vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB4 Design and Graphics Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=253)
-   -   little style fix needed (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=302601)

ForceHSS 09-24-2013 06:09 PM

little style fix needed
 
1 Attachment(s)
What I have done so far

Field: Single-Selection Menu
  • Title: My Team:
  • Description: Please Select your My Team
  • Profile Field Category: Uncatagorized
  • Options: test1, test2 putting this for now until i get this right
  • Set Default: None
  • Display Order: (Chosen By You)
  • Field Required: Yes, at registration & profile updating (You don’t have to make it compulsory)
  • Field Editable By User: Yes
  • Private Field: No
  • Field Searchable On Members List: Yes
  • Show On Members List: Yes
Optional Output:
  • Allow User to input their own value for this option: No
  • Max length of allowed user input: 100
  • Field Length: 25
  • Regular Expression: Leave this EMPTY
Display Page:
  • Which page displays this option? Edit Profile
STEP 2; Add a Phrase:

AdminCP -> Languages & Phrases -> Phrase Manager -> Add New Phrase (Center button on the bottom):
  • Phrase Type: GLOBAL
  • Product: vBulletin
  • Varname: my_team
  • Text: MY Team
SAVE


STEP 3; Postbit_Legacy Template

Find:
Code:

<vb:if condition="$post['joindate']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase join_date}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.joindate}</dd></vb:if>
Add below
Code:

<!-- My Team in postbit_legacy Start -->
<vb:if condition="$post['field5']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase my_team}</dt> <dd><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/{vb:raw post.field5}.gif" alt="{vb:raw post.field5}" /></dd></vb:if>
<!-- My Team in postbit_legacy End -->

Ok my small problem is it does not blend in with the skin and needs moved over a small bit to the left if any one can help and were to put the code am thinking of one place but not sure

fxdigi-cash 09-24-2013 11:44 PM

I believe you mean the custom field there is missing the style. if this is what you are after, then make sure what postbit_legacy class is used for the common fields.

if you provide a link to your site, I may help you with that.

if not, then use Chrome inspection element to see what class you need to add to your custom field and add a div to that class i.e:

PHP Code:

<!-- My Team in postbit_legacy Start -->
<
vb:if condition="$post['field5']"><div class="your_common_style_name"><dt>{vb:rawphrase my_team}</dt> <dd><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/{vb:raw post.field5}.gif" alt="{vb:raw post.field5}" /></dd></div></vb:if>
<!-- 
My Team in postbit_legacy End --> 

Good luck

ForceHSS 09-25-2013 08:37 AM

here is a link to a post that has it but its not showing the image in IE so need to remove that but when i do from the code it still shows
http://www.anygivensaturday.com/show...=1#post2005099

I need to remove the image part of this code but when I do it messes up or does not remove it any help from anyone

fxdigi-cash 09-25-2013 10:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2447860)
here is a link to a post that has it but its not showing the image in IE so need to remove that but when i do from the code it still shows
http://www.anygivensaturday.com/show...=1#post2005099

I need to remove the image part of this code but when I do it messes up or does not remove it any help from anyone

ok, as I thought that was the issue.

it is very simple, all you need is to find the template where you can edit this, and usually that is postbit_legacy

Then you need to remove the image between <dd></dd>

after that, add this to your custom field:

Code:

<div class="bppostbit"><dt>My Team:</dt><dd>{vb:raw post.fieldX}</dd></div>
change the X to your field id number.

and that's it.

if there is something else, post it here. :)

Good luck

ForceHSS 09-25-2013 10:36 AM

I tried these
PHP Code:

<!-- My Team in postbit Start -->
<
vb:if condition="$post['field5']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase my_team}</dt> <dd></dd></vb:if>
<!-- 
My Team in postbit End --> 

and
PHP Code:

<!-- My Team in postbit Start -->
<
vb:if condition="$post['field5']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase my_team}</dt> </vb:if>
<!-- 
My Team in postbit End --> 


fxdigi-cash 09-25-2013 10:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2447885)
When you say add that to the custom field do you mean the template or title on the profile field

well, when you create a custom field, an id number for a custom field will be generated. you can use that id to place it in your <dl></dl> code.

so it is for template result because the title is fixed, not variable

like this:

<div class="bppostbit"><dt>My Team:</dt><dd>{vb:raw post.fieldX}</dd></div>

so basically what you will need to change only X which is field number i.e {vb:raw post.field8}

is it clear now? if not, I will try to add screenshot to clarify it deeper

:)

--------------- Added [DATE]1380110482[/DATE] at [TIME]1380110482[/TIME] ---------------

ok, when you go to postbit_legacy, you will find few divs with the same name, i.e: <div class="bppostbit">

These ones where you need to look at and how they are arranged. The custom field you have there is only

<dt>My Team</dt><dd><img src="xxxxxxxxxxx/Test 1.gif" alt="Test 1" title="Test 1"></dd>

The above code will surly make a mess because it is not wrapped with a div

so that's why it is correct to make it like this:

<div class="bppostbit"><dt>My Team:</dt><dd>{vb:raw post.field5}</dd></div>

I don't think it is a good idea to use profile manager to write such code. there you create only a custom field and use that custom field to place it with the code in postbit_legacy template.

if you are still confused, send me your postbit_legacy code template as PM and I will make the modification and send it back to you ASAP.

ForceHSS 09-25-2013 11:04 AM

PHP Code:

<!-- My Team in postbit Start -->
<
vb:if condition="$post['field5']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase my_team}</dt> <div class="bppostbit"></dt><dd>{vb:raw post.field5}</div></vb:if>
<!-- 
My Team in postbit End --> 

last one I tried still messed in IE but in firefox it needs down a bit you can see here
http://www.anygivensaturday.com/show...=1#post2005099

fxdigi-cash 09-25-2013 11:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2447896)
PHP Code:

<!-- My Team in postbit Start -->
<
vb:if condition="$post['field5']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase my_team}</dt> <div class="bppostbit"></dt><dd>{vb:raw post.field5}</div></vb:if>
<!-- 
My Team in postbit End --> 

last one I tried still messed in IE but in firefox it needs down a bit you can see here
http://www.anygivensaturday.com/show...=1#post2005099

This is not correct, the correct one is this:

PHP Code:

<!-- My Team in postbit Start -->
<
vb:if condition="$post['field5']"><div class="bppostbit"><dt>{vb:rawphrase my_team}</dt><dd>{vb:raw post.field5}</dd></div></vb:if>
<!-- 
My Team in postbit End --> 


ForceHSS 09-25-2013 11:11 AM

that helped in firefox but for some reason in IE it still shows its missing a image and I dont want any image

fxdigi-cash 09-25-2013 11:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2447899)
that helped in firefox but for some reason in IE it still shows its missing a image and I dont want any image

ok, if you need an image, make sure about the image path url because this is what most of the times the issue.

ForceHSS 09-25-2013 11:14 AM

Got it now in IE to work. Thank you for your help if you need anything done any time pm me

fxdigi-cash 09-25-2013 11:39 AM

Glad things worked for you.

Good luck, :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01180 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,775KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (6)bbcode_php_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (12)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete