vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=228)
-   -   Forum Display Enhancements - UA Sidebar 3.0.7 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=166983)

jaks 01-04-2008 10:00 PM

UA Sidebar 3.0.7
 
CSS Issues were addressed in UAsidebar Version 3.0.5 Please make sure to update your CSS code for your style, upload the newest product and overwrite the previous versions.

A simple variation of the Forum Intro Mod. This will add upto 3 blocks as a sidebar on your forum index pages. Each forum would have it's own 1-3 bocks. You can turn them on or off. Block 1 is the Key block, if it is not enabled no blocks will show regardless of how blocks 2 and 3 are set.

This is the second version and is labelled 3.0.1. 3.0.0 Had an issue with the new profiles. Apparently I used the same name for my wrapper as it does so i quickly changed it.

This will also work with VB 3.6.x

Add your block code in Admincp >>> Forum Manager >>> Whatever Forum near the bottom of the options.
Template edits must be made. Instructions are below. Each edit is clearly labelled to make it easy to find in or remove from your templates.

*** Advertising removed ***
UA_Sidebar Update 3.0.7 changes
  • Fixed error in the Table Header phrase. (Thanks to Sophia for pointing it out :D )
UA_Sidebar Update 3.0.6 changes:
  • Added a right sidebar template and CSS for it. (Requested)
UA_Sidebar Update 3.0.5 changes:
  • CSS bug fixed a slight change in the CSS code.
  • 1 template change to address CSS issue.
UA_Sidebar Update 3.0.4 changes:
  • Added missing wrapit div and CSS
UA_Sidebar Update 3.0.3 changes:
  • Templates now included in product file
  • Changed Div ID to UAsidebar so it doesn't conflict with other mods past/present/future.
    If updating you must change #sidebar to #UAsidebar in your CSS
  • Overwrite Product is now possible.
  • Edits are easier with less code to paste
Features:
  • Each forum can have it's own 1,2 or 3 sidebar blocks controlled in Forum Management
  • You can edit the templates to your needs.
Future Features and Possible Future Features:
  • Optional product file that will include Auto Template edits
  • Option to move sidebar to the right side
  • Last x posts in specific forum (No promises)
  • Default sidebar for all forums (No promises)
  • Users in this forum (No promises)
*** ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR STYLE BEFORE EDITING ***

Known Bugs
  • [FIXED IN 3.0.5]Thread list goes off the page a 165px in Firefox as of Version 3.0.4.
  • [FIXED IN 3.0.5]Sidebar sits above Threadlist in IE as of Version 3.0.4.


CSS CODE
#############################

*Note* You will have to adjust the top margin to line up with your style. 26px worked for me but you may need more or less to line up with the navbar.*END NOTE*

Add this CSS code to the bottom of the Additional CSS Definitions box for the style you are using.

For a left sidebar
Code:

/* Start UASidebar Left CSS */
#UAcontent
{ margin-left: 175px; }
body
{ height: 100%; overflow: auto; }
#UAsidebar
{ float:left; margin-top: 26px; width: 175px; }/* END UA Sidebar CSS */
/* End UA Sidebar Left CSS */

For a right sidebar
Code:

/* Start UASidebar Right CSS */
#UAcontentright
{ margin-right: 180px; }
body
{ height: 100%; overflow: auto; }
#UAsidebarright
{ float:right; margin-top: 26px; width: 175px; }
/* End UA Sidebar Right CSS */




###############################

In the forumdisplay template find
Code:

$navbar
For a left sidebar Add below:
Code:

<!-- Start UA Sidebar Left Top  -->
$ua_sidebar_forumdisplay_bit
<!-- / End UA Sidebar Top  -->

For a right sidebar Add below:
Code:

<!-- Start UA Sidebar Right Top  -->
$ua_sidebar_forumdisplay_bit_right
<!-- / End UA Sidebar Top  -->

(If you used my Forum Intro hack place above or below <!-- / End Forum Intro --> )
####################

In footer template find
Code:

$spacer_close
Above Add:
Code:

<!-- Start UA Sidebar bottom -->
$ua_sidebar_footbit
<!-- End UA Sidebar Bottom -->


jaks 01-05-2008 04:41 AM

Reserved for later

ltd 01-05-2008 09:33 AM

Thanx. Installed.

I need the code to display

1. Latest Threads
2. Most Active Threads

Any help with this will be appreciated.

C.ooder 01-05-2008 11:41 AM

Thank you my friend

Namaless 01-05-2008 01:08 PM

Is possible to releasing with Auto-Template??

Thanks for your hack :D

jaks 01-05-2008 01:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ltd (Post 1415825)
Thanx. Installed.

I need the code to display

1. Latest Threads
2. Most Active Threads

Any help with this will be appreciated.

I'll look into this

Quote:

Originally Posted by C.ooder (Post 1415874)
Thank you my friend

No prob bud

Quote:

Originally Posted by Namaless (Post 1415927)
Is possible to releasing with Auto-Template??


Thanks for your hack :D

If you point me in the right direction I'll give it a try. I'll take a look around for some documentation. Be good to know how to do either way.

Namaless 01-05-2008 01:56 PM

lol jaks you have quoted me but I did't answer to my question.. :D

glorify 01-05-2008 07:13 PM

Looks great man :)

jaks 01-05-2008 07:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Namaless (Post 1415943)
lol jaks you have quoted me but I did't answer to my question.. :D

LOL Yes I answered I think. I'm not sure how to do that. I added the templates to the product file and tried updating but I haven't figured out how to auto-insert them yet.

jaks 01-06-2008 03:36 AM

I just now solved the duplicate column error when over writing the product. That means I can go ahead with adding features to this mod.

I think I can figure out the auto- template feature you requested but I also think that manual edits with $atemplate_call will be wanted for those that have heavily modified styles so I will try to do both tomorrow. Still pretty new to this mod stuff though so the auto-template stuff might take some doing.

ninjamaster 01-06-2008 11:11 PM

thanks for this :)

jaks 01-06-2008 11:28 PM

The CSS issues are now resolved. Glad you like it. :)

Qamdad 01-09-2008 09:15 AM

Thanx great work but can I use Html in blocks??

snakeair 01-10-2008 12:11 AM

Some of those future features that may or may not be added i could really use. Anyway's, i have this installed on my forum and have no issue's so far.

Now off to find more codes to install that don't work in 3.7 lol

Qamdad 01-10-2008 02:26 AM

Quote:

I just now solved the duplicate column error when over writing the product. That means I can go ahead with adding features to this mod.
the duplicate column error still ???

jaks 01-10-2008 07:56 PM

No it was solved and was fixed in UAsidebar 3.0.3.

Sofia 01-10-2008 08:17 PM

Great ! Nice hack, i like it :)

Thanks a lot, jaks :)

EDIT : small correction (to worry you) :p

In your XML, you have :

HTML Code:

print_table_header($vbphrase['sidebar_forum_title']);
and you must put :

HTML Code:

print_table_header($vbphrase['sidebar_title']);
because vbphrase is sidebar_title.

:D

seangworld 01-17-2008 05:10 AM

this is not working for me whatsoever.

jaks 01-20-2008 08:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by seangworld (Post 1422878)
this is not working for me whatsoever.

Going to have to be more specific so I can help you figure out what the problem is.

Mr. Hoddz 01-20-2008 01:35 PM

Not working for me either. I have done everything you asked in the readme file but I don't see anything on the forumhome page. Not a thing. Can't see as it has added any options, where do I edit these blocks?

UPDATE
I can see the options in the Forum Manager to edit the forums, but it doesn't show up even when I turn all three on and put in some crap. Do I need to sort out the margin px first cos if I do then it's a bit silly cos I can't see how it will show up for me to sort it out.

seangworld 01-22-2008 08:50 AM

actually i figured out what was happening...

the sidebars show up when viewing the different forums BUT does NOT show up for FORUMHOME, which is needed.

i decided to use vBa's integration tool.

gwerzal 01-25-2008 12:19 PM

I like this hack. This could be very useful to me.

My forum is on quite a broard subject so be able to put specific adds in specific forums will be very good.

As mentioned before some way of pulling the latest thread of the forum its in to 1 of the blocks would be great.

I will defiantely be using this but i havn't installed it yet.

Is it likely to be updated a lot soon as if it is i will probably wait till its more stable if you know what i mean.

Thanks anyway

seangworld 01-26-2008 11:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gwerzal (Post 1428665)
I like this hack. This could be very useful to me.

My forum is on quite a broard subject so be able to put specific adds in specific forums will be very good.

As mentioned before some way of pulling the latest thread of the forum its in to 1 of the blocks would be great.

I will defiantely be using this but i havn't installed it yet.

Is it likely to be updated a lot soon as if it is i will probably wait till its more stable if you know what i mean.

Thanks anyway

google does that automatically.

jaks 01-27-2008 06:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by seangworld (Post 1426515)
actually i figured out what was happening...

the sidebars show up when viewing the different forums BUT does NOT show up for FORUMHOME, which is needed.

i decided to use vBa's integration tool.

The whole point of this hack is so each individual forum has it's own blocks. I did add the template edits to show blocks on the forum index which are not editible from admincp though.


Quote:

Originally Posted by gwerzal (Post 1428665)
I like this hack. This could be very useful to me.

My forum is on quite a broard subject so be able to put specific adds in specific forums will be very good.

As mentioned before some way of pulling the latest thread of the forum its in to 1 of the blocks would be great.

I will defiantely be using this but i havn't installed it yet.

Is it likely to be updated a lot soon as if it is i will probably wait till its more stable if you know what i mean.

Thanks anyway

As this is right now, it is completely stable. This will work with all versions that use the plugin system including future versions unless there is a MAJOR core code change and I seriously doubt that will happen any time soon.

The extra features like last x posts etc... will take some time. I have other projects on the go right now so there will be no updates for a bit.

If someone else has the time and wants to add some features please feel free.

superthang 02-22-2008 01:09 PM

very nice hack indeed, thanks alot!
Can we ađd so it show up in thread mode tơo ?

like if u enable for forum A

u want the same for all thread views tơo

thx

BatMNet 02-24-2008 01:04 AM

Great thankyou :D Installed.. Works perfectly

1. So could you please fully explain how to put the sidebars on the forums index page?

2. Is there a way to make it so there is a default bar.. Say bar one could be a menu that you want on each forum and 2 & 3 can be customisable?.. If too much I don't mind copying and pasting :D

rapsearch 02-26-2008 09:11 AM

^ i'd like to know that as well.... sidebars for the index page..

also, maby for a future version. an option to enable/disable sidebars for an entire categorie

lets say you have

cat A
- forums A1
- forums A2
- etc

if you make sidebars for 'cat A' they wont show up in forums A1 and the rest.... you should be able to make it available in all of the subforums as most of the times its about the same subject

Brew 02-28-2008 03:21 AM

Add me in as one who is wanting this on ForumHome too. I don't see any instructions on how to get this to work on the home page.

Nice mod though. It'll be nice to have content-specific blocks in the forums.

The ability to have these blocks in the thread display would be a huge plus as well.

ShawneyJ 03-04-2008 06:43 AM

so easy to install but just does not show up lol.

EarnDollars 03-04-2008 12:08 PM

would try this when my forum online
Thx!

TF-TM 03-05-2008 04:49 PM

Thanks

usedragon 03-06-2008 02:20 AM

I just installed and read the instructions. When I installed it as product, I do not see Admin option for UAsidebar.

madotds 03-06-2008 09:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by usedragon (Post 1458133)
I just installed and read the instructions. When I installed it as product, I do not see Admin option for UAsidebar.

You need to go into Admincp > Forums and moderators > Forum Manager and then select to edit the forum of you choice and you will find what you want at the bottom

petertdavis 04-02-2008 04:46 AM

Hi jaks, nice add-on. I tried it out on one of my forums, and have one thing that might be considered a bug. When the items in the sidebar are longer than the thread, the sidebar clashes over the footer and that doesn't look good. Is there somehow to alter it so that it would push down the footer so it won't clash over the footer?

And, I second the request to include a feature that would allow to place the sidebar in all sub-forums per category.

prince1111 06-01-2008 11:55 PM

Thanks for this hack.
i install this hack.this is working fine in the forums.
but i need sidebar in homepage?
can u tell me what can i do?

csalbuchi 06-04-2008 02:21 PM

The CSS make IE mess up the scrollbar, is there other way to define that CSS? If I remove "body", for i.e. like this:

Code:

/* Start UASidebar Right CSS */
#UAcontentright
{ margin-right: 180px; }

{ height: 100%; overflow: auto; }
#UAsidebarright
{ float:right; margin-top: 26px; width: 175px; }
/* End UA Sidebar Right CSS */

The scrollbar in IE works ok.

Also, mi thread?s list begin at the bottom of the sidebar (only when using IE).

LeroyP 06-08-2008 02:13 AM

I cant get it to go on the side of the home page?? It makes A side bar when you go into a thread not on the home page? help please

LeroyP 06-08-2008 02:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by prince1111 (Post 1538253)
Thanks for this hack.
i install this hack.this is working fine in the forums.
but i need sidebar in homepage?
can u tell me what can i do?

X-two

LeroyP 06-08-2008 05:40 AM

got it

Sycoloco1212 06-13-2008 08:14 AM

i need help can u explain were do i put the codes?


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01332 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,834KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (8)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_html_printable
  • (11)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete