![]() |
FAQ Page is missing due to plugin?
The folks on the VB forum suggested that my error is due to an add-on I am using. I have been through all their suggestions 2 times and still have this error. The trouble is I can't see where it is telling me the error is.........anyone here seen this type of thing before?
These are the errors I get when I try to access http://thescubaforum.com/faq.php Warning: Unknown( ): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /faq.php(306) : eval()'d code on line 3 Warning: Unknown( ): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /faq.php(306) : eval()'d code on line 3 Warning: (null)() [function.include]: Failed opening ' ' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /faq.php(306) : eval()'d code on line 3 =1 |
What is on line 306 of your faq.php file? (Mine evals the template 'FAQ', but right above it is a hook for 'faq_complete' which may be what is causing your problems.)
|
Disable all your plugins and then try to reload your FAQ page. If you are able to load it you have narrowed down your errors to a plugin.
The next step would be to turn your plugins back on, and disable any plugins (manually) that are on faq_complete for there hook. After that, reload the page. If it loads you know that for sure one of those are to blame. Now manually turn each faq_complete hook plugins back on one by one until the page stops working again. You want to refresh and reload the page after each turn on. Once you have found the plugin that causes your FAQ page to give you that error message, you will be able to correct the bad include. If you need help with that you can post the plugin code within this thread. |
Quote:
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('FAQ') . '");'); |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Can you post a screenshot? And this does indeed make a very odd case.
|
To troubleshoot this, first reupload all the original vB non-image files (except install.php). Make sure you upload these in ASCII format and overwrite the ones on the server. Also be sure to upload the admincp files to whichever directory you have set in your config.php file. Then run 'Suspect File Versions' in Diagnostics to make sure you have all the original files for your version and that none show 'File does not contain expected contents':
Admin CP -> Maintenance -> Diagnostics -> Suspect File Versions [Note: In some cases you may also need to remove any of the listed .xml files in the includes/xml directory.] Next, disable all plugins. Note: To temporarily disable the plugin system, edit config.php and add this line right under <?php define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true); Then if you still have this problem, create a new style and choose no parent style. This will force it to use the default templates. Finally empty your browser cache, close all browser windows then try again. Make sure you change to the new style and view your forums with it. Do you have the same problem? Regards Jason :) |
Quote:
--------------- Added [DATE]1206052910[/DATE] at [TIME]1206052910[/TIME] --------------- Quote:
|
What's the database like?
If you remove all hacks, and disable the plugin/hook system, then I cannot see how you can receive this error. When did this start happening? After you installed an hack? If so, what was the latest hack you installed? Regards Jason :) |
Quote:
|
Have you modified your FAQ template at all? Or how about your headinclude template?
|
Quote:
Quote:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2008/03/10.gif http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/g...ll/plugin1.gif https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2008/03/11.gif http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/g...ll/plugin2.gif https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2008/03/12.gif http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/g...ll/plugin3.gif Quote:
|
Have you looked in the database? Anything you can spot that looks strange? How does the faq table look?
If you just use the native vBulletin code, this cannot happen. Definitely caused by an hack. Regards Jason :) |
When you disabled the plugins, did this problem go away?
|
adv forum rules
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Thanks for the help so far, I will be back at this over the weekend. |
Doing a database back-up from your ACP should allow you to view several of the database's tables. But disabling all plugins shouldn't cause remnants of old plugins to effect it.
|
Ok, now I am feeling a bit lost. What might I be looking for in the DB? I can view it also through cPanel BTW.
|
I don't know what you would look for in the database, perhaps Jason can explain that better.
Have you tried redownloading vbulletin from vb.com and the reuploading a fresh faq.php file to your site in ascii mode? Have you tried viewing the faq from a total default vb style? I'm kinda at a loss here on what to suggest to you. |
Quote:
|
I am downloading the freshest VB 3.6.8 PL2 and will re-do the upload with that and report back here.
--------------- Added [DATE]1206206864[/DATE] at [TIME]1206206864[/TIME] --------------- -------------------------- -------------------------- Ok, so after I uploaded all new VB non-iamge files ASCII etc., I even created a new No Parent style and chose it, this is what i get when i go to my index page: Warning: Unknown(http://holta-racing.com/hacked.htm): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found in /index.php(540) : eval()'d code on line 2 Warning: Unknown(http://holta-racing.com/hacked.htm): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found in /index.php(540) : eval()'d code on line 2 Warning: (null)() [function.include]: Failed opening 'http://holta-racing.com/hacked.htm' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /index.php(540) : eval()'d code on line 2 ------------------------ ------------------------ For what it's worth, line 540 of my index.php is: eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('FORUMHOME') . '");'); Basically the same as the FAQ page, but calling of course to a different template. |
It seems like someone tried to "hack" your board and include hacked.htm. Is there a hook right before the fetch_template? And it may be within your global plugins since it is now affecting your index.php.
|
The Hook in the faq.php before the fetch_template line is:
($hook = vBulletinHook::fetch_hook('faq_complete')) ? eval($hook) : false; --------------- Added [DATE]1206213101[/DATE] at [TIME]1206213101[/TIME] --------------- I wonder if reuploading the actual plug-in files would be better since the vb files seem to make no difference. Perhaps it is the plugin as you say that might be the problem. |
Have you done a search in your templates for "hacked" at all? I think that is what I would do next.
|
Just searched templates for "hack" and "hacked" with no results.
|
How about hacked.htm? You should be searching for '%hack%' perhaps to include all variations. Somehow, somewhere, it has the idea that it needs to include that file. So, you need to find out where it is calling that. I do all the file changes on my computer and then upload them to the server, so I guess if you do the same, I would go replace every single file with the copy you have on your computer.
Even when you finally get this fixed, you need to be thinking about security and how it is that this happened in the first place. Look at the modifications you have installed and make sure they are all up-to-date and read the threads to see if any issues have been brought forth lately that may have led to this happening to you. |
I have found nothing anywhere similar to holta, racing, hack, hacked, or the like. I am totally stumped. I had thought about loading fresh VB on our local test server and step by step loading up all our customization and mods to see if something there triggered this error.
The big bother for me is that on the original problem faq.php page, all the "reference" areas in the () marks are empty. |
Hm. I would say open a vB.com support ticket but they will probably pin it on a bad hack... Sadly enough.
I am at a complete loss on this problem. |
Well, I got that idea but of course, when the "I did all that already and got no results" reply was given to "upload all non-image vb files, disable plugins yadda yadda" generic instructions, I was then given "that's not possible". So I imagine I would not get much more help there. They are positive it's a result of a mod installation.
I now wish I knew more about the coding and was able to try to trace it down better. Like a line by line analysis of the faq.php page to start, as this is the linked page causing the trouble. Just that there are so many "calls" to other coding, it is hard to nail it down when there are no clues in the returned error message. |
Can you send me your index.php and faq.php file? Through e-mail of course. I will gladly take a look at it and see if I can find anything.
|
If you re-upload all files, overwriting the ones on your server, as well as disabling the plugin system by adding define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true); right under <?php -- then I honestly cannot see how you can get this error.
Check for any suspicious files on your webserver, delete any you find. However, this is definitely caused by a third part add-on. Regards Jason :) |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I am out of here until Tuesday (maybe Monday) but I am providing the faq.php and index.php if anyone wants to take a look. I have of course remove my VB license info from the files.
Thanks for the efforts so far. I really would like to resolve this instead of having to start over. -- Attachments Removed. Since you aren't supposed to distribute them. :) This way you can't be reported or anything (even though you were asked for them). And since it was checked and said fine by two people, I thought it was fine in this situation. King Kovifor -- |
Those pages are fine.
I am still fixated on your FAQ and headinclude template, personally. I don't suppose you'd mind attaching those? |
I had a bright idea about this, but it doesn't seem to be falling through for me. I thought that since it is giving you fetch_template errors, that there might be a hook in there. But not. I would think that it is being added somewhere in your code if it is being included.
Have you checked the one file that you aren't supposed to overwrite? The config.php for any rouge include()'s or require()'s? If you were indeed hacked and someone was trying to include something, that might be a viable place to store it. |
Well, our site is hacked as you can see here http://thescubaforum.com
I will have to get into work tomorrow and upload again I guess with extra security measures. Crap crap crap crap crap............... |
Quote:
Regarding your original problem: If this is your problematic line: PHP Code:
|
All times are GMT. The time now is 02:57 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|