vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=229)
-   -   Forum Home Enhancements - Forum Icons ( MyLs1 Style ) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=192629)

christian8a 10-02-2008 10:00 PM

Forum Icons ( MyLs1 Style )
 
This is a mod alot of people wanted me to release so here it is.

What it does: It displays an icon for each forum.

Demo: http://www.myls1.com

########## INSTALL ##########

Admin CP >> Styles & Templates >> Edit Templates >> Forum Home Templates >> forumhome_forumbit_level2_post

Find:

PHP Code:

<tr align="center">
    <
td class="alt2"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/$forum[imageprefix]forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]/></td>
    <
td class="alt1Active" align="$stylevar[left]id="f$forum[forumid]"

Add underneat:

PHP Code:

<div style="float: left; margin: 0px; padding: 0px;">
<
img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/$forumid.gif" alt=""/></div

########## / INSTALL ##########

Now the deal is that you have your own icons and you have to name each file with the number of the id of each forum.

So you go to Forums & Moderators >> Forum Manager

And click on any child forum (not subforum), for example in our case New Members, and look at the top for the Forum id... then you rename the .gif file with the number of the forum id, like: 2.gif

Upload them onto the images / statusicons folder

Now that file will display on that forum, and you go like that for each forum you have.

I have uploaded a PSD file for you to use if you need to make your own.
Is a 40 x 40 px file.

Enjoy!
Ask if you have any question.

SEOvB 10-03-2008 11:52 PM

Couldn't you also enter your code into the forum description to get the same effect but with greater control over name conventions of the icons (and one less template edit)

(same result just different method i beleive)

christian8a 10-04-2008 06:55 PM

Not sure...

Darkgardevoir 10-04-2008 07:45 PM

hi anyone this but in status icon? for 3.7.3

omsa 10-05-2008 09:56 PM

Yes, you can add the HTML in the name of the forum in the forum manager, but you quickly run into a problem with the amount of available characters that you can type in the forum name block. You may get the image to dislpay, but it may not display the full name of your forum. So in that case, you may have to design individual buttons for each forum...not something I would care to do.

omsa 10-05-2008 10:12 PM

I tried adding this to my site, but it doesn't appear to be working. I am running 3.7.3 PL1.

omsa 10-06-2008 01:45 AM

OK, I am very happy, I got this to work after I cleared up a brain fart I managed to self induce! :mad: Thank you very much. :D

My next question is.... how do I get the name of my forum to be centered in the box now and not along the top....

sensimilla 10-06-2008 07:36 AM

I second this.. Worked like a charm but how to make it centered with forum name?

christian8a 10-07-2008 10:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sensimilla (Post 1638440)
I second this.. Worked like a charm but how to make it centered with forum name?

What do you mean...

RobbieZ 10-07-2008 11:22 AM

Sweet. at last a 3.7 version

sensimilla 10-08-2008 08:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by christian8a (Post 1639234)
What do you mean...

The text is now on top of image, i would like to have it centered as image attached.

TIA

alianalyssasmom 10-09-2008 12:04 AM

i'm very new and very confused, i just inherited the board and dont know much of what i am doing yet

i did that, but nothing shows up, however i am not sure where this folder you say to upload them is......???

the only upload for images i can find is the smilies i can upload an image that way.

so can anyone take the time to walk a new "slow" person through this?
:)

christian8a 10-09-2008 08:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sensimilla (Post 1640124)
The text is now on top of image, i would like to have it centered as image attached.

TIA

That is weird, I didnt do any other modification and it shows besides the pic not on top :confused:

Quote:

Originally Posted by alianalyssasmom (Post 1640746)
i'm very new and very confused, i just inherited the board and dont know much of what i am doing yet

i did that, but nothing shows up, however i am not sure where this folder you say to upload them is......???

the only upload for images i can find is the smilies i can upload an image that way.

so can anyone take the time to walk a new "slow" person through this?
:)

you upload the images to the folder images / statusicons
each image named as each forum id with a .gif extention

christian8a 10-12-2008 11:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Darkgardevoir (Post 1637355)
hi anyone this but in status icon? for 3.7.3

I will get this upgraded for 3.8 soon

salman22 10-12-2008 06:25 PM

Thank you deserve Evaluation

sensimilla 10-13-2008 08:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by christian8a (Post 1640916)
That is weird, I didnt do any other modification and it shows besides the pic not on top :confused:

It's besides but not centered.. Look closer at my attachment and your forum to get the difference :)

christian8a 10-14-2008 11:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sensimilla (Post 1643940)
It's besides but not centered.. Look closer at my attachment and your forum to get the difference :)

Oh i get it, I tought on my site was vertical aligned also. I see what you want but I dont know, try adding <div valign="middle" to the <div that holds the forums link / description...

Eneswar 10-21-2008 02:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by christian8a (Post 1645223)
Oh i get it, I tought on my site was vertical aligned also. I see what you want but I dont know, try adding <div valign="middle" to the <div that holds the forums link / description...


If you mean like this:

Code:

<div valign="middle" style="float: left; margin: 0px; padding: 0px;">
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/$forumid.gif" alt=""/></div>

then no its not working :(

BennehSmK 10-22-2008 07:19 AM

Is there a way to do this where the image appears where the forumnew.gif or forumold.gif is displayed? Would also want this to work on subforums...

Eneswar 10-22-2008 10:44 AM

So you cant make the text come to middle or?

merk_aus 10-31-2008 12:36 PM

i to would prefer this where the forumold and forumnew pics are - does anyone have any screenshots of this in action?

christian8a 11-05-2008 05:53 PM

I wonder how now... it should be easy but I havent had time to try it, sorry. It will align the whole forum information , time, last post and views though but if thats what you want, try adding that valign="middle" to its first table, if not the first division

oferelijah 11-12-2008 08:16 PM

i use 2 Styles in my site

one for some categories
and one for diffrent category

i tried to use this mod for the stand alone category and it dont work for me

EDIT:

SOLVED

if you want to set an icon for a single category shown on a diffrent link you shuld add the code

to "forumhome_forumbit_level1_post" template

johnlittle 11-24-2008 08:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by christian8a (Post 1660020)
I wonder how now... it should be easy but I havent had time to try it, sorry. It will align the whole forum information , time, last post and views though but if thats what you want, try adding that valign="middle" to its first table, if not the first division

may i have your permission to use some of your set icon at your forums? gosh i really love your forum icon gee sorry

24hourForum.com 12-06-2008 03:47 AM

thanks for sharing the code, unfortunately your 101 is not much of a help.. i spend the last hour trying to figure out how your code works!

it does not work

<div style="float: left; margin: 0px; padding: 0px;">
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/585.gif" alt=""/></div>

when i use the code, the pic shows up on all forums... how do you assign it to the forum id?

christian8a 12-06-2008 06:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 24hourForum.com (Post 1679456)
thanks for sharing the code, unfortunately your 101 is not much of a help.. i spend the last hour trying to figure out how your code works!

it does not work

<div style="float: left; margin: 0px; padding: 0px;">
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/585.gif" alt=""/></div>

when i use the code, the pic shows up on all forums... how do you assign it to the forum id?

That is not what the code is. If you add that image of course it will ad to all forums.

Put the exact code as it is, and then rename each picture to its forum id, dont rename the code with the image name.

24hourForum.com 12-06-2008 02:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by christian8a (Post 1679500)
That is not what the code is. If you add that image of course it will ad to all forums.

Put the exact code as it is, and then rename each picture to its forum id, dont rename the code with the image name.

that works, thank you sir!

my other question is, how can i centre the text with the pic?

christian8a 12-06-2008 04:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 24hourForum.com (Post 1679640)
that works, thank you sir!

my other question is, how can i centre the text with the pic?

That is what somebody else asked too, and I tried but I didnt figure out how to be honest. It should be simple but I couldnt. Thats whyI tried to make my images the size of the Forum font and information.

24hourForum.com 12-07-2008 04:03 PM

i could not figure it out either, so i just added more descriptions! Thanks

PKRWUD 12-12-2008 08:57 PM

Just a suggestion. Rather than instructing that your code be installed underneath:

PHP Code:

<td class="alt2"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/$forum[imageprefix]forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" /></td


You might want to say to install above:

PHP Code:

<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"><strong>$forum[title]</strong></a

I only suggest this because doing it your way created a problem for me because I have a hack installed there already that changes the background color of each forum listing with a mouseover. I installed it a long time ago, and didn't recognize it at first, so it took some playing around to figure out the problem.

Just a thought.

Gladhatter 12-29-2008 11:48 PM

Not sure if the folks that said something about the files and text not showing up centered or what ever holds water but I think you have the very code that I have spent a fortune to get and still have not got till now. We will see if this fixes my problem.

Thank you

Charlie

Gladhatter 12-31-2008 04:50 PM

This man deserves top ratings and is a complete life saver!!! Donation made to your paypal fund and many thanks for the fine code that saved my butt and made every thing I ever dreamed of possible and saved me 100's in ( so called) coder fees that did nothing that would do this.

Noosphere 02-01-2009 06:09 PM

Disregard.

Noosphere 02-02-2009 12:06 AM

Have triple-checked every step and think I have it as the instructions say.

Getting this however:

http://www.thenoosphere.com/Om/Images/IndexPics.gif

Can anybody help?

Gladhatter 02-02-2009 01:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Noosphere (Post 1731446)
Have triple-checked every step and think I have it as the instructions say.

Getting this however:



Can anybody help?

I am a little confused on what your issue is. You wanting to up size some gifs on this site????

You wish to get your text aligned or ????

These are all coding issues. I have addressed some of them at our fourm and plan to make the forum gifs larger soon and not sure if that is your desire or exactly what you wish to do.

What I am sure of is that unless you are a low to mid range PHP programmer or choose to employ one or get one for free, I do not see you having a lot of success.

Again not sure what you see your problems to be as I am not sure you are clear on them but the issues I see as problems are corrected programically.

Get a fair coder and its a few minutes work. Get a lamer and its a nightmare. Try it your self and its a night mare from hell and you could mow lawns in the time it takes you trying to fix it and pay a coder in an emerging economy that could stand the employment and you end up with a good deal as well.

Pick a bad one and see above.

Would you care to make your problem clear again please?

Noosphere 02-02-2009 02:15 AM

I'll try to be clearer.

1. Per the instructions, I created and uploaded 40x40 gif's to my images/statusicon folder, and renamed them with each of my forum id's. Here's a sample:

http://www.thenoosphere.com/images/statusicon/2.gif


2. Per the instructions, I pasted the code provided into my forumhome_forumbit_level2_post template as follows:

Quote:

<tr align="center">
<td class="alt2"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/$forum[imageprefix]forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" /></td>
<td class="alt1Active" align="$stylevar[left]" id="f$forum[forumid]">

<div style="float: left; margin: 0px; padding: 0px;">
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/$forumid.gif" alt=""/></div>


<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"><strong>$forum[title]</strong></a>
<if condition="$show['browsers']"><span class="smallfont">(<phrase 1="$forum[browsers]">$vbphrase[x_viewing]</phrase>)</span></if>
</div>
<if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><div class="smallfont">$forum[description]</div></if>
<if condition="$show['forumsubscription']"><div class="smallfont"><strong><a href="subscription.php?$session[sessionurl]do=removesubscription&amp;f=$forum[forumid]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[unsubscribe_from_this_forum]</a></strong></div></if>
<if condition="$show['subforums']"><div class="smallfont" style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px"><strong>$vbphrase[subforums]</strong>: $forum[subforums]</div></if>
</td>
<td class="alt1" align="center">$forum[threadcount]</td>
<td class="alt2" align="center">$forum[replycount]</td>
<td class="alt2" align="center">$forum[lastpostinfo]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="alt1"><div class="smallfont">$forum[moderators]&nbsp;</div></td>
</if>
</tr>
$childforumbits

3. Instead of the new gif's displaying on my forum index, I am getting this:

http://www.thenoosphere.com/Om/Images/Error.gif

If I made an error at some point in the process, I was hopeful someone with a little bit more experience than I have would be so kind as to point it out to me. It was not my intent to contribute to the problems with our economy, just to take advantage of what looks like a great mod for my website.

Gladhatter 02-02-2009 03:09 AM

If you right click on the image place holder that is associated with forum id2 and choose properties, does it show that that reads http://www.thenoosphere.com/images/statusicon/2.gif ?

If so what is the chmod on that directory or the main or levels of directoies above it or the actual gifs?

Noosphere 02-02-2009 03:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gladhatter (Post 1731532)
If you right click on the image place holder that is associated with forum id2 and choose properties, does it show that that reads http://www.thenoosphere.com/images/statusicon/2.gif ?

Yes.

Quote:

If so what is the chmod on that directory or the main or levels of directoies above it or the actual gifs?
Afraid this is where you lose me. Not experienced enough yet to speak chmod. Looks like I'll need to either read up myself, or do my part to boost the economy. :cool:

Gladhatter 02-02-2009 03:33 AM

When you boost it insist the coder teach you how they get from A to B. I started out wish similar but not all the problems you had and 10 minutes or so 3 times and the coder had it all working correctly.

Noosphere 02-02-2009 03:37 AM

Well, a quick read-up on chmod and I was able to figure it out. Think I have it now.

Thanks for your help.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01511 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,856KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (4)bbcode_php_printable
  • (16)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete