vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=246)
-   -   vBulletin Forum Sideblocks - Add Banner Rotator Block To Forum Sidebar (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=285991)

metalguy639 07-26-2012 10:00 PM

Add Banner Rotator Block To Forum Sidebar
 
1 Attachment(s)

First if you plan on using this hack you must download & install y2Ksw's Banner Rotator hack found here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=188328. This little mod is ONLY for use with that hack.

CLICK INSTALLED TO GET SUPPORT FOR THIS ADD-ON. IF YOU DO NOT CLICK INSTALLED I CANNOT HELP YOU.

Steps to create a Forum Block for the banner rotator:

1. Login to your admincp panel.
2. Scroll down until you see "Forums & Moderators" under that you will see "Forum Blocks Manager" click it to open the manger.
3. Click the "Add Block" button.
4. On the next page you will need to select the block type. You should select "Custom HTML/PHP" and then click the "Continue" button.
5. In the field where it says Title place what you want the block to be called. This will show on your forum so make sure you have the name you want to show at the top of your block.
6. In the "Description" field you can place a description if you want or you can leave it blank.
7. Under "Block Config" tick the HTML box.
8. In the content box place your banner code. If you are using vBSEO you would use code that looks similar to this:

Code:

<div align="center">@vbbanners:4@</div><br />
<div align="center">@vbbanners:5@</div><br />
<div align="center">@vbbanners:6@</div><br />
<div align="center">@vbbanners:7@</div><br />
<div align="center">@vbbanners:8@</div><br />
<div align="center">@vbbanners:9@</div>

If you are not using vBSEO your code would look similar to this...

Code:

<div align="center"><!--@vbbanners:4@--></div><br />
<div align="center"><!--@vbbanners:5@--></div><br />
<div align="center"><!--@vbbanners:6@--></div><br />
<div align="center"><!--@vbbanners:7@--></div><br />
<div align="center"><!--@vbbanners:8@--></div><br />
<div align="center"><!--@vbbanners:9@--></div>

Your banner numbers may or may not be the same the codes above are a basic outline so you can see what it looks like.

9. Now click the "Save" button and view your block. You should see the block in your forums now if you have enabled the forum sidebar.

FAQ:

Q: Why can't I edit the Forum Blocks, it tells me I do not have permissions to do so?

A: You need to check that you have full admin rights to edit the blocks. Your admin id number MUST be listed in the config file. Find your ID number and then make sure that its listed as a Super Administrator in your config file.

Q: How do I enable the Forum Sidebar?

A: Make sure you are logged in to your forum admincp panel and then go under "Settings" then click "Options". Now look for "Forum Sidebar And Block Options" in the drop down and select it. At the top tick yes to enable the sidebar and then click the "Save" button.

Q: My banners are not showing, why?

A: Check your banner rotator settings again and make they are correct. Also if you have vBSEO installed make sure that you are using the code for vBSEO. The regular code will not work with vBSEO.

If you have any problems or questions ask them I'll do my best to answer them.

tomshawk 04-08-2013 09:22 PM

Hello,

I have set up an Advertisement in my sidebar, it was easy enough to do but.

When you go to my site, the sidebar Advertisement is empty
If I scroll down to where the advert is, and hit F5 the window where it would be flashes with a white box then goes away.

If I go to the admincp to the advert section and manage banners, the impressions are counting up.

any ideas

metalguy639 04-09-2013 12:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomshawk (Post 2415210)
Hello,

I have set up an Advertisement in my sidebar, it was easy enough to do but.

When you go to my site, the sidebar Advertisement is empty
If I scroll down to where the advert is, and hit F5 the window where it would be flashes with a white box then goes away.

If I go to the admincp to the advert section and manage banners, the impressions are counting up.

any ideas

Is this the url in your signature? If so I do not see the ads. It was google adsense that you put there correct? Looking at the source that is what I get. If all the settings are correct then it maybe that google adsense is not working. For how to set up the hack you have to look at the original thread for it. From what you have said I cannot access what is happening without actually looking at the settings or the code that you have placed in your forum block.

tomshawk 04-09-2013 03:12 AM

It appears it has something weird to do with styles and browsers.

It shows up in some styles and some browsers, sometimes.

Its weird

metalguy639 04-09-2013 04:34 AM

The only way I could maybe fix the problem is to have an admin login to see if its something simple to fix, but if its within the skin that is installed then you may want to see if the place you purchased it from can help you sort it out. If you just got the skin its most likely under some kind of warranty and they probably would frown on another designer messing about with the templates and that may discontinue your warranty if I was to change any template code. So its best to check with them first to see if they can help you, if not then we can go from there.

bada_bing 04-09-2013 07:42 PM

How can we place a resize statement for each banner, because the banners are normally 460x60 I want to have them show up something like 230x30 without having to manually resize all the banners

metalguy639 04-10-2013 06:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bada_bing (Post 2415387)
How can we place a resize statement for each banner, because the banners are normally 460x60 I want to have them show up something like 230x30 without having to manually resize all the banners

You should be able to change that in the hack itself when you add a banner, at least I thought you were able to do that. Otherwise you would probably have to resize the banners manually instead. There maybe some sort of code that could be used but I do not know what it would be.

Toorak Times 06-11-2013 11:30 AM

Great stuff, will be using

MaLTRaiN 07-13-2013 08:56 PM

Hi. I have a problem. I can see one banner, but it show the all, don't rotate.
Can you help me?

SPEEDKILLZ 01-22-2014 05:32 AM

Tagged

aaronhaul 03-25-2014 07:18 AM

Hello friends,

Does "Align Right or Left" works for these blocks as this:

HTML Code:

<div align="right"><!--@vbbanners:4@--></div><br />
or

HTML Code:

<div align="left"><!--@vbbanners:4@--></div><br />
I am trying to put the Add Banner Rotator Block on Blog Sidebar and its not working.

Please I need a guide to do this.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01278 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,748KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_html_printable
  • (2)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (11)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete