vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=245)
-   -   Forum Home Enhancements - Twin columns on forum home and forum display (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=230329)

Seven Skins 12-15-2009 10:00 PM

Twin columns on forum home and forum display
 
1 Attachment(s)
Twin columns on forum home and forum display

As the title says this mod simply puts a column on both sides forumhome and forumdisplay pages.

Great mod for google skyscrapper ads.

Installation:
Download the attached XML file.
Import the product.
Edit navbar and footer templates. (See below)




Find in navbar template:
HTML Code:

<div class="body_wrapper">
Add below:
HTML Code:

{vb:raw ss_twincolumns_start}



Add the code below to the first line of footer template:
HTML Code:

{vb:raw ss_twincolumns_end}


Footer template after adding the code:
Code:

{vb:raw ss_twincolumns_end}

<vb:if condition="!empty($ad_location['ad_footer_start']) or !empty($ad_location['global_above_footer'])">
<div style="clear: {vb:stylevar left}">
  {vb:raw ad_location.ad_footer_start}
  {vb:raw ad_location.global_above_footer}
</div>
</vb:if>

......





It is recommended that you should edit doc_minwidth to 950 and doc_margin to Top=0 Right=10 Bottom=0 Left=10 .. so that you have more space for forums and contents won't get squashed.


Once you have installed the modification edit "SevenSkins - Templates > ss_twincolumns_left_contents and ss_twincolumns_right_contents to put your advert or contents in the side columns.


Finally don't forget to click install.


Thanks to Lynne for additional css plugin code which I used in this modification.


PS. Do not use my side column mods together use only one.


================================================== ==

Code:

If you want to enable or disable this hack on different pages of the forum ..
Edit the ss_twincolumns_start and ss_twincolumns_end templates:
 
Find:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index' OR THIS_SCRIPT == 'forumdisplay'">
 
 
Edit it to ... for home page:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index'">
 
Edit it to ... for homepage, forumdisplay and showthread:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index' OR THIS_SCRIPT == 'forumdisplay' OR THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'">

================================================== ==


Updates:
19 Jan 10: Updated
- Save the code from "ss_twincolumn_left_contents" and "ss_twincolumn_right_contents" template. (Code for ads, etc)
- Revert template belonging to this product.
- Then import the product over writting the existing installation.
- Put your ad code in the "ss_twincolumn_left_contents" and "ss_twincolumn_right_contents" template.



15 Jan 10: Updated for vBulletin 4.0.1
2 templates has been changed.
- Save the code from "ss_twincolumn_left_contents" and "ss_twincolumn_right_contents" template. (Code for ads, etc)
- Revert template belonging to this product.
- Then import the product over writting the existing installation.
- Put your ad code in the "ss_twincolumn_left_contents" and "ss_twincolumn_right_contents" template.



22 Dec 09: Working with vBulletin 4.0.0 (Gold)


.

rtyagis 12-16-2009 04:53 PM

Reserved. Thanks

VonDoom 12-16-2009 05:42 PM

Now thats more my speed right there. tagged

Scratch That. Installed, Rated, Nominated!!!

Arcade Fire 12-16-2009 07:05 PM

Nice! Thank you.

Cface 12-17-2009 03:42 AM

looks nifty, tagged. We'll see if it's something we need later on :)

Baf_Jams 12-17-2009 07:12 AM

Thanks nice 1 :)

Baf_Jams 12-17-2009 12:29 PM

Brill Installed

Whats the padding code to bring it down say 20pixels ?

Seven Skins 12-17-2009 02:15 PM

Edit ss_twincolumns_css.css template and change the red 10px to the value you need.

.
Code:

ss_twincolumns_right_margin {
  padding: 10px 0px 0px 5px;
}

.ss_twincolumns_left_margin {
  padding: 10px 5px 0px 0px;
}


Bouncer222 12-24-2009 02:34 PM

Isn't this obsolete because it's already integrated in latest vb4?

Seven Skins 12-24-2009 03:58 PM

This can work on all the pages of the froum, vBulletin one does not.

And this is Twin Column not single.

.

Bouncer222 12-24-2009 04:06 PM

By twin column you mean a column on each side of the main content being displayed correct? I have a test site of vbulletin , latest release installed at www.new.brotherhoodofgamers.com and there is already 2 columns on each side, although I might be wrong and not understand correctly what you mean by twin columns.

And the vbulletin one only shows the columns on the homepage?

Bouncer222 12-26-2009 03:30 AM

so we have to manually edit the templates to post the content?

treyb 12-26-2009 04:16 AM

Any way to make the columns a tad bit wider? maybe 170px, I edited the css but it did not change, maybe I did it wrong.

Seven Skins 12-26-2009 02:47 PM

You have to change all instances of "135px" to the width you want in the CSS.

.

treyb 12-26-2009 02:58 PM

I did change them all to 170 but I still get this http://dixietalk.com/forum.php

Bouncer222 12-26-2009 06:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bouncer222 (Post 1938400)
so we have to manually edit the templates to post the content?

So what about this?

Seven Skins 12-26-2009 07:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bouncer222 (Post 1938400)
so we have to manually edit the templates to post the content?

Yes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by treyb (Post 1938655)
I did change them all to 170 but I still get this http://dixietalk.com/forum.php

Columns are 170px.
How wide are your ads ... if they are 170px you need to make then approx 15 px wider, to allow for padding.

Bouncer222 12-26-2009 10:33 PM

And would this interfere with the vbulletin CMS?

chrisbr 12-27-2009 09:36 AM

1 Attachment(s)
What would one need to edit to get the boxes to come exactly inline with the Main Catagory section?

Plus, i'd want the yellow bar at the top to go over the boxes too, can this be done?

(see attached mockup)

Seven Skins 12-27-2009 10:17 AM

Welcome message will cause problem and if you manage to sort this out then other forum pages will not align properly.

Try adding "{vb:raw ss_twincolumns_start}" to the last line of navbar template and you will see what I mean.

PcGamer 12-27-2009 05:23 PM

Very nice hack! How would I go about adding these twin columns to my other pages such as 'arcade.php'?

TheSupportForum 12-28-2009 02:52 AM

i dont understand this

vb4 has already got this feature its called

Forum Blocks Manager

please visit my site to preview blocks

www.tutorials4you.co.uk

Seven Skins 12-28-2009 02:13 PM

^^ vb4 blocks, do they show up on other pages then forumhome? No they do not.
This is where this comes in.

.

Verionia 12-29-2009 03:35 AM

Does this work with Vb suite Gold?

PcGamer 12-29-2009 05:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Verionia (Post 1941161)
Does this work with Vb suite Gold?

Yes it does...

but what I don't know is How would I go about adding these twin columns to my other pages such as 'arcade.php'?

Seven Skins 12-30-2009 07:42 AM

Fine the name of the script and edit the code below to the end and start template of this hack.

Code:

THIS_SCRIPT == 'arcade'
.

Alecsmith 01-02-2010 06:34 AM

I want to remove right hand side banners for temporary how can remove it later i might need it.

Seven Skins 01-02-2010 12:57 PM

Disable the product "SevenSkins RightColumn" from product manager.

ZXeno 01-04-2010 02:20 AM

I'm impressed. This is tremendously useful.

I'm building our 4.0 launch on a private server, so I haven't marked installed yet, but will once we go live with the upgrade.
I'm trying to get the left column to 240px wide and leave the right column at the default. I followed your directions in posts #14 and #17, but I haven't been able to get the columns (left/right or both) to change size.

Also, I'm trying to move the forum statistics into one of the boxes in the column (my site's 3.8 example here) but when I try to move the stats from the "What's going on?" box, it doesn't display what is in the variables, any thoughts on this?


Sincere thanks,
ZXeno

LordDB 01-04-2010 10:56 PM

@ Seven Skins, very nice; can you adapt this for v3.8+, please? :)

Seven Skins 01-05-2010 02:28 PM

^^ When I get some time free I will make this.

LordDB 01-05-2010 08:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seven Skins (Post 1947902)
^^ When I get some time free I will make this.

That'll be just great; I await it at your convenience! Many Members I'm sure will appreciate it! ;)

ZXeno 01-07-2010 02:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ZXeno (Post 1946575)
I'm trying to get the left column to 240px wide and leave the right column at the default. I followed your directions in posts #14 and #17, but I haven't been able to get the columns (left/right or both) to change size.

Also, I'm trying to move the forum statistics into one of the boxes in the column (my site's 3.8 example here) but when I try to move the stats from the "What's going on?" box, it doesn't display what is in the variables, any thoughts on this?

Anything suggestions at all?

Seven Skins 01-08-2010 09:43 AM

Edit "ss_twincolumns_css.css"

Quote:

.ss_twincolumns_wrapper {
padding-left: 255px;
padding-right: 135px;
}

.ss_twincolumns_inner {
width: 100%;
}

.ss_twincolumns_floatwrap {
float: left;
width: 100%;
margin-left: -255px;
}

.ss_twincolumns_content {
float: right;
margin-right: -255px;
width: 100%;
position: relative;
}

.ss_twincolumns_content_margin {
padding: 0px 5px 0px 5px;
}

.ss_twincolumns_left {
float: left;
width: 255px;
position: relative;
}

greenchicken 01-08-2010 07:26 PM

I love this mod, but I have a question

I run two styles and use the force users to style hack
How do I uninstall your mod on the ad-free style and keep it on the style I want to keep it on?

COL NIL SATIS 01-08-2010 07:33 PM

brill will upload once vbull 4 lands on our forum:up:

texasteamplayer 01-11-2010 02:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bouncer222 (Post 1937368)
By twin column you mean a column on each side of the main content being displayed correct? I have a test site of vbulletin , latest release installed at www.new.brotherhoodofgamers.com and there is already 2 columns on each side, although I might be wrong and not understand correctly what you mean by twin columns.

And the vbulletin one only shows the columns on the homepage?

that's your CMS. this mod is for your forum, silly.

seven......can widgets like "recent posts" and such go into these blocks, like they do for VB's current block?

Is there a way to configure the width of the block, the padding, and the internal forum width (and I'd MUCH rather do it based on % than fixed pixel width)? For example, I'd like the blocks to be 170px wide, with 10px spacing, and then have the forum occupy 100% of the space inbetween.

That would make it easy to manage, and look proper on all screen resolutions.

texasteamplayer 01-11-2010 02:34 AM

that, and why not integrate this into the "block manager" for vb? so widgets can be viewed and managed that way? Or hack into the VB one and add the permission to be able to minimize a block, or the entire sidebar (that little tab). For people that use these side blocks for ads and static html (menu's, etc) content....users goofing around and minimizing and removing the blocks is a headache.

texasteamplayer 01-11-2010 02:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PcGamer (Post 1941679)
Yes it does...

but what I don't know is How would I go about adding these twin columns to my other pages such as 'arcade.php'?

I'd like to make this block for all pages of the site. even the homepage CMS. We run static content in the side blocks, so the homepage CMS stuff and forums can occupy 100% of the middle space, while the side blocks are the same on all pages.

possible?

Seven Skins 01-11-2010 03:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by texasteamplayer (Post 1952437)
Is there a way to configure the width of the block, the padding, and the internal forum width (and I'd MUCH rather do it based on % than fixed pixel width)? For example, I'd like the blocks to be 170px wide, with 10px spacing, and then have the forum occupy 100% of the space inbetween.

That is how it is at the moment. Coulnn are 120px wide and forum contents fluid.

For widgets you have to write your own plugins.

Quote:

Originally Posted by texasteamplayer (Post 1952442)
I'd like to make this block for all pages of the site. even the homepage CMS. We run static content in the side blocks, so the homepage CMS stuff and forums can occupy 100% of the middle space, while the side blocks are the same on all pages.
possible?

Possible but not recommended.

Remove these two lines from these two templates "ss_twincolumns_start" and "ss_twincolumns_end"

Code:

<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index' OR THIS_SCRIPT == 'forumdisplay'">
</vb:if>

.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01268 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,830KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_code_printable
  • (3)bbcode_html_printable
  • (11)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete