![]() |
Problem Solved: Need a simple news publishing script with vB integration
Ok, So on my site's home page I post the latest news. I am using vBExternal but this script is causing a bit of a problem when pulling urls from the forum.
Before I describe what I need, take a look at the article system. http://www.grandtheftcentral.com/ When I post news articles in a designated forum, it publishes it to the front page where it displays the post, post author, number of replies, date and so on. I need another one though since this one is a bit buggy. Requirements - I should be able to post articles from some sort of admin panel via a simple WYSIWYG or HTML panel - It should output basics like Title, Post Body, Comment Numbers, Post Comment Link and so on - People would need to log on first to post a comment Simple as that. I don't care where it stores the news, it could be in a forum or in an independent db table, once it does the above jobs. Any help. Thanks a lot. |
Take a look at Dynamics..
http://www.vbadvanced.com/ |
The problem is that vbAdvanced controls the entire front page. All I want is to manage the news. I just want to include it within my current template.
|
How are yo pulling the content from your forums to the front page now?
Could you not use RSS? |
Well the comments people make are the comments in the post.
Code:
http://www.autogamingcentral.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=56 I wouldn't mind using RSS but do you have a script prog I could try out? |
Quote:
All you would do is add the feeds to your page where you wanted them to show. Here is an example on the bottom left of this page that i done for a customer. I'm just tossing out ideas someone else may have something better. http://www.countylineracewaync.com/ --------------- Added [DATE]1196480179[/DATE] at [TIME]1196480179[/TIME] --------------- I built the feed using this site. http://feed2js.org/index.php?s=build |
Ah yes that's basically something like it. The only difference with mine would be it would need to pull news from a certain forum, and then display the first post of each thread with the comments and so on. Would it be able to display images and other forms of HTML?
I honestly don't know, haven't worked with RSS before. |
You can pull fees from any forum. I use Fire Fox and whenever Im viewing a forum the feed icon shows in the address bar. I just click that to jet my feed url.
http://www.localracechat.com/news/ex....php?type=RSS2 Not sure about the photos, maybe if they were at the top of the post. I would create a blank page on the site and experiment with it. The site above is really easy to use take about 5 mins to set up a feed and you can preview it as well. I don't think the comments and posts #'s will show up like this, I could be wrong as there may be another way but this is all I know of personally. You will also need to make sure your external feeds options are on in you vB options in the control panel too. |
Yea I'll turn it on and experiment...Quite helpful info.. thanks a lot
for other folks, please share any additional ideas. Thanks. |
Good Luck i hope you find what you need.
|
I did some tinkering with my script and ended up removing a couple of lines that were not needed and it's all fixed now.
|
I'm trying to do this EXACT thing.
I've messed with vbadvanced and don't like how it takes over the entire page. All I want is ti pull news articles posted to a certain forum and have it displayed on a custom built page. Bradly, can you provide the code you are using to accomplish this? |
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:
|
Bradley, are you calling for this information in a template? If so, what does your template code look like for the section related to pulling the post info?
--------------- Added [DATE]1198357665[/DATE] at [TIME]1198357665[/TIME] --------------- EDIT: nevermind, I see why your vbexternal is longer than the default. You are calling for multiple news postings. Also, you mentioned you edited some lines of the code that wern't needed. What did you take out that solved the problem you were having? |
Well I can't remember exactly...I remember having to put a // infront of a line of code to deactivate it. Read through the vBExternal 1.6 Lite thread, it's somewhere in there.
And yes I am pulling like three or four different feeds so I had to copy the code for different templates. |
Alright, I've gotten everything uploaded and installed. But when I add output_NewestReplies(5,"1,2,3"); to the PHP file nothing is displayed when I load it up in IE.
PHP Code:
$news ?? |
well you don't need this line
Code:
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('Index') . '");'); sample Code:
<?php in my case . Code:
http://www.grandtheftcentral.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=56 also remember to include Code:
<?php and did you upload the relative files to your forum folder? vBExternal.php > forum main folder vBExternal folder > forum main folder let me know if this helps. :) |
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:59 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|