vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Integration with vBulletin - Project HoneyPot HTTP Blacklist Addon ( with Bad Behavior integration) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=233388)

TheSupportForum 01-17-2010 10:00 PM

Project HoneyPot HTTP Blacklist Addon ( with Bad Behavior integration)
 


PLEASE RATE THIS MOD




Description:

Spam Prevention Strategy
Bad Behavior is completely different from any other anti-spam solution out there, in that it doesn?t specifically target spam itself. Rather, it targets the methods by which the spam is delivered. While a somewhat similar solution called mod_security exists, it has a rather different purpose, doesn?t target spam, and regular people can?t install mod_security on their shared web hosting accounts. Bad Behavior blocks spam as well as other malicious activity and can be installed by anyone

In this way Bad Behavior saves you time and frustration and gives you peace of mind by turning spam from a colossal nightmare into, well, not much at all.

Project Honeypot Integration
To participate in Project Honey Pot, webmasters need only install the Project Honey Pot software somewhere on their website. We handle the rest ? automatically distributing addresses and receiving the mail they generate. As a result, we anticipate installing Project Honey Pot should not increase the traffic or load to your website

we have already made this possible for you, all you need to do is signup with www.projecthoneypot.org


Information Update please read:

as we have started a new forum and have and are hiring new Modders to join our team, there are some great benefits for those who do
We are looking for some experienced developers to remod our products
please visit our website for more details


Version 5 will see some great functions, but require our team to remod this product

Theo-zzzz 01-18-2010 07:10 PM

installed and nominated..

SemperFideles 01-18-2010 11:40 PM

In lieu of modifying forums.php and content.php, you can create a single plugin with a hook location of global_start. This is how I implemented this. Here is the plugin code I use:
PHP Code:

ob_start();
include(
"/path/to/forum-root/projecthp.php");
$projecthp ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean(); 


SemperFideles 01-19-2010 09:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by simonhind (Post 1960001)
thnak you, i will update this today

Before you update it, just make sure it works as I used steps here: http://www.computer-juice.com/forums...http-bl-22790/

I skipped step 1 as it didn't do anything but put text at the top of the page and it worked without it. I was able to successfully test that it worked but I don't know how you implemented the files in the attachments and I'm only noting that the calls to the BL can be accomplished through a hook rather than template edits.

ps2wiz 01-19-2010 09:44 AM

Sorry, but you are not the first one to do this as your description says.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=230921

And it involves no manual template edits.

BBR-APBT 01-19-2010 04:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ps2wiz (Post 1960040)
Sorry, but you are not the first one to do this as your description says.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=230921

And it involves no manual template edits.

This works by ip address only the one you posted works by username/ip/email. But it is two different databases.

I have them both installed.


update to the mod creator.

Instead of adding any
Code:

ob_start();
include("/path/to/forum-root/projecthp.php");
$projecthp = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();

Copy the code in the projecthp.php and place it in the plugin you created.
just do not include the <? ?>

This is what I did so there are no files to upload you just import the xml file.

If you wanted to get fancy you could add a option in the adminCP to add the api key so they only have to edit the option and activate the plugin.

I would be willing to help with this if you like.

BBR-APBT 01-20-2010 08:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by simonhind (Post 1961596)
hope you install the new version
also i wanted to ask your advise

do i still need o add $projecthp to header ?
tried to last night and at the top of the header in browser view it just showed
$projecthp at he top

Nope no need to add it as the code is called in the global.php file.

SemperFideles 01-20-2010 08:43 PM

Simon,

I know you don't need the header template as it did the same for me when I was using it.

The way to check if your implementation is working is found in this tutorial:

http://www.computer-juice.com/forums...http-bl-22790/

Quote:

How do I test this?

Apart from getting your IP blacklisted on the Project Honey Pots spamlist there doesn't seem to be much in the way of testing this. As there are a few jumps to get to the httpbl.php file I did the following to make sure the final code (step 4) is being called.

Open httpbl.php, find.

$_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']

Replace with.

123.44.66.99

Re-upload the file, then test your site. If the file is being called correct you will get a white screen as the code called in the final stage is now broken. It's a crude way but it works. Undo the changes to the file and re-upload again.
You seem to have skipped the creation of an additional PHP file as in the implementation example cited.

Are you sure this is working because the test cited above doesn't seem to create the blank white page the way it used to.

