vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB4 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=251)
-   -   Show "About Me" tab in profile by default (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=256179)

way2xtreme 12-30-2010 06:19 AM

Show "About Me" tab in profile by default
 
Just a quick question, how can we show "About Me" tab in member profile by default?

For example, when we click on a member name and go to his profile, we see info about him instead of guest message..

Thanks
W

Boofo 12-30-2010 06:38 AM

Either turn off visitor messages, which would make the About Me tab the default one or use a link like this:

Quote:

<a href="{vb:link member, {vb:raw bbuserinfo}}&amp;tab=aboutme">

Andreas 12-30-2010 09:02 AM

Try the following Plug-in code on Hook member_build_blocks_start

PHP Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';



way2xtreme 12-30-2010 06:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andreas (Post 2141223)
Try the following Plug-in code on Hook member_build_blocks_start

PHP Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';



This seems to work!

Thanks guys and happy new year!

Mobo 12-31-2010 03:54 AM

Thanks, this one helped me out as well.

Stormlilly 01-11-2011 03:30 AM

Thank you VERY much!

VAG 05-15-2011 10:12 AM

N00b question:

How do I edit this hook ?

Eq4bits 06-27-2011 02:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andreas (Post 2141223)
Try the following Plug-in code on Hook member_build_blocks_start

PHP Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';



Where do I find this to edit it?

BirdOPrey5 06-27-2011 02:22 PM

You would go to plugin manager in Admin CP, Add a new Plugin, and choose that hook from the drop down menu.

customstrength 08-08-2011 05:26 PM

Thanks so much!

teach1st 08-12-2011 11:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andreas (Post 2141223)
Try the following Plug-in code on Hook member_build_blocks_start

PHP Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';




For me, this plugin removes the text editing part of the visitor message box (pic below) in IE 9 using any style, including default. Resizing the message box restores it.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/08/53.png

Wordplay 08-13-2011 10:28 AM

is it possible to make this work only for a specific usergroup?

Eq4bits 03-01-2012 06:10 AM

maybe wrap it with the vb if member show tags?

BirdOPrey5 03-01-2012 02:53 PM

Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'] AND is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 2))
{
    $vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';
}

the above code will only work for usergroup 2. Change 2 to any usergroup id you want.

BirdOPrey5 05-27-2012 12:32 PM

This still works n 4.2 by the way.

Anyone looking for a way to put Visitor Messages back as the default instead of the Activity Stream use this code:

Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    $vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'visitor_messaging';
}

On the same hook (member_build_blocks_start).

Boofo 05-27-2012 12:46 PM

Yep, it still works. Andreas showed how to do this a while back.

DAMINK 05-27-2012 11:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2333472)
This still works n 4.2 by the way.

Anyone looking for a way to put Visitor Messages back as the default instead of the Activity Stream use this code:

Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    $vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'visitor_messaging';
}

On the same hook (member_build_blocks_start).

Thankyou BOP5.
Exactly what i needed.

Boofo 05-27-2012 11:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DAMINK (Post 2333695)
Thankyou BOP5.
Exactly what i needed.

I've had that running on my site for ages. You should have noticed it there.

pnhltt 06-10-2012 08:21 PM

Can you explain how to do this in 4.2.0 step by step for the most mentally challenged? Thank you.

BirdOPrey5 06-11-2012 10:12 AM

Log into the Admin CP.

On the side menu expand "Products & Plugins"

Click on "Plugin Manager"

At the very bottom there is a link to "Add New Plugin"

On that page put in the following information-

Product: vBulletin (this should be default)
Title: Tab Fix
Hook: member_build_blocks_start (from a drop-down list)
Execution Order: 5 (default value)

To make Visitor Messaging the default past this into the PHP Code box:

PHP Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'visitor_messaging';



Or to make About Me as the default paste in this instead:

PHP Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';


Save the plugin and you should be done- go to a profile page to test.

pnhltt 06-11-2012 05:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2338670)
.....
Save the plugin and you should be done- go to a profile page to test.

Thank you! Done and tested.

The best solution, though, would be able to switch the activity stream in the profile off, most of our users hate it, they don't want to be in a fish bowl with BB watching over their shoulder

Syxguns 06-11-2012 11:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pnhltt (Post 2338774)
Thank you! Done and tested.

The best solution, though, would be able to switch the activity stream in the profile off, most of our users hate it, they don't want to be in a fish bowl with BB watching over their shoulder

I agree with this. Is there a way to remove the tab to activity stream in the user profile?

tenizmenu 06-28-2012 06:29 AM

Works perfect, but if I have Visitor messaging off it shows me a empty page. Could it be a condition if Visitor messaging is off to redirect me to the About me tab?

I tried with options[vm_enable] but it's not working :(

Mobo 08-08-2012 09:35 AM

Okay, I've had this little mod installed since before 4.2.0. I am wondering if it is causing some display issues with the user's Activity tab.

On my site, when I click on the user's Activity tab, the All sub-tab displays all the activity from all the members across the entire site. When I check this on the vB.com site, their All sub-tab only shows that user's activity.

Any thoughts on this?

BirdOPrey5 08-08-2012 10:54 AM

Well disable the plugin and see if it helps. I doubt it is the cause but it is easy to test.

Mobo 08-09-2012 05:51 PM

Thanks Joe. It's not this plugin. Further research as relieved that what I am seeing is "normal" behavior.

I do want to do something similar to what this mod does, would you mind taking a look at this thread for me since you seem to know what you are about ;)

BirdOPrey5 08-09-2012 07:26 PM

Sorry, I tried a few things but nothing worked.

Mobo 08-11-2012 08:18 AM

Thanks for looking Joe. Someone pointed me to the memberinfo_block_activity template, so I'm going to do some surgery in there and see what I can come up with.

ilikeitlikethat 08-23-2012 03:12 PM

Thanks! my members are glad that they don't have to stare at the Activity as default when they do to their profiles now. Much prefer VM as default.

Mr GRiM 08-26-2012 02:07 PM

Thanks, why hasn't this been added in the acp as an option, new features like these need to have options, I mean I like the new feature but it seems like they made it the default page just to show it off lol

wildheart 08-29-2012 12:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2338670)
Log into the Admin CP.

On the side menu expand "Products & Plugins"

Click on "Plugin Manager"

At the very bottom there is a link to "Add New Plugin"

On that page put in the following information-

Product: vBulletin (this should be default)
Title: Tab Fix
Hook: member_build_blocks_start (from a drop-down list)
Execution Order: 5 (default value)

To make Visitor Messaging the default past this into the PHP Code box:

PHP Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'visitor_messaging';



Or to make About Me as the default paste in this instead:

PHP Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';


Save the plugin and you should be done- go to a profile page to test.

Thank you very much! All my members are very grateful.;)

ThisBoss 01-09-2013 12:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2333472)
This still works n 4.2 by the way.

Anyone looking for a way to put Visitor Messages back as the default instead of the Activity Stream use this code:

Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    $vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'visitor_messaging';
}

On the same hook (member_build_blocks_start).

How do I add this?
Do I do it in the memberinfo template?

edgeless 03-04-2013 07:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2338670)
Log into the Admin CP.

On the side menu expand "Products & Plugins"

Click on "Plugin Manager"

At the very bottom there is a link to "Add New Plugin"

On that page put in the following information-

Product: vBulletin (this should be default)
Title: Tab Fix
Hook: member_build_blocks_start (from a drop-down list)
Execution Order: 5 (default value)

To make Visitor Messaging the default past this into the PHP Code box:

PHP Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'visitor_messaging';



Or to make About Me as the default paste in this instead:

PHP Code:

if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
    
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';


Save the plugin and you should be done- go to a profile page to test.

For unknown reasons, this made no difference on my new installation of v4.2.0. Each user's activity tab is still acting as their default for the profile. Any thoughts as to why?

--------------- Added [DATE]1362428662[/DATE] at [TIME]1362428662[/TIME] ---------------

Never mind! I had to enable it... it works fine. One of those duhhhh moments on my part. Sorry.

TravisWPaquin 08-09-2013 11:07 AM

Wonderful! Thank you for the tip on how to replace the activity stream with visitor messaging. It is not too bad having the my activity stream, it is just horribl to look at all the time when you click a users profile. Otherwise, it's good for latest posts/threads at a quicker rate.

Thanks again.

stoute 09-09-2013 09:59 PM

I know this is reviving an old thread but... when i get the plugin created and make a custom tab the default, it makes both the "My Activity" AND custom tab default. so both of the are highlighted when loading the page.
http://immortalarg.com/forum/member.php?1-stoute

If I choose another tab, such as the "aboutme" tab to make default then it works perfect... I must be missing something. Any Ideas? I can post source if needed.

**EDIT** I figured it out.
The custom tab needs the hook of "member_complete" and the tab fix gets the aforementioned hook of "member_build_blocks_start".

karnevil 09-23-2013 07:03 AM

Excellent - Thank you. Works perfectly on vb 4.2.1.

dj83 09-25-2013 12:32 PM

how do I remove the about me tab as default?

I am using vb 4.2.1 and after someone leaves a message it redirects to the about me page instead of staying on the visitor message page.

ForceHSS 09-25-2013 01:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dj83 (Post 2447917)
how do I remove the about me tab as default?

I am using vb 4.2.1 and after someone leaves a message it redirects to the about me page instead of staying on the visitor message page.

If you mean remove it so no one sees it even in there own profile there is no setting for that as far as I know but you could get it coded if there is none

dj83 09-25-2013 07:50 PM

oops sorry I meant so it wont be the default.

ozzy47 09-25-2013 10:11 PM

Which tab did you want as the default tab?

--------------- Added [DATE]1380158305[/DATE] at [TIME]1380158305[/TIME] ---------------

Actually, it don't matter, here is a mod I just made that you can set a tab as default, [ozzy47] Default Profile Tab


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01429 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,842KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (10)bbcode_php_printable
  • (12)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete