vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=228)
-   -   Add-On Releases - News in Portal module for vBCMPS (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=200290)

M4GN3T 12-30-2008 10:00 PM

News in Portal module for vBCMPS
 
-! News in Portal Module For vBCMPS !-

-! Thanks to Oyadus, M4GN3T and Dexter 145 ! -

This is for use with the vBadvanced Portal not the vBCMS!

Hi all,

This is my first mod here on vB.org. I'm not really experienced in coding for vBulletin but i did achieve something i wanted to. I created a module which basically loads a news topic out of your forum within the vBCMPS portal. This gives the website a better look instead of everything looking forum-based.

I would also like to say that everyone is free to add or enchance the script, the only thing i ask is upload the one you modded/enchanced here in the topic ;).

Demo; http://www.ps3-sense.nl/?pageid=nieuws&t=5445

Install:

1)
Upload all contents in the upload folder.

2) Go to the admincp of your vBulletin installation and navigate to the vBCMPS tab. Click on 'Add Page' and select Module page.

Settings for page;

Page title: news
Page identifier: news

now save.

3) Now go to the vBCMPS tab again and hit 'Add module', now choose for PHP File Module. Under file to include choose news_in_portal.php

Settings for module;

Module title; Just type something
Module parent; none
Initialize BB Code Parser; yes
Initialize Forum Permissions; yes
Clean file output; yes
Use Module Wrapper Template; no

4) Now place the module on the page you created @ step 2.

5) Type the following url in the browser;

http://www.your_forum.com/?pageid=[Page identifier (step2!)]&t=[Thread number]

6) For a demo check out here:

http://www.ps3-sense.nl/?pageid=nieuws&t=5445

soundbarrierpro 12-31-2008 02:22 PM

Any photobucket screens? Your demo is blocked at my company.

Spank 12-31-2008 03:31 PM

Doesn't vBACMPS do this by default?

puertoblack2003 12-31-2008 03:45 PM

yep it can be accomplish by default..but time was taken to create this so good job:up:

SHalliday 01-01-2009 12:58 AM

Would love to see something as nice as this or vbAdvanced. Nice work!

ArnyVee 01-01-2009 02:08 AM

What are the differences between this and the default vBadvanced module for news?

beduino 01-01-2009 10:18 AM

Hello
is to vbadvanced [vBa CMS] and not to vBCMS ...
vBa CMS - www.vbadvanced.com
vBCMS - www.vbdesigns.de

in my opinion, of course ...

all the best and happy new year
joao barroca
aka beduino

M4GN3T 01-01-2009 11:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by beduino (Post 1698424)
Hello
is to vbadvanced [vBa CMS] and not to vBCMS ...
vBa CMS - www.vbadvanced.com
vBCMS - www.vbdesigns.de

in my opinion, of course ...

all the best and happy new year
joao barroca
aka beduino

This is indeed for vBadvanced.

KW802 01-01-2009 07:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ArnyVee (Post 1698273)
What are the differences between this and the default vBadvanced module for news?

I'm confused as well... this seems to duplicate the look & feel of the standard News module that comes with vBa CMPS.

M4GN3T 01-01-2009 07:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KW802 (Post 1698720)
I'm confused as well... this seems to duplicate the look & feel of the standard News module that comes with vBa CMPS.

If you use the standard news module it redirects every newspost to your forum, which doesn't give you a 'website' feeling. But by adding this phrase:

<span class="smallfont"><a href="{1}?pageid=[page identifier]&{3}t={2}"><b>[read more]</b></a></span>


All your newsposts gets loaded inside the portal, something vBCMPS never accomplished.

For example;
Redirect with vBCMPS: http://www.ps3-sense.nl/showthread.p...45.html?t=5445
With this module: http://www.ps3-sense.nl/?pageid=nieuws&t=5445

Robru 01-01-2009 08:11 PM

Thanks, I think that's very usefull ;)

Spank 01-01-2009 08:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by M4GN3T (Post 1698726)
If you use the standard news module it redirects every newspost to your forum, which doesn't give you a 'website' feeling. But by adding this phrase:

<span class="smallfont"><a href="{1}?pageid=[page identifier]&{3}t={2}"><b>[read more]</b></a></span>


All your newsposts gets loaded inside the portal, something vBCMPS never accomplished.

For example;
Redirect with vBCMPS: http://www.ps3-sense.nl/showthread.p...45.html?t=5445
With this module: http://www.ps3-sense.nl/?pageid=nieuws&t=5445

That's pretty good, thanks for clearing that up. I'll install soon.

rm-rf 01-02-2009 02:28 AM

Installed 2 times,,,, will not show any threads from my forums.

vba 3.1.0

vb 3.7.4

rm-rf 01-02-2009 03:10 AM

Ok I figured it out. there is a line in the PHP file you need to edit to tell the module which forums it is allowed to use threads from. Got it working now.

Alfa1 01-02-2009 02:49 PM

Does this comply with Google news qualifications?

rm-rf 01-02-2009 09:27 PM

This mod needs a preview module. I have sort of faked it on my site by making a hidden preview thread. I took a look at the news.php and am not quite sure how to pass the generated [read more] as a link to this portal mod.

this is the line out of news.php that I would need to modify to make the [read more] links go to the new page.

Code:

$news['message'] .= '...' . construct_phrase($vbphrase['read_more'], $vbulletin->options['bburl'], $news['threadid'], $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl']);
Any php gurus out there know how to recode that up to the 'threadid' to pass this url
http://www.microracing.com/?pageid=columns&t=5080

to see how I using this mod check http://www.microracing.com/index.php...ticles_columns

M4GN3T 01-05-2009 04:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rm-rf (Post 1699733)
This mod needs a preview module. I have sort of faked it on my site by making a hidden preview thread. I took a look at the news.php and am not quite sure how to pass the generated [read more] as a link to this portal mod.

this is the line out of news.php that I would need to modify to make the [read more] links go to the new page.

Code:

$news['message'] .= '...' . construct_phrase($vbphrase['read_more'], $vbulletin->options['bburl'], $news['threadid'], $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl']);
Any php gurus out there know how to recode that up to the 'threadid' to pass this url
http://www.microracing.com/?pageid=columns&t=5080

to see how I using this mod check http://www.microracing.com/index.php...ticles_columns

Just search for the read more phrase and replace it by this:

Code:

<span class="smallfont"><a href="{1}?pageid=columns&{3}t={2}"><b>[Read more]</b></a></span>

Volvoholic 01-13-2009 09:11 AM

I have the same problem. Can't get any threads to show.

Where can I find the news.php file? Many thanks for putting up with a newbie

Thanks.

Infopro 01-13-2009 12:41 PM

What's this mean?

Quote:

Database error in vBulletin 3.8.0:

Invalid SQL:

SELECT
post.*, post.postid, post.userid, post.username, post.title, post.dateline, post.pagetext,
thread.forumid, thread.views, thread.replycount, user.*

FROM post AS post
LEFT JOIN user AS user ON(user.userid = post.userid)


LEFT JOIN thread AS thread ON(thread.threadid = post.threadid)
WHERE post.threadid =
AND post.visible = 1
ORDER BY post.dateline asc;

MySQL Error : You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'AND post.visible = 1
ORDER BY post.dateline asc' at line 11


MarkFoster 02-05-2009 12:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Infopro (Post 1710900)
What's this mean?

I got same problem.

nectons 02-12-2009 09:23 AM

me too

cory_booth 04-06-2009 12:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Infopro (Post 1710900)
What's this mean?

This is because you left off the thread = t=???
You must call this script with a thread indicator

cory_booth 04-06-2009 12:12 PM

Important note left out of the instructions:
Line 25 in the news_in_portal.php file.
Update to reflect your forums.

cory_booth 04-06-2009 12:14 PM

Any chance with the following updates?

1. Add attached images

2. Add Multi-page support

Alex LD 05-31-2009 01:48 AM

Quote:

Database error in vBulletin 3.7.6:

Invalid SQL:

SELECT
post.*, post.postid, post.userid, post.username, post.title, post.dateline, post.pagetext,
thread.forumid, thread.views, thread.replycount, user.*

FROM vbpost AS post
LEFT JOIN vbuser AS user ON(user.userid = post.userid)


LEFT JOIN vbthread AS thread ON(thread.threadid = post.threadid)
WHERE post.threadid =
AND post.visible = 1
ORDER BY post.dateline asc;

MySQL Error : You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'AND post.visible = 1
A little help please??

MissKalunji 07-19-2009 12:21 AM

wondering the same

TheLastSuperman 07-19-2009 12:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alex LD (Post 1820398)
A little help please??

Did you see this reply just above your post?

Quote:

Originally Posted by cory_booth (Post 1784970)
This is because you left off the thread = t=???
You must call this script with a thread indicator

Quote:

Originally Posted by MissKalunji (Post 1851428)
wondering the same

About the above??? It's simple, if you don't call something right then you see a db error.

MissKalunji 07-19-2009 01:01 AM

my page comes out blank

http://www.dancehallareaz.com/index....e=news&t=34761

MissKalunji 07-19-2009 01:05 AM

never midn i get it but it's not showing anything like what he has...* lost*

TheLastSuperman 07-19-2009 01:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MissKalunji (Post 1851447)
never midn i get it but it's not showing anything like what he has...* lost*

Demo

Code:

Code:

http://www.dancehallareaz.com/index.php?page=news&{t}=34761
Did you delete the thread? Specify another one and check it, not familiar w/ this mod but from what I've read you must use the {} symbols too :D!

MissKalunji 07-19-2009 01:32 AM

i ended up deleting it did show but only showed ONE thread i thought it was going to show more then one like in the demo

Thanks tho :)

TheLastSuperman 07-19-2009 01:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MissKalunji (Post 1851459)
i ended up deleting it did show but only showed ONE thread i thought it was going to show more then one like in the demo

Thanks tho :)

Hmph (lol) you should have kept tinkering :p IMO.


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01233 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,814KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (14)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (32)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete