would not have to be repeated on every post that is using it. Like you said, I could have modified showthread but that would make installation of this a little bit harder and also make it just another re-mod when updates from vB come along again. In other words, I was lazy :D Quote:
Kevin |
This is exactly what I have been waiting for. Thanks for your work! Just one problem, it isn't working for me. I followed all of the instructions, even typed the scripts in the right place, since if I copy them, it just messes everything up. They are exactly as they are shown above, but I can't get it to work. Isn't it supposed to show up along with the other vbcodes so that I can just click on it when replying or making a new post? Or, is it not supposed to show up?
Any help would be appreciated. |
Thanks for trying it out.
I did not change anything on whether it shows up or not (buttons or help) when posting. They are just there to use. I'm going to your site now to try them out. |
After trying it out on your site, I found a small typo in your script. I then checked this with what I posted and it seems that it got changed (not sure how as I copy/pasted this from my AdminCP).
The typo is the second line of both countdown and countup function. The line that fails is PHP Code:
This is part of the code that goes into your Head Insert section. Below is the correct line for both functions. I will fix the first post here. Maybe PHP tag is doing this ??? Edit: I just tried the [ code ] tag to post the correct line and it did it again :( Both PHP and CODE tags are making this line appear incorrect. y2k = new Date(date); Admins/Mods, I'm not sure how I can fix this so the members can see the code. Help Please. Kevin |
The first post is all fixed now. I separated the date parameter in
y2k = new Date(date); into y2k = new Date( date ); so PHP does not change it to y2k = new date(date); |
Here's a style that removes the input box look.
Change the line for the input field to; document.writeln("<input type=text value='' size=40 name='countdown' border-style='none' style='border-bottom: 0px solid; border-left: 0px solid;border-right: 0px solid;border-top: 0px solid'>"); |
Here another one, transparent background instead of the white box.
Change the line for the input field to; document.writeln("<input type=text value='' size=40 name='countdown' border-style='none' style='background-color:transparent; border-bottom: 0px solid; border-left: 0px solid;border-right: 0px solid;border-top: 0px solid'>"); |
KevinG... very nice hack :)
i'm thinking to use this as a gradutation count down.... users can choose the year from a drop down menu during registration then the count down appears in their profile is this possible to hack it even more for that purpose ? thanks :) |
Kevin I installed the hack on my site, everyone LOVES it!! http://www.belliesandbabies.com/boar...ilies/clap.gif I was wondering if you had a site link or something we could give your credit for? Thank you! :D
|
Quote:
We can discuss via PM here to get your version. Sound good? (or do others want this as well?) Quote:
If my wife is expecting again ( oh I hope not ), we'll stop by. Deal? |
Kevin, nice hack, but I really suggest you turn it into a Showthread hack. As it is, being put in the head of _all_ pages on the board, it's quite a bandwidth-impact for no reason. The part for in <head> is, imo, rather huge, and loading that when it's not necessary is just diminishing your bandwidth for nothing.
showthread.php hack shouldn't be too hard... |
Thanks KuraFire.
I'll check that out. I would also have to modify newreply.php as well then. Also, the PM display code in private.php as these can also be used in sigs. Thanks for the suggestion. |
Congratulations on the baby coming Kevin! Thanks again for everythign!! Woohoo!
|
How can we make the changes in our board so that the button that we make for it will give you the correct java script pop up to insert all the right stuff in the correct places because it isnt a simple [countdown] hey [/countdown] thing. You need to add like font color and all the type of stuff. Is there anyone here with this type of knowledge to tell us how we can do this. Thanks you so much.
|
bump
|
Maybe you can try something like this?
Add this to the vbcode.js file in your forum directory Code:
// ************************************ My template looks like this after adding them after the "quote" button. This was added after the <BR> tag which puts them on the third line of buttons. Code:
<input type="button" class="bginput" value="countdown" title="Insert Countdown" onclick="countdownup(this.form,'countdown')" > |
Great looking hack will do good on my Disney Page! :) thanks!
Ryan C. |
One Question, How do you Modify the database.
Can someone walk me through this? I have phpmyadmin. . . Thanks |
Ryan, get into your phpmyadmin, and click on your database. Find the bbcode listing and hit properties. Then you will see the listing for bbcodereplacement, click Change. Then, chang the Type to LONGTEXT in the dropdown box. Hit save, and you are done. That is it.
Mickey :bandit: |
Thanks Mickey! Much Appreciated
|
Is it possabel to make this work like a birthday box in the control panel?. Let the user pick the date and what it should say and then show the countdown in the sig!
I have no clue how to do this. . . |
OK one more question,
everything seem t owork amazing But when I add it to my Sig, the message does not appear above the countdown http://www.talkdisney.com/forums/sho...&threadid=1821 Did I miss something? |
I just checked that thread you posted and viewed it's source.
Looks like you missed a line in your vbcode replacement Here is the original code that I posted on page one: PHP Code:
PHP Code:
This code is for the countdown vbcode, not the countup vbcode. Since you have not tested that one in your thread, I'm not sure if that also has the same problem (if it has a problem). |
BEAUTIFULL! Thanks! :)
|
Wooo! Finally got it to work. I found out it REALLY DOESN'T LIKE PUNCTUATION!!!
So you can't put: [ countdown="May 10, 2003;The Big Three-O;BLUE" ]until my birthday![ /countdown ] anyway, it's awesome. Just what I was looking for. Jennifer Moss BabyNames.com http://www.babynames.com/boards/ |
i cant get the countdown to work, but the count up works good, does any one know whats wrong?
[php] <Script language='Javascript'> var rndNum = Math.floor(Math.random() * 10000); var tempString="{option}"; tempArray=explodeArray(tempString,";"); document.writeln("<form name='form" + rndNum + "' action='java script:void(0);'>"); document.writeln('<font size=2 color="'+tempArray[2]+'">{param}</font><BR>'); document.writeln("<input type=text value='' size=40 name='countdown' border-style='none' style='background-color:transparent; border-bottom: 0px solid; border-left: 0px solid;border-right: 0px solid;border-top: 0px solid'>"); document.writeln("</form>"); countdown(tempArray[0], rndNum, tempArray[1]); </script> [php] |
Slynderdale,
Can you post, or PM me, the website where you installed this? I can take a look and tell you why the countdown is not working. Also, double check the added code to the header. |
hmm weird, i placed a count down under it and it worked
|
All times are GMT. The time now is 05:56 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|