![]() |
UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down Menu System
1 Attachment(s)
UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down Menu System You wanted Drop down Menu's that were easy to install and edit, Well now you've got it Live Demo http://www.aboxcafe.com/index.php http://www.wheelsbd.com/ Compatible with almost ALL Browsers. https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/02/32.gif Hi Guys, i've had so many messages about My "Easy Menu Tabs" and when was i going to do Dropdown Tabs, Well i've listened and now i can happily add UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down menu's to our list of modifications. This is just so easy to edit and install, as long as you feel confident with a few simple edits and uploading a graphics file to your images directory or even your photobucket account, if you don't want to mess about uploading to your server. UKBL ~ Quality Drop Downs sit quite happily on top of your forums accessable from all pages of the forum https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/10.png They look like any bog standard Menu Nav bar but when you hover the mouse over it you'll see the dropdowns, I've uploaded a test version to my forum, Take a look for yourselves http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum I've left the Top White Easy Men Bar in place also so you can compare both of them. When you go over the menu bar the dropdowns should appear like in the picture below https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/11.png See how the chosen links are highlighted ;) So now we come to the installation stage. Download the dropdown.zip file below and open the VBOrg_Menu.txt file in notepad or any other text editor, as we need to edit a few files. The first one we need to edit is the url of our Graphic File, So to cut a long story short we'll upload our graphic file to our Photobucket account, or any other account or image directory on your server, So firstly find Code:
/*"""""""" (MAIN) Container Edit Picture URL Here :-) """"""""*/ Code:
background-image:url(http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/center_tile_blue.gif); Then we go and do the menu edits, You don't want your members click on your forum menu and ending up on my site :erm: So what we need to do now is change the menu links for yours, It take about 15 min's but its not hard to do, so lets do it..... First find where our menu starts, This will be right at the bottom of the code, The HTML part of this and the first bit we need to change starts from here... Code:
<li><a class="qmparent" href="javascript:void(0)">MY CONTROL PANEL</a> Code:
<li><a class="qmparent" href="javascript:void(0)">MY CONTROL PANEL</a> Code:
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/profile.php?do=editavatar" title="Edit Avatar">Edit Avatar</a></li> If you want to change the link altogether and put your own, then replace the full URL with one that you want and don't forget to edit the end part "Edit Avatar" as that is the title thats shown on the dropdown. When you've finished all your editing, we need to upload this whole code to your Header Template of the Style that your Currantly using on your forum, So once you've saved your edited code, Just copy and paste directly to your Header, Go right to the end and click paste, save the template and thats it, The Graphic File which you need to upload to your server or image host is also in the zip file. :) So easy and a great improvement to any VBulletin Forum This is a Freebie for all you members on VB.org with my compliments If anyone wants any custom menus made, Just PM me I'll help where i can, Just bear in mind a menu like this takes a good couple of hours or so, so a donation is more than welcomed :D Oh almost Forgot guys, If you like it, Please Click on Installed, as this really does motivate me to improving these hacks UPDATE 09.02.09 Uploaded a New Zip File, Black Menu.Zip This is the same as this original except that its black for darker Websites and Forums, Instructions are the same as above, and comes complete with customised Graphics which will need to be uploaded to your /images/ directory. https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/02/100.png UPDATE 23.02.09 For some of you Admins who prefer menu Buttons as opposed to a menu bar, i've made some buttons based on the above menu formate, You can install it by following the same instructions as the main install, Just upload the graphics and edit your menu links and thats it. Experiment with the css to change colors width of boxes etc, Add more or as little as you want, the important thing is to have fun learning. https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/02/38.png UPDATE: 26th April 2009 Centering the Menu so that it appears central There has been much debate about trying to centralise the menu tabs, I didn't want to edit the code too much as this would make a mess of it in different browsers, However i've found that there is a way :D The easiest way to center menu content is to place it inside of a center aligned table, as shown below: Code:
<table cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 align="center"><tr><td> Hope this helps :up: Enjoy :D |
:D Reserved :)
|
Does this take into account template hooks for the navbar?
|
Quote:
Not sure what you mean??? This dosn't change the Existing VB navbar, thats upto the member to decide if they want to disable it or not, this is totally independantly without much involvement with anything else :erm: Its easy to install and can be used on the forum or any other site page ;) |
very nice work.
|
Quote:
|
Ah!! as u said u gonna cook another one. :) going to play with it now, and will be back to click install.
|
Ahhh my idea to make it :P You were faster UK :P Well... you've saved my time ;)
Again great work! :) |
Original, click install ;)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Beautiful....
I will have to play around as I want to put it right under header before navbar... A quick question... Will it be feasible to add little icons of your choice on left of the item... say... a camera next to images forum? |
Beautiful....
Iam using arabic fourum....so How to transform the menu from left to right ? |
I replaced the navbar with this menu. Looks good. You can see it here.
|
Looks great to me !! Installed.
Thank you |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Experiment and Enjoy are the keywords here :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
can you guide me a bit on how to do it...? (I will have 16x16 images - much like emoticons) Don't worry I am not a novice in Javascript etc. but not a pro as well... so would need a pointer or two :) Thanks for the great work man. |
Quote:
The menu links are done in HTML, so they are very easy to edit with a basic knowledge of HTML. I take it you want something like this?? https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/8.png All you need to do is to add this to the description part of the tab link, first find the Menu link that you want to add a picture to Code:
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/faq.php" title="Search F.A.Q">Search F.A.Q</a></li> and what we need to do is to add our code in between the > < but infront of the "Search FAQ So this is the code were going to add Code:
<img src="http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/film.gif" border="0"> Like this Code:
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/faq.php" title="Search F.A.Q"><img src="http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/film.gif" border="0">Search F.A.Q</a></li> Have Fun :D |
Quote:
Keep up the great work though!! :) |
Quote:
Been wondering all day at work what Wayne meant by that, if i knew how the hooks worked on the VB Navbar then i would have a clearer picture, Perhaps i'll make that my Next Project ;) watch this space :D |
Quote:
This is should really just be a matter of adding the hooks where they belong. Like if you look at the default navbar that should give you a good idea. The only problem with that any product that gets added they just have to go in and change to use your markup instead of the default one. Sounds pretty cool actually :) Can't wait to see what you come up with next ;) |
Thanks UKBL :D
you rock :D *Reserved for Now* But will be tweaking things before I click on Install... I definitely need this..... |
1 Attachment(s)
OK.... please, help me understand what am I possibly doing wrong here :D
oops.. i mean to make :( the only thing I did was to take out the background image option from the style :erm: Please help Everything is already "dropped down" lol... :D PS: All Javascripts and other Codes are intact ... I only played with UL and LI codes..... :( |
Quote:
If you didn't want the blue gradiant along the bar all you had to do was not upload it or add it to the css part of the code, you shouldn't of deleted or changed anything, It looks like you've deleted a bit more of the css or javascript part of the coding. Post here your code and i'll take a look :rolleyes: |
actually weird :-s
I created a simple html local page and tested on computer locally... it seems to be working... posting them at the end of header is giving problem... I wonder why :( |
Quote:
|
No...
Vb 3.8.1... I have another dropdown menu which is working but I do not wish to keep it using.... anything i need to add or delete, it takes a lot of efforts at too many places... Your code is working fine when testing locally... I am just wondering why would it not work otherwise... I actually cut-copied-pasted the code from Header where it was not working into a notepad and saved as local html file and it worked.... |
Quote:
Send me that code because without it i can't help you :confused: |
The code is too long.... I will PM you in two parts ...
|
|
all it is is some css...how could there be a copyright issue? :confused:
You can get a $39 account now also.. |
Quote:
I use this for all my dropdowns, just like a skin designer uses photoshop, I paid over $568 for this, for unlimited websites as i'm using this for a business venture. No copyright issues involve, as when i create the menus to my clients design i'm the copyright holder :D Quote:
|
Quote:
Plus the Css and the Html is all the same as what you would find with a different program or even if you did it yourself, your right there, it uses the same strings, attributes, all the program does is allows you to design and produce the final outcome. Its a bit pricey, but there again so is photoshop, and how many people have paid for their version of photoshop that have designed skins in the styles forum ??? Can we please get back on topic now guys ;) |
Quote:
I will look at your coding when i get back from work and edit it so that it works for you, from the bacic coode which i had in the Zip file what else have you added ot taken off the code, I know you added some images, thats one, anything else??? If you let me know we'll get this sort shortly :D |
Quote:
|
UKBL:
The problem is solved.... The issue was that when I was copy pasting the code from notepad into the header, it was inserting additional "white space" and lines in between menu codes etc.... I removed all the spaces and it is working like a charm.... It looks awesome :) I am going to make them more visually appealing by adding my stuff :) have a look :D http://www.pakfuse.com/pf |
Quote:
I was going to do what you did, so i'm glad you managed to sort it out :D Glad you enjoyed it :up: |
All times are GMT. The time now is 07:52 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|