vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=246)
-   -   Miscellaneous Hacks - Meta tags - Thread description - Search Engine and Facebook share (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=266745)

sivaganeshk 07-12-2011 10:00 PM

Meta tags - Thread description - Search Engine and Facebook share
 
1 Attachment(s)
This simple trick allows you to change Thread's Meta tag from ForumHome Meta details to thread description.


Before :

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/07/77.jpg

After :
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/07/78.jpg

Instruction :

Edit facebook_opengraph in the template

Replace :
Code:

<vb:each from="opengrapharray" key="property" value="content"><meta property="{vb:raw property}" content="{vb:raw content}" />
</vb:each>

with

Code:

<vb:each from="opengrapharray" key="property" value="content"><meta property="{vb:raw $threadinfo['description']}" content="{vb:raw content}" />
</vb:each>

That's all.

Now when you share in facebook, you will see the Thread desc as the meta tag.


Disclaimer :
  • I tried changing many codes in Template and finally succeeded. So I am not responsible if there is any problem.
  • Length of Meta Keyword/description may be greater than 200 words.

P.S :
Facebook caches the meta title and desc. when you try to share any link. In that case, you won't see any new meta details. So add ?v=1 or &p=19 [something like that]
eg. http://collegers.net/showthread.php?...enter-HOAX?v=1

Otherwise check the meta details using
http://www.seocentro.com/tools/searc...-analyzer.html

**If you are using vbSEO , this Mod is not necessary :)

Demo : http://collegers.net/forum.php

(edited on 17 Oct )
P.P.S : Support me to buy a new Macbook Pro. Please donate if this Mod helped you.
Amazon Wishlist : http://www.amazon.com/gp/wishlist/35WEWZGXOJSQC/

Krusty1231 07-13-2011 11:20 PM

This maybe exactly what I needed.

Thank you. Installed and working most excellent.....very much appreciated....was exactly what I wanted!

sivaganeshk 07-14-2011 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Krusty1231 (Post 2220251)
This maybe exactly what I needed.

Thank you. Installed and working most excellent.....very much appreciated....was exactly what I wanted!

Thanks. :)

8thos 07-22-2011 05:36 AM

I've been searching for this everywhere tonight. Thanks a lot!

8thos 07-22-2011 06:20 AM

How do you include images in first post?

sivaganeshk 07-22-2011 10:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Octavius. (Post 2223483)
How do you include images in first post?

To display the necessary image(thumbnail) from First post , you need to click the Arrow.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/07/54.jpg

(Sometimes, FB may not load images. )

8thos 07-22-2011 05:18 PM

Not working for me but thanks anyway.

Krusty1231 07-22-2011 08:53 PM

Prior to installing this when I posted an article to Facebook only my header and my footer appeared as image options on FB.

The information in the article was not an option, as again only my site info was appearing on FB.

After installing this ALL images on the article page where given as an option to choose from, not just the header and footer.

About 90% of my sites images are hosted at Photobucket - and easily link to FB using this mod.

I love it. Works great for me!

Thanks again!

bosanci28 08-13-2011 04:49 AM

i am having the same problem,i did the edit ,but still does that!...:(
please help!
thanks.

CouponWCents 08-13-2011 03:15 PM

This doesn't work for me either

sivaganeshk 08-13-2011 04:29 PM

@CouponWcents: can u post ur forum url ??

CouponWCents 08-13-2011 04:31 PM

<a href="http://www.couponwithcents.com" target="_blank">www.couponwithcents.com</a>

sivaganeshk 08-13-2011 05:14 PM

@CouponWC :
I checked the Meta tag using seocentro .
See the result.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/08/37.jpg
which means Meta tag description has been included from the Thread.

If there is any custom modification , check them.
Also check the URL structure.

http://i.imgur.com/bOgMM.jpg

sivaganeshk 08-13-2011 05:17 PM

@bosanci : Are you sure, you replaced the code in the correct template ??

CouponWCents 08-13-2011 06:21 PM

How would I check if there is any custom modification? Thanks so much for your help! :)

sivaganeshk 08-13-2011 06:42 PM

@CWC : Did you check the Friendly URL settings ?
http://i.imgur.com/bOgMM.jpg

Who designed the vb Template ?

sivaganeshk 08-13-2011 06:48 PM

@octavius : seems like when u pull images from another site, images are visible in facebook.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/08/36.jpg

8thos 08-13-2011 06:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sivaganeshk (Post 2233128)
@octavius : seems like when u pull images from another site, images are visible in facebook.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/08/36.jpg

Oh wow so it does work. Thanks man!

sivaganeshk 08-13-2011 07:04 PM

Yup :D

CouponWCents 08-13-2011 07:15 PM

Yes, I changed it from Mod Rewrite to basic.

I designed it.

bosanci28 08-13-2011 07:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sivaganeshk (Post 2233090)
@bosanci : Are you sure, you replaced the code in the correct template ??

yes,i did do exactly like the info "how to " above !


now can someone tell me what will be the code for facebook,is and where exactly should be?
to compare,because maybe there is a error some where and maybe thats why is not working right,


thank you,

edit : disabled all my plugins and still no working... even on default theme or the main one i use..

sivaganeshk 08-16-2011 12:03 PM

@Bosanci :
Go to "Search in Template"
Select the style,
type headinclude ,
Choose Yes in Title only
and click FIND

check whether the following code is available or not:
Code:

<vb:if condition="$show['fb_opengraph']">
        {vb:raw facebook_opengraph}
</vb:if>

P.S : Sorry for the delay. Suffering from viral fever :(

bosanci28 08-16-2011 01:21 PM

yes,i do have that! line.

and hope you will get better soon!

thanks,

BlueCheri 08-16-2011 02:36 PM

Looks good.

Thanx

ngocol 08-20-2011 06:52 AM

i try this hack its good , but if only you could do it on friendly url ? or maybe another anyone have a solution or help on this?

bosanci28 08-20-2011 02:36 PM

for me still no go ,in 4.1.5
thanks

rendanny 11-05-2011 10:53 PM

thank you so much for this!! it frustrated the hell out of me to get this to work.. and I searched all over and no one was even close!! thank you!

just a quick question though.. is there anyways to hide the image links to clean the description up a bit?? example

http://img840.imageshack.us/img840/7...11105at428.png

sivaganeshk 11-06-2011 12:29 PM

no. :-\ (for now )

In my site, i requested few frequent forum posters to include image after first paragraph .

MertTurk 12-01-2011 07:43 PM

I did all of them did not help, but how www.gruevo.com name of my site, but must be just like adding a link to facebook language: (((help please

MertTurk 12-01-2011 07:52 PM

1 Attachment(s)
:(((((:(:(:(:(

sivaganeshk 12-01-2011 07:58 PM

vbSEO overwrites this(my hack) changes. So contact vbSEO support/post it in their forum. .

sivaganeshk 12-01-2011 08:01 PM

disable vbSEO(if possible) and try this.

MertTurk 12-02-2011 01:51 PM

Go to vbulletin support video support, and they said I did vseo did not help in this event please

sivaganeshk 12-02-2011 02:02 PM

@MertTurk: can't get you ? can you rephrase it ?

MertTurk 12-02-2011 03:03 PM

facebook link to my site www.gruevo.com appears:? ?

Code:

<vb:each from="opengrapharray" key="property" value="content"> content="{vb:raw content}" /> <meta property="{vb:raw $threadinfo['description']}"
 </ vb: each>

did not help what I did, this code can perform

MertTurk 12-02-2011 03:06 PM

1 Attachment(s)
that is: (((see picture

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachmen...5&d=1322841994

sivaganeshk 12-02-2011 03:13 PM

did u disable vbSEO ?

MertTurk 12-02-2011 06:33 PM

vBSEO is disabled the mirror
Does this question has no answer Can not I vBSEO

sivaganeshk 12-03-2011 07:38 AM

No. I guess.

MertTurk 12-03-2011 09:27 AM

What will happen now, this problem does not improve please help


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01407 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,807KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete