![]() |
CFM: Google AdSense for Search Integration
Title: "CFM: Google Search Results"
------------------------------------------------- Author: Sal Bezos (webmaster@carforummisfits.com) Date of Creation: September 3, 2006 Version: 1.0 (9/30/2006) Home: http://www.carforummisfits.com/ ------------------------------------------------- Purpose: -------- This product for vBulletin creates a target page for providing Google Search Results within your vBulletin forums. The Google Search Results (AdSense for Search) will appear in a vBulletin page. Unlike the previous revision of this product, you will now be able to enter code for a Google Search Box for placement in the Search drop-down menu (or anywhere else you would like to place it). Please make sure that your search box code includes a <form> tag that states something along the lines of action="http://<yourhostname>/forums/cfmgoogle.php". Tested: ------- This product has been tested on a vBulletin 3.6.1 installation. There is no reason why it should not work in the same manner on any 3.6.x or 3.5.x installation, but it has not and will not be tested by the author. Included Files: --------------- - README.txt - cfm-live-demo.png (screenshot) - cfmgoogle.php - product-cfm_google_search_results.xml Installation: ------------- 1. Upload the cfmgoogle.php file to your forum root, usually located at http://<yourhostname>/forums. 2. Register for a Google AdSense for Search account. ----a. Register for a Google AdSense account if you don't have one. ----b. Visit "http://www.google.com/adsense/". ----c. Login with your e-mail and password. ----d. Click on the "AdSense Setup" tab. ----e. Select "AdSense for Search". ----f. Configure your search box. --------f1. Select either "Google WebSearch" or "Google WebSearch + SiteSearch" depending on whether you want users to be able to Google search your site or not. If you select "Google WebSearch + SiteSearch", enter the URL of sites you wish to be able to search. --------f2. For Logo Type, I recomment selecting "Google Logo" and checking the "Logo above text box" option. --------f3. For "Opening of search results page" select "Open results within my own site." Enter the URL of your cfmgoogle.php file (e.g. http://<yourhostname>/forums/cfmgoogle.php) --------f4. Click "Continue >>". ----g. Configure the appearance of the results page, then click "Continue >>" ----h. You should now receive two sets of code from Google labeled "Your search box code" and "Your search results code". 3. In your forum's admin panel, go to Plugins & Products/Manage Products 4. Click on Add/Import Product 5. Click "Browse..." and select the "product-cfm_google_search_results.xml" product file. If this is your first installation of this product, select the "No" radio button in the "Allow Overwrite" option. If you are upgrading or reinstalling, select the "Yes" radio button. Click the "Import" button. 6. Go to vBulletin Options/vBulletin Options. Scroll through the list and select "CFM: Google Search Results". 7. In the "Google Search Box Code" option, paste the code provided by Google titled "Your search box code". 7. In the "Google Search Results Code" option, paste the code provided by Google titled "Your search results code". 8. In Styles & Templates/Style Manager go into Edit Templates for your style. Open the "Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates" template group and open the "navbar" template. 9. Find the following: Code:
<form action="search.php?do=process" method="post"> Code:
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0"> Code:
</table> Code:
</form> 11. Enjoy! FAQ: ---- Q. My search results window is too tall. What's wrong with it? A. This appears to be a bug in the Google Search Results code. If my assumption is incorrect, please let me know. Q. Why are the colors all wonky on my search results? A. The colors of the search results are provided by the search box. Make sure the colors in the search box code are correct. Q. The background color of the Google search box doesn't match my page -- what can I do about it? A. If Google's TOS allows it, play around with the settings in the code you pasted in the "Your search box code" option. Revisions: ---------- 1.0 - 09/30/2006 - Adding instructions and support for the Google search box in the search drop-down menu 0.1 - 09/03/2006 - Initial release Support: -------- Any questions and problems should be reported to the modification's thread on http://www.vbulletin.org. No warranty, express or implied, is granted with this software. Use is at your own risk. License: -------- GNU GENERAL PUBLIC LICENSE Version 2, June 1991 |
Revision 1.0 of this product supports installation of the search box. The VB-savvy among you will quickly realize you can just take the $vboptions[cfmgsr_googlesearch] variable and place it wherever you like. The search drop-down menu integration is just an example.
-- Upgrading from 0.1 to 1.0: Just install the new product -- php file is identical to the old one. |
hows this different from the one that is already made just like this ?
|
Quote:
What's the link to the other plugin? |
This is different from any of:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=103222 https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=116013 or https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=104832 because this integrates the RESULTS page into the forum. You will need to use a hack like one of the aforementioned in order to create an integrated search box that will link to the integrated page in this hack. |
Thanks, looks interesting.
|
Just tried it on your site. I like it. Will be installing once I get home, Im currently at work and "working". hehe
|
Quote:
|
Great add-on. Also, I was able to do it, but you may want to include directions about how to install the search form on the three floating DIV search boxes.
|
*clicks install*
works great. Just gotta make the drop down box more fluid to match the google search boxes. Never used google adsense for search before... does it pay when someone does a search for something.. or after they do a search and click on a link from the results ? |
Nifty idea.
Is there a way to make it so that one search box pulls up both the Google results and your own site's results? |
Hmm... I figured it out how to place the Google Search bar like Throtex did in his preview picture.
IN NAVBAR FIND: Code:
<tr> Code:
<tr> Dunno if this is too simple to post, but just figured someone might ask eventually. BTW - I code in Dreamweaver cause I'm a noob and like the code formatting feature and syntax highlighting, so my 'FIND' coding might be off. If anyone wants to tell me what the original code and spacing for the navbar was, I'd be glad to change my post. |
Hakaslak - None of that coding is in my navbar. It must be the mod you installed for the google search feature itself.
|
Actually, if you do a Search in Templates for "search_menu" you'll see four templates. You'll want to modify FORUMDISPLAY, navbar and SHOWTHREAD to get all three relevant search boxes. Find the area with the popup DIV, copy the rows for the existing search form within it, and add another one directly below that's customized for the Google script.
You can make something like I have done at http://www.volconvo.com |
Ok. What's the point of having the search results in a vb page? If they click on any of the links they are outa there!
|
That IS a good point... kinda counter intuitive...
|
Works great, thanks! :up:
/installed |
Quote:
I just think it looks nice. :) I think this is a fairly recent offering by Google, so maybe more will be possible eventually. And of course, people are free to extend this in other ways. |
Quote:
|
Ahhh..
Well, I guess if they use the Google box, it's etter them them heading straight to Google. My only concern is how to make sure they dont confuse the Google ebox for the real search box. >_< |
Please specify some words or valid user names to search on. There were no matches for those that you specified.
Everytime I received this message.Any idea ? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Your sites working without any problems.What is your navbar settings ? I think wrong code in my navbar.Everytime open search in forum.
|
Finaly works now....
But I cannot find adjust for results.Every pages 10 result...Is this by design ? |
Quote:
My understanding is that the search result integration feature is a fairly new offering from Google, and there are still a few glitches (like the height of the results not following the settings specified in the code you have to paste into the Admin CP options. Google themselves actually provided all the integration code (for a target page) ... I just made it easier to integrate it with vBulletin. Unfortunately, there's not much I can do on my end (and without violating Google's TOS) to make certain things look better. But I do agree ... hopefully Google will keep adding features to this -- it's a very neat tool. :) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Searching on your site causes a vBulletin error that reads, in relevant part: Quote:
The typical culprit appears to be placing the Google search form code inside of the vBulletin search form code. Hakaslak - in your page source, I see that you have a <form> tag to open the vBulletin search, then the <form> tag to open the Google search, then a </form> tag to end the Google search, followed by a </form> tag to close the vBulletin search. These should NOT overlap, and I suspect that anyone experiencing this error is doing the same thing. Move the </form> tag for vBulletin up to before the Google search form, or move the Google search form down outside the </form> tag for the vBulletin form. When you're clicking the "Google Search" button, it is actually sending data to the vBulletin search, rather than my php file. Hope this helps, but I do not intend to support the search box itself. :) |
Can this product perhaps be modified to have a search bar on the results page�
|
Quote:
I envision this: - Admin CP option to turn on/off the search bar in results page - Admin CP text entry box to enter the necessary code (it's customized per AdSense member) for the search bar. That might work. I'm usually pretty busy (hence my unwillingness to formally offer support) (I'm currently at work supposedly "working" right now ;) ) but I can probably get to this. Great idea, btw! If you can't wait for me to get to it, feel free to modify the template this product installs and simply add the search box code to the top of the template. I don't see why that wouldn't work. :) |
Quote:
Thank you very much for noticing! |
OH. I get it. I thought that the form that opens up the vb search was the ajax box that comes out. Didn't really think about it much. LMAO
|
Is it possible to make a seperate search page and use the addon code there ?
Thanks. |
I didn't check your sig ... I just know these things! :ninja: j/k
Glad I could help! :D |
Quote:
This is a separate page for the search results -- though if you don't want it integrated you can just follow Google's instructions. As for the search box ... you can put that anywhere you want! Best is to make a template and call it using misc.php if you want it on its own page. (i.e., this function: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=124749 ) |
I will try this mod today. thanks
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In fact this will help me design my new skin! I'll install when I move to 3.6 Thanks! Barry |
has anyone tried with 3.5 yet?
|
Quote:
hi, i'm an italian boy excuse me for the english.. i have the same problem.....what can i do now? |
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:55 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|