vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=246)
-   -   Miscellaneous Hacks - Randomize your background every refresh! (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=242177)

LGKeiz 05-08-2010 10:00 PM

Randomize your background every refresh!
 
1 Attachment(s)
this is a simple .php file, and small "Style Vars" edit to make it so your background changes on your forum every time you refresh the page, using the popular extensions, such as .jpg, and .png.


rotate.php

PHP Code:

<?PHP 
$dir 
'images/blood/backgrounds/'//change this to the directory where your background images are from the root directory!
$images = array(); 
$extensions = array('png''jpg''gif'); 
 
if (!
file_exists($dir)) 
 die(
'directory not found'); 
 
$fp = @opendir($dir); 
 
while (
$file = @readdir($fp)) 

 
$info pathinfo($file); 
 if (
in_array($info['extension'], $extensions)) 
  
$images[] = $file

 
@
closedir($fp); 
 
$bg mt_rand(0count($images) - 1); 
header('Location: ' $dir $images[$bg]); 
?>

put this file into your root directory.

Make sure to change the directory to the background images you want!


Changing the Style Var via doc_background
  1. Go to your admincp, click "Style Manager"
  2. select your favorite skin on the drop down menu select "Style Vars"
  3. in the Style Vars menu, search for "doc_background"
  4. Once there replace the Background Image field with url(location of your rotate.php) ex: url(phpfiles/rotate.php) then hit save.

And your finished!

Demo: http://gamingsync.com


Credits
Darkness
I did not create this, but tested it, and had the idea for it, had permission to share this.

asj 05-09-2010 11:28 PM

Search vbulletin.css codes click Add ?
url(forum/rotate.php)

background:{vb:stylevar doc_background };
deleted?

LGKeiz 05-09-2010 11:47 PM

No. you don't touch vbulletin.css; you can do it from the Style Vars Editor...

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/4275/28323435.png

setishock 05-14-2010 03:54 AM

Here's a lot more info on the file and how it works. http://www.alistapart.com/articles/randomizer/
Credit goes to Dan Benjamin who first made the file.

SamDelgado 05-15-2010 10:26 AM

I cannot get this to work and I have no idea why. I can get any of my 50ish backgrounds to show on their own but once I add the script how I should it just shows no background. Anyone willing to check it out for me and see if I am doing something wrong? I am using the warrior theme.

paramegsoft 05-15-2010 12:40 PM

wow that is cool

but i think it make some load in the server

SamDelgado 05-16-2010 09:55 PM

Still looking for an answer to this...

SamDelgado 05-17-2010 10:41 AM

I am getting this error with the script when I go directly to the script url

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/content/05/5148505/html/toplolclips/images/warrior/backgrounds/rotate.php:1) in /home/content/05/5148505/html/toplolclips/images/warrior/backgrounds/rotate.php on line 21

What am I doing wrong?

NNJJ 05-17-2010 07:59 PM

didnt work for me i dont know why :(

LGKeiz 05-22-2010 08:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by setishock (Post 2036734)
Here's a lot more info on the file and how it works. http://www.alistapart.com/articles/randomizer/
Credit goes to Dan Benjamin who first made the file.

This file was created from scratch... compare sources before posting idiotic posts like this, Thank you.


And for those who are still having issues, I will get my developer to answer your questions asap.

EDIT: tbh I forgot I released this.

LGKeiz 05-22-2010 09:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamDelgado (Post 2038428)
I am getting this error with the script when I go directly to the script url

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/content/05/5148505/html/toplolclips/images/warrior/backgrounds/rotate.php:1) in /home/content/05/5148505/html/toplolclips/images/warrior/backgrounds/rotate.php on line 21

What am I doing wrong?


Make sure rotate.php is in your ROOT directory, not your images directory.

LGKeiz 05-22-2010 09:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamDelgado (Post 2038428)
I am getting this error with the script when I go directly to the script url

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/content/05/5148505/html/toplolclips/images/warrior/backgrounds/rotate.php:1) in /home/content/05/5148505/html/toplolclips/images/warrior/backgrounds/rotate.php on line 21

What am I doing wrong?

Try placing rotate.php in your root vBulletin folder if it isn't already there.

LGKeiz 05-22-2010 09:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NNJJ (Post 2038712)
didnt work for me i dont know why :(


What errors are you getting?

NNJJ 05-24-2010 05:04 PM

no error just nothing appear as background
i check paths and all redo but still nothing appear
i have 4.3

LGKeiz 05-24-2010 06:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NNJJ (Post 2042762)
no error just nothing appear as background
i check paths and all redo but still nothing appear
i have 4.3

Please provide the following information:
  • Location of rotate.php (full URL if possible)
  • Location of background images you wish to use (full URL if possible)
  • The second line of rotate.php. ($dir = ...)
  • The Background Image field of doc_background in Style Vars.

Also, the script has been slightly modified. I uploaded and pasted the wrong code but it shouldn't have caused any errors either way.

jimfries 05-31-2010 11:11 PM

I attempted to use this, thought it would be a fun update for the website, however I only get a black background when I try.

Location of rotate.php: Root directory
- www.distortedguild.com/rotate.php

Location of background images: /images/backgrounds/
- http://www.distortedguild.com/images.../Cataclysm.jpg

Second line of rotate.php: $dir = 'images/backgrounds/';
(attempted using $dir = '/images/backgrounds/'; also, but still was not successful.

The background image field of doc_background in Style Vars: url(rotate.php)


Hope that info helps.

LGKeiz 06-01-2010 11:17 AM

rotate.php is detecting that the directory isn't found.

try another directory..

"directory not found"

I will get my developer to help you out as soon as I can.

davidmoon 06-24-2010 02:15 AM

This is working awesome for me ... though I'm only rotating 5 backgrounds. :)

Bouncer222 06-25-2010 01:24 AM

I installed this, but it's not working for me. Can anyone help me? You can only see it while the page is changing. But once its finished loading, its the same background on it, the one that's set by the style.

My guess is the style is custom coded differently or something? IDK.
Would appreciate any help. I set the stylevar image url to: url(images/backgrounds)

JasonReynolds 06-25-2010 02:23 PM

Great mod thanks :D

JasonReynolds 07-19-2010 11:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bouncer222 (Post 2059138)
I installed this, but it's not working for me. Can anyone help me? You can only see it while the page is changing. But once its finished loading, its the same background on it, the one that's set by the style.

My guess is the style is custom coded differently or something? IDK.
Would appreciate any help. I set the stylevar image url to: url(images/backgrounds)

Did you already have a pre-set background with CSS built on with your layout? If so you got to clear the CSS off that...

JasonReynolds 07-20-2010 01:43 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by jimfries (Post 2046262)
I attempted to use this, thought it would be a fun update for the website, however I only get a black background when I try.

Location of rotate.php: Root directory
- www.distortedguild.com/rotate.php

Location of background images: /images/backgrounds/
- http://www.distortedguild.com/images.../Cataclysm.jpg

Second line of rotate.php: $dir = 'images/backgrounds/';
(attempted using $dir = '/images/backgrounds/'; also, but still was not successful.

The background image field of doc_background in Style Vars: url(rotate.php)


Hope that info helps.

Here you go JimFries.... use this rotate.php file. Tell me if works or not, Thankyou.

CRDeveloper 03-28-2011 03:30 AM

Installed on v4.1.2

NPGamers.Net 03-29-2011 01:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CRDeveloper (Post 2178204)
Installed on v4.1.2

How?? Just uploaded 4.1.2 & not working at all for me.

katim110 04-11-2011 11:56 AM

does this work for vb 4.1.3?

thank u

HagbardCeline 04-14-2011 07:13 PM

I've seen this php code to get randomized images from a folder. The idea is really good, but we can do it better. I don't like the solution, to send headers with the randomized image, but first step, a little code cleanUp.

Works with php 5.3+

PHP Code:

<?php

$images 
= array();

try {
    foreach (new 
FilesystemIterator(dirname('images/YOURFOLDER/*')) as $file) {
        
        if (!
preg_match('#^(.*)\.(gif|png|jpg)$#i'$file)) {
            continue;
        }
        
        
$images[] = $file->getPathname();
    }
}
catch (
Exception $e) {
    
// do something like -> header('Location: images/background/alternativeImage.jpg'); 
}

$image mt_rand(0count($images) - 1); 
header('Location: ' $images[$image]);

Don't use

PHP Code:

?> 

to close the php code! We don't need it...

Cheers

Lemonwater 04-22-2011 06:40 PM

screenshot please...

socialteenz 07-20-2011 06:32 PM

Any one got this working?

temsamane 10-10-2011 05:16 PM

is this working on vb 4.1.5

hivitro 11-02-2011 10:37 AM

@HagbardCeline: Nice clean up. Thank

@Lemonwater: Why you need an Screenshot? simple. you can change the background or any css variable and random it.

@temsamane: its an external php code, to ramdom images, if the php server run, it will run..

@ALL: If you put too many big pictures to the background, your server will have a serveral load tranfering images.

Ex. If you have: 10 diferents images, of 100kb. 200 users, read 5 diferent post, you will tranfer: 200x5x100= +-100 mb only to show a diferent background?

temsamane 12-06-2011 08:05 PM

is there any update/same mod for this one?


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01477 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,820KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (8)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (31)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete