vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=229)
-   -   Forum Home Enhancements - UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=200686)

UKBusinessLive 01-03-2009 10:00 PM

UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs
 
UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs


I've been playing around with creating some Menu Tabs for the top of the forums, These ones do not mess up your CSS or use Javascript and you can have it set up and running on your forums in minutes.

Credits: Christopher Ware ~ Thanks

DEMO: http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/demo.html

Members Site Live Demo's:
http://www.gamelobby.com/Forum/
http://www.itproservices.net/forums/...php?styleid=10


https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/47.png

I've done this in a neutral color, so it'll be fine for light colored forums, I will add some darker ones and a black one later if requested

So what do you do???

Installation is sooooo simple your gonna love this, First you need to open the html file with notepad or similar, and make a few edits, Mainly the location of the 2 gif's and the links to the urls or onsite links.

so in Note pad look for this..

Code:

background:url("tableft1.gif") no-repeat left top;
and change the word tableft1.gif to the directory you have your images in, if you use photobucket or a similar storage site then your code would look something like this

Code:

background:url("http://i4875.photobucket.com/albums/rr1/ukbusinesslive/tableft1.gif") no-repeat left top;
Then you look for the other one here

Code:

background:url("tabright1.gif") no-repeat right top;
and basically do the same as the first edit.

So thats it with the gif edits, you still need to scroll further down to the menu edits

here

Code:

                      <ul>
                                <!-- CSS Tabs -->
<li id="current"><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span>Forums Topsite</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/group.php?"><span>Social Groups</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/online.php?"><span>Who's Online</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://astore.amazon.co.uk/ukbuli-21"><span>UKBL Bookstore</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/usercp.php"><span>Your CP</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>

basically you can have as many tabs as you need and you change the navigation from the top code, its pretty easy to do, First you add the Url of the site or link that you want tabbed, Then paste it to the first part of the tab, Then after <Span> you write the name of the tab, Easy

if you want extra tabs just add another line like this

Code:

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
Cut and Paste the HTML Code to the header template of your style, and upload the gifs to your chosen directory, be it /images/misc or even photobucket.


For Dark Colored Sites

If your Site is Black or has a Black Background you'll want black tabs like this

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/67.png

Then you'll have to Download the Black_ Tabs.zip This include a new code that you need to edit as well as the 2 Black Gifs to get the correct colour. Instructions are the same as above ;)

Please Click install if you like it :D

If you want to see a nice collection of downloadable Menu Tabs, Veiw My Post in the Graphics forum, and download what you need ;)
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...79#post1704379

vBAdvanced Integration

Ther seem to be a slight problem with users that use vBAdvanced Integration

Quote:

A problem I'm having when I put this in the header template is that I click on a thread and it comes up with the menu tabs down where the thread should be instead of the thread.

Could it be a problem with having vBAdvanced integration?
The cure is quite simple, all you need to do when you've edited your code is to cut it in half and put the CSS element into the additional CSS box in your Style manger's "additional CSS" box, Then the last bit, the part which contains the menu links (See below)

Code:

</style>
                </head>

                <body>
                       
                        <div id="tabsH">
                                <ul>
                                        <!-- CSS Tabs -->
<li id="current"><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span>Forums Topsite</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/group.php?"><span>Social Groups</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/online.php?"><span>Who's Online</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://astore.amazon.co.uk/ukbuli-21"><span>UKBL Bookstore</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/usercp.php"><span>Your CP</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>

                                </ul>
                        </div>
                </body>
</html>

Thats the part which just goes at the VERY end of your header.

Enjoy VBa Members :D

To Open in new Browser Window

To get the link to open in a new browser window, what you do is add the target="_blank" attribute to your link tag, like this in your Menu Links area

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/" target="_blank"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>

If you do that to the ones that you want to open in a new window, then you don't navigate away from your site ;)

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/01/30.png

:D
Changing individual Tab Font Colors

You can add some html markup between the <span> where the tab name is

Just change the first <Span> Value to

Code:

<span style="color:Green">
So your Menu Line would look something like this

Code:

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span style="color:Green">Forums Topsite</span></a></li>
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/38.png

Hope that helps, just change the color Green, for a color of your choice

You could use a tab with a different color text to point to your Paypal Account and call it donations :confused: Worth a try ;)

Tab Color Changes on Hover

Quote:

I have a request though

if you can make the current page's tab be in another color just like when hover it, it will be great.
just like vbulletin.org here.
you can see it yourself
You need to add a span attribute to the CSS

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/37.png

Dependant on what tab design you are using, find the following in the code

Code:

  #tabs1 a:hover {
      background-position:0% -42px;
      }

and change it to this

Code:

#tabs1 a:hover span {
      color:#000000;
      background-position:0% -42px;
      }

Where #000000 (hex Code for Black) is the new color that you want, so now you should have the tabs show up as normal and when you hover the cursor over them with the above hex code the text will be BLACK

Just change this color hex to whatever hex color you want

Enjoy

:D

UKBusinessLive 01-04-2009 06:11 PM

:) Reserved :cool:

Gamelobby 01-04-2009 10:38 PM

This looks like something VERY cool, but why aren't they on your forums...?
Is there any bugs.?

And which html file do we open in notepad.? (an existing one from our boards, or one in this zip folder)

Thanks

UKBusinessLive 01-04-2009 10:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gamelobby (Post 1701811)
This looks like something VERY cool, but why aren't they on your forums...?
Is there any bugs.?

And which html file do we open in notepad.? (an existing one from our boards, or one in this zip folder)

Thanks

I don't use them on my forum as i already have a double navbar :D I tested them out on my forum as you can see below

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/79.png

But it looks a bit overkill with the double navbar

The one which you edit is the tab_menu_1.zip That has the HTML code to edit, That zip alone will just use the light colored tabs, If you have a black or darker forum then you need to also download the Black_Tabs.zip. This has the Black Gif's which you need to use in place of the ones in the first zip.

Thats it really

:)

Gamelobby 01-04-2009 11:30 PM

Quote:

Save and upload the html to the header of your style, and upload the gifs to your chosen directory, be it /images/misc or even photobucket.
Ok im ready to upload, but im not sure where to upload it..? (where in "header")
Is this a file on my server or in the styles manager.?

Also my site has a skin/mod on it, that might make this not work.. any thoughts before i even try it.? :D (besides back it up. lol)

*edit*
I think this wont work for me unless i can add the code to my current code rather than overwrite it.
(i have a menu up top that needs to stay)

UKBusinessLive 01-04-2009 11:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gamelobby (Post 1701856)
Ok im ready to upload, but im not sure where to upload it..? (where in "header")
Is this a file on my server or in the styles manager.?

Also my site has a skin/mod on it, that might make this not work.. any thoughts before i even try it.? :D (besides back it up. lol)

*edit*
I think this wont work for me unless i can add the code to my code rather than over write my code.
(i have a menu up top that needs to stay)

The HTML code, once edited with your details and the url of the gif's, you need to cut and paste it to the end of your Header Template right at the very bottom, You won't be over writing anything.

AdminCP>Styles & Templates>Style Manager>YOUR STYLE>Header template

Thats it really, Just make sure its the header template of the style your using, should work a treat.

let me know how you got on ;)

Just put them on my forum so you can see http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/index.php

Gamelobby 01-05-2009 12:00 AM

Awesome it works like a charm.. but i think i need to make some new buttons. lol
Actually the black ones might work better.. eitherway it does work great.!!

Thanks

Gamelobby 01-05-2009 12:06 AM

So the black tabs are named different so they need a new html..!?
Cant i just re name them, & upload over the original ones.?

UKBusinessLive 01-05-2009 12:13 AM

Great news, Looking at your site just now, made me do some Black and Gray buttons for you, should look better, You'll need to edite the code again, Just cut and paste from your original and replace the code that you have in your header at the moment, Don't forget the url of the gif's

;)

UKBusinessLive 01-05-2009 12:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gamelobby (Post 1701877)
So the black tabs are named different so they need a new html..!?
Cant i just re name them, & upload over the original ones.?

I'll Check on that, See that zip i've just done for you that might be better :D

Gamelobby 01-05-2009 12:23 AM

I dont mean to be a pain, but what is different in the code besides the img urls..?
If i change the name of the images it should work.. or no.?

My problem is if i re edit the code it will end up being identical to the code that is currently there..!?

Sorry, im confused.

UKBusinessLive 01-05-2009 12:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gamelobby (Post 1701894)
I dont mean to be a pain, but what is different in the code besides the img urls..?
If i change the name of the images it should work.. or no.?

My problem is if i re edit the code it will end up being identical to the code that is currently there..!?

Sorry, im confused.

My fault, You shouldn't use the same code for the black tabs as the white ones, as the fonts and colors are different, I've updated the new html code for the black tab buttons.

Made you a set that should go ok with your site, You do need to use the Code that came with it for it to work correctly, and upload your color gifs to whatever directory you have them loaded. (Basically its doing it again from scratch, but you can cut and paste your menu code at the end, saves you editing too much)

Hope this helps ;)

Gamelobby 01-05-2009 12:30 AM

I'll give it a go.. :)

UKBusinessLive 01-05-2009 01:21 AM

Now thats better :D:D http://www.gamelobby.com/Forum/

Forum Lover 01-05-2009 01:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive (Post 1701923)
Now thats better :D:D http://www.gamelobby.com/Forum/

Another nice hack from UKB :) Wonder if it turns to be selected. I mean, if u click "360" tab for example and when it goes to that link, the "360" tab needs to be different color that mean selected.

Do u get it what I mean UKB? :) Tagged.

Gamelobby 01-05-2009 03:35 AM

Yea the grey color shoud be on the current tab.. but other than that it works great.!!
Installed clicked.!!

UKBusinessLive 01-05-2009 05:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Forum Lover (Post 1701943)
Another nice hack from UKB :) Wonder if it turns to be selected. I mean, if u click "360" tab for example and when it goes to that link, the "360" tab needs to be different color that mean selected.

Do u get it what I mean UKB? :) Tagged.

Thanks, :D

If you hover over the "360" tab the color changes the same as the "Home" tab, By default the home tab stays the same "Darker" Color but you can remove this by deleting this from the first line of links in the code (Marked in red for ease!)

Quote:

<li id="current"><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span>Forums Topsite</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/group.php?"><span>Social Groups</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/online.php?"><span>Who's Online</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://astore.amazon.co.uk/ukbuli-21"><span>UKBL Bookstore</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/usercp.php"><span>Your CP</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>
Hope that helps ;)

soundbarrierpro 01-05-2009 04:26 PM

Hi, very easy and very functional. I like it thank you. I want to change the color of the tabs from the powder blue though. Just the outline of the tabs. Do I need to find new tabs or can it be done in the script?

Thanks for the good work *INSTALLED*

UKBusinessLive 01-05-2009 04:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundbarrierpro (Post 1702426)
Hi, very easy and very functional. I like it thank you. I want to change the color of the tabs from the powder blue though. Just the outline of the tabs. Do I need to find new tabs or can it be done in the script?

Thanks for the good work *INSTALLED*

Cheers Buddy

Just change the color of the .gifs and in the script you change the hex # of the color, you can change the color of the text and type of text too see below for a snipet of code to edit for the above

Code:

{
        font: bold 14px Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
        color: #000;
        margin: 0px;
        padding: 0px 0px 0px 15px;
}

img {
border: none;
}



    #tabs1 {
      float:left;
      width:100%;
          background:#F4F7FB;
      font-size:93%;
      line-height:normal;
          border-bottom:1px solid #BCD2E6;

or you can tell me the colors you want and i'll make it for you ;)

Take care :D

soundbarrierpro 01-05-2009 04:52 PM

Hi, it's not working for me in the script. If you could make exactly what you have in your demo but with this color as the tab outline #0B198C.

Thank you, greatly appreciated

UKBusinessLive 01-05-2009 05:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundbarrierpro (Post 1702449)
Hi, it's not working for me in the script. If you could make exactly what you have in your demo but with this color as the tab outline #0B198C.

Thank you, greatly appreciated

Hi Soundbarrierpro :D

Been trying to edit the gifs with that color hex but its not quite working, may need to tweak a bit beore finally mastering the art, However

I've build a new set of tabs based on the dark blue of your hex.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/66.png

let me know what you think ;)

soundbarrierpro 01-05-2009 05:52 PM

Perfect. Colors are fine. Thanks you for your great work.

UKBusinessLive 01-05-2009 05:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundbarrierpro (Post 1702506)
Perfect. Colors are fine. Thanks you for your great work.

Your most welcomed Sir :D
Glad you liked it :up:

Coleccromos 01-05-2009 05:58 PM

Just a question!

Which would have put the code "<center>" buttons to focus.

I am working to give a new format to my forum and I find this very interesting modification

Congratulations!

UKBusinessLive 01-05-2009 06:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coleccromos (Post 1702512)
Just a question!

Which would have put the code "<center>" buttons to focus.

I am working to give a new format to my forum and I find this very interesting modification

Congratulations!

Thanks,

I think you mean how do you center the tabs ??

You need to change the value in Red, By trial and error, until you see the buttons in the Center. It will vary from forum to forum as people may have different button sizes and the amount of tabs may vary, so you need to edit this part of the code (in red) to centralise your tabs

Quote:

#tabs1 {
float:centre;
width:100%;
background:#F4F7FB;
font-size:93%;
line-height:normal;
border-bottom:1px solid #BCD2E6;
}
#tabs1 ul {
margin:0;
padding:10px 10px 0 300px;
list-style:none;
}
#tabs1 li {
display:inline;
margin:0;
padding:0;
}
#tabs1 a {
float:left;
background:url("http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/tableft1.gif") no-repeat left top;
margin:0;
padding:0 0 0 4px;
text-decoration:none;
}
#tabs1 a span {
float:left;
display:block;
background:url("http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/tabright1.gif") no-repeat right top;
padding:5px 15px 4px 6px;
color:#627EB7;

Hope that helps :D

Coleccromos 01-05-2009 06:31 PM

It's perfect!
If I need to put more buttons and modify this information to my taste

Thanks for the work

Congratulations!

UKBusinessLive 01-05-2009 06:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coleccromos (Post 1702535)
It's perfect!
If I need to put more buttons and modify this information to my taste

Thanks for the work

Congratulations!

Hola Coleccromos

Just add another line of code under your button menu's like this

Code:

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
Just paste it underneath the others, you can have 1 or 100's

Enjoy :D

soundbarrierpro 01-05-2009 07:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive (Post 1702528)

You need to change the value in Red, By trial and error, until you see the buttons in the Center. It will vary from forum to forum as people may have different button sizes and the amount of tabs may vary, so you need to edit this part of the code (in red) to centralise your tabs

Won't this change though based on each computer user's screen size and resolution though?

For instance, my resolutions is 1152x864. If I make the adjustments, won't it look wierd on yours if you are set to 800x600?

UKBusinessLive 01-05-2009 07:13 PM

Yes thats why i don't save the code centralised by default, but if people want to put their tabs in the center, then at least they'll know what value to change in the code, Like you said different resolutions will make a difference, what it boils down is personal preference, i guess.

;)

UKBusinessLive 01-06-2009 03:29 PM

***************Update**************

Just to let everyone know i will be adding a variety of different styles of tabs this week and i'll be uploading them shortly, This will allow members to select tabs which compliment their forums in all different colors rather than the default Neutral and Black one.

There should be about 30 different styles, so it shouldn't be hard to choose one for your forums.

If anyone needs more info or help to get started, please don't hesitate to post and i'll help where i can.

If you've uploaded your tabs to your site and are happy with them and want to show off :rolleyes: PM me with a link to your site and i'll add it to the Live Demo List to show other members what can be acheived.

Thanks Guys :)

Gamelobby 01-07-2009 05:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive (Post 1703358)
If you've uploaded your tabs to your site and are happy with them and want to show off :rolleyes: PM me with a link to your site and i'll add it to the Live Demo List to show other members what can be acheived.

Thanks Guys :)

Feel free..!!

You already have it in a PM and in my sig, but.. Gamelobby.com ;)

UKBusinessLive 01-07-2009 05:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gamelobby (Post 1703904)
Feel free..!!

You already have it in a PM and in my sig, but.. Gamelobby.com ;)

Thanks Buddy :D

wmlvb 01-09-2009 07:22 PM

Hey,

I appreciate you creating this so us newbies and see how and where to do this. I have been trying to fix tabs I already have that are messed up this helps point me in right direction.

UKBusinessLive 01-09-2009 07:27 PM

Thanks wmlvb

Its quite an easy system compared to a lot of others, Theres minimum Edits and since its pretty simple its a lot easier to explain.

Hope you enjoy it :D

UKBusinessLive 01-17-2009 09:13 PM

Changing individual Tab Font Colors

You can add some html markup between the <span> where the tab name is

Just change the first <Span> Value to

Code:

<span style="color:Green">
So your Menu Line would look something like this

Code:

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span style="color:Green">Forums Topsite</span></a></li>
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/38.png

Hope that helps, just change the color Green, for a color of your choice

You could use a tab with a different color text to point to your Paypal Account and call it donations :confused: Worth a try ;)

:D

Super Jinni 01-18-2009 06:23 AM

Hi man,
this is really cool

I have a request though

if you can make the current page's tab be in another color just like when hover it, it will be great.
just like vbulletin.org here.
you can see it yourself

the tabs change when you move through them according to the current one.

it might be a condition or something to set different color to the current page's tab.

hope you got what I mean.

thanks for your great work :)

UKBusinessLive 01-18-2009 07:47 AM

You need to add a span attribute to the CSS

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/01/37.png

Dependant on what tab design you are using, find the following in the code

Code:

  #tabs1 a:hover {
      background-position:0% -42px;
      }

and change it to this

Code:

#tabs1 a:hover span {
      color:#000000;
      background-position:0% -42px;
      }

Where #000000 (hex Code for Black) is the new color that you want, so now you should have the tabs show up as normal and when you hover the cursor over them with the above hex code the text will be BLACK

Just change this color hex to whatever hex color you want

Enjoy

:D

Super Jinni 01-18-2009 10:22 AM

OK, need to give that a shot.

I'm going to try that after taking some sleep cause I didn't sleep for more than 30 hours and now I'm seeing my computer two. :D

thanks man for your reply :)

UKBusinessLive 01-18-2009 04:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Super Jinni (Post 1716680)
OK, need to give that a shot.

I'm going to try that after taking some sleep cause I didn't sleep for more than 30 hours and now I'm seeing my computer two. :D

thanks man for your reply :)

let us know how you got on :D

brvheart 01-19-2009 12:40 AM

I have a question and a comment -

Comment first - thank you!! This is easy and works great!

Question - I did not want this in the header, so I put it in forumhome just above the main forums (placed below the <!-- main -->). This worked great, until I viewed it in safari - when I look at it in firefox - no problem, IE - no problems, Safari - throws the rest of the main table to the right - do you know how I would fix that?


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01770 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,898KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (16)bbcode_code_printable
  • (20)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete