![]() |
users in chat, confusing API
I installed and integrated Real Chat into my vbulletin forum. However, I wish to display on the forumhome (custom location and WOL area) how many members are in live chat and what room (if easily done).
I'm just not understanding this api doc at all and hope someone can help me out here. http://www.realchat.com/doc/scripting-api.html Thanks in advance. |
I'm willing to pay $100 for someone to figure this out. Thanks.
|
Make a plugin with these options
Hook Location: forumhome_start Title: API chat on forumhome(whatever you want to call this plugin it doesn't matter) Execution order: 1 Plugin PHP Code: PHP Code:
Remember to replace http://chathost:controlport with the link to the your api chat or this will not work. I suggest trying this on a test board before you put it on your main site to make sure it works. I suggest creating a new product by Plugins & Products -> Manage Product -> Add New Product. Then add the plugin to the product you created. Then you can put $apichat[currentuserlocation] in your FORUMHOME template. |
Thanks for the help, but its not working.
I tried this: Code:
function getAPI($command) { http://147.202.66.3:8085/?0,0,0,0,0 I did enable / activate plugin too. |
Quote:
|
Yes, because it shows it directly this way:
http://147.202.66.3:8085/?api.UserCount 0 is correct But I cannot get the plugin setup right to display usercount in forumhome --------------- Added [DATE]1198710896[/DATE] at [TIME]1198710896[/TIME] --------------- Tried this also, won't work Code:
function getAPI($command) { |
make a php file and put the plugin code into it
PHP Code:
Because i'm getting an error if i want to try file_get_contents() from your ip, and if i call it direct http://147.202.66.3:8085/?api.UserCount i'm gettin the message that its forbidden |
<a href="http://talkjesus.com/rcplugin.php" target="_blank">http://talkjesus.com/rcplugin.php</a>
Shows code only |
with <? around, sorry
here's my try: www.ragtek.org/sandbox/chat.php my server isn't allowed to get the info also my clientpc isn't allowed when i click the link;) |
Ok now it works via that link but not forumhome
|
Have you put $apichat[currentuserlocation] in the place where you want the number of users currently in chat in your FORUMHOME template to show on your page.
|
Yes I have. It should appear on right side of shout box above 4 icons, in the blank small purple box next to "members currently in live chat".
Tried this code also Code:
function getAPI($command) { I also corrected the missing "s" in what you told me to put in forumhome template currentuserslocation That still didn't fix it. |
Does this page have this code
PHP Code:
|
That's because Usercount is supposed to be UserCount (case sensitive)
http://147.202.66.3:8085/?api.UserCount The exact code in that rcplugin.php page is this: Code:
<?php |
yes
but the problem is because of the ip We are not allowed to view it |
http://talkjesus.com:8085/?api.UserCount
It shows "1" properly, since I'm in chat. However, still not showing up on forumhome :( |
Yes but the problem is this page is still outputting
Quote:
|
Ok fixed! :) Thanks for all the help folks.
Actually, maybe you can help me get this in WOL area, a new section that is (kind of like FlashChat WOL's area) where it shows you the usernames in chat and if you hover, what room they're in. I fixed the problem by adding the IP address to trusted IP in RC admin panel i used this in forumhome $apichat[currentuserlocation] And this in plugin: Code:
function getAPI($command) { |
Well you can use this but it is not going to do what you are talking about.
WhoWhere - lists all of the users in all rooms; with one room per line, formatted as: roomID: roomName: userList. Insert this code at the end of the plugin. PHP Code:
|
Thanks, but how do I get it to appear in the WOL section (footer)?
|
The template WHOSONLINE. You can just use the same variable. $apichat[currentuserlocation]
|
Wow, that template is really confusing me
Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype] http://www.talkjesus.com/ Hint please? Thanks. |
Sorry told you the wrong template. It is in FORUMHOME and find this code.
Code:
<!-- what's going on box --> I can't tell you exactly where to past your code because I don't have those mods installed but use the comments tags and that should tell you where everything begins and ends. |
hello MoT3rror, i have created the plugin, but not the product, could you walk me through this phase please? i also have realchat integrated and would like to show "who is in chat" and "how many are in chat"
i would really appreciate it... jason www.stocknetworkonline.com |
Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product
Then when you create the plugin choose the product you called it. Here is a mod for flash chat. https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...ght=flash+chat |
the link for flashchat? will that help me with realchat?
ok, i did that much and this appears on my forums page at the top??? Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in /home/stocknet/public_html/snoforums.php(63) : eval()'d code on line 1 |
This will only work for API Chat. You will have to use something else for other chats.
Put this code in the plugin for APIChat PHP Code:
Then you can put $apichat[currentuserlocation] in your FORUMHOME template. |
I created a product --> then created the plugin and placed the code in there --> lastly i placed the $apichat[currentuserlocation] in the FORUMHOME --> resulting in nothing to display on the forum homepage.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated... I see on chadi's site that he was able to get this to work. I have the same chat software imbedded in my vBulliten so when a vBulliten member enters chat they enter with the registered name. Thanks in advance... Jason |
Did you allow your website IP address in Real Chat. Also the variable you need to put in is $apichat[currentuserslocation]. Forgot the s after user
|
I am not sure what you mean by my website IP address in RealChat? This is the start of the url...
http://64.131.88.242:8080/?nn= |
Is the IP address of your website/server, that your website is stored on, allowed to access your chat.
Quote:
|
Ok, not sure what happened here. I had to do a backup file restore earlier in the morning. It was a backup that I made prior to making some changes (and then restoring the backup due to some mishaps). Everything worked fine prior to the backup I generated, including Real Chat user count out put. After the restore, the out put worked fine until I just noticed now it shows blank.
Odd enough, it worked immediately after the restore was done. I stopped, restarted realchat daemon and that did not help. On a side note, the chat itself works fine. No templates were re-modified either, port is still open in firewall of course. I'm a little confused why this is happening. Nothing at all was modified on the server nor anything within realchat / vbulletin after the restore was completed. forumhome: Code:
<div class="editor" align="center"> Code:
function getAPI($command) { |
1 Attachment(s)
Another thing I just noticed, even Wimpy mp3 player is showing up in the frame crushed, tiny - or minimized to say. Two other members confirmed they see the same result.
The template in VB is still the same. |
All times are GMT. The time now is 11:23 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|