vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=228)
-   -   Add-On Releases - Warhammer - Enhanced Roster (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=195231)

dodjer42 11-01-2008 10:00 PM

Warhammer - Enhanced Roster
 
I received a lot of requests to release the roster found on my guild site.

This roster gives you a lot of additional statistics in a nice Google jsAPI hosted applet for better performance.


NOTE: Does not support EU servers at this stage!!
Unfortunately Mythic does not provide stats out of Europe.

Standard Features (all players):
  • Character Name
  • Class
  • Race
  • Rank
  • Renown Rank
  • Title
  • javascript applet for roster table with full column sorts
  • JSON feed
  • XML feed
  • Color coded "time since last login".

Additional Features (for players with curse client):
  • Primary Tradeskill
  • Primary Tradeskill Level
  • Renown Title
  • HP

Installation:
1. You must register for an API key.
API link.

2. vBadvanced (tested)
The Whirlpool Gamers website uses vBadvanced CMPS so I have created a module that can be uploaded using admincp:
  • Download module xml file (below). Edit the xml file and change the API key value to that value you generated in step1.
  • Open your admincp
  • Select vBa CMPS left menu
  • Select download / upload module
  • Select module to upload, choose a style and set permissions.
  • Save, then add to whichever page you want to display it. Due to the number of statistics, it makes sense for fixed width styles to have a single column page display the roster.

3. vBulletin installations. (untested as yet - please provide comments)
You will need to create a template and insert the following code:
PHP Code:

<div id="wp-container"></div>    
        <
script src="http://www.google.com/jsapi"></script>
        <
script type="text/javascript">
            
google.load("prototype""1.6"); 
            
google.load("scriptaculous""1.8.1");
        </
script>
        <
script src="http://www.wpgamers.com/api/tablekit.js"></script>
        <
script src="http://www.wpgamers.com/api/tooltip.js"></script>
        <
script src="http://www.wpgamers.com/api/WP.js"></script>
        <
script src="http://www.wpgamers.com/api/war/<your API key>/characters.js"></script


Important Notes:
  1. It may take several hours after you first register for an API key before we have gathered all the statistics for your guild. The data you see at first may be historical, or no data may be shown at all until the first update is completed.
  2. This module is a javascript based on the popular prototype library as hosted by Google.
  3. Whirlpool Gamers provides a data service from which the javascript client gets your guilds data.
  4. This product cannot be used for commercial purposes without consent of the author.
  5. Although highly unlikely, outages of the Whirlpool Gamers data server will result in your roster appearing blank. We accept no responsibility / liability for such issues.
  6. Support is provided on a best efforts basis.


More features and enhancements to come.

dodjer42 11-02-2008 08:45 AM

Reserved.

Blackhat 11-02-2008 10:09 AM

Interesting

goranbaxy 11-03-2008 05:19 PM

is this RPG game or what?

dodjer42 11-03-2008 10:06 PM

Yes it is.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warhammer_Online

roba 11-06-2008 09:42 AM

Hi there,

First off thanks for this, been looking for a nice waaagh roster mod, although unable to get it to display anything but the column titles any help would be appreciated.

Installed into VBAdvanced CMPS v3.0.1 can be seen here:
http://www.wildsouls.co.uk/index.php?pageid=Roster

Registered on your forums, and applied for key a couple of days ago. (forum user id "wildsouls", guild "Karag Orud - Wildsouls")

attached the modifed and used xml for reference, since either i have that wrong or the feed isnt there.

Thanks again.

Rob

Krieg 11-06-2008 01:09 PM

You have other ways to have a webroster.

If you are familiar with WarDB, you may already have noticed the few lines under your guilded character window :
Quote:

Originally Posted by WarDB
You appear to be a member of this fine guild! Did you know you can easily show your guild roster on your homepage or forums?
Just copy the following script into the HEAD section of a web page:
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.wardb.com/js/exguilds.js"></script>

Then, place this script wherever you would like your roster to appear:
<script type="text/javascript">cg_syndicateGuild(whatever_guild_numbe r);</script>

Or, if you would fancy a FLASH roster and provided that you know your French, have a look there : http://www.semperultimo.com/TEMP/war...help/help.html. If you want a demo, you can check my website there : http://war.krg-23.com

roba 11-06-2008 04:20 PM

Thanks for the reply :), unfortantly its a no to knowing french, very nice that though, like the "re rolls", thats one thing the ig roster is missing notes, just got a thread on my forum to try and keep track of who all the alts are.

does look good.

dodjer42 11-06-2008 09:07 PM

Hey Roba, are you on an EU server? Unfortunately there are no data sources for EU server stats at this point. Only learn't this yesterday.

roba 11-07-2008 06:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dodjer42 (Post 1660786)
Hey Roba, are you on an EU server? Unfortunately there are no data sources for EU server stats at this point. Only learn't this yesterday.

ahh, yup eu :/

I'll have a mess with wardb scripts then.

cheers

Rob

Slaxi 11-07-2008 08:23 AM

for EU / German Servers you can try buffed.de

http://wardata.buffed.de/tools/guildroster

Only two lines of code must added.

Demo: http://unordentlich.net/index.php?ar...nt&contentid=4

dodjer42 11-08-2008 09:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Slaxi (Post 1661046)
for EU / German Servers you can try buffed.de

That roster contains hardly any stats at all. We can collect the same information for EU servers, but its so limited it almost provides no value.

KrisJacobs 11-11-2008 08:47 PM

The API Registration link here: http://www.wpgamers.com/api_registration.html

Appears to be broken - the server list is not populated...

Maybe that has something to do with why my roster does not currently work. It worked fine when I implemented, then seemed to stop working sometime in the past 24 hours...

http://www.nexmorbus.org/cmps_index.php?pageid=roster


I very much appreciate your work and effort toward this awesome mod, but could we please have this code opened up (or at least offered for sale), so we can implement on our own, without having to rely on an intermediate 'data service'?

I'd like to see this roster product packaged in such a way that I can implement and talk directly to WarDB without having to rely on anyone else - except maybe Google APIs.

Thanks!

KrisJacobs 11-11-2008 08:51 PM

Ah I see - #5:

Quote:

Although highly unlikely, outages of the Whirlpool Gamers data server will result in your roster appearing blank. We accept no responsibility / liability for such issues.
I need to be able to run this w/o anyone acting as such an intermediary - if I can't, I have to find another roster solution.

dodjer42 11-11-2008 11:09 PM

Hey Kris, the problem is resolved.

If you want to be able to get the data directly, you will have to code your own or wait for someone else to release it.

KrisJacobs 11-14-2008 01:13 PM

Uninstalled.

It works one day, then doesn't work the next - with zero changes made to my vB & VBAdvanced instance. Roster is fine one day, then completely blank the next.

While this is the best looking roster implementation currently, I cannot in good conscience implement something that I don't have 100% control over, so I can fix it when it breaks. Having a middle-man between me and the raw data is unacceptable.

This project is too closed-source for my tastes.

Replicators 11-14-2008 05:12 PM

It would be nice if the same was made for age of conan, warhammer to me seems to be a wow ripoff. I played the beta of it, and i could swear i was playing wow, just with a worse ui interface is all.

dodjer42 11-15-2008 02:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KrisJacobs (Post 1665531)
Uninstalled.

It works one day, then doesn't work the next - with zero changes made to my vB & VBAdvanced instance. Roster is fine one day, then completely blank the next.

While this is the best looking roster implementation currently, I cannot in good conscience implement something that I don't have 100% control over, so I can fix it when it breaks. Having a middle-man between me and the raw data is unacceptable.

This project is too closed-source for my tastes.

Kris of course you are entitled to your opinion, but I would have hoped that given the time I spent chatting to you early on, and helping you find a forum style and other pieces that you would have shown some candor.

The only reason to access source is to make modifications. If you need to make modifications you must know how to develop in php. If you know how to develop in php, why not develop your own?

The reason our stats went blank twice was due to realmwar not responding and a bug we fixed wasnt handling realmwar outages. Realmwar was offline due to what appears to be extremely high server load. This is likely a result of people implementing poor stats gathering code. The code we developed is extremely low touch. If someone modified our code even slightly, by purpose or accident, it could cause a denial of service on realmwar and wardb. If that happened, then realmwar and wardb might hold us responsible, ban our client or something worse.

I'm sorry you expected so much from a free addon. Sometimes you just cant please people, even when you give them something for free.

KrisJacobs 11-15-2008 12:00 PM

It's not about modification, it's about control.

Things out of my administrative control are uncomfortable to use.

The only thing I expect from you at this point is that you continue to hold your code close to the vest, with the final goal of generating revenue from it. And there's nothing wrong with that - I'd rather pay for the whole package than participate in your current 'free' model.

Edit:
I had 'free with restrictions' - but that's not quite right. It's more like a holier-than-thou attitude of "you can have this part of the code, but this part you cannot have because it's far too dangerous to be entrusted to just anyone". That's what really bugs me - the condescension implied in stating you cannot release part of the code because the world is not worthy enough to possess it.

Who the heck are you to judge that people aren't capable of using the code responsibly?

dodjer42 11-15-2008 10:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KrisJacobs (Post 1666069)
It's not about modification, it's about control.

Things out of my administrative control are uncomfortable to use.

The only thing I expect from you at this point is that you continue to hold your code close to the vest, with the final goal of generating revenue from it. And there's nothing wrong with that - I'd rather pay for the whole package than participate in your current 'free' model.

Lets clarify a few things. There is three components to this solution.

1) the javascript viewer
2) the data feed itself
3) the backend that builds the data

The javascript viewer is open source (has to be).
The data is made available to all.
The backend is run by WPGamers just as wardb and realmwar run their own backend.

We never claimed the back end would be made available except through the JSON and XML feed. And it seems you infer that their is some inherent risk in this model? You dont have to use our javascript. You could write your own PHP code to display the data.

Quote:

Originally Posted by KrisJacobs (Post 1666069)

Edit:
I had 'free with restrictions' - but that's not quite right. It's more like a holier-than-thou attitude of "you can have this part of the code, but this part you cannot have because it's far too dangerous to be entrusted to just anyone". That's what really bugs me - the condescension implied in stating you cannot release part of the code because the world is not worthy enough to possess it.

Who the heck are you to judge that people aren't capable of using the code responsibly?

While you are seeking source code, why not complain to Mythic for not giving you source to Warhammer? Hell, why not ask wardb for their source code?

And please stop with the personal threats in PMs. It's childish.

Paul M 11-16-2008 04:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dodjer42 (Post 1666443)
And please stop with the personal threats in PMs. It's childish.

This forum must not be used for personal attacks in any form, if we find it is then action will be taken.

cerulean 12-03-2008 04:12 PM

I have tried for almost a week to get help from the Author with no success. I have a guild that is not listed in his list of guilds so I cannot get the API. I know the person is on line as he does respond to his other guild mates in the web based chat program.

This looks like a nice add-on the I was intereted in but since the lack of assistance I will not recommend this add-on.

dodjer42 12-03-2008 11:57 PM

I sent you a PM asking you whether you are on an EU server.

I'm yet to receive a reply.

cerulean 12-04-2008 12:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dodjer42 (Post 1678147)
I sent you a PM asking you whether you are on an EU server.

I'm yet to receive a reply.


PM was not received on this site or the main site, but I am not on a EU server.

dodjer42 12-04-2008 10:36 PM

Yeah I did some checking before I got your response. Your server is coming up, but for some reason your guild isn't listing. Have a few things to get done before looking into this in more detail, but shouldn't take much longer.

Trek 12-11-2008 03:21 PM

Can anyone tell me how I would go about accessing this page once it's installed on my forums? I followed the instructions on getting the API key, etc... I created a sample webpage to make sure the data was pulling ok and it is. I just don't know enough about vBulletin to know how to setup or where I would access the page from.

cerulean 12-11-2008 03:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dodjer42 (Post 1678720)
Yeah I did some checking before I got your response. Your server is coming up, but for some reason your guild isn't listing. Have a few things to get done before looking into this in more detail, but shouldn't take much longer.


Any updates?

Tried again today and it is still not there.

Trek 12-11-2008 05:01 PM

BTW, I figured out what I needed to do thought vBA, sorry to bug anyone.

My only question now is, can I use this on the same forum for multiple guilds? We have a guild on two different servers, one for Order and one for Dest. I've tried and it just doesn't seem to work with adding in more than 1 guild.

dodjer42 12-13-2008 12:11 AM

You would need to create another module (using a different module name). Then simply modify the API key value for the appropriate guild.

dodjer42 12-13-2008 12:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cerulean (Post 1683211)
Any updates?

Tried again today and it is still not there.

Working on it today. Should be done very soon. Also... am adding the new classes.

Kreft 01-09-2009 10:44 AM

Hi great add.

Would you be so kind to also upload the Recruitment module you use also (: ?

thanks,

dodjer42 06-25-2009 06:43 AM

There will be no more updates to this mod.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01285 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,829KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (11)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (32)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete