vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   Administrative and Maintenance Tools - Add Search Engine Optimized Keywords & Description to each Forum (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=128920)

Neutral Singh 10-11-2006 10:00 PM

Add Search Engine Optimized Keywords & Description to each Forum
 
Add Search Engine Optimized Keywords & Description to each Forum
Keywords: SEO, Search, Engine, Optimization, Meta-tag, Keywords, Description, Meta, Tags

Context:
This plugin gives you the facility to add some special keywords and descriptions to each forum thus allowing you to optimize each of your forum for its relevant keywords. No need to inform you that Search Engine Optimized (SEO) keywords and description for your forums is essential to enhance your presence in search engines as well as increase your web traffic for relevant keywords.

How this Works?
http://www.sikhphilosophy.net (View the source of each forum to realise the effect of this plugin on your forums.)

Recommended Usage:
Only Text based information should be added in keywords and description for maximum results.


Code:


*** Installation Instructions: (Also attached here)
*** -------------------------

1.    Installing the Plugin:

      Admincp > Plugin System > Manage Products
    Click: Import Product
      Browse: Your computer for downloaded file "product-forum_seo.xml"
    After selecting the file, click Import button.

**********************************************************************
2.    Only Template Edit: headinclude


    i)    Edit - headinclude Template:
        **********************************************************************

        Find:
        <meta name="keywords" content="$threadinfo[title], $vboptions[keywords]" />
        <meta name="description" content="<if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$threadinfo[title] $foruminfo[title_clean]" />

        Replace With:
        <meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[forumkeywords],$threadinfo[title],$vboptions[keywords]" />
        <meta name="description" content="$foruminfo[forumdescription]. <if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$threadinfo[title] $foruminfo[title_clean]" />
       
        **********************************************************************

        Find:
            <meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[title_clean], $vboptions[keywords]" />
        <meta name="description" content="<if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$foruminfo[description_clean]" />

        Replace With:
        <meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[forumkeywords],$threadinfo[title],$vboptions[keywords]" />
        <meta name="description" content="$foruminfo[forumdescription]. <if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$foruminfo[description_clean]" />

And you are done with modification !!

Now, simply Go to > Forum Manager > Edit a forum > Towards the bottom you will find the fields to enter your relevant keywords and description. You can play with the template modification to suit your needs.

Enjoy !!

If you installed this plugin, please click INSTALL for future support. :devious:

Thanks

soletrader 10-12-2006 03:35 PM

screenshots?

Also whats the best way to add keywords: abc,def,ghi or abc, def, ghi ?

Also can be be the same as the keywords in the general options?

redlabour 10-12-2006 03:37 PM

Does it ignore the vboptions keywords in Forums where are Keywords set with your Plugin ?

Otherwise there will be to much Keywords at all.

I can not see a "if" Rule in your complete Code.

Snake 10-12-2006 04:12 PM

Oh my god. That was quick. Thank you very much for porting this over to 3.6! :)

Neutral Singh 10-12-2006 04:19 PM

You can always play with things to suit your purpose. play!! ;)

bollie 10-12-2006 04:44 PM

Forum Keywords or blablabla ?
Good for google or not ?

Screenshots

MadKad 10-12-2006 06:17 PM

can I ask?

so if you have a good thread made on your forum you can go and give it its own keywords?

if this is the case, if you dont give them keywords do they stay standerd?

also sorry last one, do the members get access to adding keywords?

Quarterbore 10-12-2006 07:15 PM

I know I need to just try this but what happens with custom pages (say photoserver, classifieds, etc)? Does it still use the default?

ronoxQ 10-14-2006 01:18 PM

How does this stack up to the Zoints SEO keywords? Just curious.

Neutral Singh 10-16-2006 01:32 AM

I am using vBSEO no idea about ZOINT SEO. :)

MadKad 10-16-2006 09:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Neutral Singh
I am using vBSEO no idea about ZOINT SEO. :)

Please could you answer this, then I can download :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by MadKad
can I ask?

so if you have a good thread made on your forum you can go and give it its own keywords?

if this is the case, if you dont give them keywords do they stay standerd?

also sorry last one, do the members get access to adding keywords?

Thanks

Gerakus 10-17-2006 06:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Neutral Singh
I am using vBSEO no idea about ZOINT SEO. :)

Does this hack works nice with vbseo?

Snake 10-17-2006 09:21 PM

Oh yes, I'm running it just great on my forums (I have even vBSEO installed too). :)

mac27 12-13-2006 06:21 PM

any idea why when I use this it adds the main forum keywords to the ones I input per forum. Also it adds an extra comma at the end of the keywords I input. So when it adds the forums keywords it also adds the extra comma.

Example: word, word, word,, word, word

Roverturbo 12-15-2006 07:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mac27 (Post 1137949)
any idea why when I use this it adds the main forum keywords to the ones I input per forum. Also it adds an extra comma at the end of the keywords I input. So when it adds the forums keywords it also adds the extra comma.

Example: word, word, word,, word, word

I had the same problem and it was because the second lot of code he tells you to add in the template is wrong.

Code:

<meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[forumkeywords],$threadinfo[title],$vboptions[keywords]" />
<meta name="description" content="$foruminfo[forumdescription]. <if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$foruminfo[description_clean]" />

->

Code:

<meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[forumkeywords],$foruminfo[title],$vboptions[keywords]" />
<meta name="description" content="$foruminfo[forumdescription]. <if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$foruminfo[description_clean]" />

Hes was trying to display thread title when hes not in a thread.

mac27 12-15-2006 04:27 PM

thanks for pointing that out. I didn't even notice that.

Alfa1 12-18-2006 08:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mac27 (Post 1137949)
any idea why when I use this it adds the main forum keywords to the ones I input per forum.

Is there a way to get around this?

Hornstar 12-22-2006 06:04 AM

I have vbseo installed as well, does vbseo do this currently or not, have not got around to checking all its features out.

X-Rated 01-05-2007 06:47 PM

Good job..Thanks

Chadi 02-11-2007 05:56 PM

What is the proper way of inserting the keywords? One word per line or separated by space, commas? If per line, I guess it would be one word only per line, no phrases?

Snake 02-12-2007 09:50 AM

No, you just have to use commas for the keywords. For example "vBulletin, vBulletin Hacks, vBulletin Mods, vBulletin Skins" and so on.

Amey 08-05-2007 04:02 AM

Does this also create SEO friendly URL's, for example http://www.forum.com/SEO-friendly-fo...dly-thread.htm ???

If not, which mod am I looking for in addition to this? Thanks for the assist.

Alfa1 08-05-2007 11:03 AM

this does not create content relevant URL's. You need either vbrewrite, vbSEO or NuSEO for that.

Ohiosweetheart 08-05-2007 01:18 PM

Does this work ok with 3.6.8?

joeychgo 08-05-2007 01:46 PM

This just adds descripton and keywords to the forumdisplay, or to the threads also?

jmw 09-03-2007 07:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ohiosweetheart (Post 1310365)
Does this work ok with 3.6.8?


Edited: posted in wrong thread.


I have the same question. Does this hack work with 3.6.8 or not?

ahmednadir 11-11-2007 11:53 AM

great hack mate!

~installed~

Snake 01-18-2008 08:06 PM

It's working fine on mine so the answer is yes.

Amenadiel 02-18-2008 02:15 AM

it does work fine on my 3.6.8 PL2, and yes, each forum keywords spread to every thread under it.

I'd like to find out, however, how to avoid adding default keywords when a forum has its own set.

EDIT: spoke too soon. I used this on my headinclude template:

Code:

<if condition="!empty($foruminfo[forumkeywords])">
<meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[forumkeywords],$threadinfo[title]" />
<else />
<meta name="keywords" content="$threadinfo[title], $vboptions[keywords]" />
</if>

and

Code:

<if condition="!empty($foruminfo[forumkeywords])">
<meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[forumkeywords],$foruminfo[title_clean]" />
<else />
<meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[title_clean], $vboptions[keywords]" />
</if>



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01208 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,801KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_code_printable
  • (6)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (29)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete