vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=236)
-   -   Forum Display Enhancements - Easy Navbar Links (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=201438)

SuperTaz 01-10-2009 10:00 PM

Easy Navbar Links
 
1 Attachment(s)
Description:
This template edit displays quick and easy links to your navigation.

Installation Time: Less than 1 minute

I got the inspiration from "yoyoyoyo" who made a similar mod for 3.6.8. Although his might work fine for this also, I decided to alter it a bit and cleaned up some code.

I did PM yoyoyoyo to use a variation of his hack but, since he has not been online since September 2008, I can't get a response.

Since yoyoyoyo came up with this type of template edit, all the credit goes to him.

Here is the mod from yoyoyoyo for version 3.6.8:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=160642

Template Edit:

Styles and Templates > Style Manager > Your Style > Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates > Navbar:

In the Navbar find:

Code:

<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Above it add:

Code:

<!-- Navbar Links -->
<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:1px">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Your Title</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Your Title</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Your Title</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Your Title</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Your Title</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Your Title</a></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / Navbar Links -->

Then click Save and Reload!

Done!


OPTIONAL:

If you want to show a link only to members use this:

Code:

<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Link Title Goes Here</a></td>
</if>

If you want to show a link only to members, and a different link to guests use this:

Code:

<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Member Link Title Goes Here</a></td>
<else />
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Guest Link Title Goes Here</a></td>
</if>

To make the link open in a new window use this URL instead:

Code:

<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com" target="_blank">Link Title Goes Here</a></td>
To make the link(s) only visible to certain usergroups use this:

Code:

<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, X, Y, Z)">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Link Title Goes Here</a></td>
</if>

Substitute X, Y, Z with the ID numbers of the groups that you want to allow to see the link. If you only want one usergroup to be able to see the link then use: $bbuserinfo, X and substitute X with the ID number of the group that you want to allow to see the link.

Of Course you want to change the URL's to your site URL and direct the link to any site or feature you want for your site.

Any problems, let me know.

Make sure if you use this template edit to CLICK INSTALL.

Shaheen 01-11-2009 10:38 PM

Nice , i was loookin for it.
Thanks

proudgreenyin 01-11-2009 11:25 PM

exactly what i needed right now. thanks very much m8

SuperTaz 01-12-2009 12:14 AM

You're welcome. Any problems, just ask and I will help.

zefyx 01-12-2009 03:50 AM

Thanks Warden-B-, looks great :]

SuperTaz 01-12-2009 03:51 AM

You're welcome! :)

hatiramolsun 01-12-2009 03:20 PM

nice,
thanks...

SuperTaz 01-13-2009 03:34 PM

You're welcome.

shane greer 01-15-2009 12:07 AM

Excellent thankyou very much!!

inferno5 01-15-2009 04:59 AM

Hi I just made these changes to my template's navbar but I dont know why I am not able to see the change. I checked and its saved in the code and I even cleared cache to reload and check but no luck. I must be doing something wrong. Since I added this new skin with buttons in navbar, even the previously added Links have disappeared. Sorry I am new to the navbar manual editing. If you require I could post my navbar code.

inferno5 01-15-2009 08:05 AM

Nevermind. I found all the links in the "header" section of the template. Why its not in navbar I dont know but my problem is solved. Thanks

SuperTaz 01-15-2009 05:15 PM

Glad to see you fixed it inferno. Make sure to mark installed if you use this mod.

inferno5 01-15-2009 05:34 PM

Marked as Installed!

SuperTaz 01-18-2009 11:07 PM

Thank you.

nectons 01-19-2009 05:02 PM

SO PERFECT!!!

~installed~

CoolMomGuide 01-20-2009 01:26 AM

Marked as installed, and AWESOME. Is there a code I can add so it opens the links in a new window?

SuperTaz 01-20-2009 03:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoolMomGuide (Post 1718451)
Marked as installed, and AWESOME. Is there a code I can add so it opens the links in a new window?

Yes.

Code:

<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com" target="_blank">Link</a></td>

Shaliza 01-21-2009 05:10 AM

Installed. =)

raja811 01-25-2009 11:36 AM

thanks

TheTrust 01-25-2009 12:05 PM

nice ........ thank you

CPOWA 01-25-2009 12:51 PM

Installed: Excellent hack! Thank you so much, Warren :)

Nita

SuperTaz 01-26-2009 01:35 AM

Thank you. Make sure you mark as installed if you want any support.

Freddy.k 01-26-2009 01:39 PM

Excellent thankyou very much

SuperTaz 01-29-2009 10:45 PM

You're welcome. :)

aircool52 01-29-2009 11:00 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I have installed , but is any way to separate the two bars , instead one on top of the other?

SuperTaz 01-30-2009 04:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aircool52 (Post 1728560)
I have installed , but is any way to separate the two bars , instead one on top of the other?

Go to your "navbar" template and find this code:

Code:

<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
ABOVE IT ADD THIS:
Code:

<!-- Navbar Links -->
<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:1px">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Your Title</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Your Title</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Your Title</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Your Title</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Your Title</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Your Title</a></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / Navbar Links -->


SuperTaz 02-10-2009 01:01 AM

Updated.

luan7749 02-10-2009 01:15 AM

Cool ! Thank partner

Videx 02-10-2009 01:22 AM

Now if only this was a product, so we wouldn't have to edit every time we updated.

SuperTaz 02-13-2009 01:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Videx (Post 1739269)
Now if only this was a product, so we wouldn't have to edit every time we updated.

I am not that good. lol But, if you use the TMS system, you would not need the product. Just update your default style and the TMS system will do the rest. Did for me.

K4GAP 02-18-2009 02:50 AM

Fantastic! And so easy :)

Q. What is this "TMS system" referred to in previous post?

o0Hubba0o 02-21-2009 03:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GaryT (Post 1747504)
Fantastic! And so easy :)

Q. What is this "TMS system" referred to in previous post?

I do believe they're referring to the Template Modification System if I remember right. :)

conheomap 02-21-2009 03:18 AM

Really great mod. Installed! Thanks

SuperTaz 02-21-2009 06:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GaryT (Post 1747504)
Fantastic! And so easy :)

Q. What is this "TMS system" referred to in previous post?

Template Modification System

93Corvette 02-21-2009 07:32 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by aircool52 (Post 1728560)
I have installed , but is any way to separate the two bars , instead one on top of the other?

I just installing this. My question is how do you make it so they are together. Mine is seperated like aircool52 wanted, but I want it the other way.... This is a screen shot of what I have now. I want mine below my original one (the way aircool52 picture looks).
EDIT, (just found out by playing with it): To make them one on top of the orginal NavBar, find the following code and place it above it:
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:$stylevar[cellspacing]px; border-top-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">

However, I still need:
Lastly, when I look at the NavBar area, I can't find "Invite Your Friends" or "ChatBox Full". Where else would I find them so I can kill them off the orginal bar, and place them on the new bar, so it doesn't look so cluttered? So, being a noob, how can I do a search on "ChatBox Full" to find out what section it's in?

btw: This is exactly what I needed for my site....

SuperTaz 02-22-2009 06:10 PM

The "Invite your Friends" area is in the styles and templates > Choose your style > Invitation Template. Find the navbar link and copy it, then delete it.

What chatbox are you using?

93Corvette 02-22-2009 11:58 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Warden-B- (Post 1751645)
The "Invite your Friends" area is in the styles and templates > Choose your style > Invitation Template. Find the navbar link and copy it, then delete it.

What chatbox are you using?


When I search through my files (I have attached them below), I cannot find anything with "Invitation Template". I'm going to ACP>Styles & Templates>Style Manager>Andromeda (my style)>using the pull down "Edit Templates">Expand all Template groups.
I go into all the Navbar files and do a seach for "Invite Your Friends" or "ChatBox Full" and cannot find anything. But, understand too, I am a Noobie, and I know I'm probably doing something wrong...
Is there an easy way of searching for these texts, that will show all instances of all files using them?
Here are my Templates.... Thanks again for your help!

93Corvette 02-23-2009 12:00 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Here are the remaining 3 files.... Sorry to have so many....

SuperTaz 02-23-2009 04:52 AM

For the CyB Chatbox, go to AdminCP > vB Options > CyB - Chatbox > scroll down to very bottom of that where it says this: "Automatically add link to ChatBox to NavBar". Set it to NO and save. Done.

For the Invitation System go to AdminCP > vB Options > Invitation System Options > "Automatic Link Creation" set to disable and save.

Done!

Then go to your forum homepage and look at the navbar. It will be taken away. For inserting them into the above navbar, I dont know. The Chatbox uses a hook somewhere that I cant find to add it. Invitation system I will have to search for you.

93Corvette 02-24-2009 12:58 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Warden-B- (Post 1752031)
For the CyB Chatbox, go to AdminCP > vB Options > CyB - Chatbox > scroll down to very bottom of that where it says this: "Automatically add link to ChatBox to NavBar". Set it to NO and save. Done.

For the Invitation System go to AdminCP > vB Options > Invitation System Options > "Automatic Link Creation" set to disable and save.

Done!

Then go to your forum homepage and look at the navbar. It will be taken away. For inserting them into the above navbar, I dont know. The Chatbox uses a hook somewhere that I cant find to add it. Invitation system I will have to search for you.


Warden-B-,

THANK-YOU~!!!!!

Dang, I was making it harder than I needed...(Please understand, I'm a noobie)

1. What I did is leave the "ChatBox Full" and the "Invite Your Friends" on, and I right clicked on them to get their properties. Then I added to your program Navbar.

2. Then I went to the Vbulletin Options. For noobs, that's ACP>vbulletin Options>Vbulletin Options>go down to Cyb - Chatbox and click "No" where it says "Automatically add link to ChatBox to NavBar". This will kill it off the orginal Navbar.

3. Do the same thing for the invite. For noobs, that's ACP>vbulletin Options>vbulletin Options>go down to Invitation System Options>"Automatic Link Creation" and select "Disable".

4. Dang it, here I was looking for code somewhere, and all it was was a dang pushbutton for the program.... Anyways, Warden-B-, I just wanted to thank you for getting me on the right track....


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01948 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,829KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (9)bbcode_code_printable
  • (8)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete