vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=246)
-   -   Integration with vBulletin - Replace search with google search engine ( no google account required) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=241563)

Golzarion 04-29-2010 10:00 PM

Replace search with google search engine ( no google account required)
 
1 Attachment(s)
This mod replace the navbar search with google search engine (No adsense account is required !) just use the google search engine to search inside your forum !!

Install :

1. go to : admin cp =>style manager=>>all style options =>>Navigation/Bread crumb templates => Navbar
in "navbar " template :
search for :
HTML Code:

<form action="search.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=process" method="post"
2. find :
HTML Code:

<form action="search.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=process" method="post" id="navbar_search" class="navbar_search">
                <vb:comment><input type="hidden" name="s" value="{vb:raw session.sessionurl}" /></vb:comment>
                <input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="{vb:raw bbuserinfo.securitytoken}" />
                <input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
                <span class="textboxcontainer"><span><input type="text" value="" name="query" class="textbox" tabindex="99"/></span></span>
                <span class="buttoncontainer"><span><input type="image" class="searchbutton" src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/search<vb:if condition="$stylevar['textdirection'] == 'rtl'">_rtl</vb:if>.<vb:if condition="is_browser('ie') AND !is_browser('ie', 7)">gif<vb:else />png</vb:if>" name="submit" onclick="document.getElementById('navbar_search').submit;" tabindex="100"/></span></span>
            </form>

3. Replace it with :

Code:

<form method="get" action="http://www.google.com/search" target="_blank" class="navbar_search">
            <input type="hidden" name="sitesearch" value="forums.animparadise.com"  id="pn"/>
            <span class="textboxcontainer"><span><input type="text" value="" name="q" class="textbox" tabindex="99"/></span></span>
            <span class="buttoncontainer"><span><input type="image" class="searchbutton" src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/search.png" name="submit" onclick="document.getElementById('navbar_search').submit;" tabindex="100"/></span></span>
        <input type="hidden" name="domains" value="forums.animparadise.com"/>
</form>

4. Remember to change the url : " forums.animparadise.com " with your own forum address !!!!

5. Then save the template. and enjoy your new search with google engine !


demo : http://forum.golzarion.com

It works perfect on cms and blog too ..
Also Persian Translation is attached. on so the screen shots for both english and persian version.

update :works perfect on vb version : 4.1.10

**** Please click Installed if you use this mod . thx ****


.

Golzarion 04-30-2010 12:23 PM

1 Attachment(s)
To clear the screenshots :

This is for English version : Attachment 116496

And This is for Persian version :

Attachment 116497

Persian language users can use both ( persian or English ) versions of this mod .

I hope you like the mod..

BaziCenter 04-30-2010 01:11 PM

thanks man

Brandon Sheley 04-30-2010 02:49 PM

can you link us to a demo search page that doesn't require users to login

thanks

Golzarion 04-30-2010 04:07 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Loco.M (Post 2029580)
can you link us to a demo search page that doesn't require users to login

thanks

just test demo on my forum : http://forum.golzarion.com/forum.php

( for example search the word " golzarion " )or see the screenshots.


The main idea is :

You can always search inside the site by google search engine :

in the google box just type this :

Code:

site:YOURDOMAIN.COM keyword1+keyword2....
Then google search engine searches just inside your site ... without any accounts needed !

Am I right ?

Golzarion 04-30-2010 04:23 PM

I specially created this mod for Iraninan users ! because of " Trade restriction against Iranian ordinary people " ! my Iranian friends can not use Google Adsence custom search !
I personally do not have any google Adsence accounts ...
The idea of using google search by using " site:yourdomain.com" can make it easier for this country...

RobbieZ 05-02-2010 06:45 AM

Can this be customized for 3.8.x ??

Golzarion 05-02-2010 04:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobbieZ (Post 2030469)
Can this be customized for 3.8.x ??

Yes,I will put the 3.8 version on the first post soon .

tarzan22 05-03-2010 05:50 AM

Very good, and to put our ID google?

thanks

Golzarion 05-03-2010 05:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tarzan22 (Post 2030962)
Very good, and to put our ID google?

thanks

I am happy you like it ...

There is no need to have a google adsence ID !!!NO Google adsence ID required !! It works similar to google adsence custom search ... but no Adsence ID is required !

bayXzor 05-03-2010 09:44 PM

thanks man

cloferba 05-03-2010 10:56 PM

i want to replace vbulletin search with google search engine...but using my adsense configuration

any way to implement this to earn money with google searches using our adsense account?

Golzarion 05-03-2010 11:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cloferba (Post 2031384)
i want to replace vbulletin search with google search engine...but using my adsense configuration

any way to implement this to earn money with google searches using our adsense account?

Well, for google Adsence users already a hack was created :https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=229247
I have no experience on Adsence ...

cloferba 05-05-2010 12:50 AM

thank you very much! :D

Alphaforums.com 05-29-2010 11:33 PM

Awesome. Period.

Frondy 05-31-2010 11:59 AM

It works, but it works for unregistered members too.
How to solve this?

Golzarion 05-31-2010 04:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Frondy (Post 2045985)
It works, but it works for unregistered members too.
How to solve this?

Well, This is not a problem at all ! I believe it is a good ability that it works for all visitors! ( even guests )

When you use this type of search ... the google search engine searches inside your forum .. and NO Pressure on your server !
In the real fact it is a big conserve on your server resources !

Let all the visitors search your forum but by using Google search engine Not your server !

I think that's a good point of this hack,.:cool:

Golzarion 05-31-2010 04:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bayXzor (Post 2031357)
thanks man

Quote:

Originally Posted by cloferba (Post 2031888)
thank you very much! :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alphaforums.com (Post 2045311)
Awesome. Period.

Thanks. You are welcome .

RobbieZ 07-27-2010 08:40 PM

do you need the www before the site name and forums.php afterwards?

It would be great if the results were shown withing the forum too.. :D

Bram H 08-14-2010 08:06 PM

How can I have overlooked this mod! Sometimes life is so easy with a simple modification. Thanks a million!! Finally the annoying vb search can be ditched :)

Installed successfully on a 4.0.6. board!

Marked as installed and highly rated!

salvador21 09-17-2010 07:27 AM

Great mod!

I don't suppose it's possible to make this search two sites instead of just one?

mohammad6006 09-24-2010 09:37 PM

سلام دوست من ميتوني كاري كني با گوگل كاستوم سرچ كار كنه؟

can i use google custom search code without adsens acount?

Golzarion 10-05-2010 11:58 AM

Quote:

do you need the www before the site name and forums.php afterwards?
It depends on your forums URL setting ! for example my forum url address is "http://forum.golzarion.com " with out www. I had set it in this address some years ago ... so when I set the address in this mod " http://forum.golzarion.com " it searches entire my forum !

Quote:

Marked as installed and highly rated!
Thank you very much.

Quote:

Installed successfully on a 4.0.6. board!
This mod will work on all versions of vBulletin 4 .x !
Quote:

Great mod!
Thank you .
Quote:

I don't suppose it's possible to make this search two sites instead of just one?
It depends on your domain or subdomains ! for example if your site address is : http://golzarion.com " and your forum address is " http://golzarion.com/forum/"
when you set this modification on the main domain address it will search both ( your site and your forum )
It depends on your boards url addresses !!
Quote:

سلام دوست من ميتوني كاري كني با گوگل كاستوم سرچ كار كنه؟
سلام
خوب این هک برای اینه که بدون ساختن اکانت در گوگل بشه ازش استفاده کرد
وگرنه کافیه به جای کدهایی که من نوشتم کد کاستوم سرچ گوگل یا حتی ادسنس رو بذارید !
یه پلاگین مشابه با همین کارآیی که شما می خواهی در همین بخش فکر کنم هست . باید جستجو کنید

Translation of above : .
Quote:

can i use google custom search code without adsens acount?
Surely this modification dosen't need any google account at all !!
If you want to use google custom search or google adsense there is an other hack in vBulletin.org that you can use that one .

EconomicVoice 10-16-2010 12:59 PM

One thing you can do is set up a Google search account and choose the results option 'open in a new window' and digit length 20. Then upload your logo with target URL to your site too (choose display at top).
Then get the code and insert/replace exactly as stated at the top of this page.
When the basic search is used you get a new tab/window with your logo at the top linking back to your site and all matching results within your site as well as adverts.
At the top there is a button that allows the user to then widen the search to the web if they want.
If they wish to use advanced search it uses the normal vB one.

RobbieZ 10-27-2010 10:47 AM

Need it to stop opening in a new window.

Doesnt work on my forum

The code has since changed therefore your template is now useless.

Golzarion 10-30-2010 03:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobbieZ (Post 2114832)
Need it to stop opening in a new window.

Remove this :
Code:

target="_blank"
from the codes.
Quote:

The code has since changed therefore your template is now useless.
Of course the search codes will work. but you are right the template has been changed on 4.0.9 .... I will take a look at it this week ....

RobbieZ 11-01-2010 04:25 PM

Thanks, Is it possible to have the code for an open search like here on vb.org?

I only ask as the advanced search and normal search is widely use plus the live search works well and another search engine input would be great :)

Any chance of this being in a forum block?

Bram H 04-03-2011 10:49 PM

Cant get this to work anymore. When i follow the steps in the opening post the box shows up under the navbar instead of inside it :)

Running 4.1.2

hiker 05-14-2011 03:28 AM

Works great, exactly as planned. Using vb 4.0.2

How can I insert code that would exclude certain forums from the search? For example, I'd like my forum id 59 to be excluded from this search. What and where can I put the code?

Thanks.

EDIT: Nevermind, it's in Forum Management to disable a forum from being Searchable.

amogh 05-17-2011 03:54 AM

Hello,

Could you please guide me to how do I install this mod in VB 4.1.3

Somehow I am struggling to do it. Your help will be highly appreciated

Thanks

xony 05-28-2011 10:42 PM

very very thanks friend

ARSamo 05-29-2011 03:22 PM

works fine........
but how we can add this as side bar block...?
and search results show in same block (which were increased in height when clicked)..?

Golzarion 05-30-2011 01:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amogh (Post 2196622)
Hello,

Could you please guide me to how do I install this mod in VB 4.1.3

Somehow I am struggling to do it. Your help will be highly appreciated

Thanks

It works on all versions of vb4 . I have installed it on my own 4.1.3 board : http://forum.golzarion.com/forum.php
The installation is the same ! just replace the codes as described on the first post ...
It just need the navbar template edit . for details please read the installation instructions on the thread : https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=241563

Golzarion 05-30-2011 01:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ARSamo (Post 2201300)
works fine........
but how we can add this as side bar block...?
and search results show in same block (which were increased in height when clicked)..?

So I just do not have enough time to add these features right now ...
I created this mod with the same design as vbulletin default search .

Golzarion 05-30-2011 01:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by xony (Post 2201039)
very very thanks friend

You are welcome . I am happy you like it . :)

DNN 06-26-2011 01:15 AM

It looks confusing

adwade 07-15-2011 05:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Golzarion (Post 2030648)
Yes,I will put the 3.8 version on the first post soon .

Was this ever done, and posted somewhere else perhaps??

thespi 02-12-2012 10:36 AM

Need to get a template for this so you dont actually leave the forum

Delfi_r 02-22-2013 11:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thespi (Post 2298816)
Need to get a template for this so you dont actually leave the forum

Is there an explanation how to do it? I would install on my forum if I can find the right way

bing11 03-03-2013 05:05 PM

very nice
thank you


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02850 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,848KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_html_printable
  • (22)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete