![]() |
User's Ranks Help
So, Posted this on another site, and they directed me to come here, and now I am totally lost.
On this site, in their 'Edit Options" page, they have a "Ranks" option, look, http://iaza.com/work/110123C/iaza18195646303600.png How can I get that option, into my sites 'Edit Option" page? |
I would guess it is a Custom User Profile Field that is creating the option. But, then you would need to actually use the field in your code to only have that many rows.
|
I already know where the ranks show code in the postbit template, but how would I, like for each option, or in my case, yes or no. For the no option, I click "No" and it wouldnt show the tags.
|
You would put a condition around the code in the postibt template. If it's set to No, then you don't show it. Is that what you are asking?
|
Yes I am, can you show me?
|
HTML Code:
<vb:if condition="$post['fieldx'] != 'No'">show code</vb:if> |
And where do I put that, right below the rank code in the postbit template, or I put the rank in the "show code" part?
|
You said you knew where the rank code was in the postbit, no? So, put the condition around that code.
You really should just try it out and see. I assume you are doing this on a test site and not your live site. |
I put the
PHP Code:
PHP Code:
And this is the rank code, PHP Code:
BTW: On 3.8.6 vbulletin. Am I putting in the wrong way? |
Whoops, it should be $post['fieldx'] (with a single apostrophe on each side). Also, fieldx should be changed to the field number you have created. If it's field5, then you should have $post['field5'].
|
Did that, and when I click to save the template, it still comes up with that error.
|
Can I see exactly what your code right there is now? You may want to just combine the condition with the existing one.
HTML Code:
<if condition="$post['rank'] AND $post['fieldx'] != 'No'"> |
This is my coding,
PHP Code:
|
Try combining the two conditions into one like I wrote (remember there should only be one </vb:if> if you combine the two).
|
Ahem...
Being this is vBulletin 3.8 the if conditions are wrong (those are VB4 conditionals.) The VB3 code would be: Code:
<if condition="$post['field5'] != 'No'"> <if condition="$post['rank']"><div class="smallfont">$post[rank]</div></if></if> |
BirdOPrey5, I used your code, it actually saved. But when I went to my edit options, and put "No" to disable viewing the users ranks in posts, the ranks still showed in posts. Theres a "Yes" option, and a "No" option.
Yes = Show the ranks in the posts No = Not show the ranks in the posts. |
Only one of two things then:
It really isn't field5 OR You didn't make the value of "No" exactly No in the profile field settings. It is case sensitive... If you still have issue can you try to post a screen shot of your custom profile field edit page? Oh one more thing is to try is to remove the single quotes in the code, make it $post[field5] rather than $post['field5']. |
Sure,
http://iaza.com/work/110124C/iaza18195627483800.png It shows it's field5 there, And inside, http://iaza.com/work/110124C/iaza18195610380900.png |
Hmmm... everything looks right...
try this code instead: Code:
<if condition="$post['rank'] AND $post['field5'] != 'No' "><div class="smallfont">$post[rank]</div></if> |
Yes, I'm doing this in the postbit template, not the legacy, and still, when I put your code in, Not taking out the 'AND" of course. I click save, it saves. I go back to a thread, and again, it still shows the ranks, even tho my option in the "Edit Options" is set to No.
Still shows the ranks. |
Try making a new post, just in case it's a cache issue.
|
Finally, it works. BUT a issue.
I made another user on the test site, and that's users option is set to "Yes" show ranks. But when I went to check out my test posty (On my new user) it doesnt show the ranks even tho it's set to "Yes" |
OK... when a user chooses to NOT show ranks in their options, do you want that to mean it doesn't show THEIR rank in THEIR posts or it doesn't show anyone's ranks in any posts (basically turning off the rank system for them).
Post $post['field5'] turns it off only for the posts of whoever's profile "No" was set to. To turn it off completely for the user try: $bbuserinfo['field5'] instead of $post['field5'] |
Yes, the whole rank system, meaning it doesnt show the ranks in anyone posts.
Finally, yes it works. Thank you so much, thanks so much. I actually have a little question about 1 thing, but I will submit another thread about it. |
Thank you Joe for noticing this was vB3 and helping desi5257 finally get this working!
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT. The time now is 01:35 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|