![]() |
Hi all I'm trying to do the top 5 posters hack like on http://www.extremeforums.com. But have no idea how to do this.
Any help would be greatly apreciated. JP |
|
thanks but...
Once I have the text below to I just include it in the template in the vb control panel? cheers JP Quote:
|
save it in a file like top5.php3
and then use an include command into your non vb page |
right like this:
1/ save file as top5.php3 in admin folder. 2/ create include (how?) in forumhome template. 3/ end Is this right? |
errhh... the you want the top 5 posters where on your site ?
what i did was only put it on my front index page which is a non vb page.. then i used a php include on my front index.php3 page at http://animeboards.net i saved top5.php3 into my root directory Code:
<?php |
oh I want to include it on my forum category page --> forumhome template.
http://216.10.4.112/forums/index.php Is this easier? JP |
well i don't know anything about php really just code that others here have given me... so that's where my knowledge ends... i haven't tried php code in the forumhome template before ... you can try it though... :)
|
OK, I'll try - how do I include the file?
JP PS Thanks for all your help! |
include("top3.php3");
|
that just displays the txt. What should it be surrounded with?
|
I don't think you can put php into the templates.
but you can try <?php include("top3.php3") ?> |
thanks but doe snot work. any idea what to do now?
I would lovethis feature. JP |
I just posted the include command like you wanted. I assumed you knew to put the opening and closing PHP tags there.
rangersfan had it right, but forgot the semicolon I think...c'mon JP, troubleshoot! :D <?php include("top5.php3"); ?> Make sure top5.php3 is in the same directory...if it's not, you'll have to include the relative path. |
Well you can open index.php and place this code after require("global.php")
Code:
// Set this to the max number top posters to display put this in a file called top5.php Code:
<?php then for either way you put $top5 in your forumhome template where you want the results to show up. [Edited by rangersfan on 09-13-2000 at 12:58 PM] |
TWT nah it would work without the semi-colon if there is only one command.
|
sorry guys, as i'm sure you've guessed my strength is not coding.
rangersfan, the latter did not work. is it because of the several double quotes? |
Try it now, both ways work for me now.
|
once again thanks, but not working.
1/ I have top.php in the admin folder [quote] <?php require("global.php"); // Set this to the max number top posters to display $num = 5; $sql = "SELECT userid,username FROM user ORDER BY posts DESC LIMIT $num"; $results = $DB_site->query($sql); while ($result = $DB_site->fetch_array($results)) { $top5 .= "<FONT SIZE=\"1\" FACE=\"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif\"> ° <A HREF=\"member.php?action=getinfo&userid=$result[userid]\">$result[username]</A></FONT><BR>"; } ?> [quote] I also have edited index.php and added $top5 into forumhome template.....help...... JP |
Put top5.php in the forums folder, not the admin folder. Remove the require("global.php"); from the top5.php so that it matches what I told you to do.
|
OK.
top5.php in forums index.html with require("top5.php"); in forums/admin $top5 in forumhome still not workig :( I tried require("../top5.php"); just in case. an ideas? JP |
no no no
We are not touching anything in the admin directory, stay out of there! Edit the index.php in /forums! |
i know it is possible but what is the code to show how many posts the user has after his/her name?? tia
i always do this, i post a question and then blam. i figure it out. $latest_array[posts] [Edited by poil11 on 09-13-2000 at 09:41 PM] |
yes! thanks, I know it took me a while but thanks so much!
one more teeny thing... I want to clean the actual code up by adding more templates. I added navbar template and then in forumhome template I called $navbar but it did not work. What should I do? Thanks! JP |
Quote:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showt...?threadid=2884 |
hmmm, I thought I was clear on that but oppened global.php and realised i was reading chinese.
I promise I will get better but this is my first venture into php (or anything similar) and I'm hesitant. A quick step by step would be apreciated. JP |
All times are GMT. The time now is 12:33 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|