vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   New Posting Features - Mark Threads As 'Solved' (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=149214)

Eric 06-07-2007 10:00 PM

Mark Threads As 'Solved'
 
3.7 - 3.8 VERSION RELEASED, HERE

What is this!?
This modification will allow you & your members (based on usergroup permissions) to mark a thread as "Solved". It will add the prefix "[SOLVED]" to the thread title, and if set in the admincp - it will also close the thread.

This mod came about, around a year ago - with this thread. But I never released it... until now. :)

Current Version
1.0.1

Features flagged for future version(s):
  • Thread starter can choose to solve a thread, and input the username of who solved it - that user would recieve rep. points. (admin-configurable amount of rep. points)
  • Given the above - include count of threads a user has solved in postbit & profile
  • Possibly figure out a way to automate everything on install - so there are no template edits.
And anything else that is suggested :)

Will this work on x.x.x ??
Unless otherwise stated, this will work on all 3.6 versions. I've not tested this on 3.5, but not much changed from 3.5 to 3.6 in this hack - so it should work on 3.5 as well.

Sounds cool. How do I install?
  1. Extract the zip, you should have the following directories/files (in the "upload" folder):
    Code:

    /
    |_ solved.php

    /images/
            /buttons/
            |_ marksolved.gif

    /includes/
            /xml/
            |_ bitfield_solvedthread.xml

  2. Upload the files/folders keeping the same structure.
  3. Import the product, product-solvedthread.xml
  4. Make the following template edits:
    SHOWTHREAD

    Find:
    HTML Code:

                    <if condition="$show['addpoll']">
                            <div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" vspace="1" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></div>
                    </if>
            </div>
            <!-- / thread tools -->

    Replace with:
    HTML Code:

                    <if condition="$show['addpoll']">
                            <div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" vspace="1" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></div>
                    </if>
                    <if condition="$show['solvedthread']">
                            <div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]" vspace="1" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]</a></div>
                    <else />
                            <if condition="$show['solvedthread_unsolve']">
                            <div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_markunsolved]" vspace="1" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markunsolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_markunsolved]</a></div>
                    </if>
            </if>
            </div>
            <!-- / thread tools -->

    Find:
    HTML Code:

            <if condition="$show['addpoll']">
            <tr>
                    <td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></td>
            </tr>
            </if>
            <if condition="$show['adminoptions']">

    Replace with:
    HTML Code:

            <if condition="$show['addpoll']">
            <tr>
                    <td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></td>
            </tr>
            </if>
            <if condition="$show['solvedthread']">
            <tr>
                    <td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]</a></td>
            </tr>
                    <else />
                            <if condition="$show['solvedthread_unsolve']">
            <tr>
                    <td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_markunsolved]" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markunsolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_markunsolved]</a></td>
            </tr>
                    </if>
            </if>
            <if condition="$show['adminoptions']">

  5. Set options in AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Solved Threads
  6. Edit Post / Thread Permissions > Can Mark Threads as Solved for each usergroup.

Upgrading
To 1.0.1
  • Re-import the product, product-solvedthreads.xml, with "Allow Overwrite" set to yes
  • Upload and overwrite solved.php
  • Make the following template edits:
    SHOWTHREAD

    Find:
    HTML Code:

            <if condition="$show['solvedthread']">
                    <div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]" vspace="1" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]</a></div>
            </if>

    Replace with:
    HTML Code:

            <if condition="$show['solvedthread']">
                    <div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]" vspace="1" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]</a></div>
            </if>
            <else />
                    <if condition="$show['solvedthread_unsolve']">
                    <div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_markunsolved]" vspace="1" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markunsolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_markunsolved]</a></div>
                    </if>
            </if>

    Find:
    HTML Code:

                    <if condition="$show['solvedthread']">
                    <tr>
                            <td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]</a></td>
                    </tr>
                    </if>

    Replace with:
    HTML Code:

                    <if condition="$show['solvedthread']">
                    <tr>
                            <td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]</a></td>
                    </tr>
                    <else />
                            <if condition="$show['solvedthread_unsolve']">
                    <tr>
                            <td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_markunsolved]" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markunsolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_markunsolved]</a></td>
                    </tr>
                            </if>
            </if>


That's it! Enjoy! :)

Changelog
1.0.1 - July 12, 2007
- Added the ability to unsolve a thread.
- Added the ability to exclude this in certain forums
- Added the ability to change the prefix in that acp

1.0.0 - June 8, 2007
- Initial release.


If you use this modification, please mark as >> INSTALLED <<, TY!

Eric 06-08-2007 09:26 AM

Features flagged for future version(s):
  • Thread starter can choose to solve a thread, and input the username of who solved it - that user would recieve rep. points. (admin-configurable amount of rep. points)
  • Given the above - include count of threads a user has solved in postbit & profile
  • Possibly figure out a way to automate everything on install - so there are no template edits.
And anything else that is suggested :)

BBI-Ross 06-08-2007 09:52 AM

Looks interesting.

Can this be set to only work in certain forum areas?

Cheers

Eric 06-08-2007 10:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BBI-Ross (Post 1263990)
Looks interesting.

Can this be set to only work in certain forum areas?

Cheers

At the moment, no. But I plan to have it on a per-forum basis in a future version. :)

BBI-Ross 06-08-2007 10:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SecondV (Post 1264001)
At the moment, no. But I plan to have it on a per-forum basis in a future version. :)

Cheers for your reply, I think I will hold off for the future version :D

Cheers.

Kihon Kata 06-08-2007 11:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SecondV (Post 1264001)
At the moment, no. But I plan to have it on a per-forum basis in a future version. :)

This is what I need. So I'll wait for that.

TheBlackPoet 06-08-2007 11:49 AM

i installed this.... and it works great... is there a way to unclose a thread for whatever reason??? other than that... i will love this when the time comes to use it..

Installed

Eric 06-08-2007 11:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBlackPoet (Post 1264070)
i installed this.... and it works great... is there a way to unclose a thread for whatever reason??? other than that... i will love this when the time comes to use it..

Installed

You can reopen a thread the normal way - but it will still remain as '[SOLVED'].


I'm making a list of features I'll be adding to future versions, any and all suggestions are welcome.
:)

JD45 06-08-2007 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SecondV (Post 1263973)
reserved

I'd like this option as well

Mecho 06-08-2007 05:00 PM

yea i need this too .. thanks for release but i'm waiting for ur next version too . also that would be great if u can make Installation easier :D

Barteken 06-08-2007 06:17 PM

is it possible that the author of the thread can mark the thread as solved (for a support forum etc.)
so not only mods . and if possible that the autor can select one of the users who replied (actually solved the problem) and then sign the thread as solved. The member(s) who solved the problem then get extra reputation

ymy 06-08-2007 08:31 PM

very good and great work

mark as INSTALL

.

rjmjr69 06-09-2007 12:03 AM

Awesome love it. Will wait for new features though. Thanks keep up the good work.

Eric 06-09-2007 12:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Barteken (Post 1264292)
is it possible that the author of the thread can mark the thread as solved (for a support forum etc.)
so not only mods . and if possible that the autor can select one of the users who replied (actually solved the problem) and then sign the thread as solved. The member(s) who solved the problem then get extra reputation

Yes, the thread starter can mark their thread as solved, as long as you set the correct usergroup permissions.

As for
Quote:

and if possible that the autor can select one of the users who replied (actually solved the problem) and then sign the thread as solved. The member(s) who solved the problem then get extra reputation
That's a good idea. Yet another feature going on my list for another version ;)

--

Thanks all :) I'll try to have a new version out soon.

MoMan 06-09-2007 12:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BBI-Ross (Post 1264004)
Cheers for your reply, I think I will hold off for the future version :D

Cheers.

Yup. As soon as per-forum permissions are a feature, I'm installing this! This is exactly what I've been looking for!

Eric 06-09-2007 12:43 AM

I've added a list of current planned features in the first post, and the hack details. I'll continue to add to them as I come up with ideas, and as I get your suggestions :)

4x4 Mecca 06-09-2007 01:53 AM

All of the options on the 2nd post would make me love it even more. How about an installer so we don't have to make the template edits, and when/if we every wanted to remove it, we wouldn't have to re edit the templates?

Any idea when the next release will be out? I know this is brand new, so I'll wait. I'm holding off on installing it until then.

Oh, and a reason to mark something un solved would be on auto forums.. problems that appear solved, but then come right back a day or 2 later.

4x4 Mecca 06-09-2007 03:12 AM

I would also like the option to use html in the solved text. So I could so something like this
HTML Code:

<font color='green'>Solved: </font>

FreshFroot 06-09-2007 05:11 AM

nice stuff.. but I need it for a specific forum id etc.. hopefully that will be in the next update. Great stuff :)

Hornstar 06-09-2007 07:27 AM

i like the list of future features. keep it up! nice work.

Eric 06-09-2007 12:07 PM

Thanks everyone :) Glad people like it.

And thanks for the suggestions 4x4 Mecca, I'm not too sure but allowing HTML, but we'll see.

--
As for a release date on the next version, can't give an exact date. I have many projects going (many of those which are higher up on my priority list) but it shouldn't be too long :)

Monyet 06-09-2007 05:39 PM

Thank you! really useful :)

Eric 06-11-2007 08:34 AM

No problem :) - Any other ideas/suggestions? I'm going to start on the next version toward the end of this week. ;)

fox3nova 06-11-2007 09:08 AM

Would you mind take a consideration about conbining Thread Prefixes that not change the title to [solved].
Instead by change the Thread Prefixes may more useful~

Sofia 06-11-2007 12:06 PM

Thanks a lot for your hack :)

Greek Wizard 06-12-2007 02:52 AM

I will also wait for it to be per forum also, as I would love to use this with the Support Forum hack found here:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=129737

DeiseHost 06-12-2007 02:43 PM

Excellent Mod.

4x4 Mecca 06-12-2007 04:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fox3nova (Post 1266094)
Would you mind take a consideration about conbining Thread Prefixes that not change the title to [solved].
Instead by change the Thread Prefixes may more useful~

I wouldn't want the thread prefix changed, because I use them to classify what the thread is about, for example, engine trouble, transmission trouble, and if a user searches for all transmission trouble threads, and some were changed to solved, they wouldn't find them in the search results.

fox3nova 06-12-2007 08:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4x4 Mecca (Post 1267007)
for example, engine trouble, transmission trouble, and if a user searches for all transmission trouble threads, and some were changed to solved, they wouldn't find them in the search results.

OH~ I see, your comment is very useful to me to change my mind.
I think you are right, thank you:)

Ophelia 06-13-2007 12:31 AM

I installed this, it shows up in the thread tools, however, when I click on the "mark as solved" it goes to a blank page.

http://www.mysite.com/forum/solved.p...arksolved&t=10

The page is titled as New Page 1

I check and nothing has been remarked. Any idea what I did wrong?

Eric 06-13-2007 02:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ophelia (Post 1267280)
I installed this, it shows up in the thread tools, however, when I click on the "mark as solved" it goes to a blank page.

http://www.mysite.com/forum/solved.p...arksolved&t=10

The page is titled as New Page 1

I check and nothing has been remarked. Any idea what I did wrong?

What vBulletin version are you using? Did you complete all the install steps?

MSheraz86 06-13-2007 04:16 PM

Handy mod!

Thanks

Clicked Installed :)

bc3tech 06-13-2007 07:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SecondV (Post 1264001)
At the moment, no. But I plan to have it on a per-forum basis in a future version. :)

looking forward to this! *installed

Ophelia 06-14-2007 01:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SecondV (Post 1267339)
What vBulletin version are you using? Did you complete all the install steps?

I am running 3.6.7 PL

I did do all the steps..


Took care of SHOWTHREAD

Code:

                <if condition="$show['addpoll']">
                        <div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" vspace="1" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></div>

                </if>
                <if condition="$show['solvedthread']">
                        <div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]" vspace="1" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]</a></div>

                </if>
        </div>
        <!-- / thread tools -->

and

Code:

        <if condition="$show['addpoll']">
        <tr>

                <td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></td>

        </tr>
        </if>
        <if condition="$show['solvedthread']">
        <tr>
                <td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]</a></td>

        </tr>
        </if>
        <if condition="$show['adminoptions']">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/09...009/aaa_01.jpg
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/

See anything I missed?

Fungsten 06-14-2007 08:09 PM

Groovy.

fox3nova 06-15-2007 07:44 AM

Can you let the Solved function work only in specific forum ID

Eric 06-16-2007 03:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fox3nova (Post 1268877)
Can you let the Solved function work only in specific forum ID

Not yet. But it'll be possible in the next version.

Eric 06-16-2007 03:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ophelia (Post 1268110)
I am running 3.6.7 PL

I did do all the steps..


Took care of SHOWTHREAD

Code:

                <if condition="$show['addpoll']">
                        <div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" vspace="1" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></div>

                </if>
                <if condition="$show['solvedthread']">
                        <div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]" vspace="1" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]</a></div>

                </if>
        </div>
        <!-- / thread tools -->

and

Code:

        <if condition="$show['addpoll']">
        <tr>

                <td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></td>

        </tr>
        </if>
        <if condition="$show['solvedthread']">
        <tr>
                <td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]</a></td>

        </tr>
        </if>
        <if condition="$show['adminoptions']">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/09...009/aaa_01.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/09...009/aaa_02.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/09...009/aaa_03.jpg

See anything I missed?

Looks like you have everything, not sure what could be causing the blank page atm - you're the only one who has this problem afaik.

4x4 Mecca 06-19-2007 07:05 PM

I still check this thread daily for the updates. I hope you haven't forgotten about them :) I would love to be able to use the extra options. Thanks SecondV!

Eric 06-20-2007 11:01 PM

I've not forgotten, just a tad busy is all - there will be updates though.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03560 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,893KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_code_printable
  • (9)bbcode_html_printable
  • (15)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete