vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=246)
-   -   Show Thread Enhancements - Post New Thread Button (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=236685)

princeedward 02-22-2010 10:00 PM

Post New Thread Button
 
1 Attachment(s)

Post New Thread Button To Showthread
Above, Below / Closed, Open Thread
(Tested To Default vB Skin Style And FF/IE Browser Only!)



Again...What Is This?
This is a simple and more better way to add the same Post New Thread Button to showthread page...to a closed and open thread...above and below with you to decide the space and adjust...



PROCEDURES/INSTALLATION:
[Pls. Read Clearly Or If You Need Reading Glass (Wear It First) And Follow The Steps Below



NOW GO:

ACP > Styles & Templates > Search in Templates > Search in Style:Click Dropdown Arrow (Choose Actual Style)> Search for Text: SHOWTHREAD > Search Titles Only: YES > Click Find


NOW SELECT SHOWTHREAD TO OPEN!

======================================
1: ADDING POST NEW THREAD BUTTON ABOVE!
======================================

FIND THIS CODE:


Code:

<div id="above_postlist" class="above_postlist">
                <vb:if condition="$show['largereplybutton']">
                        <a href="newreply.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}p={vb:raw LASTPOSTID}&amp;noquote=1"
class="newcontent_textcontrol" id="newreplylink_top"><vb:if condition="$show['closethread']"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase reply_to_thread}<vb:else />{vb:rawphrase closed_thread}</vb:if></a>

ADD BELOW:

Code:

<!--- POST NEW THREAD BUTTON ABOVE START --->

<a href="newthread.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=newthread&amp;f={vb:raw thread.forumid}" rel="nofollow" class="newcontent_textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_top"  style="margin-left:10px;"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_new_thread}</a>

<!--- POST NEW THREAD BUTTON ABOVE END --->

==================================
NOTE: ADJUST THE RED ONE IF NEEDED!
==================================

======================================
2: ADDING POST NEW THREAD BUTTON BELOW!
======================================

NOW GO DOWN BELOW AND SEARCH/FIND THIS CODE:


Code:

<div id="below_postlist" class="below_postlist">
        <vb:if condition="$show['largereplybutton']">
                <a href="newreply.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}p={vb:raw LASTPOSTID}&amp;noquote=1"
        class="newcontent_textcontrol" id="newreplylink_bottom">
<vb:if condition="$show['closethread']"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase reply_to_thread}<vb:else />{vb:rawphrase closed_thread}</vb:if></a>


ADD BELOW:


Code:

<!--- POST NEW THREAD BUTTON BELOW START --->

<a href="newthread.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=newthread&amp;f={vb:raw thread.forumid}" rel="nofollow" class="newcontent_textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_top"  style="margin-left:160px;"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_new_thread}</a>

<!--- POST NEW THREAD BUTTON BELOW END --->

==================================
NOTE: ADJUST THE RED ONE IF NEEDED!
==================================

SPECIAL NOTE:
Now you will notice that something is not right... the Post New Thread or Reply To Thread Button is quite larger or bigger than the others (Because Of The Font Size!)
Now you want to have it all the same size...which is more better to see...right?


NOW GO TO EDIT THAT BUTTON:

ACP > Styles & Templates > Search in Templates > Search in Style:Click Dropdown Arrow (Choose Actual Style)> Search for Text: vbulletin-chrome.css > Search Titles Only: YES > Click Find

NOW GO SELECT vbulletin-chrome.css TO OPEN

Search in Template: .newcontent_textcontrol span { Click Find:


OR LOOK/FIND THIS CODE:

Code:

}
.newcontent_textcontrol span {
        font-size:15px;
        font-weight:bold;
        display:inline;
}


CHANGE/ADJUST THE RED INTO: 10-12px



SAVE AND RELOAD FOR A TEST IF NOT OKAY ADJUST MORE:

UNTIL OKAY....SAVE AND ENJOY!


================================================== ======
NOTE: IF YOU INSTALLED THE MOD BELOW DONT SET THE BUTTON SETTINGS TO BE INVISIBLE (OTHERWISE YOU WILL NOT SEE THIS)!

ADVANCE REPLY FOR QUICK REPLY
================================================== ======




NOTE:
If Anyone Can Make It More Better In Any Way (Xml Product) On This..Feel Free To Submit Your Modification Here....

Hope You Like It And Find This Useful To Your Website!
If You Use This Mod; Please Don't Forget To:
  • Click "Mark as Installed"
  • Leave Any Comment By Saying Thanks! or Anything! (Not Just Read, Use And Go)
  • Rate
  • Nominate


"Hey Smart, If You Think You Can Make Better, Just Create One, Release And Share It To All For Free...
If It's Useless, Bad Idea For You...Don't Like It...Don't Bother To Leave Any Comment Below"...
Just Hit The Road Jack!




SPECIAL THANKS AND CREDIT FOR THE GOOD IDEA AND HELP, ALSO GOES TO:

  • shadowgfx (For His Original But Incomplete Mod HERE)
  • s810car (For Good Suggestion HERE)
  • Lynne (For Never Ending Assistance Who Always There Behind Us And Without Waiting For Anything From Us...)


Good Day...Thanks And Best Regards To All


https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/

kall 02-23-2010 01:44 PM

Nice of you to share, but what is the point of a newthread button in showthread?

Threads go in forums. That's why there's a newthread button there.

Why not put one in usercp.php and payments.php? Can we maybe get one in the archive? What about CMS and blogs?

Eq4bits 02-23-2010 05:41 PM

That's a bit rude Kall.
I find a 'new thread' button on showthread very handy as do my members; besides being convenient it has also cut down on thread hijacking/going off topic if that button is *right there* to click for the member to start a new thread because what they were reading inspires them/makes them think of something similar.

I don't use a LOT of the mods because their use doesn't pertain to the use of MY forum, but I don't post snide comments in the mod threads.

steve1966 02-23-2010 06:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kall (Post 1989613)
Nice of you to share, but what is the point of a newthread button in showthread?

Threads go in forums. That's why there's a newthread button there.

Why not put one in usercp.php and payments.php? Can we maybe get one in the archive? What about CMS and blogs?

Totaly disagree with you this is a useful modification and i would like to thank princeedward for releasing it :)

supportMM 02-23-2010 06:45 PM

AWESOME.......first thanks for making one of these mods work, and thanks for the PM letting me know you made it.

I have had members begging for this.

Its nice to give them something that works LOL

Cableguy69 02-23-2010 08:08 PM

Yep my members make several posts at a time in certain forums so having the New thread button saves on a click for each new thread made.

Great little mod rated 5 and installed.

GeorgeB85 02-24-2010 01:57 AM

I installed this following the directions, but for some reason the button and reply button are now only showing to unregistered members. Any idea how to make it to show to registered members?

Dr.osamA 02-24-2010 03:35 AM

installed

thanxxx

hwo i can make it viseble only for mods ?

phkk 02-24-2010 05:42 AM

loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

princeedward 02-24-2010 06:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GeorgeB85 (Post 1990063)
I installed this following the directions, but for some reason the button and reply button are now only showing to unregistered members. Any idea how to make it to show to registered members?

hi there....this is impossible...we together of my members are using this without problem...this is something to do with adding maybe a conditional...maybe try to add this...

Show only members:

Code:

<vb:if condition="$show['member']">CODE HERE!</vb:if>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dr.osamA (Post 1990116)
installed

thanxxx

hwo i can make it viseble only for mods ?

hi...this is possible maybe by adding conditional too...not tested but you can try to add this code...


Show specific user groups :
Code:

<vb:if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 1,2,3)">CODE HERE!</vb:if>
================================

Show only moderators of any forum:

Code:

<vb:if condition="can_moderate()">CODE HERE!</vb:if>

best regards and hope that helped you guys...


PLS. MARKED INSTALLED-NOMINATE-RATE!

:p:up:

OturanBoğa 02-24-2010 07:33 AM

Thanks.

GeorgeB85 02-24-2010 12:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by princeedward (Post 1990161)
hi there....this is impossible...we together of my members are using this without problem...this is something to do with adding maybe a conditional...maybe try to add this...

Show only members:

Code:

<vb:if condition="$show['member']">CODE HERE!</vb:if>

I used only this code

Quote:

<!--- POST NEW THREAD BUTTON ABOVE START --->

<a href="newthread.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=newthread&amp;f={vb:raw thread.forumid}" rel="nofollow" class="newcontent_textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_top" style="margin-left:10px;"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_new_thread}</a>

<!--- POST NEW THREAD BUTTON ABOVE END --->
I even tried doing it with out the <!--- POST NEW THREAD BUTTON ABOVE START ---> parts but no luck.

PS. I tried the code you suggested just now too, and still no luck.

COL NIL SATIS 02-24-2010 02:52 PM

This looks great..will vote and install tonight..thanks for sharing this Edward

princeedward 02-24-2010 04:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GeorgeB85 (Post 1990361)
I used only this code



I even tried doing it with out the <!--- POST NEW THREAD BUTTON ABOVE START ---> parts but no luck.

PS. I tried the code you suggested just now too, and still no luck.

what vb version do you have...and if you want me to take a look and do it for you myself i am willing to help you out...just give me access via pm...well its for you to decidde if you will trust me...other than that i have no idea why is it not workin to your side only...sorry about that...

:o

princeedward 02-24-2010 08:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dr.osamA (Post 1990649)
thanxx man

sorry i forgat install

now it is ok

nothing to say sorry man...glad it works now...thanks also for the marked installed...nominate and rate....

;):up:

princeedward 02-25-2010 06:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GeorgeB85 (Post 1990063)
I installed this following the directions, but for some reason the button and reply button are now only showing to unregistered members. Any idea how to make it to show to registered members?

problem solved now...view my post to your site...and thanks for the trust you gave me to your admincp access...
well found out that...one mod has a conflict with all of your buttons...

best regards and goodluck to your site...pls. click installed-nominate and rate...

:p:up:

princeedward 02-25-2010 06:46 AM

UPDATE:

================================================== ======
NOTE: IF YOU INSTALLED THE MOD BELOW DONT SET THE BUTTON SETTINGS TO HIDE THEM (OTHERWISE YOU WILL NOT SEE THIS)!

ADVANCE REPLY FOR QUICK REPLY
================================================== ======

GeorgeB85 02-25-2010 12:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by princeedward (Post 1991014)
problem solved now...view my post to your site...and thanks for the trust you gave me to your admincp access...
well found out that...one mod has a conflict with all of your buttons...

best regards and goodluck to your site...pls. click installed-nominate and rate...

:p:up:

Just wanted to say thanks. I posted to the thread for the mod that is giving the conflict to see if that coder can fix his mod so none of the other buttons get effected.

Thanks for your help.

PS. Thanks to PrinceEdwards help, both mods are now working just fine. In the mod that was causing the conflict, it was a simple fix. I did not realize that the advance reply mod I use, has an option to hide the reply button. I set this to no, and now things work just fine.

princeedward 02-26-2010 10:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GeorgeB85 (Post 1991207)
Just wanted to say thanks. I posted to the thread for the mod that is giving the conflict to see if that coder can fix his mod so none of the other buttons get effected.

Thanks for your help.

PS. Thanks to PrinceEdwards help, both mods are now working just fine. In the mod that was causing the conflict, it was a simple fix. I did not realize that the advance reply mod I use, has an option to hide the reply button. I set this to no, and now things work just fine.

glad too George that we solved the problem...thanks also for

Marked Installed-Nominate-Rate


:p:up:

Huy Ho?ng 02-28-2010 01:28 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Error :(

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachmen...1&d=1267370885

princeedward 02-28-2010 05:18 PM

hi...pls read once again the instruction carefully and it will work perfect...

as i said...

==================================
NOTE: ADJUST THE RED ONE IF NEEDED!
==================================




Code:

<!--- POST NEW THREAD BUTTON BELOW START --->

<a href="newthread.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=newthread&amp;f={vb:raw thread.forumid}" rel="nofollow" class="newcontent_textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_top"  style="margin-left:160px;"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_new_thread}</a>

<!--- POST NEW THREAD BUTTON BELOW END --->

best regards and pls. marked installed
:p

Huy Ho?ng 03-01-2010 02:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by princeedward (Post 1993853)
hi...pls read once again the instruction carefully and it will work perfect...

as i said...

==================================
NOTE: ADJUST THE RED ONE IF NEEDED!
==================================




Code:

<!--- POST NEW THREAD BUTTON BELOW START --->

<a href="newthread.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=newthread&amp;f={vb:raw thread.forumid}" rel="nofollow" class="newcontent_textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_top"  style="margin-left:160px;"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_new_thread}</a>

<!--- POST NEW THREAD BUTTON BELOW END --->

best regards and pls. marked installed
:p

Oh... thank you :)
very nice

literatestylish 03-02-2010 03:31 AM

Great mod!

Thanks!

princeedward 03-03-2010 04:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Huy Ho?ng (Post 1994195)
Oh... thank you :)
very nice

not a single problem...glad it work now...

Quote:

Originally Posted by literatestylish (Post 1994978)
Great mod!

Thanks!

wonderful and thanks to both of you for interest...install...nominate...and rate...

best regards...

:p

vicelover 03-19-2010 09:17 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Hi, princeedward .

It's a great mod. I test in 2 browser, firefox and opera.

But seems the "style="margin-left:160px"; 160px is excess, I change to 155px, and works fine in Opera Brower, but does not align in FireFox.

Another question, the Above Button and Below Button looks the same, why theirs margin-left is different?


---------------160px abnormal in Opera-------------
Attachment 114367
---------------155px normal in Opera----------------
Attachment 114368
---------------155pxabnormal in FireFox----------------
Attachment 114369

princeedward 03-19-2010 10:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vicelover (Post 2006370)
Hi, princeedward .

It's a great mod. I test in 2 browser, firefox and opera.

But seems the "style="margin-left:160px"; 160px is excess, I change to 155px, and works fine in Opera Brower, but does not align in FireFox.

Another question, the Above Button and Below Button looks the same, why theirs margin-left is different?

sorry about that mate...that's the problem or issue that i was thinkin also for quite long time now...to be honest...really can't find a way to solve it...also haven't test it via opera...

anyway maybe you got luck or anyone to solve this issue...

great and thanks for intalling this...

best regards

:p

vicelover 03-19-2010 01:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by princeedward (Post 2006396)
sorry about that mate...that's the problem or issue that i was thinkin also for quite long time now...to be honest...really can't find a way to solve it...also haven't test it via opera...

anyway maybe you got luck or anyone to solve this issue...

great and thanks for intalling this...

best regards

:p

:)
This issue is too strange, I'm not good at programming.
Have you tried to explored it with other coders or designer? I'll try to ask someone.
Hope it will be solved early. :)

objective 03-25-2010 12:10 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks for this mod.
Note that it works with the Article Forums v4.x Mod

Article Forum

Pic below

princeedward 03-26-2010 06:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by objective (Post 2009989)
Thanks for this mod.
Note that it works with the Article Forums v4.x Mod

Article Forum

Pic below

great and thanks for the install and info...goodluck to your site mate....

best regards as well...

:p

COL NIL SATIS 04-01-2010 01:49 PM

Spot on Eddie...works well !!!! installed :)

testbot 04-07-2010 02:51 PM

nice job.

now we just need this packaged in an xml so when vb makes upgrades we don't lose our template changes like in 4.0.1 to 4.0.3.

thanks again for this.

dr.tawy 05-12-2010 12:18 PM

brilliant

Installed

fxwoody 06-17-2010 12:18 AM

Tks! Works perfect, just have to find a way to space both buttons now ;)
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/06/25.png

giorgino 07-03-2010 12:39 PM

Not compatibile with 4.0.4 last template. Please update :)

AliceHoward 08-01-2010 06:45 AM

Working perfectly in 4.0.5, great little addition, thank you.

giorgino 08-23-2010 07:38 AM

This conflict with Facebook button... :(
Can you update?

ZeuQma 10-20-2010 06:07 PM

it's not bad.. good idea..

XiTCLUB 11-06-2010 04:15 PM

nice work thanks

Fergal C 12-04-2010 10:14 AM

Thanks, installed, looks great.

beiamerica 12-20-2010 05:51 PM

Installed, Thanks. I don't know why this isn't included already.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01574 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,861KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (11)bbcode_code_printable
  • (16)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete