vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 Programming Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   append after <head> in all templates? (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=322356)

Dr.CustUmz 04-13-2016 06:25 PM

append after <head> in all templates?
 
This turned out to be a global replace that is very handy if you know how to use it, you can find the solution begining in post 18(for vb4) and 20 (for vb3)

So I know if I was going to add something after <head> to one template I could do it something like:
Code:

$find = '<head>';
$add = '<something>';
$vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME'] = str_replace($find,$find.$add,$vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME']);

but how would I go about doing this to every page, since <head> is contained in templates, and not in the headinclude it makes what I'm trying to do a little more complicated.

Tried this and a few other combinations with no luck:
Code:

$find = '<head>';
$add = '<something>';
$find = str_replace($find,$find.$add,$find);


squidsk 04-14-2016 12:11 AM

Why not just add it with a template hook. There are a couple in head or its sub templates.

Dr.CustUmz 04-14-2016 11:40 AM

because im trying to change <head> to lol, just learning experiance

Dave 04-14-2016 11:43 AM

What exactly are you trying to add to <head>? Maybe there's another way to do it instead of replacing it.

MarkFL 04-14-2016 11:44 AM

If I recall correctly, what I have done in vB 3.8.9 to add something to pages is append it to either $spacer_open or $spacer_close. :)

Dr.CustUmz 04-14-2016 11:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarkFL (Post 2568938)
If I recall correctly, what I have done in vB 3.8.9 to add something to pages is append it to either $spacer_open or $spacer_close. :)

$spacer_open consists of I believe 3 divs and first appears in the header template which is not the <head> tag,

this is just an example not what I'm doing, but say I wanted to replace
Code:

<head>
with
Code:

<head class="someClass">
<head> is not located in the headinclude template which IMO is where it should be, but instead pretty much every main template has its own <head> tag.

so its looking like if I want to do something like this I'll have to create a replace for every template

Code:

$find = '<head>';
$replace = '<head class="someClass">';
$vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME'] = str_replace($find,$replace,$vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME']);
$vbulletin->templatecache['showthread'] = str_replace($find,$replace,$vbulletin->templatecache['showthread']);
etc...


MarkFL 04-14-2016 12:01 PM

What do you get by adding CSS to the head element?

Dr.CustUmz 04-14-2016 12:04 PM

that is not what im doing was just an example lol

Dave 04-14-2016 12:07 PM

If it really turns out to be difficult to do this, you can write some native JavaScript to do this.
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2...o-the-head-tag

Dr.CustUmz 04-14-2016 12:23 PM

the end result will actually be for spiders, and i dont believe spiders see execute js

--------------- Added [DATE]1460644385[/DATE] at [TIME]1460644385[/TIME] ---------------

why does this method not work?

Code:

<head> = str_replace('head', 'head class="test"', <head>);

MarkFL 04-14-2016 12:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dr.CustUmz (Post 2568946)
...why does this method not work?

Code:

<head> = str_replace('head', 'head class="test"', <head>);

Because "<head>" is not a string variable. :)

Dr.CustUmz 04-14-2016 01:04 PM

hmmm, im no good with preg replaces, but shouldn't something like this work, on either global or parse templates.

this is not working
Code:

$find = preg_replace("/<head[^>]>/i", "TEST", $find);

MarkFL 04-14-2016 01:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dr.CustUmz (Post 2568949)
hmmm, im no good with preg replaces, but shouldn't something like this work, on either global or parse templates.

this is not working
Code:

$find = preg_replace("/<head[^>]>/i", "TEST", $find);

You don't need to use regex here with preg_replace(), but what you need is to have the template code stored as a string, and then just use str_replace() on the string.

squidsk 04-14-2016 01:40 PM

What exactly are you trying to do because the head tag does not take any attributes, so there's literally nothing you can change with the actual tag itself. The contents can be changed but as I said that's easily accomplished with template hooks.

Dr.CustUmz 04-14-2016 02:09 PM

im trying to do something along the lines of (again not the code I'm actually using)
HTML Code:

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xmlns:og="http://ogp.me/ns#" xmlns:fb="http://www.facebook.com/2008/fbml">
I was just using the head tag as filler, everything I'm trying to accomplish is the same concept and would be achieved the same way regardless.

so in the end i can replace a tag across multiple templates.

so think of it this way since instead of head, everything on here says body.

i want to add an onload event to all body tags, in every template, without having to say every template.

so we do something like this for every template there is a body tag:
Code:

$find = '<body>';
$replace = '<body onload="myFunction()">';
$vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME'] = str_replace($find,$replace,$vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME']);
$vbulletin->templatecache['showthread'] = str_replace($find,$replace,$vbulletin->templatecache['showthread']);
etc...

i'm simply asking is there a way to do this globally so you dont have to specify every template.

this would be an example of it, but this doesnt work:
Code:

$find = '<body>';
$replace = '<body onload="myFunction()">';
$find = str_replace($find, $replace, $find);


MarkFL 04-14-2016 02:48 PM

What I would do to add an onload event to the body element on all pages is in a plugin hooked to "parse_templates" with the following:

PHP Code:

$spacer_close .= '<script>
function myFunction()
{
    alert("Hello!");
}
var el = document.getElementsByTagName("html")[0];
el.innerHTML = el.innerHTML.replace("<body>", "<body onload=\"myFunction();\">");
</script>'


However, there are better ways to add an event to a document, I am just trying to follow the example you gave. :)

Dr.CustUmz 04-14-2016 03:06 PM

mark thanks for always being around to help, but I feel like I'm wasting your time =/

I was only throwing another example to what could be achieved with the end result I'm looking for.

so lets look at what I'm intending on doing:
In every template that has a <html> tag, i want to add some attributes.

so lets say for just a one attribute example this is exactly what i want to do.

across every single template:
Code:

$find = '<html>';
$replace = '<html lang="en">';
$find = str_replace($find, $replace, $find);

we've already established that wont work,
but the end result should be something like this if it's achievable.

instead of doing:
Code:

$find = '<html>';
$replace = '<html lang="en">';
$vbulletin->templatecache['Template1'] = str_replace($find,$replace,$vbulletin->templatecache['Template1']);
$vbulletin->templatecache['Template2'] = str_replace($find,$replace,$vbulletin->templatecache['Template2']);
$vbulletin->templatecache['Template3'] = str_replace($find,$replace,$vbulletin->templatecache['Template3']);
$vbulletin->templatecache['Template4'] = str_replace($find,$replace,$vbulletin->templatecache['Template4']);
$vbulletin->templatecache['Template5'] = str_replace($find,$replace,$vbulletin->templatecache['Template5']);
$vbulletin->templatecache['Template6'] = str_replace($find,$replace,$vbulletin->templatecache['Template6']);
$vbulletin->templatecache['Template7'] = str_replace($find,$replace,$vbulletin->templatecache['Template7']);
etc....


MarkFL 04-14-2016 06:06 PM

This works on my vB 4.2.x dev site...a plugin hooked at "parse_templates":

PHP Code:

$t_arr $vbulletin->templatecache;
$t_keys array_keys($t_arr);
$count count($t_keys);

for (
$n 0$n $count$n++)
{
    if (
strpos($t_arr[$t_keys[$n]], '<body') !== false)
    {
        
$vbulletin->templatecache[$t_keys[$n]] = str_replace('<body''<body name="myName"'$vbulletin->templatecache[$t_keys[$n]]);
    }



Dr.CustUmz 04-14-2016 07:00 PM

causes everything to go white with no page source lol

MarkFL 04-14-2016 09:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dr.CustUmz (Post 2568980)
causes everything to go white with no page source lol

Yeah, I got the same on my vB 3.8.9 dev site, but I thought it worth a shot since it works with vB 4.2.x. :)

--------------- Added [DATE]1460691040[/DATE] at [TIME]1460691040[/TIME] ---------------

This works on my vB 3.8.9:

PHP Code:

$t_arr $vbulletin->templatecache;
$t_keys array_keys($t_arr);
$count count($t_keys);

for (
$n 0$n $count$n++)
{
    if (
strpos($t_arr[$t_keys[$n]], '<body') !== false)
    {
        
$vbulletin->templatecache[$t_keys[$n]] = str_replace("<body""<body name='myName'"$vbulletin->templatecache[$t_keys[$n]]);
    }



Dr.CustUmz 04-15-2016 01:41 AM

tried your posted first and was like hey this is exactly what i was looking for =)

put in

Code:

$t_arr = $vbulletin->templatecache;
$t_keys = array_keys($t_arr);
$count = count($t_keys);

for ($n = 0; $n < $count; $n++)
{
    if (strpos($t_arr[$t_keys[$n]], '<html') !== false)
    {
        $vbulletin->templatecache[$t_keys[$n]] = str_replace("<html", "<html tag='test'", $vbulletin->templatecache[$t_keys[$n]]);
    }
}

that worked too!

so this little snippet is more useful than one might think, this is a global replacer and its wonderful =) thanks mark!

MarkFL 04-15-2016 01:46 AM

Glad to help, Ryan!

One thing I still don't understand is why, when I tried using a foreach loop to iterate through the $vbulletin->templatecache array, it would only get the last template in the array (same issue with vB 4). But, using the for loop worked, so I went with that. :D


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01679 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,805KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (14)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_html_printable
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (22)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete