vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3 Articles (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=187)
-   -   Create a working vBa Module for Inferno vBShout 1.1+ (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=163395)

m002.p 11-21-2007 10:00 PM

Create a working vBa Module for Inferno vBShout 1.1+
 
1 Attachment(s)
This has been requested by many users who have downloaded the lite addition of Inferno Techs vBShout Mod found here

What does this tutorial enable you to do?

As the title suggests, this enables you to create a module in vBadvanced for your Shoutbox opposed to having it on the portal (ie the variable <!--{%SHOUTBOX%}--> within the "adv_portal" template or similar).

Demo?

See http://www.sog-team.co.uk/index.php (center module half way down)

Requirements?
  • Inferno Tech vBShout 1.0.1 or above
  • vBadvanced (Any versions)
How is it done?

1)
Firstly upload the module attached using the feature within the "Admin CP > vBa CMPS > Download / Upload Module"

2)
Create a new template in your style called "adv_portal_vbshout", and copy the following into it and click save:

Code:

<!--{%SHOUTBOX%}-->
3)
Ensure the module uploaded is active and on your desired page and linked to the template above.

4)
To get the Shoutbox to link to the Javascript file correctly, edit the template "inferno_shoutbox_box" and find:
Code:

infernoshout/browser/infernoshout.js
Before the code above, place your whole forum URL. Eg: "http://mywebsite.com/", so the code then becomes:

Code:

http://mywebsite.com/forum/infernoshout/browser/infernoshout.js
5)
To get the JavaScript file to now link to the correct PHP files you need to open up the following file; "infernoshout.js" located from this path below:
Code:

./infernoshout/browser/infernoshout.js
Open the file with a txt editor and find the several occurances of:

Code:

infernoshout.php
In every instance, change this to your full site URL, for example:

Code:

http://mywebsite.com/forum/infernoshout.php
Save file and / or re-upload and you are done!

6)
Re-Edit the template "inferno_shoutbox_box" and find:

Code:

"infernoshout.php?{$session['sessionurl']}do=archive"
Replace with your whole forum URL, example being:

Code:

"http://mywebsite.com/forum/infernoshout.php?{$session['sessionurl']}do=archive"
7)
Also take note that "adv_index" needs to be added to the page deployment. Remember to seperate the scripts by commas! eg. "index,adv_index"

Code:

Admin CP > Vbulletin Options > Inferno VbShout Settings > Page Deployment
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Extra Hints:

- If your center module or module space is quite compact for the shoutbox editor underneath your SB display, you can make a simple change to remove a few options to conserve width space.

Code:

Admin CP > vBulletin Options > Inferno vBShout Settings > Editor Tools
Un Check some of the tools that you could do without. Example; "Smilies"

- If your text box for the shoutbox is 'crushed' or looks non existant within the module, dont panic as you can make one simple edit to make the shoutbox more 'module friendly' and space saving.

Code:

Admin CP > Styles & Templates > Search In Templates
Search for "Inferno" then browse for the template "inferno_shoutbox_editor" in your style. Now find (located at the top of your template):

Code:

                <input type="text" name="vbshout_pro_shoutbox_editor" style="width: 100%" class="bginput" id="vbshout_pro_shoutbox_editor" />
        </td>

Underneath ADD:
Code:

</tr>
<tr>

Save the template and ensure you update any other templates in the styles used.

Note if the text box looks odd after this change, be sure to play around with the following percentage found in the "inferno_shoutbox_editor" template:

Code:

<input type="text" name="vbshout_pro_shoutbox_editor" style="width: 100%" class="bginput" id="vbshout_pro_shoutbox_editor" />
        </td>

Try a range between 90-100% as I wanted to match the length of the text input box to match the editor tools width below it.

Also note, that these edits above will change your global layout not just for your module

Display Problems?

Try this solution which should ensure the shoutbox works correctly in vbA & forums index.

- Make the inferno shoutbox plugins run AFTER the vbadvanced ones, in the plugin manager you'll be able to set the execution order of plugins, by default things are 5, try setting inferno shoutbox ones to 6

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

May I also take this opportunity to encourage users with the "Lite" version to purchase the "Pro" which is better supported and with more features for so little money.

Enjoy!

Matt

stud 11-27-2007 08:57 PM

Thanks for your efforts Princeston

Unfortunately, this doesn't appear to be working.

vBadvanced CMPS v3.0 RC1
vBulletin Version 3.6.8
vBShout Pro v2.0.0

Followed everyone one of your steps and the shoutbox will not show on my CMPS index.php still

m002.p 11-28-2007 07:48 PM

Firstly, Princeton just moderated it, and I actually released this fix / how to lol.

Secondly, I have exactly the same versions as you and it works for me and a few other friends of mine, so this would suggest you have made an error somewhere ;)

If you PM me your URL & a working ADMIN CP login with access to settings & styles only, I can take a look for you.

stud 11-29-2007 12:26 PM

woops - sorry about that m002. Allow me to correct the improperly given credit :)

I'll start from scratch and keep you posted.

m002.p 11-29-2007 06:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stud (Post 1391648)
woops - sorry about that m002. Allow me to correct the improperly given credit :)

I'll start from scratch and keep you posted.

Nps mate, easily done.

On topic, when starting again, ensure that you review each step by double checking what you do with that ive posted here.

Let me know how it goes :)

stud 12-03-2007 10:34 PM

grrr, this still won't work for me

m002.p 12-04-2007 06:29 AM

if you want me to take a look, I can do. I would require a URL, admin CP login to styles & settings only via PM, and I can review this.

Offer is open to anyone who gets a problem ;)

stud 12-07-2007 02:30 PM

thanks Matt! One step you may want to add to the instructions above is to ensure "adv_index" is added to the the Page Deployment for the shoutbox.

Vbulletin Options > VbShout Settings (Pro) > Page Deployment

m002.p 12-07-2007 06:28 PM

Done ^^^

Thanks for the feedback

PennylessZ28 12-07-2007 09:19 PM

Module won't show up on integrated vbadvanced pages

m002.p 12-08-2007 06:35 AM

Are you sure you added "adv_index" to your page deployment area?

PennylessZ28 12-08-2007 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by m002.p (Post 1397240)
Are you sure you added "adv_index" to your page deployment area?

yes I'm postive even have it set to global deployment, I can get it to show on any page without even adding it to the deployment area, however, if you intergrate a vbadvanced page with say, your memeberlist or your forumhome, then the shoutbox won't show up. I can and did create your module, that worked fine on vbadvanced portal page, but with it intergrated with my forumhome, even though I have the module there, it doesn't show up. So thats two for two, shoutbox refuses to show up. Refuses to display as itself and as a vba module.

I am guessing that a may have something to do with the fact that the shoutbox also checks the script its being deployed on and something happens when you intergrate the two.

I can't solve it.

m002.p 12-08-2007 06:39 PM

If you PM me your URL and a temp admin CP login with access to styles & vbulletin options only, I can take a look.

I get my shoutbox showing on the vBa Portal Page and on the forumhome at once together ;)

SpongeFreak52 02-03-2008 10:45 PM

Alright, thanks for the tip! Works just fine for me. ^_^

dannefaerd 02-25-2008 11:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PennylessZ28 (Post 1397425)
yes I'm postive even have it set to global deployment, I can get it to show on any page without even adding it to the deployment area, however, if you intergrate a vbadvanced page with say, your memeberlist or your forumhome, then the shoutbox won't show up. I can and did create your module, that worked fine on vbadvanced portal page, but with it intergrated with my forumhome, even though I have the module there, it doesn't show up. So thats two for two, shoutbox refuses to show up. Refuses to display as itself and as a vba module.

I am guessing that a may have something to do with the fact that the shoutbox also checks the script its being deployed on and something happens when you intergrate the two.

I can't solve it.

I've got a similar problem ... the shoutbox runs fine on the index.php page (which is my vBa CMPS), but not on any other intergrated pages.

Did you manage to find a fix for this?

--------------- Added [DATE]1203989137[/DATE] at [TIME]1203989137[/TIME] ---------------

Never mind - found a fix on another forum (phew)
Quote:

Make the inferno shoutbox plugins run AFTER the vbadvanced ones, in the plugin manager you'll be able to set the execution order of plugins, by default things are 5, try setting inferno shoutbox ones to 6
This worked for me!

m002.p 03-01-2008 07:06 PM

Thanks for the tip ^^^^ :)

Glad it works

john.friel 03-09-2008 10:04 PM

I need some help. I am trying to install Inferno_Shoutbox Lite into a module. I've got it working in the Forum just below the navbar but want to move it to the CMPS module center section. (ergo this thread I am following)

There appears to be a big leap of faith on instruction #1, the uploading of the module. What should all the cmps options be set to when doing the upload? After I did the upload and the Edit Modules page is displayed, I thought I did something wrong because it did not show in any column. So, I uploaded it again. I then realized I have two entries in the left column (I specified center?) that have no underlined title name, just the "Move to" and Order boxes. I now know these are the vbshout.modules I uploaded but no way to select them, change them or remove them. What happened?

Guess I'm stuck at this point.

Help!
:o

--------

Running vBulletin 3.6.8 PL1, vBa CMPS 2.2.1 (vB 3.6)

--------------- Added [DATE]1205106262[/DATE] at [TIME]1205106262[/TIME] ---------------

Update: Looking at the link to the arrows for the nameless modules, I was able to figure out they were numbered 16 and 17. So I copy/pasted the url to edit one of the named modules and substituted these numbers so I could edit them and remove them.

So I guess I'm back to the Upload step or the faulty attached vbshout.module in this thread.

:confused:

--------------- Added [DATE]1205108343[/DATE] at [TIME]1205108343[/TIME] ---------------

Not one to give up easily, I forged ahead.

I uploaded the module a third time and then crafted a URL to edit the nameless module. This time I set the Module Title to "InfernoShout", set the column to "Center Column", display order to 2 and set Active to Yes.

In the Template to Include, I have adv_portal_[vbshout ]

The rest of this setup is fuzzy because the instructions above do not say what should be set (another example of a programmer trying to write documentation maybe?)

Module Shell Template Options is set to No.

Usergroups is set so only registered users can view the module.

With that set, it still does not display in the center column.

So I check Step #2 and confirm that the template exists and that the correct shoutbox text was cut and pasted in. It is. Still no box.

Step #3, yep, see above since I seemed to have to do these steps out-of-order with the buggy no-name problem. it is there, active and set to the center column. The modules page shows it to be active and have the correct sort order. Still no box.

Step #4, I edited the code and placed http://www.cvmusclecars.com/ into all the places it asked. I think it did 4 search/replaces. Still no box.

Step #5, Edited the .js and did the same thing. Still no box.

Step #6, This I was not able to do because the search line does not appear in the inferno_shoutbox_box code anywhere.

Step #7, I made sure I have "index,index_cmps" in the Page Deployment box. I use index_cmps as my default page when going to the website and the forum also exists in the root.

Still no box.

What now?
:confused:

m002.p 03-14-2008 10:08 PM

Hello sorry about the delay in reply,

Could you provide me with your URL and if you could; set up a temporary account to the admin CP options & styles only, that would be great so I can take a look for you. If you are willing to do this, please PM me this info.

Thanks

shavedaccord 03-26-2008 11:58 PM

So is this what i have to do in order to get the shout box to display under the navbar on my index since I have my forum setup to run within CMPS?

m002.p 03-30-2008 06:06 PM

indeed ^^^^

shavedaccord 03-31-2008 01:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by m002.p (Post 1478500)
indeed ^^^^

Well I got it to work on the cmps_index but it will not work on the main forum for the life of me. Check out the link below and you'll see what I mean. Ignore the older vBshout it's temp. until I get this pro version working correctly. Any help is greatly appreciated.

http://www.6thgenaccord.com/forums/index.php

Waiter 03-31-2008 12:33 PM

I have problem with OTHER MODULES!! Look here: http://tuttopes.net/cmps_index.php

I create the module and it works fine... But Ithe other modules under that, have a modification...

m002.p 03-31-2008 06:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shavedaccord (Post 1478762)
Well I got it to work on the cmps_index but it will not work on the main forum for the life of me. Check out the link below and you'll see what I mean. Ignore the older vBshout it's temp. until I get this pro version working correctly. Any help is greatly appreciated.

http://www.6thgenaccord.com/forums/index.php

Hmm... have you set both page deployment areas in the Admin CP > Inferno Shout Pro ?

It should read:

index,
adv_index

@Waiter... Sorry I dont see what you mean? The Shoutbox is working correctly, and so are the modules underneath :s could you be more precise?

shavedaccord 04-01-2008 10:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by m002.p (Post 1479300)
Hmm... have you set both page deployment areas in the Admin CP > Inferno Shout Pro ?

It should read:

index,
adv_index

@Waiter... Sorry I dont see what you mean? The Shoutbox is working correctly, and so are the modules underneath :s could you be more precise?

Yes sir, both are listed in page deployment.

--------------- Added [DATE]1207093311[/DATE] at [TIME]1207093311[/TIME] ---------------

Quote:

Make the inferno shoutbox plugins run AFTER the vbadvanced ones, in the plugin manager you'll be able to set the execution order of plugins, by default things are 5, try setting inferno shoutbox ones to 6
Never mind I got it to work using the above method.

Matais 04-26-2008 03:01 PM

just installed and my shoutbox just reads: Loading...

m002.p 04-30-2008 09:13 PM

You havent read the instructions ^^^^ Read again please :D

StregSpiller 05-15-2008 03:21 PM

It's working just fine for me, only one problem, smilies aren't showing up, it just displays the names when you click the "smilies" button.
When you type the name eg. :smilie1: it dosen't show up in shoutbox...

It's working fine in forum, it's only on CMPS they dosen't show...
Anybody???

m002.p 05-16-2008 05:10 PM

Hi,

Have you a link or screenprint to show me such example?

Its likely that a path needs specifying / updating for them to display due to your smilies being in another folder on your server from the norm (maybe due to a custom forum theme or style).

Of course, I could well be wrong, but I will have a better understanding seeing it for myself.

Thanks

Matt

StregSpiller 05-16-2008 05:24 PM

It's okay, I've figured it out...:cool:

I placed the smilies in the root, and the problem was solved...:up:

Axe_Grinder 05-28-2008 08:52 PM

Hi folks,

Sorry to visit this again... I just implemented the shoutbox to my vb_adv portal page and the module sits there saying "loading".

I followed the instructions exactly and double checked as well. The shoutbox is there. just not usable. As I said. Just says "Loading"

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

-R-

Axe_Grinder 06-01-2008 05:14 PM

Anyone?


Thanks :)

Axe_Grinder 06-06-2008 03:02 PM

I give up... Anyone want to make some money?


Thanks :)

m002.p 06-11-2008 05:17 PM

Ive replied to your PM, ill try to help you.

Sorry I didnt notice this earlier.

Matt

Axe_Grinder 06-18-2008 08:50 PM

Thanks Matt,

I've responded to your PM.

Deyth 01-27-2009 12:23 AM

I had a path wrong, it's working well now. Thanks for the hack.

jgruberman 04-12-2009 04:34 PM

I'm still having issues with it saying Loading...

I checked all the instructions and did them all again and still can't find out whats wrong?????

nmilne 05-11-2009 01:03 PM

I've installed on my test server running in the left column and it runs fine in cmps_index as well as in my forumhome vba integrated page. However, whenever I go to another integrated page (like into an individual forum, to faq, memberlist, etc) then it disapears.

Any thoughts/pointers?

evervoid 06-19-2009 01:29 AM

I'm having the same problem, I thought I was so close >_> someone please help, I really hope these requests wont go unnoticed.

piraterevival 09-21-2009 12:14 PM

I tried this, it seemed to work but totally screwed up the look of my front page so had to remove.

Any help would be appreciated

Cheers

DJ29Joesph 01-29-2010 09:12 PM

in the infernoshout.php file, you can edit it, and where it has require once, add

PHP Code:

chdir('/home/spiralg1/public_html/Forums/'); 

before it, except that path should match the path of your Forums, the relative path that is.

This worked great for me...

Should Look like this:

PHP Code:

chdir('/home/spiralg1/public_html/Forums/');
require_once(
'./global.php');
require_once(
DIR '/infernoshout/engine/inferno_engine.php'); 

Now with that file, place it in the public_html or www folder, DONT PLACE IT IN YOUR FORUM FOLDER


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01452 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,847KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (14)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_php_printable
  • (8)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete