vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=228)
-   -   New Posting Features - 'Text to Speech' user posts (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=188839)

C.Birch 08-21-2008 10:00 PM

'Text to Speech' user posts
 
With this very easy mod you will be able to add 'Text to Speech' support to your forum posts so users may have a users post read out to them.

To install

In your 'postbit' and 'postbit_legacy' templates find:
Code:

<!-- controls -->
Add below:
Code:

<a href="javascript:void(0);"
onclick="get_id('post_message_$post[postid]','en','fm');">
  <img src="images/misc/speech.png" alt="" width="123" height="37" border="0"
style="margin-right:0.4em;"/></a>

-------------------------------------

In your headinclude template find:
Code:

<script type="text/javascript" src="$stylevar[yuipath]/yahoo-dom-event/yahoo-dom-event.js?v=$vboptions[simpleversion]"></script>
Add above:
Code:

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://vozme.com/get_text.js"></script>
--------------------------------------

Upload the added image to your images/misc/ folder
Attachment 85889

UPDATE: To have a smaller pop up window
Upload the JS from the zip below to your forums root folder and do the following edit

In your headinclude template find:

Code:

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://vozme.com/get_text.js"></script>
To

Code:

<script type="text/javascript" src="get_text.js"></script>
Thats all, A demo can be found at http://www.yourlsl.com/forums/

Spank 08-22-2008 05:10 PM

Awesome idea. Is it very sever intensive?

C.Birch 08-22-2008 05:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spank (Post 1604604)
Awesome idea. Is it very sever intensive?

Not at all, all text to speech converting is done by vozme.com using there free javascript code. so theres no added load to your site apart from the loading of 1 little image.

choccyclaire 08-22-2008 05:15 PM

Wow, that's so different!

Spank 08-22-2008 05:16 PM

Well that's just bloomin brill. I'm defo gonna install this and test it out.

Brandon Sheley 08-22-2008 05:18 PM

nice idea, I may add this :)

Spank 08-22-2008 05:27 PM

It works brilliantly, this deserves a motm nomination.

Defkalion 08-22-2008 05:45 PM

What languages does this work with?

RvG2 08-22-2008 05:47 PM

cool idea... i like it!

BucWiLd 08-22-2008 06:02 PM

very nice, im waiting for more feedback on the product b4 i install

RedeemedWarrior 08-22-2008 06:03 PM

i'll try it out

RvG2 08-22-2008 06:11 PM

installed works perfectly. :D

hope you can something for male and female voice. if the gender of the user is male it will talk to male voice and it it's female user it will talk to female.

BucWiLd 08-22-2008 06:38 PM

well i added it and it works great :)

C.Birch 08-22-2008 08:40 PM

If you want a male voice you edit

<a href="javascript:void(0);"
onclick="get_id('post_message_$post[postid]','en','fm');">

to

<a href="javascript:void(0);"
onclick="get_id('post_message_$post[postid]','en','ml');">

male-female on each user could be done using profile Fields where they pick male (ml) or female (fm). I'll sort it out over weekend if i get time.

C.Birch 08-22-2008 08:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Defkalion (Post 1604641)
What languages does this work with?

I have only tested english.

marc2005 08-22-2008 08:56 PM

That's great!

BucWiLd 08-22-2008 09:08 PM

i kinda like the female :)

C.Birch 08-22-2008 09:38 PM

the female is more clear thats why i picked it :)

GoTTi 08-23-2008 12:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Defkalion (Post 1604641)
What languages does this work with?

looks like it works with 6 languages. to change the language, the code you put in postbit and postbitlegacy, alter the:

Code:

'en','fm');">
part. here is what will work so far:

English = en
Spanish = es
Italian = it
Hindi = hi
Portugues = pt
Catala = ca

so if you want spanish, your code should look like:

Code:

'es','fm');">
thanks for the little addon.

installed.

pammy 08-23-2008 12:50 AM

OMG..I like this TY

Hostboard 08-23-2008 01:02 AM

This is awsome! Just wish I did not have to rely on another sites services/reliability.

Installed.

TimberFloorAu 08-23-2008 01:16 AM

AWESOME MOD !!!

Can we resize the Javascript window, so it just shows the player, and no address bar etc?
Also look forward to male/female choices

TimberFloorAu 08-23-2008 02:27 AM

Gday Guys, I have added multi language support for this ( just variation on code )

Code:

<!--added text to speech-->
<a href="javascript:void(0);"
onclick="get_id('post_message_$post[postid]','en','fm');">
    <img src="images/misc/speak_en.png" alt="Speak English" width="72" height="22" border="0"
style="margin-right:0.4em;"/></a>
<a href="javascript:void(0);"
onclick="get_id('post_message_$post[postid]','es','fm');">
    <img src="images/misc/speak_sp.png" alt="Speak Spanish" width="72" height="22" border="0"
style="margin-right:0.4em;"/></a>
<a href="javascript:void(0);"
onclick="get_id('post_message_$post[postid]','it','fm');">
    <img src="images/misc/speak_it.png" alt="Speak Italian" width="72" height="22" border="0"
style="margin-right:0.4em;"/></a>
<a href="javascript:void(0);"
onclick="get_id('post_message_$post[postid]','hi','fm');">
    <img src="images/misc/speak_in.png" alt="Speak Indian" width="72" height="22" border="0"
style="margin-right:0.4em;"/></a>
<!--end text to speech-->

New images attached

TimberFloorAu 08-23-2008 03:25 AM

just had one of our members post thi issue, im sure her javascript possibly needs updating.

Any suggestions?

Quote:

A pop up window comes up fine, but then the post I'm looking at refreshes and I get a message saying that my browser can't display that page - operation aborted and then the post disappears

blackwolf1962 08-23-2008 04:00 AM

installed thank you works well

GrandHolyKing 08-23-2008 10:17 AM

Great addition. Is there anyway to prevent it opening a new window every time a post is translated? Such as only opening one window and reusing it when converting a post to speech.

noj75 08-23-2008 11:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GrandHolyKing (Post 1605043)
Great addition. Is there anyway to prevent it opening a new window every time a post is translated? Such as only opening one window and reusing it when converting a post to speech.

Great work. Nominated for MOTM.

I do though agree with the above. Can this be implimented without the use of a new window. Such as a hidden div or with some AJAX?

Hope this can be done. Installed!

GrandHolyKing 08-23-2008 12:07 PM

Also, I had to edit your code in order to display a custom button to match in with the forum.

If anyone needs to do the same, change these values to those of your forum buttons (I used the custom english button from TimberFloorAu a few posts up, lovely work by the way)

Change the red values to match your own buttons as it resizes a custom image up to those values.
Code:

<a href="javascript:void(0);"
onclick="get_id('post_message_$post[postid]','en','fm');">
  <img src="images/misc/speech.png" alt="" width="123" height="37" border="0"
style="margin-right:0.4em;"/></a>

In my case the values were changed to 61 and 21 respectively.

Very promising mod, nominated for MOTM but I need to sort the browser issue.

Also if using any custom button you or someone else makes, remember to rename it to speech.png (Or change the above code to match your image location)

C.Birch 08-23-2008 12:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by noj75 (Post 1605082)
Great work. Nominated for MOTM.

I do though agree with the above. Can this be implimented without the use of a new window. Such as a hidden div or with some AJAX?

Hope this can be done. Installed!

I'm sure someone will work that part out.

Just pulled there JS file and edited it so the popup window is alot smaller.

Upload the JS from the zip below to your forums root folder and do the following edit

In your headinclude template find:

Code:

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://vozme.com/get_text.js"></script>
To

Code:

<script type="text/javascript" src="get_text.js"></script>

C.Birch 08-23-2008 12:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GrandHolyKing (Post 1605089)
Also, I had to edit your code in order to display a custom button to match in with the forum.

If anyone needs to do the same, change these values to those of your forum buttons (I used the custom english button from TimberFloorAu a few posts up, lovely work by the way)

Change the red values to match your own buttons as it resizes a custom image up to those values.
Code:

<a href="javascript:void(0);"
onclick="get_id('post_message_$post[postid]','en','fm');">
  <img src="images/misc/speech.png" alt="" width="123" height="37" border="0"
style="margin-right:0.4em;"/></a>

In my case the values were changed to 61 and 21 respectively.

Very promising mod, nominated for MOTM but I need to sort the browser issue.

Also if using any custom button you or someone else makes, remember to rename it to speech.png (Or change the above code to match your image location)

width="123" height="37" can be removed from the code, but its always better to have it in there.

GrandHolyKing 08-23-2008 12:33 PM

I agree, it wasn't a criticism mate...just an observation as I used a different button. Don't get me wrong, it's a great hack and works well if it were'nt for the popup every time it's clicked. If someone could get round that it would be fantastic.

nine45 08-23-2008 03:11 PM

This is brilliant thanks, some of my board members have eye sight problems and dyslexia and they are finding it to be very useful, so many thanks from them as well.

Is it possible to include this in the social groups?

PoetJA-1975 08-23-2008 06:51 PM

Ha! Don't know why anyone would need this other than as a novelty type thing - But I have to say AWESOME FIND! Thanx for the share!

Jacquii.

ps - Oooooo! I wonder how this speech thing does with reciting poetry - hmmm....

PoetJA-1975 08-23-2008 06:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nine45 (Post 1605181)
This is brilliant thanks, some of my board members have eye sight problems and dyslexia and they are finding it to be very useful

Duh! There's a reason to add it https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/

Hostboard 08-23-2008 07:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimberFloorAu (Post 1604898)

New images attached

Can you supply one withe the US flag on it for EN support.

thanx!!!

nine45 08-23-2008 07:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PoetJA-1975 (Post 1605305)

Thanks

BucWiLd 08-23-2008 07:31 PM

where do you add the new code for translation? wait will it translate?

TimberFloorAu 08-23-2008 07:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hostboard (Post 1605311)
Can you supply one withe the US flag on it for EN support.

thanx!!!

Here ya go :)

gif ( white bg )
png ( transparent )

The Ottoman 08-23-2008 08:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimberFloorAu (Post 1604898)
Gday Guys, I have added multi language support for this ( just variation on code )


New images attached


Could you post the .psd of these for customization into other Styles?

TimberFloorAu 08-23-2008 08:21 PM

gday I use famfamfam's country maps.

The psd, is off here so not sure i can redistribute. Will find the link and post back

Added: famfamfam is shareable.

The psd is here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=156773


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01319 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,827KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (13)bbcode_code_printable
  • (12)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete