vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   VB Powered Pages Error? (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=168131)

LCN2007 01-18-2008 11:00 PM

VB Powered Pages Error?
 
Warning: Unexpected character in input: '\' (ASCII=92) state=1 in /home/locavur7/public_html/forum/lcnstore.php on line 2

Warning: Unexpected character in input: '\' (ASCII=92) state=1 in /home/locavur7/public_html/forum/lcnstore.php on line 2

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/locavur7/public_html/forum/lcnstore.php on line 2

I created the page the way it said i was suppose to but this is the error i get can someone help me?

I used gary's tuturial before but the page disipeared so i need to rebuild it so i wanted to use the most up to date tutorial but its not working.

Plz help me.

Adrian Schneider 01-18-2008 11:03 PM

Post your code.

bobster65 01-18-2008 11:05 PM

I always get that error when I forget to close off a line of code with a ; its probably a simple syntax error.. happens to the best of us ;)

LCN2007 01-19-2008 05:07 AM

Thank you guys for your help i do appreciate it, i just dont know what i did wrong.

PHP: lcnstore.php

Code:

<?php

// ######################## SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// ##################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
// change the line below to the actual filename without ".php" extention.
// the reason for using actual filename without extention as a value of this constant is to ensure uniqueness of the value throughout every PHP file of any given vBulletin installation.

define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'lcnstore'); 

// #################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array();

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array();

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
        // change the lines below to the list of actual templates used in the script
        'test_mytesttemplate1',
        'test_mytesttemplate22',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array();

// ########################## REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
require_once('./global.php');

// #################### HARD CODE JAVASCRIPT PATHS ########################
$headinclude = str_replace('clientscript', $vbulletin->options['bburl'] . '/clientscript', $headinclude);

// ########################################################################
// ######################### START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// ########################################################################

$navbits = array(); 
// change the line below to contain whatever you want to show in the navbar (title of your custom page)
$navbits[$parent] = 'Page Title';

$navbits = construct_navbits($navbits);
eval('$navbar = "' . fetch_template('navbar') . '";');

// change the line below to contain the name of the actual main output template used in your script
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('lcnstore') . '");');

?>


Template: (lcnstore)

Code:

$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header

$navbar

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
        <td class="tcat">Title</td>
</tr>
<tr>
        <td class="alt1">Text</td>
</tr>
</table>

$footer
</body>
</html>

--------------- Added [DATE]1200801204[/DATE] at [TIME]1200801204[/TIME] ---------------

bump

Adrian Schneider 01-21-2008 12:49 AM

Are you sure you have nothing else in the file? Parses fine for me.

LCN2007 01-21-2008 01:12 AM

Thats what i thought i have no idea why its not working.

Adrian Schneider 01-21-2008 01:38 AM

Sounds like a problem with the file itself then. Try re-uploading it.

LCN2007 01-21-2008 01:40 AM

I have i dont know whats going on i dont even under stand the error line 2 in blank

Lynne 01-21-2008 01:45 AM

Have you tried replacing the first couple of lines of your script with the first couple of lines from a working script (like index.php). There have been times when an extra unseen character has gotten into my scripts and screwed things up.

LCN2007 01-21-2008 01:46 AM

i shall try this, thanks ill be back in like 5mins

--------------- Added [DATE]1200887553[/DATE] at [TIME]1200887553[/TIME] ---------------

No go same error?????????

Warning: Unexpected character in input: '\' (ASCII=92) state=1 in /home/locavur7/public_html/forum/lcnstore.php on line 2

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/locavur7/public_html/forum/lcnstore.php on line 2

Marco van Herwaarden 01-21-2008 06:57 AM

Are you sure you didn't upload the file in binary mode?

LCN2007 01-21-2008 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marco van Herwaarden (Post 1425695)
Are you sure you didn't upload the file in binary mode?


I can see but i dont think so.
I left it on auto like i always do, but ill check.

--------------- Added [DATE]1200933118[/DATE] at [TIME]1200933118[/TIME] ---------------

I made sure that it wasnt in binary mode. Definetly in ASCII mode.
I still got the following error.
I wish i knew what was going on :(

Warning: Unexpected character in input: '\' (ASCII=92) state=1 in /home/locavur7/public_html/forum/lcnstore.php on line 2

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/locavur7/public_html/forum/lcnstore.php on line 2

Lynne 01-21-2008 04:22 PM

If I were you, I would start by either commenting out some lines and seeing if that fixes it or I'd start a new file and rewrite it from scratch (no copy/paste) and see if that works.

I googled this error, but only came up with other people who have experienced it. No one posted a solution in the threads I read.

Grampz 01-21-2008 04:29 PM

I was looking at your code and found one probable issue.

Code:

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
        // change the lines below to the list of actual templates used in the script
        'test_mytesttemplate1',
        'test_mytesttemplate22',
);

If you look at $globaltemplates = array( your closing parenthesis is not there until after the test_mytetstemplate22. Try fixing that and see if it works.

LCN2007 01-21-2008 04:44 PM

how should it look?
Im not to sure could you assist?

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
// change the lines below to the list of actual templates used in the script
'test_mytesttemplate1',
'test_mytesttemplate22', );

Grampz 01-21-2008 04:49 PM

Code:

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array();
        // change the lines below to the list of actual templates used in the script
        'test_mytesttemplate1',
        'test_mytesttemplate22',

The array now has (); with it and the ); that was at the end is no longer there. Unless php is way different than any languages I have studied, that should work. I'm sorry I don't know php, but I'm learning a little at a time.

LCN2007 01-21-2008 04:57 PM

im in the same boat im trying to learn as i go also.

Thanks you for your help i will try this.

Opserty 01-21-2008 05:09 PM

Theres nothing wrong with the $globaltemplates array. Look four lines down and you see the array is closed by that ");". Furthermore the error is on line 2 whereas $globaltemplates is much further down.

RE: Original Post. What are you using to edit the script? Maybe that is causing some kind of error. I don't think its related to the actual syntax because it is running for someone else so it might have something to do with file encoding or something. Try opening it in notepad, copying all the contents to a new notepad document and then saving the notepad document over the old PHP file. (P.S.: I'm just in guessing territory here, but anything is worth try.)

LCN2007 01-21-2008 06:39 PM

im using word pad should i be using note pad?

What is the recomended program for making new PHP file?

Lynne 01-21-2008 06:43 PM

I'm not a PC person, but I believe I saw somewhere that you should use notepad for this sort of thing.

Adrian Schneider 01-21-2008 06:43 PM

Yes - wordpad will throw all sorts of junk into your file.

LCN2007 01-21-2008 07:35 PM

ok i will retry when i get home guys thank you for your help.

I will also update you and let you know how it goes.

--------------- Added [DATE]1200974849[/DATE] at [TIME]1200974849[/TIME] ---------------

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lynne (Post 1426068)
I'm not a PC person, but I believe I saw somewhere that you should use notepad for this sort of thing.

Quote:

Originally Posted by SirAdrian (Post 1426070)
Yes - wordpad will throw all sorts of junk into your file.

Thank you guys thats exactly what was wrong its working now.
You guys were a great help.

:up::up:

--------------- Added [DATE]1201014503[/DATE] at [TIME]1201014503[/TIME] ---------------

I like to thank you guys for you help, also could you guys help me on one last matter.
I know that this one is a lot more easy than the code problem.

I trying to put text next to a picture but i can get it to go their.( i cant figure out which code to use)

I want the Text on the left and the image on the right of the text.
But the text will only go above or below the text.
is their a easy answer or direction i could look?


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01243 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,787KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (3)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (22)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete