![]() |
[How to] Add custompages to your forum
This is not really a mod, since this is simply a "reminder" of a function build in but not documented. Submitted also to vbulletin.com of course.
If you would like to add custom pages (including header / footer of your forum) do the following: Add a new template in the style of your choice. You can name it whatever you want, it has to have the prefix Code:
custom_ You are then able to call the custompage using http://www.ut2007world.com/misc.php?do=page&template=test2 Change www.ut2007world.com with your domain and the test2 with your template name accordingly. Lets make an example. Admincp > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > In drop down choose Add New Template Name the template for example custom_google Use the following code : Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype] Now use your web-browser and go to http://<domain>/misc.php?do=page&template=google And change the domain to your own. See attached a screenshot how the above example would look like. Also attached a default html code for a template. The page name will be automatically parsed in the navbar. If you would like to have the code displayed for certain usergroups only, you can add one ID Code:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '6'"> Code:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '5' OR $bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '6' OR $bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '7'"> Code:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[userid]"> Example code would be now: Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype] On request: Creating Custom Pages using vbadvanced Anyway, some people would like to add for example flashchat, irc chat or simple iframes including all those modules etc. etc. Some demos : FlashChat Custom Stuff etc. etc. So lets get started. First, you need to create a template. Lets use as exmaple an iframe where google.com runs in it ... Create a new template with the prefix adv_portal_ and name it for example google. Admincp > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > In drop down choose Add New Template http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/4764/2pi5.th.jpg Put in the code Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype] http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/9233/1ao2.th.jpg Now add a new Page which is Template Based http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/2752/2ms5.th.jpg Page Title : What you would like to have displayed in the browser title bar Page Identifier : This is the variable that will be used in the URL to link to this page. For example, if this option is set to 'games', then the link to this page would look like this: /cmps_index.php?page=games Template : adv_portal_google Should look something like http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/1...tledso5.th.jpg You don't have to use the Module Shell Template Options, only if you would like to have a typicall box around the stuff you display including the button to expand / collapse it Now the important stuff : modules There is not really a guideline for it ... The most important modul you need : Custom Page Content If you don't use it - you will get a white page .. But for this example, lets disable all modules in the middle, except the one just mentioned, and some modules on the left and right. You will proparbly have a different module set, but once again : Custom Page content MUST and WILL be there :) http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/4...tledht8.th.jpg Since you named the identifier google - you can browse now to that page using http://<domain>/cmps_index.php?page=google IF you renamed cmps_index.php to index.php - you need to change that of course... Here is a demo : http://www.ut2007world.com/index.php?page=google http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/3...tledep9.th.jpg |
excellent and very useful!
thanks for it. tested and worked |
Glad to hear :) Its a shame that this is not documented even though its a build in option :)
|
utw, just one question tho, what i want that page to be viewed by Registered Members only. Is that possible?
|
That's a great hack thank you.
I too would be interested in knowing if i can modify this to show for selected usergroups :) |
Quote:
Code:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '2'"> If you would like to speficy or usergroupids use Code:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '5' OR $bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '6' OR $bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == '7'"> Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype] There is another solution for this, I simply don't know it... but lemme browse a bit here and on vb.com - I might come up with a solution ... |
That looks good enough for me. Thank you for the clear and thorough response :D
|
Not good for me though - I NEED to know :D :D :D
I will keep you posted of course .. |
Ok, if you use
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[userid]"> instead, you don't have to specify all usergroup ids, still no error though .. |
Ok i wanted guests not to view that page.
So i did: Quote:
Cool! |
Quote:
|
Ok, I was playing around a bit..
If your template would look like Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype] http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/4681/untitledhw6.jpg You can also remove the $bbuserinfo[username] and replace it with something you like or whatever ... Since I am using in the example above <if condition="$bbuserinfo[userid]"> - it will give out an error regardless of the usergoupid |
utw, nice one!
thanks a lot for this one. I am going to use this custom page thing on my vbulletin site. |
Why doesn't vBulletin document things like this -- it's a huge time-saver.
|
I've got to echo what others have said here - this is an outstanding integrated feature of vBulletin that deserves a LOT more attention. Finding this thread has saved me a few hours of coding and testing, and like they say, time is money. Spread the word on this great feature, guys, and many thanks to utw for bringing this up!!! :)
|
How would you change it so in the little nested directory thing showing where you are has a different name than just the template name. Using the example in the first post. It would just say that you were in test2. And that looks a little weird.
Edit: The reason why I am asking is that I want the name to be two separate words, and you can't have spaces...so yeah. |
Added to vbulletin.com too :)
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=197563 Thanks guys for the great responses :) :D |
Quote:
Lets call the template custom_Jeordie015 Here the result : http://www.ut2007world.com/misc.php?...ate=Jeordie015 |
Added instructions (on request) how to use vbadavanced for custom pages and also how to use permissions.
|
Quote:
Create an empty file and use the following code : Code:
<?php Basicially the colored code. Here you can specify the title using more than one word. Now simply call the php file, like http://<domain>/<php file> |
Okay, let me be more specific. If I wanted the page to be for a Top 10 List, how would I be able to call it that with the spaces? In the header, you have the directory structure break down, and if you called the template "top10list," that's how it would look in the header thing, and that doesn't look right.
|
Hello, to check more than 1 or 2 Usergroups i think
Code:
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 2,3,4,5,6)"> |
Quote:
Check out what I mean : http://www.ut2007world.com/top10.php |
Quote:
|
Great tutorial, thank you very much. I'm not using it just yet, but I will be shortly :D
|
Either I'm missing something or you didn't explain how to do what I'm wanting to do. All I'm able to figure out is to make a template called custom_whatever and I'll be able to view that by going to boardurl.com/misc.php?do=page&template=whatever
How exactly would I be able to create something like your top10.php? |
That'd require creating a new PHP file. Psionic Vision has posted a tutorial on doing this in the Articles forum.
|
Quote:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....5&postcount=20 |
i added this hack and it works great but i wanted to know if there was a way to do it as a hard file. like test.php and have the content you need in there.
i tried it your way but i have 2 js scripts i need to be pulled into the page and its not working. what can i do? |
You mean no templates at all ?
Unfortunately my knowledge is a bit limited in how to pull header and footer in a custom file. Maybe this helps: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showp...18&postcount=1 I can search myself too - but so far no idea tbh ... |
Quote:
|
I simply don't get 100% what you want ... You want to use basicially a totall independend script which simply has header and footer from the forum ?
|
<a href="https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=98009" target="_blank">https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=98009</a>
Maybe this helps .. |
edit: made my own thread
|
If you find a way please do me a favour and share your knowledge :) Might be usefull in the future. ...
|
Quote:
this is the site i need it for. http://www.geekscore.com/forums/ still in progress but i should be done with everything in 3 days. www.geekscore.com |
Thanks for the hack! I'll install it right away... :)
|
ok i have a problem users show as log out when i press my custom template
|
Quote:
|
I'm been looking for this info all over, thank you!
One question, I have a script that I need to execute a code (custom_scripthere) and it calls another script page to bring the results code. How I will do that? Script => Results |
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:54 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|