BBR-APBT 01-20-2010 10:41 PM

Ok I checked your new version. It is still not what I meant. Your new version actually does not work at all.

I really like this mod as it really helps with fighting spam on our websites. So I decided to rewrite this for you. The XML is attached and the install instructions are below.


Install Instructions:
1) Register an account at www.projecthoneypot.org
- request your api key here http://www.projecthoneypot.org/httpbl_configure.php

2) Import the product (product-t4u_honeypotvb4.xml)
Plugins & Product -> Manage Products -> Add / Import Product

3) Change settings and activate.
Settings -> Options -> Project HoneyPot
Put in your API key you received in step 1.
Set active to yes.

_________________________________________________
Tested and verified working by BBR-APBT.
If you would like to test this for your self.

Edit the plugin (Project HoneyPot) and find:
Code:

$ip = $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'];
Replace with:
Code:

$ip = "94.102.63.90";
I advise you not to perform the above test on a live site.

TheSupportForum 01-20-2010 11:15 PM

BBR-APBT - i need your help
but cant PM you

i wodul like some quidance on create a link in the admincp with a menu selection for this mod instead of going to

settings >> options >> Project Honeypot

something like

Project Honeypot >> Settings

and also a page where i can put developer details
are you able to help with this

BBR-APBT 01-20-2010 11:33 PM

Why is it you can not PM me? I do not think my inbox is full but it may be.

Quote:

Originally Posted by simonhind (Post 1961801)
BBR-APBT - i need your help
but cant PM you

i wodul like some quidance on create a link in the admincp with a menu selection for this mod instead of going to

settings >> options >> Project Honeypot

something like

Project Honeypot >> Settings

and also a page where i can put developer details
are you able to help with this


upload this to your includes/xml folder.
File Name: cpnav_honeypot.xml
Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1" ?>

<navgroups product="t4u_honeypotvb4">
        <navgroup text="Project HoneyPot" hr="true" displayorder="15">
                <navoption displayorder="10">
                        <text>Project HoneyPot Settings</text>
                        <link>options.php?do=options&dogroup=pro_honeypot</link>
                </navoption>
        </navgroup>
</navgroups>

I really suggest to not add this or the extra page. That just files to upload.

:D

SemperFideles 01-21-2010 09:22 AM

Good work. Appreciate the mod that allows this to be installed with no file uploads.

Now that it is installed, I'm sad to say that a problem that I had previously with this Script is re-appearing. I had hoped it was as a result of my own implementation.

I cannot create a New Article. I've narrowed it down to this add-on and I'm not certain why but attempting to create a New Article produces an HTTP 500 error.

Are either of you experiencing the same?

TheSupportForum 01-21-2010 09:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SemperFideles (Post 1962162)
Good work. Appreciate the mod that allows this to be installed with no file uploads.

Now that it is installed, I'm sad to say that a problem that I had previously with this Script is re-appearing. I had hoped it was as a result of my own implementation.

I cannot create a New Article. I've narrowed it down to this add-on and I'm not certain why but attempting to create a New Article produces an HTTP 500 error.

Are either of you experiencing the same?

have you checked to see if your ip address is on projecthoneypots website
i suggest you look into it

or if you pm me you ip address i'll do the work for you to remedy it

SemperFideles 01-21-2010 02:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by simonhind (Post 1962167)
have you checked to see if your ip address is on projecthoneypots website
i suggest you look into it

or if you pm me you ip address i'll do the work for you to remedy it

It's not on the list. As I said, the software works fine except when I try to create a New Article.

Go to your CMS Home Page and click New Article or try to promote a post to an article to see if you can duplicate the problem. It doesn't give the "Your IP is blocked message" but simply produces a white screen and an HTTP 500 error unlike a blocked IP issue where a message appears allowing you to continue.

As I said, it was the same problem I experienced with the other implementation. My board was working fine as I have only created 3 articles on the CMS since moving the vBulletin Publishing Suite but then one day I went to create an article and I kept getting a white screen. As soon as I disabled my former implementation of the plugin I could create an article again. I've experienced the same problem from military IP's and Starbuck's IP's, and Verizon IP's. It's not a blacklist issue.

I had initially thought that your implementation fixed a coding issue that was in the tutorial I had found but once you released the latest version the problem re-appeared. I actually am not sure that, until this latest release, that the HoneyPot was even functioning because I was testing it with a blacklisted IP and it wasn't working. As soon as the code was updated, the message was popping up for the blacklist IP test but the problem of creating New Articles also re-appeared.

BBR-APBT 01-21-2010 03:23 PM

I will try to reproduce this bug when I get back home in a hour or two.

When you turn this mod off the problem goes away right?

SemperFideles 01-21-2010 07:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BBR-APBT (Post 1962440)
I will try to reproduce this bug when I get back home in a hour or two.


When you turn this mod off the problem goes away right?

That's right.

TheSupportForum 01-21-2010 07:16 PM

the error people are getting with this mod is as follows

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare ozh_httpbl_check() (previously declared in /home/tutorial/public_html/forum/packages/vbcms/controller/content.php(84) : eval()'d code:14) in /home/tutorial/public_html/forum/packages/vbcms/controller/content.php(84) : eval()'d code on line 57


this will be looked into

BBR-APBT 01-21-2010 07:29 PM

Well in that case I will just block this from the create article page.

For some reason it is being called twice in that page.

We really do not need this to run on every page any how. It is just best that we do because we never know what link they may follow. Since an unregistered user is not allowed to create new articles there will not be a problem.

My guess is that the article page is calling global.php twice. It is most likely a vbulletin bug since this is the only page this is having a problem on.

BBR-APBT 01-21-2010 08:10 PM

Ok Fixed again. Simonhind let me know when you update the main xml file. So I can remove the one in this post.

It was a simple fix. If you do not wish to reinstall.
Go to your plugins and find (Project HoneyPot)
Simply change the hook from global_start to global_complete.

TheSupportForum 01-21-2010 08:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BBR-APBT (Post 1962736)
Ok Fixed again. Simonhind let me know when you update the main xml file. So I can remove the one in this post.

It was a simple fix. If you do not wish to reinstall.
Go to your plugins and find (Project HoneyPot)
Simply change the hook from global_start to global_complete.


this can now be removed, i just tried the same thing with changing the hook

Adam H 01-22-2010 09:14 AM

Looks good , think i will wait until the developments have been done before installing .

SemperFideles 01-22-2010 01:51 PM

Thanks for the update to the hook location. New Articles are working well. I had no idea how much this was blocking. My log is showing several hundred blocks in just over 24 hours.

linuxututs 01-23-2010 09:37 AM

Thanks for a Great Mod. I been using "Project HoneyPot" for about a year now.

Nice to have a Mod to do the work of setting everything up for you.
Love the log add-on to!

Thanks,

vglobal 01-24-2010 09:03 PM

Installed.

I would like to change the location of log file to logs folder, what i have to do?

Thanks

SemperFideles 01-24-2010 09:26 PM

Good work. Installed latest version but had to disable the SpamBuster plugins as one of the plugins is breaking the New Article feature as before.

TheSupportForum 01-25-2010 01:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vglobal (Post 1965584)
Installed.

I would like to change the location of log file to logs folder, what i have to do?

Thanks


login to admincp
scroll down to plugins & products
select plugin manager
edit ProjectHoneypot Plugin
search for

('./Project_HoneyPot_block.log','a');

change ( . )
to the folder location

TheSupportForum 01-25-2010 02:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SemperFideles (Post 1965608)
Good work. Installed latest version but had to disable the SpamBuster plugins as one of the plugins is breaking the New Article feature as before.


4.0.1 Beta 1
To fix the content.php issue change plugin

SpamBuster: Libraries from global start to global complete
this will be fix in Beta 2


you can now enable the rest of the plugins

TheSupportForum 01-25-2010 02:12 AM

<div align="center">A Small Mistake was Made With The Plugns For Spambuster: Libraries Plugin
As This Was Only Beta This Was A Test Release

Please Change This Plugin State From Global Start To Global Complete</div>

TheSupportForum 01-25-2010 03:28 AM

Beta 1a is now being delevoped

my team has decided to look over beta 1 and remove the spam part
we have now decided to use a post moderation rule to lookup for spam
this is now being tested on our new site


www.webmasters-forum.co.uk

SemperFideles 01-25-2010 04:45 PM

What does the new spam lookup tool do?

Far be it from me to sound like I'm complaining but I would recommend you make the name of the product more descriptive. Your product started out as an HTTP Blacklist Addon and it's starting to take on a "Swiss Army Knife" feel to it.

The Bad Behavior integration ought to be noted in the Title as many have been wanting that for a while.

I would suggest you actually make the Spam features a separate Addon as it seems to be a different feature than BL lookup.

Alfa1 01-25-2010 05:05 PM

What exactly does this hack add to the webpage source code?
Does this affect SEO?

TheSupportForum 01-25-2010 05:59 PM

as far as i am afar no, you may want to other users about if it has affected them in anyway like SEO

SemperFideles 01-26-2010 09:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alfa1 (Post 1966313)
What exactly does this hack add to the webpage source code?
Does this affect SEO?

No. It does not block bots from reputable search engines but only known spam ip's and link spam.

vglobal 01-26-2010 03:59 PM

Hello Simon,

The log file will get bigger day by day cause the way you create logging is append. And I think if the MOD can self generate log file daily is the best.

Thanks.

BBR-APBT 01-26-2010 07:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by simonhind (Post 1967258)
i am loooking to this already

i have a sample php plgin ready but needs a little work, to work correctly
it has the sql statements ready all i need is someone to go over it properly and make any corrections

if you or anyone elase that is a pro at php sql stuff please can you help
you will be added a a co-author a recieve a free copy when this goes pro

Wait wait, I been helping you work on this mod for free and you are going to sell it?

I will no longer be using my free time to work on this modification, I am not building something for free for you to go and sell it.

gbechtel 01-26-2010 09:39 PM

I am a little confused here.... I installed the first relase with no issues and it was working fine. I just upgraded to ProjecthoneyPot 4.1.0b 1a.zip and I get the following error

Code:

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare bb2_db_date() (previously declared in /home/masscops/public_html/bad-behavior/bad-behavior-generic.php:51) in /home/masscops/public_html/includes/functions.php(6469) : eval()'d code on line 48
Should I uninstall and do a reinstall and where should the folder "bad-behavior" be uploaded?

Do I use the xml product listed above the zip files or do I use the xml product in the zip file ProjecthoneyPot 4.1.0b 1a.zip ??

I also already have a "bad-behavior" folder in my forum root from a previous install, do I delete that one now??

Sorry to sound like a noob but I'm having trouble following the new updates etc...

TheSupportForum 01-27-2010 03:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gbechtel (Post 1967467)
I am a little confused here.... I installed the first relase with no issues and it was working fine. I just upgraded to ProjecthoneyPot 4.1.0b 1a.zip and I get the following error

Code:

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare bb2_db_date() (previously declared in /home/masscops/public_html/bad-behavior/bad-behavior-generic.php:51) in /home/masscops/public_html/includes/functions.php(6469) : eval()'d code on line 48
Should I uninstall and do a reinstall and where should the folder "bad-behavior" be uploaded?

Do I use the xml product listed above the zip files or do I use the xml product in the zip file ProjecthoneyPot 4.1.0b 1a.zip ??

I also already have a "bad-behavior" folder in my forum root from a previous install, do I delete that one now??

Sorry to sound like a noob but I'm having trouble following the new updates etc...

that folder is ment to go into /includes

yes pelase remove your old version its interfering with this mod

please ensure you remove any coing from your install

SemperFideles 01-27-2010 08:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BBR-APBT (Post 1967355)
Wait wait, I been helping you work on this mod for free and you are going to sell it?

I will no longer be using my free time to work on this modification, I am not building something for free for you to go and sell it.

You may also run into legal issues, Simon, if you try to charge money for some of these features. I know, for instance, that the Bad Behavior script specifically prohibits this.

I'm not trying to discourage development and I know that programming is often thankless but you will want to look into legal concerns before trying to charge money for the components of this addon. If there is going to be a Pro version you'll have to figure out what you can and cannot charge for and break apart those that you're required by the original developers to keep free.

TheSupportForum 02-01-2010 10:26 AM

could all who have installed this mod please give feedback of bet1a

we plan to take this out out beta by the weekend 6th Jan 2010

SemperFideles 02-02-2010 04:19 AM

I don't like the Spam integration. It slows down the site and causes strange errors for some users. I would prefer the ability to be able to enable/disable from the Product settings rather than having to disable the Plugins.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01525 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,864KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (15)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete