vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=236)
-   -   Forum Display Enhancements - Weather In Your Navbar (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=209150)

Reycer 03-21-2009 10:00 PM

Weather In Your Navbar
 
1 Attachment(s)
Alright this is my first time ever doing this, and some of you might not find this so useful, but some of my posters do. So here goes.



This will let you have a weather icon in the space above your navbar.

To install:

Open your Navbar Template

Admin Cp ----> Styles and Templates -----> Style Manager ---> Edit Templates(in your style) ---> Navigation/Breadcrumbs Templates

Find:

<div class="navbar" style="font-size:10pt"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="1"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a> <strong>$vboptions[bbtitle]</strong></div>


Directly below that add:

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=234&height=60&theme=lblue_no_se arch_box&location=65536&units= f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>


In location=65536 -- Change that to your Zip Code.

Save it and your done. Weather is now on your site.


You can also change the size and dimension of this weather code by following this link

DEMO

Screenshot:

http://lacledeforum.com/forums/image...2&type=profile

Reycer 03-22-2009 07:08 PM

reserved

DobieGillis? 03-22-2009 07:17 PM

does it change?

DobieGillis? 03-22-2009 07:20 PM

where is Lebanon, MO?

Reycer 03-22-2009 07:22 PM

Yes, it reads the weather from www.weatherreports.com You will need to change the Zip Code to your own Zip Code.

DobieGillis? 03-22-2009 07:22 PM

ahhh, missed that, sorry!

Reycer 03-22-2009 07:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DobieGillis? (Post 1774498)
ahhh, missed that, sorry!

it's ok.

DobieGillis? 03-22-2009 07:25 PM

Looks nice! Installed.

Jasem 03-23-2009 01:50 PM

Good work, thank you!

Installed

schlottkej 03-24-2009 07:53 PM

You could also add an additional Userfield that asks for the ZIP Code and insert it there.. that way the Weather would be for each user rather than the owner's site.

Agdez.com 03-25-2009 10:52 AM

thank you

Nice work

FRANKTHETANK 2 03-25-2009 10:55 PM

works great. thanks alot

FRANKTHETANK 2 03-27-2009 05:17 PM

I can't get it to change from celsius to fahrenheit

Reycer 03-27-2009 11:22 PM

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=234&height=60&theme=lblue_no_se arch_box&location=65536&units= f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>

Make sure that the highlighted still says "F" and not "C"

Brandon Sheley 03-27-2009 11:23 PM

pretty neat, may add this one to our local forum

Doctor Death 03-29-2009 07:39 PM

I would love it if you could map this to a user defined Zip field.

If that user didnt complete it, would like to have an option for a "default" zip.

Really good stuff, thank you

FRANKTHETANK 2 03-31-2009 09:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mdelcour (Post 1778654)
<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=234&height=60&theme=lblue_no_se arch_box&location=65536&units= f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>

Make sure that the highlighted still says "F" and not "C"


Thats exactly what I have and it still doesn't work.

BigDog56 03-31-2009 09:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Loco.M (Post 1778658)
pretty neat, may add this one to our local forum

Agreed. We have members from all over that I doubt would have much intrest in Ky's weather.
If it could be member set... :up:

Reycer 04-05-2009 02:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FRANKTHETANK 2 (Post 1781350)
Thats exactly what I have and it still doesn't work.

ok take out the space between = and F that did it.

BigBass 04-10-2009 11:25 AM

Have you figured a way to have a user put their zip code in yet?

BBR-APBT 04-10-2009 04:11 PM

I have made it so it uses a custom profile field and display each users local zip code. Plus the weather box will only show up if they entered their zip code.

First you have to make a new profile field.

admin >> User Profile Fields >> Add New User Profile Field


Single-Line Text Box
Title: Zip Code
Description: Put your Zip code here to display the local weather at the bottom of the forums.

Private Field: Yes
Field Searchable on Members List: NO
Show on Members List: NO




Here is the code.
Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo[fieldx]">
<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=234&height=60&theme=lblue_no_search_box&location=$bbuserinfo[fieldx]&units=f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>
</if>

Change $bbuserinfo[fieldx] to the number of your field it is twice in the code.
Enjoy every one.


I use weather.com for mine and it is at the bottom of the forums. weather.com has a much nicer looking layout. If you sign up there and want help implanting the code just let me know.

BigBass 04-10-2009 04:48 PM

Perfect............thank you!

BBR-APBT 04-10-2009 05:10 PM

Your welcome.

To the owner of this mod feel free to add my code to yours if you would like.

columbonet 04-12-2009 10:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BBR-APBT (Post 1788303)
I have made it so it uses a custom profile field and display each users local zip code. Plus the weather box will only show up if they entered their zip code.

First you have to make a new profile field.

admin >> User Profile Fields >> Add New User Profile Field


Single-Line Text Box
Title: Zip Code
Description: Put your Zip code here to display the local weather at the bottom of the forums.

Private Field: Yes
Field Searchable on Members List: NO
Show on Members List: NO




Here is the code.
Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo[fieldx]">
<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=234&height=60&theme=lblue_no_search_box&location=$bbuserinfo[fieldx]&units=f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>
</if>

Change $bbuserinfo[fieldx] to the number of your field it is twice in the code.
Enjoy every one.


I use weather.com for mine and it is at the bottom of the forums. weather.com has a much nicer looking layout. If you sign up there and want help implanting the code just let me know.



For those that use this:

I went ahead and added 2 zip code fields and marked one for "f" and one for "c". This way the visitor can choose which format to see their weather in. I then placed the code in the template twice. If they leave on zip code empty then it only shows up once. If they enter zips in both fields then they will see both F and C temps.

BBR-APBT 04-12-2009 10:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by columbonet (Post 1789856)
For those that use this:

I went ahead and added 2 zip code fields and marked one for "f" and one for "c". This way the visitor can choose which format to see their weather in. I then placed the code in the template twice. If they leave on zip code empty then it only shows up once. If they enter zips in both fields then they will see both F and C temps.

You could of just made a field with two options F and C and let them choose with a drop down.

Code:

Change this:
&units=f

to this
&units=$bbuserinfo[fieldx]

Would be much easier if you only had one spot for zip code and a option to choose between F and C

columbonet 04-12-2009 11:10 PM

Thanks. Could i get the weather.com code? this other site shows my temp as 60 one second and 53 another.

BBR-APBT 04-12-2009 11:16 PM

You will have to set up an account over to get a api type key else it wont run on your site from my key. Check your PM for the code I will leave most of the one line out. But you will see what to edit.

wwolf27 04-13-2009 09:45 AM

I am asking this in a nice way because I want to see if I am doing something wrong....I am confused as to why some have added a new profile field??

If you go to the site that the mod owner posted http://www.weatherreports.com/add_to_your_site.html
it tells you right to the right to choose "F" or "C" and it says Enter 'LOCAL' to Determine User's Location Based on IP click which style you want and it gives you the code

This is what I have on my site with a black background.

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=728&height=90&theme=black&locat ion=LOCAL&units=f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>

BBR-APBT 04-13-2009 09:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wwolf27 (Post 1790096)
I am asking this in a nice way because I want to see if I am doing something wrong....I am confused as to why some have added a new profile field??

If you go to the site that the mod owner posted http://www.weatherreports.com/add_to_your_site.html
it tells you right to the right to choose "F" or "C" and it says Enter 'LOCAL' to Determine User's Location Based on IP click which style you want and it gives you the code

This is what I have on my site with a black background.

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=728&height=90&theme=black&locat ion=LOCAL&units=f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>

I never went to the site to see what their code was. As I said I use weather.com. Everyone asked for the code posted to use a custom profile field. So I made it do what they asked and also some people wanted F and some wanted C choices for their members so I told them how to do that also.

columbonet 04-13-2009 06:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wwolf27 (Post 1790096)
I am asking this in a nice way because I want to see if I am doing something wrong....I am confused as to why some have added a new profile field??

If you go to the site that the mod owner posted http://www.weatherreports.com/add_to_your_site.html
it tells you right to the right to choose "F" or "C" and it says Enter 'LOCAL' to Determine User's Location Based on IP click which style you want and it gives you the code

This is what I have on my site with a black background.

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=728&height=90&theme=black&locat ion=LOCAL&units=f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>

What you have will tell someone their local temp in F. I needed it to be either way due to folks being from all over the world. That is why I asked what I did.

Biker_GA 05-27-2009 09:52 AM

I've been looking for something like this that I can use to pass the zip code to the module in CMS and display the weather for each user based on their own zip code.

Here's the code I've input into the module:

Code:

<if condition="$bbuserinfo[field13]">
<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=125&height=125&theme=brand&location=$bbuserinfo[field13]&units=f">
</script>
</if>

Unfortunately, the zipcode isn't being passed to the module. Any idea where I made the boo-boo? (Using 3.8.2 and the latest vBAdbanced)

MichaelDance 04-26-2010 03:43 PM

Best way to do this, is

Make a User Profile Field and call it Your Zipcode/Postcode then your weather activated then get the field number eg: field14 so the [fieldx] will be [field14] also you can try

Code:

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=234&height=60&theme=lblue_no_search_box&location="$post[fieldx]"&units= f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>

OR

Code:

<if condition="$post['fieldx']">
<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=234&height=60&theme=lblue_no_search_box&location="$post[fieldx]"&units= f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>
</if>

that code can be used in postbit_legacy too.. aswell as Navigator.

Just thought id share...

Also if you like to have your own weather for the Navigator, and if the user has put their code in, it will change to theres put this

CHANGE YOURCODE to your Zipcode/Postcode whatever.

Code:

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=234&height=60&theme=lblue_no_search_box&location=YOURCODE&units= f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>
<if condition="$post['fieldx']">
<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript1.2" src="http://weatherreports.com/jscript.html?width=234&height=60&theme=lblue_no_search_box&location="$post[fieldx]"&units= f">
</script>
<div><a href="http://www.weatherreports.com/"><small>Weather Reports</small></a></div>
</if>



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01203 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,822KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (8)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (32)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete