vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Hide Post Counts - visible to admins and moderators (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=35173)

telc 02-18-2002 01:26 AM

I want to hide post counts from normal users, but if you are logged in as Admin or Moderator I want to be able to see users post counts.

I find in my forums that users are posting nonsense replies just to get thier post count up.

XFLBret 06-01-2002 02:37 AM

yeah, i want this too. where is it. i know its possible, because I can see that the admin of this board has pulled it okk...

Xenon 06-01-2002 10:04 AM

this is easily done, so i haven't released it as a full hack, because one block one change and one new template isn't reallly much ^^

open functions.php
goto section getpostbit

there find:
PHP Code:

// do posts from ignored users
    
if (!$ignore[$post[userid]]) {
        eval(
"\$retval = \"".gettemplate("postbit")."\";");
    } else {
        eval(
"\$retval = \"".gettemplate("postbit_ignore")."\";");
    } 

just before add:
PHP Code:

// Admin Postbit Hack
        
if ($bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 6) {
          eval(
"\$adminpostbit = \"".gettemplate("adminpostbit")."\";");
        } else {
          
$adminpostbit "";
        } 

change or add other usergroupids if you want in the if-clause

then edit your postbittemplate, replace $post[posts] with $adminpostbit

and last step add template adminpostbit within there must be the line $post[posts] and whatever you want just to show up for your admins/mods and so on :)

lucky64 05-08-2005 03:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xenon
this is easily done, so i haven't released it as a full hack, because one block one change and one new template isn't reallly much ^^

open functions.php
goto section getpostbit

there find:
PHP Code:

// do posts from ignored users
    
if (!$ignore[$post[userid]]) {
        eval(
"\$retval = \"".gettemplate("postbit")."\";");
    } else {
        eval(
"\$retval = \"".gettemplate("postbit_ignore")."\";");
    } 

just before add:
PHP Code:

// Admin Postbit Hack
        
if ($bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 6) {
          eval(
"\$adminpostbit = \"".gettemplate("adminpostbit")."\";");
        } else {
          
$adminpostbit "";
        } 

change or add other usergroupids if you want in the if-clause

then edit your postbittemplate, replace $post[posts] with $adminpostbit

and last step add template adminpostbit within there must be the line $post[posts] and whatever you want just to show up for your admins/mods and so on :)

Sorry to bring this thread back, but your sig said no pm's.....do you have any code changes for the latest vbb to do this?

Thanks.

--Lucky

N8 05-08-2005 05:20 AM

<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 6">

blah blah...
</if>

Just put that around the code in your postbit template.

Adrian Schneider 05-08-2005 05:47 AM

You'll have to do that in member profiles as well as any other places that show the post count.

N8 05-08-2005 05:53 AM

Well, I think you could just go to your Replacement Variable Manager, and replace $post[posts] with <if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 6">$post[posts]</if>

Xenon 05-09-2005 07:38 AM

nope, as the replacement is done AFTER the variable parsing, so this would replace nothing at all ;)

dcpaq2xx 11-22-2005 09:53 PM

Is it possible we could get this in a plugin or plugin program?

Doug

akanevsky 11-22-2005 09:59 PM

If anyone wants this released as a hack, please specify the target vB version. Thanks.

dcpaq2xx 11-22-2005 10:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Psionic Vision
If anyone wants this released as a hack, please specify the target vB version. Thanks.

I would imagine or have to say the latest version.... 3.6.2...

Doug

Chris M 11-23-2005 12:42 AM

This is hardly "hack" material - A simple template conditional or small plugin to do it is easy enough ;)

Chris

akanevsky 11-23-2005 12:46 AM

A template hack then :)

dcpaq2xx 11-23-2005 09:12 PM

Personally I would rather see a plugin developed as its easy to install and remove or disable and doesnt require and code or template modifications.

Can someone write this for a plugin or plugin program?

Doug

akanevsky 11-23-2005 10:31 PM

Wow... There goes another side of the medal called "plugin system"...
Now our users are so lazy that they only want to use hacks that require no manual labor... And they tell us how to code.. wow... ://

Xenon 11-24-2005 05:06 PM

nice, a codemode of vb2 times.....

really big bump ^^

dcpaq2xx 12-09-2005 02:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Psionic Vision
Now our users are so lazy that they only want to use hacks that require no manual labor... And they tell us how to code.. wow... ://

Its has nothing to do with being lazy. It has alot to do with not knowing how to do it so we ask someone else to do it for us.

Doug

peterska2 12-09-2005 09:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris M
This is hardly "hack" material - A simple template conditional or small plugin to do it is easy enough ;)

Chris

That would make it a job for me then? You know I relish these little one liners!

dcpaq2xx 02-25-2006 01:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by peterska2
That would make it a job for me then? You know I relish these little one liners!

Peterska2,

Please do if you are willing to do this for us.

I was looking at another hide post count plugin but it just doesnt offer the by user group feature and the creator is not willing to develop it any further.

I would even consider a donation for your efforts.

Doug

dcpaq2xx 03-25-2006 06:19 PM

Anything new on a plugin for this?

Anyone?

Doug

dcpaq2xx 09-12-2006 11:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SirAdrian
You'll have to do that in member profiles as well as any other places that show the post count.

Does anyone know where I need to go to edit the code for the members list, members profile and other areas that Post Count is listed?

So far I have only been able to find the Post Count in the postbit template.

If someone would be willing to list the areas that Post Count is shown and what template I need to modifiy as well as where it is located that would be most appreciated.

Thanks

Doug

NOTE... This thing cant tell a double post from two different post in the same day.


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01107 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,771KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_php_printable
  • (6)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (21)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete