vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=192)
-   -   Show Thread Enhancements - Showing Custom Profile Fields On Postbit And Postbit Legacy (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=166290)

Attila M. 12-27-2007 10:00 PM

Showing Custom Profile Fields On Postbit And Postbit Legacy
 
So all day today I was trying to figure this out, so I decided to show it you guys as well. This is my first code or what ever you want to call it lol.

Anyways,

First make the custom profile field you want to show. To do that Admin CP > User Profile Fields > Add New User Field.

Fill out what fits right for your profile field. Just remember the field number.

Once you did that, go to Admin CP > Languages And Phrases > Phrase Manager > Add New Phrase.

Fill it out as:
Phrase Type: GLOBAL
Product: vBulletin
Varname: (What ever you want it to be)
Text: (Example: If your custom profile field was favorite athletes this should be Favorite Athletes
)

Once you did that go to Admin CP > Styles and Templates > Style Manager > (Skin you're editing) > Edit Templates > Postbit Templates > Postbit Legacy

Find:
Code:

<span id="repdisplay_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reputationdisplay]</span></div></if>
Below It Add:
Code:

<if condition="$post['fieldx']"><div class="postinfo">$vbphrase[varnamehere]: $post[fieldx]</div></if>
Make sure to edit the bold letters/words in the code above.

Please don't be too harsh with this lol. I know there are newbies out there like me that didn't know how to do this.

Any problems, post it in here.

Click Install, and please visit my forum.

http://sport-gods.com/forums/index.php

Attila M. 12-28-2007 01:43 AM

First post reserved.

skrazydogz 12-28-2007 06:27 AM

any screenshots ?

skrazydogz 12-28-2007 10:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike-D (Post 1410683)
Screenshot? Of what? To show that a Profile Field is being showed inside a Postbit or Postbit_Legacy? :rolleyes:

yes !

Pandemix 12-28-2007 01:14 PM

I use it in my forum, thanks.

This works in the regular postbit too.

Attila M. 12-28-2007 03:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pandemix (Post 1410784)
I use it in my forum, thanks.

This works in the regular postbit too.

It does? I didn't try it in there. Thats good to hear.

Attila M. 12-28-2007 08:49 PM

Screen shot added.

valdet 12-29-2007 01:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Attila M. (Post 1411027)
Screen shot added.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/



What font did you use in your screenshot. :D

Attila M. 12-29-2007 04:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by valdet (Post 1411157)
http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/7404/6uq7ptegj3.jpg



What font did you use in your screenshot. :D

The pencil tool in paint LMAO.

Lott 02-10-2008 11:16 PM

This works great.
Has anyone figured out how to use the dropdown profile fields for this. It seems that it reports in postbit as a number rather then the assigned word. I tried the single selection dropdown, but really want the multi-selection dropdown for my application.

mmoore5553 12-03-2008 12:07 PM

is there a way you can add pictures ? instead of words ?

mmoore5553 12-04-2008 12:43 PM

nevermind i figured it out but thank you

PurpleButterfly 12-14-2008 03:32 AM

Wondering if someone can help me? Only the phrase is showing up in the postbit - the text entered by members only shows up on their profile, and the postbit shows the phrase and the number 1 next to it.

So my phrase is: On my Christmas wish list

What is on the postbit is: On my Christmas wish list: 1

The field number is 15, so I don't think that has anything to do with it?

makofu 01-05-2009 09:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PurpleButterfly (Post 1684962)
Wondering if someone can help me? Only the phrase is showing up in the postbit - the text entered by members only shows up on their profile, and the postbit shows the phrase and the number 1 next to it.

So my phrase is: On my Christmas wish list

What is on the postbit is: On my Christmas wish list: 1

The field number is 15, so I don't think that has anything to do with it?

Are you using a checkbox? If so, this probably won't work (somebody can correct me here). I believe the checkboxes would require a lot more code.

Lyndon323 04-15-2009 08:55 PM

I did 3 of these and only 1 comes up right, the other 2, only the text entered by the user in the user settings shows up

pooslokka 05-02-2009 11:09 AM

Really helpfull this one today ! Thank you.

Danecookie 05-04-2009 06:31 AM

dsnt works

Danecookie 05-04-2009 11:48 AM

Working now

RedHotChili 01-27-2010 02:44 AM

:up:

Thanks for the useful information.

Just what I was looking for.

Eplexx 11-18-2010 04:26 AM

A very helpful tutorial thanks!

ScottishScoobie 11-17-2012 09:24 AM

Hi guys, searched the internet all day long and i think this is what im looking for. have followed all the steps but notice my code is different as im on vB 4.

anyone able to suggest what i should change the code here to match the vB 4 code.

thanks for your help,

BirdOPrey5 01-21-2013 06:47 PM

There is an Article in the VB4 Articles section on how to do this for VB4- https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=250418


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01113 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,754KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (5)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (22)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete