vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3 Articles (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=187)
-   -   vBulletin Template Conditionals (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=215032)

HMBeaty 05-31-2009 10:00 PM

vBulletin Template Conditionals
 
Just a little something I got permission from Brandon here to post here on vB.org. I figured that it would come in handy to quite a few people especially those of us who code so much. I've had to refer back to this several times myself.

I'll be adding more periodically but if you have any of your own, please feel free to add them to this thread. Thank you!

Display Information To Members Only
--------------------------
If you want to show a link only to registered members you would use this conditional.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$show['member']"></if>
Display Information To Guests Only
--------------------------
The following conditional will display information only to guests and no one else. This is helpful in displaying a welcome message that you only wish for guests to see.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$show['guest']"></if>
If Viewer is in the Following Usergroups Array. Enter the Usergroup Number(s) Seperated by a Comma
--------------------------
If you want to show an advertisement to viewers that are unregistered, registered members and awaiting email confirmation you would use the usergroup ids 1,2,3 within the array.
HTML Code:

<if condition="is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 1, 2, 3)"></if>
If This Script Is or Is Not XXX
--------------------------
If this script is index (as used in the example below) then it will show the code within the conditional. You can use it to show a piece of code only on Forumhome if you have to put it in a template that is global such as the header. To find out what the script is per page open up the php file that loads the page like for instance showthread.php and look for.
HTML Code:

define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'showthread');
And the showthread part is what you would use.
HTML Code:

<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index'"></if>
And here you can show information on every page but the index page by using this conditional.
HTML Code:

<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != 'index'"></if>
If this user equals or does not equal XXX
--------------------------
What this conditional will do is only show certain information if the person viewing the page has the same userid as defined within the conditional. So if you put userid 667 inside the conditional below and put a link inside the conditional tags only the user that has the userid 667 will see that link.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid'] == 667"></if>
And it works the opposite way as well if you do not want information to show for 667 but you want it to show for everyone else you would use.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid'] != 667"></if>
Display Information On a Per Forum Basis
--------------------------
This conditional allows you to display information on a per forum basis. This can be helpful if you wish to display different advertisements depending on what forum that the user is in. You would simply replace X with the forum id that you wish the information to appear in.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$forum[forumid] == X"></if>
And on the other hand you can use the ! to do the opposite and display the information in every forum but the id you list.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$forum[forumid] != X"></if>
Or if you have multiple forums you wish to include something with you can use an array such as this.
HTML Code:

<if condition="in_array($forum['forumid'], array(1,2,3,6))"></if>
If Usergroup Is or Is Not X
--------------------------
If the user is a member of the x usergroup then show the code.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$post['usergroupid'] == 6"></if>
And then you can use the ! to tell it to not show it to the x usergroup but show it to everyone else.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$post['usergroupid'] != 6"></if>
If Users Birthday is Less Than or Greater Than XXXX-XX-XX Do Something
--------------------------
Just to show the power of vBulletin here is a cool conditional that will show information based on the birthday of the user. The one below will show "Too Young" if they were born after 01-01-1980.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo['birthday_search'] > '1980-01-01'">Too Young</if>
And this one will show you "Too Young" if the user was born before 01-01-1980.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo['birthday_search'] < '1980-01-01'">Too Young</if>
If Thread is or is not in X Forum Execute Code
--------------------------
For instance if you want a piece of code to appear within thread in a particular forum you can do so with this conditional.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$thread['forumid'] == X"></if>
If you want to show the piece of code on every new reply on every thread but 1 forum you can use this which says if thread is in forum x do not show the code but show it for all the other threads out side of forum x.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$thread['forumid'] != X"></if>
And of course you can define multiple forum ids with the array.
HTML Code:

<if condition="in_array($thread['forumid'], array(1,2,3,6))"></if>
Is user moderator of any forum?
--------------------------
If the user is a moderator execute code.
HTML Code:

<if condition="can_moderate()"></if>
Is user moderator of current forum?
--------------------------
If the user is a moderator of the current forum execute code.
HTML Code:

<if condition="can_moderate($forum['forumid'])"></if>
Is user moderator of X Forum?
--------------------------
If the user is a moderator of x forum execute code.
HTML Code:

<if condition="can_moderate($forum['x'])"></if>
Is user the thread starter?
--------------------------
Is the user the thread creator? If so execute code.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$threadinfo['postuserid'] == $bbuserinfo['userid']"></if>
Thread is closed?
--------------------------
If the thread is closed execute code.
HTML Code:

<if condition="!$show['closethread']"></if>
Place Information After First Post
--------------------------
Useful for adding a advertisement or other information after the first post on every page.
HTML Code:

<if condition="!$GLOBALS['FIRSTPOSTID']"></if>
Place Information After x Post On Every Page
--------------------------
This will add your code directly after the post number you define on each page. If you put 2 in place of x the code will appear on every page after the second post.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$post['postcount'] % $vboptions['maxposts'] == x"></if>
Using If Else in Templates
--------------------------
You can also use If Else conditionals within your templates. The below shows you how to correctly do this.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$show['guest']">
 Show Guest This Message
<else />
 Show Everyone but guests this message
</if>


Brandon Sheley 06-01-2009 01:02 AM

hope it's helpful for everyone :)

Audax666 06-03-2009 11:25 AM

Oh yes it is! Thanks a lot.
If I knew yesterday that you publish that list today I would have saved a lot of time.
But for the next time it's a great effort.:up:

EidolonAH 06-25-2009 09:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redlinemotorsports (Post 1821004)
Display Information To Guests Only
--------------------------
The following conditional will display information only to guests and no one else. This is helpful in displaying a welcome message that you only wish for guests to see.
HTML Code:

<if condition="$show['guest']"></if>
If Viewer is in the Following Usergroups Array. Enter the Usergroup Number(s) Seperated by a Comma

You wouldn't believe it, I have spent over 4 hours searching the net for ways to hide javascript from logged in users, all the time the answer was right here, and a simple solution too.
Many thanks for this, it has helped immensely.

steveneff 07-04-2009 10:28 AM

Hello

Is there a condition for members first post within a thread, I would like to set sigs so they only show up once for each member in a thread

HMBeaty 07-04-2009 10:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by steveneff (Post 1842589)
Hello

Is there a condition for members first post within a thread, I would like to set sigs so they only show up once for each member in a thread

You can do the same thing with this. I'm using 3.8.3 and works fine

steveneff 07-04-2009 10:45 AM

perfect, thanks

HMBeaty 07-04-2009 10:46 AM

No problem :)

DinarMet 09-01-2009 07:31 PM

With template conditionals, is there a way to create an IF statement based on the URL?

For example, I have

http://..../forums/portal.php?pageid=books

http:/..../forums/portal.php?pageid=art

I would like to put a different images and links in the header for each page and thought that an IF statement would work based on the URL.

Is there a way to do this in the vBulletin header?

Thanks for you help

DM

--------------- Added 01 Sep 2009 at 17:38 ---------------

I was able to figure it out. :)

I am using vBadvanced and found that all I have to do is substitute $forum and forumid with $pages and pageid

So instead of this:
<if condition="$forum[forumid] == X"></if>

I used:
<if condition="$pages[pageid] == X"></if>

The page id's are available in the Admin Panel ->> vBa CMPS similarly the way forum id's are in the Forum Manager.

I posted it here in case anyone need to know. If you need to move it elsewhere then please do so.

Have a great day! :up:

DM

ilrglen 09-03-2009 08:25 PM

This is very helpful. Thanks.

Can these conditionals be inserted directly into the header template to have a message appear to one usergroup in the header of every page they try to enter (eg. I want to tell them their temporary access has expired and they will have to purchase a membership to continue)?

HMBeaty 09-03-2009 08:49 PM

Yes they can :)

ilrglen 09-03-2009 09:26 PM

So something like this
Code:

<if condition="$post['usergroupid'] != 20">
Your temporary trial access has expired. You must <a href="Membership-Individual.php">purchase a membership</a> to continue.
</if>

would work in the header?

HMBeaty 09-03-2009 09:34 PM

Not in the header, for the header, you would use
HTML Code:

<if condition="!is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 20)">
Your temporary trial access has expired. You must <a href="Membership-Individual.php">purchase a membership</a> to continue.
</if>


ilrglen 09-03-2009 09:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redlinemotorsports (Post 1879248)
Not in the header, for the header, you would use
HTML Code:

<if condition="!is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 20)">
Your temporary trial access has expired. You must <a href="Membership-Individual.php">purchase a membership</a> to continue.
</if>


I tried this out using usergroup 6 hoping that nobody else would see if but myself. It worked when I did it the way that I suggested in the header but not the way you did. Then when I changed it to usergroup #20 I was still able to see it. Are administrators able to see everything other usergroups see also?

HMBeaty 09-03-2009 09:44 PM

the "!" means if they are not it "usergroup id 20" they will see that message

ilrglen 09-03-2009 09:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redlinemotorsports (Post 1879255)
the "!" means if they are not it "usergroup id 20" they will see that message

Okay, so if I only want usergroup 20 to see it then take out the !, right? I'll try it again.

HMBeaty 09-03-2009 09:48 PM

Thats correct

ilrglen 09-03-2009 10:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redlinemotorsports (Post 1879257)
Thats correct

It worked. Thanks. These will be useful now that I am slowing figuring this stuff out. Thanks.

ilrglen 09-09-2009 05:03 AM

Is it possible to set up a conditional that would display ads or information to people based on their geographic location? Would might that be done?

HMBeaty 09-09-2009 10:35 AM

Can you be more specific?

--------------- Added [DATE]1252496167[/DATE] at [TIME]1252496167[/TIME] ---------------

You could also possibly use this
HTML Code:

<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index'"></if>

ilrglen 09-09-2009 03:44 PM

I have some ads that I want to place on my site that would be displayed according to the location of the visiting members. For example, a member from Germany would see mostly ads from German sponsors while someone from England would see mostly ads from British sponsors. But I don't know how the software could detect there location.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redlinemotorsports (Post 1881978)
Can you be more specific?


Favourtism 09-09-2009 04:28 PM

Is it possible to insert an advert on forum_home under the second forum category using this?

HMBeaty 09-09-2009 04:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilrglen (Post 1882117)
I have some ads that I want to place on my site that would be displayed according to the location of the visiting members. For example, a member from Germany would see mostly ads from German sponsors while someone from England would see mostly ads from British sponsors. But I don't know how the software could detect there location.

You would have to use a custom profile field to accomplish this. You may discuss this with me over instant messenger if you like.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Favourtism (Post 1882140)
Is it possible to insert an advert on forum_home under the second forum category using this?

Not completely sure, but I believe you can

Big-K 09-17-2009 02:28 PM

I want to have a particular style for posts which have been reported (i.e. reportthreadid <> 0). However, I do NOT want this style to be implemented if the thread that has been created as a result of the report has more than 1 post (i.e. if a moderator has responded to the reported thread, I want the style to be switched off).

I figure that this should be something like <if condition="get_thread_post_count($post['reportthreadid']) > 1)">...</if>, but I don't know what function to have instead of get_thread_post_count.

adamenty 10-09-2009 08:40 AM

Quote:

<if condition="in_array($forum['forumid'], array(24,25))">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="alt1" width="100%">
<center>
SSsdfsdfsdffg
</center>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</if>
Will above one work ?

ilrglen 10-10-2009 04:42 AM

How about if I want to display an image to people from a particular country only or a group of countries? Is such a thing possible?

HMBeaty 10-10-2009 12:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilrglen (Post 1897413)
How about if I want to display an image to people from a particular country only or a group of countries? Is such a thing possible?

Best thing I can think of for this is to create a custom profile field and base your conditional off of that. For example, if you want to show something to someone who is only in the United States, you would use:
HTML Code:

<if condition="$userinfo['fieldxx'] == 'United States'">
More code here
</if>


ilrglen 10-10-2009 01:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HMBeaty (Post 1897549)
Best thing I can think of for this is to create a custom profile field and base your conditional off of that. For example, if you want to show something to someone who is only in the United States, you would use:
HTML Code:

<if condition="$userinfo['fieldxx'] == 'United States'">
More code here
</if>


That's what I thought. Thanks. I was just hoping there might be a better way than the custom profile field because there is a limit to the number of countries a person can list. I suppose if I just list those that would make up the largest audience to my site would be the best way to go about this and then just have a selection for other. Thanks.

LuisMontemayor 11-04-2009 03:16 PM

This code help me to put a different Title for the first post only:

PHP Code:

<if condition="$post[postcount] == 1">
<else />
</if> 


cmeinck 11-05-2009 03:30 PM

I'm currently using the following code in Postbit Legacy to show ads flush right within the first post content to guests only. How do I add or modify the conditional, so that ads flush right appear on each new page of a thread. Let's say every 10 posts, it displays the ad to guests.

Code:

                <!-- message -->
<if condition="$show['guest']">
<if condition="(($post[postcount] % $vboptions[maxposts] == 1))">
      <div class="postbit_adcode">
<span style="float: right; width: 300px; height: 250px;">

MY AD CODE

</span>
</div>
</if>
</if>
                <div id="post_message_$post[postid]"class="vb_postbit">$post[message]


</div>
                <!-- / message -->


Dunhamzzz 11-24-2009 01:59 PM

I was unable to get the $forum[forumid] one to work, the variable I had to use is $foruminfo[forumid]

Dax IX 11-28-2009 03:46 AM

Is there a variable for what style a user is viewing?

HMBeaty 11-28-2009 04:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chani (Post 1921905)
Is there a variable for what style a user is viewing?

Try this...
HTML Code:

<if condition="$post['styleid'] == '0'">
YOUR CODE HERE
</if>

This, for example, would be used in the postbit. You may have to modify it to fit your needs

Dax IX 11-28-2009 04:36 AM

Thanks! :)

--------------- Added 28 Nov 2009 at 16:03 ---------------

Someone also gave me this code:

Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo[styleid] == X">
    CODE TO DISPLAY FOR STYLEID X
<else />
    CODE TO DISPLAY FOR OTHER STYLE
</if>


fourat 12-07-2009 09:21 PM

thank you

popowich 06-30-2010 10:33 PM

Is it possible use conditionals in signatures? I tried turning on HTML in signatures for my administrators group but still could not get them to work. I'd like to have one signature for guests and a different signature that is seen by registered members.

BirdOPrey5 07-05-2010 05:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by popowich (Post 2062433)
Is it possible use conditionals in signatures? I tried turning on HTML in signatures for my administrators group but still could not get them to work. I'd like to have one signature for guests and a different signature that is seen by registered members.

This wouldn't be possible without some kind of mod... if there was only 1 or two sigs you wanted to show to guests you could hard code them into the template... edit your postbit (or _legacy) template and find $post[signature]... put that in an if statement and hard code the sig you want to show to guests... basically-
if (user is a guest)
show hard coded sig
else
$post[signature]

nquang 08-14-2010 12:03 AM

Is there a variable for which member create thread??

azn_romeo_4u 12-23-2010 03:32 PM

How do you do this for arrays?

Quote:

<if condition="$forum[forumid] != X"></if>
Like more than one forums.

popowich 12-23-2010 03:46 PM

Multiple usergroups, forums, etc syntax looks like :

<if condition="is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 5,6,8)">


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01453 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,874KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (33)bbcode_html_printable
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (14)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete