vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB4 Design and Graphics Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=253)
-   -   Postbit help (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=297175)

the1rabbits 04-13-2013 10:51 PM

Postbit help
 
I would like to modify how threads are displayed and would very much appreciate some help. I think this is beyond my scope, so I am hoping someone can help me.

Basically on showthread pages I want to separate each post slightly. Please see my example screenshot:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2013/04/24.jpg

Also, where the red dots are, can I change the color of that bar to be white so it looks as though the post content area flows into it and it is not separated by the white/grey?

Lynne 04-14-2013 02:29 AM

Your image is too small for us to view it.

the1rabbits 04-14-2013 03:04 AM

Sorry Lynne, I didn't even realise.

This link should be better :)

http://imgbox.com/abyIop6G

Lynne 04-14-2013 02:45 PM

OK, the postfoot background uses the stylevar "postbit_foot_background"

As for the spacing between posts, that is set in this CSS:

HTML Code:

.postbit, .postbitlegacy, .eventbit {
        margin-bottom: {vb:stylevar padding};
etc }

So, either change the padding stylevar (which will effect a lot more than that) or just add this to your additional.css template:
HTML Code:

.postbit, .postbitlegacy, .eventbit {
        margin-bottom: xxpx;
}

Change xx to the margin you want.

the1rabbits 04-14-2013 09:37 PM

Hi Lynne :)

Thanks for that works great, Can you also help me change one other bit

If you look at the screenshot: http://i.imgbox.com/abl4GJQQ.png


I would like to make the post head curved. However, see how the first post is attached to the blue bar... Can every post after post #1 be curved?

I suppose the first post on every page needs to stay the same (not curved) but every subsequent posthead can be curved.

--------------- Added [DATE]1365979234[/DATE] at [TIME]1365979234[/TIME] ---------------

Also, is it possible to attach that bottom bar to the last posts postbit_foot

http://i.imgbox.com/abl7C5J7.png

Lynne 04-14-2013 10:39 PM

You would need to add several (and go look up radius css because you need to add different stuff for different browsers - this is just for one browser):

HTML Code:

.postbit, .postbitlegacy, .eventbit {
    border-radius: 10px 10px 10px 10px;
}

.postbit .posthead, .postbitlegacy .posthead, .eventbit .eventhead {
    border-radius: 10px 10px 0px 0px;
}

.postbit .postfoot .textcontrols, .postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols, .eventbit .eventfoot .eventcontrols {border-radius: 0 0 10px 10px;}


the1rabbits 04-15-2013 12:03 AM

Hi Lynne!

Thanks so much that worked great!

There's just two more things which I would love to fix.

http://imgbox.com/acgbtCHv

Can it be made so the first post on each page is not curved.

Here is a URL to that thread http://forums.nrlweekly.com/showthre...the-Masters%29

Lynne 04-15-2013 01:36 AM

You probably can't change the first post without either changing the template or using a plugin to change the template to allow a custom class for all postibits but the first of the page.

Why not curve the tool bar bottom and add a small space between it and the first post? That would probably be easier.

the1rabbits 04-15-2013 02:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lynne (Post 2416414)
You probably can't change the first post without either changing the template or using a plugin to change the template to allow a custom class for all postibits but the first of the page.

Why not curve the tool bar bottom and add a small space between it and the first post? That would probably be easier.

That's a good idea Lynne :)

Would you be able to help me with the code for that?

the1rabbits 04-16-2013 11:17 AM

bump

setishock 04-19-2013 12:59 AM

There's no gap between the task bar and the bar containing the time/date/post number. Looks like it's treating it all as one object.
On mine even the default has a gap between them. Works great on mine.
http://www.computervitals.org/showth...eaking-cooling
4.1.2 pl8 looking at it with IE10.
Thanks Lynne.

the1rabbits 04-20-2013 03:54 AM

Lynne I am still in need of a little bit of assistance :)

Lynne 04-20-2013 03:25 PM

I don't know what you want right now. There is supposed to be a gap between the top bar and the postbit. I'd suggest putting it back. If you want to have no gap, I think you will need to write some plugin to do what you want. I don't have the time to look into that, so you would need to look into how to do that.

the1rabbits 04-21-2013 12:35 AM

No :) All I would like to do is what you suggested would be easier:

Quote:

Why not curve the tool bar bottom and add a small space between it and the first post? That would probably be easier.

Lynne 04-21-2013 02:09 AM

Then something like you did above to the tcat class:

HTML Code:

.tcat {
    border-radius: 5px;}

Since it is a custom style, I have no idea if that will affect other areas and there is no id tag I can use to make it unique to that page. You will need to edit your templates to do that.

the1rabbits 04-21-2013 04:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lynne (Post 2417603)
Then something like you did above to the tcat class:

HTML Code:

.tcat {
    border-radius: 5px;}

Since it is a custom style, I have no idea if that will affect other areas and there is no id tag I can use to make it unique to that page. You will need to edit your templates to do that.


You are right, tcat is used on other pages too such as the index.

But I have edited the template so on showthread tcat is now like this:

<div class="tcat" id="tcat_showthread">

Can we adjust your code to only work on showthread now?

Lynne 04-21-2013 02:22 PM

I just looked at your site and it looks like you already figured this one out. :)

the1rabbits 04-22-2013 12:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lynne (Post 2417680)
I just looked at your site and it looks like you already figured this one out. :)

Hi Lynne, yes I just had to add a # in front of the ID.

Thanks for all your help. I'm quite a novice at all things coding, so i definitely appreciate all your assistance :D

Thanks so much


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01323 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,755KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_html_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (18)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete