vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=245)
-   -   Show Thread Enhancements - Innovative Ads After First Post (Or any post!) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=249274)

TheLastSuperman 08-24-2010 10:00 PM

Innovative Ads After First Post (Or any post!)
 
1 Attachment(s)
Innovative Ads After First Post

By:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/08/16.png

I decided to make this while creating another modification as I have seen this requested many times, I Google'd it finding details on what template to edit plus I searched here on vbulletin.org and only found old "modifications" which were actually just tutorials and none were actual products that did most of the work for you :p.

Description:

Ad after first post on very page or as some describe it, Ad after first post in a thread - This modification places two ads in a post like container below the first post on every page in a thread. Fully customizable to allow all sorts of ad codes such as Google Adsense, OpenX Ads, and various others along with the possibility for the user to design his own images and link them to the appropriate content. Users can also customize CSS or remove the DIV codes to use show only one ad or any sort of advertisement and display any form of content other than ads!

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman
  • Please see post #'s 6 & 7 for codes to display this after a certain post on each page not simply after the first post!
  • More information on vB4 Conditionals can be found here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=231525 Special thanks should go to BBR-APBT for taking the time to write that article.

Features:
  • Enable or Disable via Settings in vBulletin Options.
  • Fully Customizable.
  • Auto-template.

Required Changes:
(Manual i.e. "To Do")
  • Edit the new template postbit_legacy_ads_after_firstpost and simply add in your scripts or codes to show them which is very simple as I included commented out code to show you exactly where to place it. *This shows in Postbit AND Postbit_Legacy depending on what you have enabled.
(Optional i.e. If you need to adjust the css to make it match your style better if using a custom Fixed width etc.)
  • Edit the new template adsafterfirstpost.css and adjust the css as desired!

(Automatic)
  • Templates to add: 2 ('postbit_legacy_ads_after_firstpost','adsafterfir stpost.css')
  • Phrases to add: 3

Difficulty:
Easy, Time to install: Around 1 Minute - Installer is included simply import the product;
AdminCP > Plugins & Products > Manage Products > *Now click the [ADD/IMPORT PRODUCT] link to import from your computer (download below). Adding in your own codes and customizing if you see fit takes a few more minutes.

History:
8.24.2010: Version 1.0 Created

IMPORTANT:
In the postbit_legacy_ads_after_firstpost template please find:
Code:

<div id="innovativeadleft">
<vb:comment> Left Ad Code Below this Commented out line </vb:comment>
Left Ad Image/Code 1 needs to be placed here, no larger than 260 pixels in height.
<vb:comment> Left Ad Code Above this Commented out line </vb:comment>
</div>
<div id="innovativeadright">
<vb:comment> Right Ad Code Below this Commented out line </vb:comment>
Right Ad Image/Code 2 needs to be placed here, no larger than 260 pixels in height.
<vb:comment> Right Ad Code Above this Commented out line </vb:comment>
</div>

As you can see I have added in commented code to let you know where your custom ads codes need to be placed, very simple.

*Remember to enable the mod after installing otherwise it won't show!
AdminCP > Settings > Options > Innovative Ads After First Post and set to Yes.

*Attention- Please view the first page as the 2nd and 3rd (Added: Post #'s 6 & 7 also contain info on how to customize!) posts were reserved and contain additional information to help you customize this in various ways.

What can you expect in the next version?
  • No template edits, Ads codes will be entered into the admin control panel area where the mod is currently enabled/disabled. If you have a custom style CSS changes will still be required if you notice any position issues etc.

TheLastSuperman :rolleyes:
http://www.innovationbyinstinct.com

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/08/17.png


TheLastSuperman 08-25-2010 02:21 AM

How to Customize the Template:
I will update this as questions are posted.

Currently the mod shows these Ads to Guest and Members, to show this only to Members OR Guest edit the template postbit_legacy_ads_after_firstpost and find:

Code:

<vb:if condition="$show['guest'] OR $show['member']">
Remove the $show['guest'] and the OR to show this to Members only.
Remove the OR and the $show['member'] to show this to Guest only.

Currently the mod has a link to REGISTER on your site as the post title per say, to change this link if your NOT showing this to Guest Only edit the same template as above and find:

Code:

<span class="innovativetitle"><a href="register.php">Register to remove these Ads!</a></span>
Replace the <a href="register.php">Register to remove these Ads!</a> with your link OR text.
  • Please see post #'s 6 & 7 for codes to display this after a certain post on each page not simply after the first post!
  • More information on vB4 Conditionals can be found here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=231525 Special thanks should go to BBR-APBT for taking the time to write that article.
How to locate the templates:

AdminCP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > *Select Edit Templates in the drop-down for your style. While scrolling through the templates some are titles for a group of templates so we have added two new templates by installing this mod and they are located within the CSS Templates and the Posbit Templates "Families".

In the Postbit Templates find the template postbit_legacy_ads_after_firstpost to paste your AD codes or well.. anything!
In CSS Templates find the template adsafterfirstpost.css to adjust the CSS as desired.

Additional Info to add these ads after any post or before the last

Quote:

Originally Posted by karlm (Post 2089165)
Good stuffs, Clark. Can it be set so as you can choose which post # the ads go to? i.e. atm, they're forced after post #1... but What if I wanted it to be on post #9 instead?

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman (Post 2089168)
Hmm you should be able to, open the template postbit_legacy_ads_after_firstpost and find:

Code:

<vb:if condition="!$GLOBALS['FIRSTPOSTID']">
Replace with:

Code:

<vb:if condition="$post['postcount'] % $vboptions['maxposts'] == ?">
Replace the ? mark with the post number you want the Ads to show after and DO NOT include a trailing </vb:if> as it's already near the bottom ;).

Let me know if that works :D.

Quote:

Originally Posted by karlm (Post 2089166)
Oooooor, I might want it so it's always the 'last but one' post..?

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman (Post 2089170)
Well that depends on your post per page settings:

AdminCP > settings > Options > Thread Display Options (showthread) > Maximum Displayed Posts Before Page Split



So if you have that set to 20 posts per page before the split simply use the code I just posted above and change the ? mark to 19 ;).

Example:

Code:

<vb:if condition="$post['postcount'] % $vboptions['maxposts'] == 19">


TheLastSuperman 08-25-2010 02:24 AM

How to Customize the CSS:
I will update this as questions are posted.

In CSS Templates find the template adsafterfirstpost.css to adjust the CSS as desired.

*The Height and Width of the Ad container and the inner Left and Right Ad containers even though it shows in the screenshot and says max height of 260, can all be adjusted in the CSS template ;).
*You can fully customize the template to show something other than ads, be creative and post if you have questions!

karlm 08-25-2010 03:06 AM

Good stuffs, Clark. Can it be set so as you can choose which post # the ads go to? i.e. atm, they're forced after post #1... but What if I wanted it to be on post #9 instead?

karlm 08-25-2010 03:07 AM

Oooooor, I might want it so it's always the 'last but one' post..?

TheLastSuperman 08-25-2010 03:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by karlm (Post 2089165)
Good stuffs, Clark. Can it be set so as you can choose which post # the ads go to? i.e. atm, they're forced after post #1... but What if I wanted it to be on post #9 instead?

Hmm you should be able to, open the template postbit_legacy_ads_after_firstpost and find:

Code:

<vb:if condition="!$GLOBALS['FIRSTPOSTID']">
Replace with:

Code:

<vb:if condition="$post['postcount'] % $vboptions['maxposts'] == ?">
Replace the ? mark with the post number you want the Ads to show after and DO NOT include a trailing </vb:if> as it's already near the bottom ;).

Let me know if that works :D.

TheLastSuperman 08-25-2010 03:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by karlm (Post 2089166)
Oooooor, I might want it so it's always the 'last but one' post..?

Well that depends on your post per page settings:

AdminCP > settings > Options > Thread Display Options (showthread) > Maximum Displayed Posts Before Page Split

Quote:

Maximum Displayed Posts Before Page Split
The number of posts to display on a thread page in linear or hybrid mode before splitting it over multiple pages.

Note: This number must be at least 1.
So if you have that set to 20 posts per page before the split simply use the code I just posted above and change the ? mark to 19 ;).

Example:

Code:

<vb:if condition="$post['postcount'] % $vboptions['maxposts'] == 19">

hardfm 08-25-2010 09:06 AM

and if I wish to have this every 2 posts? so after 2nd, 4th and 6th and so on?

karlm 08-25-2010 09:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hardfm (Post 2089261)
and if I wish to have this every 2 posts? so after 2nd, 4th and 6th and so on?

You'd get a lot of very annoyed viewers...

TheLastSuperman 08-25-2010 10:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hardfm (Post 2089261)
and if I wish to have this every 2 posts? so after 2nd, 4th and 6th and so on?

Then do the same thing I posted above i.e.

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman (Post 2089168)
Hmm you should be able to, open the template postbit_legacy_ads_after_firstpost and find:

Code:

<vb:if condition="!$GLOBALS['FIRSTPOSTID']">
Replace with:

Code:

<vb:if condition="$post['postcount'] % $vboptions['maxposts'] == ?">
Replace the ? mark with the post number you want the Ads to show after and DO NOT include a trailing </vb:if> as it's already near the bottom ;).

Let me know if that works :D.

If you meant show the ads after the 2nd, 4th, and 6th then karlm is speaking the truth imo, they will spite you most likely and tbo if I ever go to a site with ads after the post 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 I'll never register in fact I'll run away from that site in the opposite direction as fast as humanly possible :p. If you MARK AS INSTALLED I'll be happy to provide the code but head our "warnings" per say and make an informed decision ;).

Quote:

Originally Posted by karlm (Post 2089279)
You'd get a lot of very annoyed viewers...

I think you're correct here but to each his own so if anyone wants something custom simply mark as installed!

karlm 08-27-2010 02:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman (Post 2089168)
So if you have that set to 20 posts per page before the split simply use the code I just posted above and change the ? mark to 19 ;).


I don't believe this would work - it would be the last but one on a full page, but it would not show as last but one on a page with 18 replies... I haven't downloaded/installed as yet because I currently do not feel any pressing need, however, I do recognize it's potential and think it's a great assistant for those who may want help.

TheLastSuperman 08-28-2010 05:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by karlm (Post 2090148)
I don't believe this would work - it would be the last but one on a full page, but it would not show as last but one on a page with 18 replies... I haven't downloaded/installed as yet because I currently do not feel any pressing need, however, I do recognize it's potential and think it's a great assistant for those who may want help.

Well in that case you could simply add in a <vb:elseif condition= to accommodate, remember with the mod you released that's template edits similar to this for vB3, elseif was not available but in vB4 it is ;).

halkum 08-30-2010 06:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by karlm (Post 2089279)
You'd get a lot of very annoyed viewers...

Not to mention a ton of the ad companies do not allow multiple placements on one page, and can even dock your payout, or suspend the account. Others don't even count the click and views.

Nice mod :)

TheLastSuperman 08-30-2010 07:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by halkum (Post 2091453)
Not to mention a ton of the ad companies do not allow multiple placements on one page, and can even dock your payout, or suspend the account. Others don't even count the click and views.

Nice mod :)

Best bet is to check their TOS or other related information for all the details and make sure your not violating any sort of rule etc.

TY, simple enough ;).

Aramist 02-08-2011 06:04 PM

It's not compatible with vb 4.1 =/

can't proceed with the installation =/

deverill2010 02-22-2011 04:25 PM

What this doesn't work on 4.1.2 at all?

TheLastSuperman 02-23-2011 06:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aramist (Post 2160288)
It's not compatible with vb 4.1 =/

can't proceed with the installation =/

Quote:

Originally Posted by deverill2010 (Post 2165493)
What this doesn't work on 4.1.2 at all?

You both sound so surprised? Normally it's one quick file edit for the version compatibility however in 4.1 etc something has changed I'll have an update out soon bear with me :cool: or not :p.

TheLastSuperman 02-23-2011 06:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aramist (Post 2160288)
It's not compatible with vb 4.1 =/

can't proceed with the installation =/

Quote:

Originally Posted by deverill2010 (Post 2165493)
What this doesn't work on 4.1.2 at all?

And done! Anyone using 4.1+ download the v2 .xml, it is not currentl compatible with 4.2 i.e. it's maxed out currently at 4.1.9 however once 4.2 comes out I'll update it then.

Sincerely,

Mike

deverill2010 02-24-2011 06:21 AM

Thank you! When I can't a chance I'll get this installed :D

azcs bryan 02-26-2011 05:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman (Post 2089160)
How to Customize the CSS:
I will update this as questions are posted.

In CSS Templates find the template adsafterfirstpost.css to adjust the CSS as desired.

*The Height and Width of the Ad container and the inner Left and Right Ad containers even though it shows in the screenshot and says max height of 260, can all be adjusted in the CSS template ;).
*You can fully customize the template to show something other than ads, be creative and post if you have questions!

First off, thank you for taking something that required a whole ton of editing, and simplifying it for us "common folk" ;)

I edited the adsafterfirstpost.css to read:

height: 200px;


rather than 260px, because I love the location and placing, however I would like to make it shorter in display. It hasnt reflected any changes tho, and is still displaying the 260px box/container. Am I doing something wrong?

thanks again!

TheLastSuperman 02-27-2011 01:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by azcs bryan (Post 2167203)
First off, thank you for taking something that required a whole ton of editing, and simplifying it for us "common folk" ;)

I edited the adsafterfirstpost.css to read:

height: 200px;


rather than 260px, because I love the location and placing, however I would like to make it shorter in display. It hasnt reflected any changes tho, and is still displaying the 260px box/container. Am I doing something wrong?

thanks again!

In there are three definitions related to the height check it out:

Code:

#innovativeadspan {
width: 100%;
height: 260px;
margin-right: auto;
margin-left: auto;
}
#innovativeadleft {
width: 45%;
height: 260px;
float: left;
margin-left: 15px;
}
#innovativeadright {
width: 45%;
height: 260px;
float: right;
margin-right: 15px;
}

The innovativeadspan is the "Container" then innovativeadleft and right are for those sides respectively. If you change the left or right height to 200 then also change the innovativeadspan as well however the span should control the overall height regardless simply tinker to see the results but the span is the master value per say ;).

azcs bryan 02-28-2011 12:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman (Post 2167408)
In there are three definitions related to the height check it out:

The innovativeadspan is the "Container" then innovativeadleft and right are for those sides respectively. If you change the left or right height to 200 then also change the innovativeadspan as well however the span should control the overall height regardless simply tinker to see the results but the span is the master value per say ;).

I tried and tried but to no avail, with editing the css. I was however successful when i edited the postbit_legacy_ads_after_firstpost

the section here:

Code:

        <div class="postdetails" style="height:220px;">
<div style="margin-top:10px;"></div>

Originally the height:220px was set to 320px, as well as the margin-top:10px was set to 20px. Either way, that was successful!

Thank you for this awesome addon, and I will be eagerly awaiting the next version with Admin CP editing of the ads! :DAttachment 127017

abdicar 03-03-2011 01:50 AM

Hello developer, this is very important and cool mod.

I just want to ask you, why it is not compatible by default with lasts versions? Because we see mods that works with a lot of versions in the future and well looks like each new version break this mod.

Thank you for your feedback

TheLastSuperman 03-05-2011 03:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by abdicar (Post 2168959)
Hello developer, this is very important and cool mod.

I just want to ask you, why it is not compatible by default with lasts versions? Because we see mods that works with a lot of versions in the future and well looks like each new version break this mod.

Thank you for your feedback

This is supposed to be default functionality, last time I checked it was still not working i.e. a bug so I added a version dependency to the code. When it's fixed this mod will no longer be required and some max out the version simply not knowing what's on the way... I hope those making modifications in regards to the editor are not as a change is in store there as well ;).

sweetguy2004 03-06-2011 06:38 AM

nice script make it more admin friendly i will wait for next version coz i dnt like to edit templates.

LbR 03-13-2011 02:04 PM

Brilliant product man!!! thanks

Teascu Dorin 03-13-2011 11:01 PM

This product is great but it seems is appearing for registered users and me as administrator also. Shouldn't be seen only by visitors /unregistered?

Thank you!

flaguns 03-17-2011 05:52 AM

Very nice!! Thanks a ton, I really like this.

I changed the height as mentioned above, and changed the margin to a 10px 10px 10px 10px instead of just the 20px top and I really think it looks great! :up:

Luca_000 03-20-2011 12:36 PM

hello,
if i would like to put the post after the first one of each page and after the sixth message (if present), how i can do?
thank you

denman75 03-20-2011 02:04 PM

would be great if u can insert your own adverts ,and leave google ads out

ninadbe 03-22-2011 11:44 AM

Is it possible to show customized PHP code in AD box instead of ADS?
I mean I want to show related images extracted from remote server in a box.

below are some lines of my code
Code:

$dbh=mysql_connect("remote_server_ip:3306", "username", "password") or die
('I cannot connect to the database because: ' . mysql_error());

mysql_select_db ("db_name", $dbh);

--php code here for extracting and displaying images--


karlm 04-04-2011 06:32 AM

I second the above post... I returned to this thread as I've got another forum I'm setting up and wish to use this (or similar) to extract data either from a text-file or a database..

Once I can do that, I'll be implementing this product on my new site.

Breakpoint 04-27-2011 01:49 AM

Great product, hope you can implement the mod to integrate more into the Admin CP

mdreamer 05-14-2011 08:38 AM

Hi,

First of all thank you for this nice mod :) its really simple and helpful

just one question:

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman (Post 2090785)
Well in that case you could simply add in a <vb:elseif condition= to accommodate, remember with the mod you released that's template edits similar to this for vB3, elseif was not available but in vB4 it is ;).

can you help my out with the elseif condition? i would like it to appear before the last post of each thread if it has 2 posts or couple of tens of posts spared in couple of pages

Thanks again.

Maayan

el-Turki 05-20-2011 05:22 AM

What would be the code to have several banners (with different links) rotating?

TheLastSuperman 05-23-2011 05:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mdreamer (Post 2195511)
Hi,

First of all thank you for this nice mod :) its really simple and helpful

just one question:



can you help my out with the elseif condition? i would like it to appear before the last post of each thread if it has 2 posts or couple of tens of posts spared in couple of pages

Thanks again.

Maayan

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=231525

Scroll to the very bottom and reference the elseif, then adjust using the conditionals we have been discussing in this thread and in the description :cool:.

Quote:

Originally Posted by el-Turki (Post 2197891)
What would be the code to have several banners (with different links) rotating?

You could use something along the lines of:

Code:

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
      showbanner = new Array(3);

showbanner[0] = "<a href='http://www.yoursite.com/index.php'><img src="images/banner1.png" alt="My text here"/></a>";

showbanner[1] = "<a href='http://www.yoursite.com/index.php'><img src="images/banner1.png" alt="My text here"/></a>";

showbanner[2] = "<vb:if condition="$show['guest']"><a href='register.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl}'>Become a member &amp; get full access, additional privileges, and more</a><vb:else /><a href='http://www.yoursite.com/index.php'><img src="images/banner1.png" alt="My text here"/></a></vb:if>";

index = Math.floor(Math.random() * showbanner.length);
document.write(showbanner[index]);
      //End
      // --></script>

And as you can see conditionals work fine as well, used in the last one.

mdreamer 06-02-2011 10:05 AM

thanks :)

maryx 06-03-2011 02:12 PM

Can anyone suggest how to make a widget show up in this ad space in the forum? I have tried this -

1) putting the widget title in the space for the ad in the postbit_legacy_ads_after_firstpost template. The widget title shows up on the correct area of the page, but not the widget itself.

2) I put in the widget code in the right spot, but it doesn't show up at all.

Would love to be able to do this! Thanks!

bderen 02-22-2012 01:48 AM

how about vb 3.8.2?

twista46 03-06-2012 02:06 PM

4.1.11 not kompatibel. (Kompatibel ab 4.0.0 Beta 3


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01559 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,884KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (15)bbcode_code_printable
  • (27)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete