vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Member Archives (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=202)
-   -   Free Thread Translator (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=34110)

Admin 01-14-2002 12:02 PM

Well someone requested this as a hack, but it ended up being a template modification so it's here. :)

Anyway, what this does is adding a drop down menu with a list of languages, and you just select one and the thread will be translates.

The install this, add the following HTML code:
Code:

        <td align="center"><table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0"><tr><td><smallfont><b>Translate Thread:</b><br>
        <select name="lang" onchange="window.location=('http://fets3.freetranslation.com:5081/?Url=path_to_forums%2Fshowthread.php%3Fs%3D%26threadid%3D$threadid&Sequence=core&Language='+this.options[this.selectedIndex].value)">
                <option value="-1" selected>Please select direction:</option>
                <option value="English/Spanish">English to Spanish</option>
                <option value="English/French">English to French</option>
                <option value="English/German">English to German</option>
                <option value="English/Italian">English to Italian</option>
                <option value="English/Norwegian">English to Norwegian</option>
                <option value="English/Portuguese">English to Portuguese</option>
                <option value="Spanish/English">Spanish to English</option>
                <option value="French/English">French to English</option>
                <option value="German/English">German to English</option>
                <option value="Italian/English">Italian to English</option>
                <option value="Portuguese/English">Portuguese to English</option>
        </select></smallfont></td></tr></table></td>

right before this:
Code:

        <td align="center">$adminoptions</td>
in your showthread template.

You only need to change the red part, like this. If the forum is at http://www.vbulletin.com/forum you need to replace the red part with "www.vbulletin.com%2Fforum" (you drop the http:// and change / into %2F as you can see!).

That's it.

Lucky 01-14-2002 12:24 PM

Hey buddy,

I take it that if that server goes down so does the translation.
I got on an hr ago with yours but their site must be down. hehe.

Is there an alternative site to go to if this one should go down?

Admin 01-14-2002 01:01 PM

Yup, if that site goes down the translator won't work.
And no, I don't know of another site that offers this server.

GrphicImprssion 01-14-2002 03:39 PM

Firefly, have a question my bb is completely password potected,..you can not view my forums without being logged in as a registered user,...can this hack be modified to account for that? I installed it and everythime i tried to use it , i was returned to my bb login screen translated into whatever language i selected??? maybe? hopefully?

eva2000 01-14-2002 03:54 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by FireFly
Yup, if that site goes down the translator won't work.
And no, I don't know of another site that offers this server.

how about

http://translation.lycos.com/

http://babelfish.altavista.com/

eva2000 01-14-2002 03:58 PM

and looks like freetranslation is load balanced or using round robin dns on several servers

fets1.freetranslation.com
fets2.freetranslation.com
fets3.freetranslation.com
fets4.freetranslation.com
fets5.freetranslation.com

Lucky 01-15-2002 02:53 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by GrphicImprssion
Firefly, have a question my bb is completely password potected,..you can not view my forums without being logged in as a registered user,...can this hack be modified to account for that? I installed it and everythime i tried to use it , i was returned to my bb login screen translated into whatever language i selected??? maybe? hopefully?
I am having this same problem.
Even me the administrator.
You would think that when your users are logged in that they would be able to use this service:
http://fets3.freetranslation.com:508...showthread.php

Any one who can help me with this is appreciated.
:confused:

okrogius 01-15-2002 05:31 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by GrphicImprssion
Firefly, have a question my bb is completely password potected,..you can not view my forums without being logged in as a registered user,...can this hack be modified to account for that? I installed it and everythime i tried to use it , i was returned to my bb login screen translated into whatever language i selected??? maybe? hopefully?

Modify whats after the red in that line from
%2Fshowthread.php%3Fs%3D%26threadid%3D$threadid&Se quence=core&Language='+this.options[this.selectedIndex].value)">

to
%2Fshowthread.php%3Fs%3D$session[sessionhash]%26threadid%3D$threadid&Sequence=core&Language='+t his.options[this.selectedIndex].value)">

kermit 01-15-2002 05:32 PM

i too have the same problem :( .. think it must have to check username and pass in the database but how do you do that?..

kermit 01-15-2002 05:40 PM

tried that.. but still the same. :(

GrphicImprssion 01-15-2002 05:46 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by kermit
tried that.. but still the same. :(
ditto, no dice. :confused: any other suggestions by any chance?

Lucky 01-15-2002 09:46 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by GrphicImprssion


ditto, no dice. :confused: any other suggestions by any chance?

Same here.
Still does not work.
Any more ideas?

okrogius 01-15-2002 10:18 PM

Neat! Thanks.

Brian Cruz 01-16-2002 05:25 AM

Any chance the "go" button could be incorporated into this? I know it would serve little purpose, since making a selection automatically changes the page, but it looks weird with all the other drop-down menus having one and this not.

Admin 01-16-2002 09:39 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Codename49
Modify whats after the red in that line from
%2Fshowthread.php%3Fs%3D%26threadid%3D$threadid&Se quence=core&Language='+this.options[this.selectedIndex].value)">

to
%2Fshowthread.php%3Fs%3D$session[sessionhash]%26threadid%3D$threadid&Sequence=core&Language='+t his.options[this.selectedIndex].value)">

That won't work, vBulletin isn't that stupid. ;)

You can try adding "&loginusername=test&loginpassword=test", and then create a user named 'test' with a password 'test'. It might work, not sure though.

Brian Cruze, you can just stick $gobutton in there to show the go button... not that it'll work or anything. ;)

Lucky 01-17-2002 09:54 AM

Quote:

You can try adding "&loginusername=test&loginpassword=test", and then create a user named 'test' with a password 'test'. It might work, not sure though.
No go.

Still don't work.

Lucky 01-17-2002 09:57 AM

On another note I tried using the password test as encrypted but still a no go.

Any other ideas buddy:)

itstd 01-17-2002 12:20 PM

Any more thoughts on this (returning to sign on)?

GrphicImprssion 01-17-2002 01:32 PM

Geee, Sorry for the "getting it started", thought this may have been something that was fixed already that i might have missed. It would be an incredible resource to have but, if it is not feasable than i will just put a link to a translation board that people can coppy and past to. Hope someone figures out a "key" for this, but until then,....Have a nice day :pleased:

jamesdasher 01-17-2002 10:53 PM

Here is another option for this, don't know if it will fix people's problems, but it is available.

Warning: This option is not as 'integrated' as FireFly's (because of the company that does the translation)
Warning: One many of the 'character languages' (like Chinese, Korean, etc.) the translation takes quite some time, but it is working, it is just a tedious process because of the language.
Warning: You can't translate the same page twice in a row (in the Babelfish frames). The frames generated by babelfish kills it.
Warning: You cannot access a page in your site once translated if that page has a user base to it (the user cp, etc.) you can access pages such as calendar which is not dependent on the user being logged in.

Okay, this option uses AltaVista's translation service (Babelfish) so hopefully it is a bit more stable as well.

Insert the following:

Code:

<td align="center"><table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0"><tr><td>
<form action="http://babelfish.altavista.com/tr" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="doit" value="done">
<input type="hidden" name="tt" value="url">
<input type="hidden" name="url" value="http://www.teenssucceed.com/showthread.php?threadid=$threadid">
<smallfont><b>Translate Thread:</b></smallfont><br>
<select name="lp">
<option value="en_zh" >English to Chinese</option>
<option value="en_fr" >English to French</option>
<option value="en_de" >English to German</option>
<option value="en_it" >English to Italian</option>
<option value="en_ja" >English to Japanese</option>
<option value="en_ko" >English to Korean</option>
<option value="en_pt" >English to Portuguese</option>
<option value="en_es" SELECTED>English to Spanish</option>
<option value="zh_en" >Chinese to English</option>
<option value="fr_en" >French to English</option>
<option value="fr_de" >French to German</option>
<option value="de_en" >German to English</option>
<option value="de_fr" >German to French</option>
<option value="it_en" >Italian to English</option>
<option value="ja_en" >Japanese to English</option>
<option value="ko_en" >Korean to English</option>
<option value="pt_en" >Portuguese to English</option>
<option value="ru_en" >Russian to English</option>
<option value="es_en" >Spanish to English</option>
</select>
$gobutton
</form>
</td></tr></table></td>

goes after

Code:

<td>$forumjump</td>
good luck :)

James

GrphicImprssion 01-17-2002 11:44 PM

I wish I could report that this was a success, but it did not help any with the password problem, it still comes back to a translated login sreen for me. :cry:

Arathorn 01-18-2002 12:13 PM

I had the login error as well, so I fiddled around with jamesdasher's script and it now works. It works for me and my users aren't getting the logon screen. CAVEAT: Besides the fact that some tiny changes were made, I have NO idea what I did to fix this (i.e. it might not work for you).

In SHOWTHREAD.PHP

AFTER THIS:
Quote:

<td>$forumjump</td>
ADD:
Quote:

<td>
<!-- TRANSLATER -->
<table border=0 cellpadding=2 cellspacing=0 width=614>
<form action="http://babelfish.altavista.com/tr" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="doit" value="done">
<input type="hidden" name=tt value="url">
<input type="hidden" name=url value="http://www.yoursite.com/showthread.php?threadid=$threadid">
<tr><td class=s>Translate from <B>
<select name="lp">
<option value="en_zh" >English to Chinese</option>
<option value="en_fr" >English to French</option>
<option value="en_de" >English to German</option>
<option value="en_it" >English to Italian</option>
<option value="en_ja" >English to Japanese</option>
<option value="en_ko" >English to Korean</option>
<option value="en_pt" >English to Portuguese</option>
<option value="en_es" SELECTED>English to Spanish</option>
<option value="zh_en" >Chinese to English</option>
<option value="fr_en" >French to English</option>
<option value="fr_de" >French to German</option>
<option value="de_en" >German to English</option>
<option value="de_fr" >German to French</option>
<option value="it_en" >Italian to English</option>
<option value="ja_en" >Japanese to English</option>
<option value="ko_en" >Korean to English</option>
<option value="pt_en" >Portuguese to English</option>
<option value="ru_en" >Russian to English</option>
<option value="es_en" >Spanish to English</option>
</select></B>
<input type="Submit" value="Translate">
</td></tr>
</form>
</table>
<!-- TRANSLATER -->
</td>

Note: You can't translate the same page twice in a row. The frames generated by babelfish kills it.

Request: Anyone know how I can alter this to work on any page on the forums? It would be awesome if this could be added to the header.

GrphicImprssion 01-18-2002 12:37 PM

This too unforuneately did not work for me, in fact I am curious as to what else you may have done because the only code changes I see in your scipt vs the original altavista script are superficial, centering tag gone, button type, and text display wording.

This is what i see as being the problem and I need the input of a techie type to try and figure it out:

<input type="hidden" name=url value="http://www.yoursite.com/showthread.php?threadid=$threadid">
The question is, what can be added to this line to force the translator to identify the user's "cookie" for the bb site rather than the translator site? Think this is possible?

GI

bobbydavro 01-18-2002 01:44 PM

is this server intensive? bandwidth high etc?

jamesdasher 01-18-2002 07:10 PM

I don't see any reason why it would be in anyway server intensive, as it all takes place on another site (though I could be wrong as I am not the most advanced in this stuff :))

jamesdasher 01-18-2002 07:18 PM

Okay, not exactly sure what your problem is so I can't promise this will help at all...but you could try changing the hidden form element with the link to:

Code:

<input type="hidden" name="url" value="http://www.yoursite.com/showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&threadid=$threadid">
Hope that works!

James

jamesdasher 01-18-2002 07:20 PM

<I wasn't totally accurate here, read my last 'warning' on my version>

jamesdasher 01-18-2002 08:18 PM

if for some reason the babelfish script is messing up your layout a lot (it was for me quite a bit)...you can try the following which is a script for http://translation.lycos.com.

pretty much the same just a different system (so some different elements in the form.

same basic instructions just different code

Code:

<td align="center"><table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0"><tr><td>
<form action="http://translation.lycos.com/" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="urltext" value="http://www.teenssucceed.com/showthread.php?threadid=$threadid">
<smallfont><b>Translate Thread:</b></smallfont><br>
<select name="lp">
<option value='de_en'>German to English</option>
<option value='de_fr'>German to French</option>
<option value='en_de'>English to German</option>
<option SELECTED value='en_es'>English to Spanish</option>
<option value='en_fr'>English to French</option>
<option value='en_it'>English to Italian</option>
<option value='en_pt'>English to Portuguese</option>
<option value='es_en'>Spanish to English</option>
<option value='es_fr'>Spanish to French</option>
<option value='fr_de'>French to German</option>
<option value='fr_en'>French to English</option>
<option value='fr_es'>French to Spanish</option>
<option value='fr_it'>French to Italian</option>
<option value='fr_pt'>French to Portuguese</option>
<option value='it_en'>Italian to English</option>
<option value='it_fr'>Italian to French</option>
<option value='pt_en'>Portuguese to English</option>
</select>
$gobutton
</form>
</td></tr></table></td>

James

jamesdasher 01-18-2002 08:30 PM

<didn't work, actually, sorry>

Jawelin 01-19-2002 08:59 AM

GREAT TEMPLATE CUSTOMIZATION, Chen !!!
;)

I always have been searchin!

Just a hack-oriented question :stoned: : could I made that combo-box displayed ONLY on some forum (for example, configurable in AdminCP within new/edit forum with a new field in db like 'multilanguage' area ?
Because I have a couple of international areas, so I'd prefer put that bit only in those ones.

Thanks a lot

Brian Cruz 01-19-2002 03:23 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by jamesdasher
if for some reason the babelfish script is messing up your layout a lot (it was for me quite a bit)...you can try the following which is a script for http://translation.lycos.com.
Thanks James, my users like this Lycos translation much more than freetranslations.com. And you got to go button in there too. :)

Any chance it could work immediately on selection, and also by clicking on the go button? The immediate change never works for Netscape users, and IE users never expect to use the go button anymore.

jamesdasher 01-19-2002 05:00 PM

Hi, Brian, don't know probably is the 'automatic' change is just javascript, I will try to look into it...

jamesdasher 01-19-2002 05:42 PM

Hi! Jawelin,

Well, Jawelin, I have finished the hack part like you requested a few posts ago, I have to put it all together than I will release it.

James

jamesdasher 01-19-2002 05:59 PM

Brian I tried to make it work without clicking but it didn't because of the way lycos sets it up, sorry :(

(also I made some cosmetic changes to the hack I mentioned so I recommend using the new layout it will have when I release it.)

James

Lucky 01-20-2002 02:08 AM

Sounds good!

I'll be waiting!

Jawelin 01-20-2002 09:47 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by jamesdasher
Hi! Jawelin,

Well, Jawelin, I have finished the hack part like you requested a few posts ago, I have to put it all together than I will release it.
James

BOUNCE!
Thanks a lot.
Well, std.by....

jamesdasher 01-20-2002 10:45 PM

my first hack :) so it may take me a bit just to figure out how to package it best, it should be out soon though.

James

Stretchr 01-22-2002 11:40 AM

I've read thru this thread again and I'm still not clear whether anyone has resolved the private forum issue? Can anyone clarify this as I'd love to have a translation option but I have FireFly's hack and that doesn't work for private forums. Thanks!

Lucky 01-22-2002 12:08 PM

I have been waiting as well for this hack to be resolved.
As of yet, no there is still an issue with this.
I hope someone can resolve it soon or I will have to uninstall this puppy.

Tim Wheatley 02-02-2002 04:57 AM

If this helps anyone, this is what I put on mine (took a little searching...)

I doubt it's even correct HTML, but it works.

Code:

<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr><td>
    <font face="Verdana,Arial" size="1">
    Translate thread:</font><br>
<FORM name=texur action=http://www.tranexp.com:2000/InterTran
                              method=post>
                              <P><FONT size=2><STRONG> 
                              <input onblur=dudeurl() type="hidden" name="url" value="http://forum.racesimcentral.com/showthread.php?threadid=$threadid">
                              &nbsp;<BR><SELECT name=from style="font-family: Verdana, Arial; font-size: 8pt" size="1"> <OPTION value=eng
                                selected>English<OPTION value=spa>Spanish<OPTION
                                value=fre>French<OPTION value=ger>German<OPTION
                                value=ita>Italian<OPTION
                                value=poe>Portuguese<OPTION value=pob>Brazilian
                                Portuguese<OPTION value=cro>Croatian (CP 1250)<OPTION value=che>Czech
                                (CP 1250)<OPTION
                                value=dan>Danish<OPTION value=dut>Dutch<OPTION
                                value=spe>European Spanish<OPTION
                                value=fin>Finnish<OPTION value=grk>Greek<OPTION
                                value=hun>Hungarian (CP 1250)<OPTION
                                value=ice>Icelandic<OPTION value=jpn>Japanese
                                (Shift JIS)<OPTION value=spl>Latin American
                                Spanish<OPTION value=nor>Norwegian<OPTION
                                value=pol>Polish (CP 1250)<OPTION
                                value=rus>Russian (CP 1251)<OPTION
                                value=sel>Serbian (Latin)<OPTION
                                value=slo>Slovenian (CP 1250)<OPTION
                                value=swe>Swedish<OPTION
                              value=wel>Welsh</OPTION></SELECT> <BR><SELECT name=to style="font-family: Verdana, Arial; font-size: 8pt" size="1"> <OPTION
                                value=spa selected>Spanish<OPTION
                                value=eng>English<OPTION value=fre>French<OPTION
                                value=ger>German<OPTION value=ita>Italian<OPTION
                                value=poe>Portuguese<OPTION value=pob>Brazilian
                                Portuguese<OPTION value=cro>Croatian (CP
                                1250)<OPTION value=che>Czech (CP 1250)<OPTION
                                value=dan>Danish<OPTION value=dut>Dutch<OPTION
                                value=spe>European Spanish<OPTION
                                value=fin>Finnish<OPTION value=grk>Greek<OPTION
                                value=hun>Hungarian (CP 1250)<OPTION
                                value=ice>Icelandic<OPTION value=jpn>Japanese
                                (Shift JIS)<OPTION value=spl>Latin American
                                Spanish<OPTION value=nor>Norwegian<OPTION
                                value=pol>Polish (CP 1250)<OPTION
                                value=rus>Russian (CP 1251)<OPTION
                                value=sel>Serbian (Latin)<OPTION
                                value=slo>Slovenian (CP 1250)<OPTION
                                value=swe>Swedish<OPTION
                              value=wel>Welsh</OPTION></SELECT><INPUT type=submit value=Go style="font-family: Verdana, Arial; font-size: 8pt"></STRONG><INPUT type=hidden value=yes name=topframe> 
                          </FONT></P></FORM>
</td></tr>
</table>



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01342 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,877KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (11)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete