vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Member Archives (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=202)
-   -   Avatars not uploading (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=34811)

slideboxer 02-05-2002 02:53 PM

I'm having a problem with my avatars not uploading from the usercp. I have no problem uploading from the admin screen. I'm looking at this code in the member.php file to find the bug

PHP Code:

      // check for new uploaded file or for new url
      
$avatarurl=trim($avatarurl);
      if (
$avatarurl!="" and $avatarurl!="http://www.") {
        
// get file from url

        
$filenum=@fopen($avatarurl,"rb");
        if (
$filenum!=0) {
          
$contents="";
          while (!@
feof($filenum)) {
            
$contents.=@fread($filenum,1024); //filesize($filename));
          
}
          @
fclose($filenum);

          
$avatarfile_name "vba".substr(time(),-4);
          if (
$safeupload) {
            
$filename="$tmppath/$avatarfile_name";
            
$filenum=@fopen($filename,"wb");
            @
fwrite($filenum,$contents);
            @
fclose($filenum);
          } else {
            
// write in temp dir
            
$filename=tempnam(get_cfg_var("upload_tmp_dir"),"vbavatar");
            
$filenum=@fopen($filename,"wb");
            @
fwrite($filenum,$contents);
            @
fclose($filenum);
          }
        } else {
          
// invalid address error
          
eval("standarderror(\"".gettemplate("error_avatarbadurl")."\");");
          exit;
        }
      } else {
        
// check file exists on server
        
if ($safeupload) {
          
$filename="";
           
$path "$tmppath/$avatarfile_name";
          if (
function_exists("is_uploaded_file") and is_uploaded_file($avatarfile) and move_uploaded_file($avatarfile"$path")) {
            if (
file_exists($path)) {
              if (
filesize($path)!=$avatarfile_size) {
                
// security error
                
eval("standarderror(\"".gettemplate("error_avataruploaderror")."\");");
              } 
####### END if (filesize($path)!=$avatarfile_size) {

              
$filename=$path;
            } else {
              
// bad upload
              
$avatarid=0;
              
$filename="";
            } 
####### END if (file_exists($path)) {
          
####### END if (function_exists("is_uploaded_file") and is_uploaded_file($avatarfile) [...]
        
} else {
          if (
file_exists($avatarfile)) {
            if (
filesize($avatarfile)!=$avatarfile_size) {
              eval(
"standarderror(\"".gettemplate("error_avataruploaderror")."\");");
              
// security error
              
exit;
            }
            
$filename=$avatarfile;
          } else {
            
// bad upload
            
$avatarid=0;
            
$filename="";
          }
        } 
####### END if ($safeupload) {
      
####### END if ($avatarurl!="" and $avatarurl!="http://www.") { 

The error I'm receiving is "Error - cannot find an image at the specified URL. Please make sure that you have entered a valid URL." I'm not trying to access an avatar by URL but by upload from my own computer. ANy help is appreciated. Thanks.

slideboxer 02-06-2002 03:10 PM

*superbump*.. please?

slideboxer 02-07-2002 02:18 AM

Like I said, I can upload a user's avatar from the Admin Screen but not the usercp. I compared the update avatar codes from user.php and member.php and they're downright the same but for some reason when I attempt to update from the usercp I keep getting the error_avatarbadurl template.

Somebody should have some ideas as to what may be going on here.

Admin 02-07-2002 11:38 AM

Do you happen to have my avatar on homepage / welcome panel hack installed? I remember (Sinecure?) having a problem with this as well, because of collision with the $avatarurl variable.

slideboxer 02-08-2002 02:25 AM

actually, yes I do. How was this problem remedied?

Admin 02-08-2002 05:48 PM

Ok then in whatever hack you got replace $avatarurl with $hackavatarurl (in both files and templates), so it won't ruin the $avatarurl used for uploading avatars. :)

slideboxer 02-08-2002 06:36 PM

Thanks. The only avatar hack I have installed is the Welcome Panel one. I changed the root/index.php file to read

PHP Code:

if ($bbuserinfo[userid]!=0) {
  
$hackavatarurl=getavatarurl($bbuserinfo[userid]);
  if (
$hackavatarurl=='') {
    
$hackavatarurl='images/noavatar.gif';
  }
  
$avatarimage='<img src="'.$hackavatarurl.'">';
} else {
  
$avatarimage='<a href="register.php?s='.$session[sessionhash].'&action=signup"><img src="images/guestavatar.gif"></a>';


Uploaded it, and still no go. The only refeerence to $avatarurl I was able to find in the templates is in the postbit templates. I'm still receiving the url error on upload.

TECK 02-09-2002 02:52 PM

1 Attachment(s)
do this:
01. replace the code with this:
PHP Code:

// avatar code
if ($bbuserinfo[userid]!=0) {
  
$avatarurl=getavatarurl($bbuserinfo[userid]);
  if (
$avatarurl=='') {
    
$avatarurl='{ imagesfolder }/noavatar.gif';
  }
  eval(
"\$avatarimage = \"".gettemplate('forumhome_avatar')."\";");
} else {
  eval(
"\$avatarimage = \"".gettemplate('forumhome_guestavatar')."\";");


02. upload the 2 images (noavatar.gif and guestavatar.gif) into your { imagesfolder } dir.

03. run tplavhm.php (made specially for you :)) in /root/forum/admin. it will install the 2 templates. your problem is solved. ;)

NOTE: Firefly, maybe you should include this mod into your hack. it works better and it will not conflict with any script mod in index.php.... let me know what you think.

slideboxer 02-09-2002 08:52 PM

Nakkid, I appreciate the help. But still no go. I still keep getting the error-url message :( :(

I changed the code in root/index.php to the one given above. Ran the template php file, templates were installed but still no luck on uploading the avatars. Has me wondering where this error is coming from...

TECK 02-11-2002 02:24 AM

hmmm i see that you run 2.2.1. i know the index.php was not changed in 2.2.2. i would do this:
backup the database and run a clean install of 2.2.2

my believe is that your database is corrupted somehow. it's impossible the code mentionned above won't work. so far there are only 2 people who runned into this prob: you and sinecure? hmmm wierd. let me know...

slideboxer 02-11-2002 02:57 AM

I understand that means adding all the hacks again.. ack! But, if my dbase is corrupted, then when I reload my dbase won't I get the same problem? Does the dbase back up also back up the templates, styles, etc?

Plus, I'm still able to upload avatars from the admin screen. The only problems are in the usercp. If the user does not have a custom avatar, it appears to work on uplpoad but instead displays the "noavatar.gif" file instead. If the user currently has a custom avatar, it returns the url error.

slideboxer 02-11-2002 06:03 PM

I upgraded to 2.2.2 and still no freaking dice :( We need some help here, folks, please. Ack!

slideboxer 02-14-2002 04:44 AM

*bump*

TECK 02-14-2002 06:27 AM

can you do a clean install of the board? AS A TEST BOARD? implement the hack and try it. you will se that you don't have any problems anymore.

slideboxer 02-23-2002 04:41 AM

Oh my god! I got it working and I have to say I am guilty of extreme oversight.... I did all of the above code changes in my root/index.php only and neglected to make the changes in my global.php. That was the whole stinking problem and now it's all better. God, I love the elation of figuring out a problem that has been nagging at you for a long while... Beer anyone?

TECK 02-23-2002 05:31 AM

YESSSSS.. i love heineken ;) congrats

slideboxer 02-23-2002 05:11 PM

Thanks for your help, Nakkid

TECK 02-24-2002 10:24 AM

you are more then welcome mark ;)

cristian 02-25-2002 08:56 PM

Hey!

Make me the third user to encounter this bug.

I did have the avatar on homepage hack installed but wasn't using it - it was messing up my table layout....

lets see if I can get things working quicker

cristian 02-27-2002 12:46 PM

well - after a period of complete MySQL meltdown and permissions nightmare, I am now getting this error

There has been an error in the upload. Please ensure that the file has been correctly selected and that the upload has taken place successfully.

I'm stuck now

Meta 04-02-2002 04:11 PM

Quote:

Ok then in whatever hack you got replace $avatarurl with $hackavatarurl (in both files and templates), so it won't ruin the $avatarurl used for uploading avatars.
Hey ... very well. That solved my avatar-problem ... fantastic.


Thank you very much for your help, Sirs!


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01211 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,793KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (1)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (21)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete