vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Miscellaneous Hacks - ajaxReg - Ajax Registration, with instant field checking (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=144869)

Coders Shack 04-13-2007 10:00 PM

ajaxReg - Ajax Registration, with instant field checking
 
1 Attachment(s)
[hr]value[/hr]
. . . . . . . . Brought to you by
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/
. . . http://www.Scriptasy.com
[hr]value[/hr]

Live Demo: ajaxReg 4.0.0

Installation Time: < 2 mins
Files: 3
Product: 1
VB Version: 3.X.X
  • v3.0.1
    • fixed the apostrophe issue
  • v3.0.2
    • added banned username check
    • fixed image url
  • v3.0.3
    • fixed banned username check for people that don't have banned phrases
  • v3.0.4
    • fixed the apostrophe issue for real instead of just not letting it be used
    • uses your username min character settings
    • uses your regex for usernames if set in the registration settings
    • (fixed for forums that have unregistered users set to cant view forum, look below for more info, its red.)
  • v3.0.5
    • fixed minor issue
    • added vbsettings option
  • v3.0.6
    • fixed slashes error
  • v3.0.7
    • fixed email match
    • added email in use check
  • v3.0.8
    • added password strength meter *requested
  • v3.0.9
  • v3.1.0
    • fixed ajax vulnerabilities *
    • added captcha check, thats right :D
  • v3.1.1
    • added captcha check to all captcha fields.
Description:
This hack uses AJAX to check if the user name is taken and also displays errors and reasons why the user messed up on the registration form. Look at attached example picture.

Installation Instructions:
(If you don't have the unregistered usergroup set to Can View Forum = YES then you will have to follow the normal steps then apply this fix: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....&postcount=136)

1) Import the Product (make sure you have an original register template, or use the [manual edits])
2) Upload the images and javascript
3) Also Add these to your Additional CSS Definitions for your style:
Code:

.inputgood {
    width: 211px;
    border: 1px solid Green;
}
.inputbad {
    width: 211px;
    border: 1px solid Red;
}

If you like then [Mark As Installed]

MathewC 04-14-2007 07:44 PM

thanks. was looking for this. :]

Coders Shack 04-14-2007 07:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DeadGeek (Post 1227724)
thanks. was looking for this. :]

this is updated version. no template edits and fully phrased.

subzero06 04-14-2007 08:31 PM

wasn't this released already?
Did u fixed the apostrophe problem?

Coders Shack 04-14-2007 08:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by subzero06 (Post 1227766)
wasn't this released already?
Did u fixed the apostrophe problem?

yes by chad, but he let me take it over. And he was unable to fix the apostrophe issue.

Ill see what i can do tho.

Coders Shack 04-14-2007 08:49 PM

ok fixed the apostrophe issue. Just re-upload the files and re-install the product.

anywares 04-14-2007 08:51 PM

awesome! clicks install

Red Spider 04-14-2007 08:55 PM

Awsome - thanky yoo :D

Lizard King 04-14-2007 09:05 PM

Some international characters work and some don't. Can there be a solution for this ?
ü , ö , ç is working however ğ , ı , ş isn't working

Coders Shack 04-14-2007 09:13 PM

What character set are the ones that are not working from?

and is your template set to use that character set.

Hornstar 04-14-2007 09:28 PM

hey so this one checks if it is a valid email address? what things will it look for in that aspect.

Thanks.

Lizard King 04-14-2007 09:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coders Shack (Post 1227800)
What character set are the ones that are not working from?

and is your template set to use that character set.

my encoding is Iso-8859-9

Working characters are : ? , ? , ?

Not working ones are : ğ , ı , ş

Thanks for even trying to fix

Coders Shack 04-14-2007 09:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lizard King (Post 1227819)
my encoding is Iso-8859-9

Working characters are : ? , ? , ?

Not working ones are : ğ , ı , ş

Thanks for even trying to fix

man i cant get it to work.

GilraenVardamir 04-14-2007 10:15 PM

Cyrillic isn't working :(

FreshFroot 04-14-2007 10:20 PM

Nice stuff, btw.. NOT many people use those types of charcters.. or atleast at my forums. So as long as it works for the basical alphabetical characters.. it's good enough for me.

Thanks.

Coders Shack 04-14-2007 10:23 PM

im just not sure how to make it use those character sets.

Like the issue is that the character is being passed through javascript.

subzero06 04-14-2007 10:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coders Shack (Post 1227777)
ok fixed the apostrophe issue. Just re-upload the files and re-install the product.

Very nice!
Thank you

subzero06 04-14-2007 11:01 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Here,
The Spanish version.:up:

hcmagix 04-14-2007 11:39 PM

Hey :)
german vb users have a same hack since oct 2006 :)
You can find it here

@Coders Shack should I translate your hack as alternate?

Mr Chad 04-14-2007 11:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hcmagix (Post 1227917)
Hey :)
german vb users have a same hack since oct 2006 :)
You can find it here

@Coders Shack should I translate your hack as alternate?

I actually have translations already but am not sure how to export it as multi languages.

Spanish, German, Turkish, French...

Skavenger 04-15-2007 12:13 AM

You should use '$stylevar[imgdir_misc]' instead of '/images/misc' in the register.js file

Coders Shack 04-15-2007 12:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr Chad (Post 1227923)
I actually have translations already but am not sure how to export it as multi languages.

Spanish, German, Turkish, French...

I'm not sure either on that.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Skavenger (Post 1227936)
You should use '$stylevar[imgdir_misc]' instead of '/images/misc' in the register.js file

fixed.

stwilson 04-15-2007 05:13 AM

Mine is working but the images are not found. Here is where it is looking:

http://website.com/forums/$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/bad.gif

I followed the instructions. Any suggestions?

thincom2000 04-15-2007 05:13 AM

Does anyone know how to make this work for NoSpam! and for CAPTCHA?

Coders Shack 04-15-2007 05:15 AM

it works with capatcha. dunno what NoSpam is tho.

thincom2000 04-15-2007 05:29 AM

:confused: I don't see any CAPTCHA phrases or plugin mentions in the product, nor do I see anywhere where the AJAX checks to see if the CAPTCHA was entered correctly.

What do I have to do to make it start doing this?

Mr Chad 04-15-2007 06:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thincom2000 (Post 1228069)
:confused: I don't see any CAPTCHA phrases or plugin mentions in the product, nor do I see anywhere where the AJAX checks to see if the CAPTCHA was entered correctly.

What do I have to do to make it start doing this?

... theres two plugins and like 20 phrases ...

there is no need for captcha phrases or plugin mentions... It uses the normal system. And it doesn't use ajax for the captcha... But the captcha is still functional. This just uses the Username, email, password fields.

please refer to the screen shot.

Asterik 04-15-2007 06:37 AM

I'm having the exact same problem. Any suggestions?

Mr Chad 04-15-2007 07:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Asterik (Post 1228099)
I'm having the exact same problem. Any suggestions?

screen shot, demo, anything?

dbirosel 04-15-2007 07:22 AM

Can we also have this integrated with it?

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=124828

thincom2000 04-15-2007 07:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr Chad (Post 1228093)
And it doesn't use ajax for the captcha... But the captcha is still functional. This just uses the Username, email, password fields.

Well that brings us to my original question: Has anyone been able to modify this to use ajax for the captcha (and nospam)?

Wulfnoth 04-15-2007 08:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stwilson (Post 1228056)
Mine is working but the images are not found. Here is where it is looking:

http://website.com/forums/$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/bad.gif

I followed the instructions. Any suggestions?

I have the same problem. Is there any solution for it?

Replicators 04-15-2007 09:00 AM

I want to give a big thank you for this, i was looking for this hack not long ago, and for the life of me, couldn't find it, thx to chad for letting you handle it, and thanks to you for releasing it again.

(Installed)

EDIT: The above posters are right, there are no images showing, let me look into the code and see if i can fix it.

rayw 04-15-2007 09:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wulfnoth (Post 1228146)
I have the same problem. Is there any solution for it?

I had this same problem. I'm not sure if it's something to do with my forums being hosted in a sub-domain (which a lot of forums are), but I opened up the register.js file and changed $stylevar[imgdir_misc] with images/misc/. This fixed the problem for me.

I also noticed that it comes up with Unregistered as the username when the registration page is first displayed. Anyone else seeing this as well?

aceofspades 04-15-2007 09:45 AM

I have a problem, not only does it not check it inline, i have to click on the next tab for it to check it, but also its looking for my images here:

http://www.myforum.com/dev/$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/good.gif

Whats up with that?

rayw 04-15-2007 09:54 AM

In my AdminCP, I have listed as an Illegal Username administrator. However, when I type this in when registering, it says administrator is available. I think this mod needs to query these illegal usernames as well as the user database.

Great mod, lots of potential, but there a few little things that need to be fixed before I go using it on a my production forum.

Floris 04-15-2007 10:56 AM

/$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/bad.gif
To fix this, simply update the register.js file and hard code it in.

That said, feature request.
Could it also check if the username entered in the form is "allowed"?
There are names like root or admin or others.. on the cencor or ban list.

JD45 04-15-2007 04:03 PM

nice and easy install, works perfect! Thanks!

Dead End Society 04-15-2007 04:03 PM

That fix too care of it, my images are now showing, but when testing, it says that taken names are available.

I'm about to uninstall till they get this right. Just too buggy in both versions.

Coders Shack 04-15-2007 04:30 PM

well theses errors i cant reproduce as for the image one... someone in this thread told me to update the js and change the path.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01931 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,829KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (13)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete