vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=192)
-   -   Forum Home Enhancements - Adsense Link Unit in Navbar (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=146581)

StarBuG 05-05-2007 10:00 PM

Adsense Link Unit in Navbar
 
I made this template mod for my medical Forum and I decided to share this with you.
This is a very efficient placement for an adsense link unit, maybe the most efficient one for a vBulletin forum

What this hack does:
This modification displays the adsense Link Unit below the forum navigation so that it looks like a second row of navigation options.

See screenshots

I have this code running for nearly a year now on my forum and google said it was ok. But to make sure you should contact google and ask them if it complies with their ToS
NO WARRANTIES ;)

How to install:

In template navbar search:
Code:

<!-- / nav buttons bar -->
and add ABOVE:
Code:

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px">
<tr align="center">
  <td class="vbmenu_control">
    <!-- Adsense Link Unit Code 725x15 - 5 Ads -->
    <script type="text/javascript"><!--
    google_ad_client = "YOUR PUB ID HERE";
    google_ad_width = 728;
    google_ad_height = 15;
    google_ad_format = "728x15_0ads_al_s";
    google_color_border = "738FBF";
    google_color_bg = "738FBF";
    google_color_link = "ffffff";
    google_color_text = "000000";
    google_color_url = "000000";
    //-->
    </script>
    <script type="text/javascript"
      src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
    </script>
    <!-- Adsense Link Unit Code 725x15 - 5 Ads -->
  </td>
  </tr>
    </table>

You now just need to customize the adsense code marked with:
<!-- Adsense Link Unit Code 725x15 - 5 Ads -->

replace "YOUR PUB ID HERE" with your pub-ID
and fit the colors of adsense to your color scheme

Demo: www.elternfragen.net

I hope you like it.

For another good adsense placement check out my mod:

Adsense as second post. 2 Sizes - Big for guests, small for members

Please click install if you use this mod.


I also would like some feedback about how it is working out for you ;)


Changelog:
v1.00 - 2007/07/22: NO CHANGES, just removed my Pub-ID from the hack!


StarBuG

If you did not register for an Adsense account yet but you plan to, feel free to contact me. If you register via my referral I am willing to help you get the most out of your adsense placement by assisting you during the setup process and implementing the best adsense modifications. Just write me a Private message.

croportal 05-07-2007 06:41 PM

is this against google tos ?

StarBuG 05-07-2007 07:05 PM

People who can read clearly have an advantage ;)

Quote:

I have this code running for nearly a year now on my forum and google said it was ok. But to make sure you should contact google and ask them if it complies with their ToS
NO WARRANTIES ;)

StarBuG 05-08-2007 05:40 PM

Let me know if it works out for you.

The money part and googles response ;)

seangworld 05-21-2007 07:06 AM

this doesnt work. uninstalled.

StarBuG 05-21-2007 02:29 PM

What does not work?
The code does work, if it didn't on your site then you did something wrong ;)

Big_J 05-22-2007 03:41 PM

Nice mod, works well on my board.

Thanks

bongwater 06-03-2007 03:47 PM

excellent, this code has many different uses and can be inserted almost anywhere where you want in the forums

StarBuG 07-06-2007 02:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bongwater (Post 1260399)
excellent, this code has many different uses and can be inserted almost anywhere where you want in the forums

That is the basic of html templates and adsense.

However other placements won't be that effective as this one ;)

iamspookysdaddy 07-15-2007 06:19 PM

Nice Mod

Is there a way to help the adsense better reflect the content of the site.
One of my sites the eyesbehind.com is about conspiracies and that kind of content but the adsense is showing content for eye products and things like that.

Thanks :erm:

Nevermind I was impatient, I am now reflecting Aliens and all that good stuff.
Thanx:rolleyes:

StarBuG 07-16-2007 03:44 PM

the domain eyesbehind.com is a parking site which only takes the domain name into account.
Normaly you can define keywords in your parking setup to better reflect the type of site you want to run on the parked domain.

Serkan Yılmaz 07-18-2007 08:27 PM

Thank You

StarBuG 08-27-2007 05:19 AM

You're welcome

Please don't forget to click Mark as Installed

BaHyXuH 09-27-2007 06:40 AM

This is perfect.Installed

seangworld 10-01-2007 07:22 AM

well it doesnt work for my site, no matter what i do with it.

seangworld 10-05-2007 01:23 AM

i'd like to retract my statements. i finally got an email from google stating that my ads dont show up because my account was apparently suspended because i had a google-clone lol.

my account has been reinstated and so i will try this hack again. im sure it will actually work for me now...

im sorry.

seangworld 10-05-2007 01:24 AM

actually, i already have this hack installed and that's how i knew my account was reinstated lol. god i need sleep...

cache 10-06-2007 05:45 PM

When I tried to search the </div> and <!-- / nav buttons bar -->, I only found the <!-- / nav buttons bar -->, I don't see </div> though (see below).

I tried to insert the code above the <!-- / nav buttons bar --> but below </table>, the google
ad does not show. Am I doing anything wrong?

<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px">
<tr align="center">
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="usercp.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[user_cp]</a></td>
</if>
<if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="register.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[register]</a></td>
</if>
$template_hook[navbar_buttons_left]
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="faq.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="5">$vbphrase[faq]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="memberlist.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[members_list]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="calendar.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[calendar]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="arcade.php?$session[sessionurl_q]">Arcade</a></td>
<if condition="$show['popups']">
<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
<else />
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
</if>
<td id="navbar_search" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[search]</a> <if condition="$show['quicksearch']"><script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("navbar_search"); </script></if></td>
</if>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td id="usercptools" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#usercptools" accesskey="3">$vbphrase[quick_links]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("usercptools"); </script></td>
</if>
<else />
<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4">$vbphrase[search]</a></td>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
<else />
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
</if>
</if>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&amp;focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=n o,menubar=no,toolbar=no,scroll bars=yes,resizable=yes,width=250,height=300'); return false;">$vbphrase[open_buddy_list]</a></td>
</if>
</if>
$template_hook[navbar_buttons_right]
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&amp;logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]" onclick="return log_out('$vbphrase[sure_you_want_to_log_out]')">$vbphrase[log_out]</a></td>
</if>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- / nav buttons bar -->

StarBuG 10-07-2007 09:56 AM

just add it below the last </table> and before <!-- / nav buttons bar -->

the DIV was from an older template version which I forgot to remove.

StarBuG

Gord 10-25-2007 01:56 PM

Very tasty. Thanks!

momo2 10-26-2007 01:22 PM

I'm confused about something maybe someone can help me out, we are allowed 3 ads per page right ? well when this is added by the way great codes, now this will go to every pages when members are browsing and i got more adds there so when this follows it will bring it to 4 but in the main forum I'm 3 as it should be.. any advice to how to avoid the TOS

Same with the inside posts, when does the count starts ? so we got one on the nav one below nav and on my forum one on the footer which no matter where u go those will go with u.. Footer / Nav so do these 2 count for pages or since they are solid they dont count ??????

you see in the forum we have so many pages, but same headers and same footer and this is what makes the 3 ads per page confusing...

StarBuG 10-27-2007 02:21 AM

You are allowed to have:
3 banner ads
3 link units
and unlimited referrals per page

hipgirl 11-03-2007 11:31 PM

Thanks a lot. Marked installed.

I do have a question. Please see attached screen shot. There is a blue line between navbar menu and google ads (where the arrow points). Could you help me remove it?

I used the 4 ads unit instead of 5 because the font size are the same as menu. I have to change the google ad width from 728 to 770 so the 4 ad unit will spread evenly (1 under 'new post' and 1 under 'quick links'.

Thanks again.

Michelle
www.hipgirlclips.com/forums

StarBuG 11-04-2007 09:39 AM

You can't change the google ad width, that is not allowed!
They have a fixed width

hipgirl 11-05-2007 03:44 AM

Thank you. I changed the width back.

In your snap shot, there is no line between nav bar menu and the adsend link unit. But I have a blue line. I'm not sure how to remove it. Could you help?

Thanks a lot.

Michelle

StarBuG 11-06-2007 04:05 PM

I think that this is defined by the border color you set in your style.
I have the exact same code implemented into my forum.

StarBuG

csavern 11-12-2007 12:51 PM

When i put this code in for some reason it centers the everything on the forum
i cant have everything centered is there away to change this

StarBuG 11-12-2007 01:47 PM

You probably forgot to close my table.
Check the code again you entered.

Or you removed a </div>

If everything fails, restore the template to its original and try it again.

AmbitiousOne 12-15-2007 08:47 AM

This is where I put mine.

http://2kfreak.com/forums/index.php

I dont' see why I would need to contact google of TOS. This is clearly a "read" issue. If the use his/her eyes, no reason to get punished for wrongful clicking.

ivanstanchev 03-22-2008 08:19 PM

Is this safe ?

montsa007 07-04-2008 06:38 AM

Excellent mod, this is sure to increase your adsense by leaps and ounds.
*Installed*


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01468 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,808KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (31)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete