vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   Show Thread Enhancements - Nested Quotes (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=124334)

DJ XtAzY 08-17-2006 10:00 PM

Nested Quotes
 
UPDATE 12/7/06: The hack is updated with CoreIssue's code edit ;) mentioned in the posts. It's more simple and you only add one line to it. Tested on vb3.6.4 so it now works fine!

Difficulty: Extremely Easy
Time take to install: 15 seconds

Version Info
v1.01 Hack updated with CoreIssue simple file edit. Should work with all version of vb now.
v1.0 Initial Release

I made a suggestion on vb.com but it seems like the developers are not interested. But then a nice member rossco2005 helped me out since we both like the idea to have nested quote feature in our boards WHEN we click on the Quote button. Nested quotes are used in phpbb and IB forums. Nested quotes are used in VB's private message area, but for some reason they wont work for the forums.

So let me show you an example on how this works. Let say i made this post.

------Post #1------
There are 11 planets in our solar system
-------------------

And if someone (let say Bot) click on the Quote button and submit a new post it should turn out like this

------Post #2------
Quote:

Originally Posted by XtAzY
There are 11 planets in our solar system

Welcome!
--------------------

But if another person (let say Bot1) hit the quote button for that previous post it will return this

------Post #3------
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bot
No there are 20

You guys are both rong idiots!
--------------------

But instead we want it to turn like this when we click on the quote button

------Post #3-------

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bot
Quote:

Originally Posted by XtAzY
There are 11 planets in our solar system

No there are 20

You guys are both wrong idiots!
--------------------

Get the picture?

So here is the code modification on how to put nested quotes on your forums.

Files to edit: functions.php

In file functions.php, find:

Code:

function strip_quotes($text)
{
        $lowertext = strtolower($text);

Replace with:

Code:

function strip_quotes($text)
{
        return $text;
        $lowertext = strtolower($text);

Easy as cake! Go thank CoreIssue for this easy hack =]

Upgrading from 1.0 to 1.01
Replace the original functions.php from vb and then perform the edits.

Anyways i hope this is useful for peeps who need nest quotes. If someone can make it more advanced, like into a product or plugin, go ahead =]. I was hoping this can be built into the vb admin panel and lets u control how many nested quotes are allow per post, so that u dunt need to edit the file every upgrade or edit the file whenever u want to change the amount of nested quotes.

Selene 08-18-2006 08:29 PM

screenshots?

Davidov06 08-18-2006 08:53 PM

Aye, some screenshots please.

DJ XtAzY 08-18-2006 08:57 PM

haha no need for screenshots but its like this

Quote:

Originally Posted by Davidov06
Quote:

Originally Posted by Selene
screenshots?

Aye, some screenshots please.


Kaezul 08-18-2006 09:22 PM

Very nicely done. I don't understand why Jelsoft didn't do this to begin with. Great job.

utw-Mephisto 08-18-2006 09:36 PM

Very nice one, I just don't like file edits :(

DJ XtAzY 08-18-2006 09:37 PM

me either but thats the only way =[

im have no programming skills other than java =p

.Tim 08-18-2006 10:02 PM

Works great! Sucks that it's a file edit but it's too good of a feature not to do it.

o0Hubba0o 08-18-2006 11:59 PM

I agree that it should of been a default feature. I thought multi quote would of been able to cover this in some way, but oh well. Great job on this, if decide to put it in I'll click the install button for you.

Snake 08-19-2006 10:10 AM

Looking good, will install this soon! ;)

70age 08-19-2006 10:22 AM

Great work!!
I do like it!
Thx,Xtazy

Takkero 08-19-2006 11:35 AM

very nice!!! Thx!! :D

hgb 08-19-2006 04:33 PM

cool :)

installed and thx

Breathex 08-20-2006 05:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by utw-Mephisto
Very nice one, I just don't like file edits :(

same here, sorry. if it would be a product, i would install it.

Jim O 08-28-2006 04:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by o0Hubba0o
I agree that it should of been a default feature. I thought multi quote would of been able to cover this in some way, but oh well. Great job on this, if decide to put it in I'll click the install button for you.

It can, but you'd need to cut and paste the second (and third...) quote into the first.

Like this:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kaezul
Very nicely done. I don't understand why Jelsoft didn't do this to begin with. Great job.
Quote:

Originally Posted by o0Hubba0o
I agree that it should of been a default feature. I thought multi quote would of been able to cover this in some way, but oh well. Great job on this, if decide to put it in I'll click the install button for you.

And Jim's text is here after both of yours...

But it's nifty to have it as a default.

Edit: Installed and works perfectly. See http://worldwartwozone.com/forums/ci....html#post2126 for an example.

DivisionByZero 09-01-2006 10:08 PM

how can this be done for PM's???

Coldhands 09-05-2006 10:55 PM

Quote:

Find:
Code:

while ( ($pos !== false) && ($quote_count <= 2) );


to like let say 4 quotes
Code:

while ( ($pos !== false) && ($quote_count <= 4) );

This didn't seem to do the trick for me. It still only quotes 2 as oppose to 4. What gives?

bluesoul 09-06-2006 02:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coldhands
This didn't seem to do the trick for me. It still only quotes 2 as oppose to 4. What gives?

Having the same issue, here.

Nixonian 09-06-2006 06:03 PM

FWIW:
<AOL>me too</AOL>

Thought, I was too dumb to follow some simple instructions, but it seems there is another factor limiting the count to '2'

Would be nice, if someone could clear that up.

TIA

teneffus 09-06-2006 06:29 PM

it is nice hack..
quotes are being like phpbb!..

pauloo 09-08-2006 06:26 AM

Nice thank you !

CoreIssue 09-17-2006 03:27 PM

I had this in before. Worked find.

But it doesn't work on 3.6.1.

And I really would like it back.

What is with the developers not giving us an option to set our own depths? I have run phpBB and have an SMF on. Both nest, and SMF has the option of not allowing nested.

Gee. Paying for vB you would think we can have an option included in a feebie.

rezapci 09-17-2006 03:44 PM

some screenshots please

silurius 09-23-2006 06:58 PM

Will install when it's a product. Looks great.

Noonster 09-23-2006 07:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coldhands
This didn't seem to do the trick for me. It still only quotes 2 as oppose to 4. What gives?

Having the same problem here!!!

pauloo 09-26-2006 07:50 AM

Very nice ! thanks

Avalon111 09-26-2006 08:29 AM

anyone of you noticed that nested quotes are working in pm's in 3.6.1?

without that modification

pauloo 09-26-2006 08:33 AM

yes fine with 3.6.1

kash2k 09-26-2006 11:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Avalon111
anyone of you noticed that nested quotes are working in pm's in 3.6.1?

without that modification

Worked in older versions too.

Shame this thing is limited to 2 quotes and not the value you set in that one line of code :(

XtAzY, you wanna take a look see and tell us what's wrong?

CoreIssue 10-06-2006 04:02 PM

Now make them work in the posts. Grrrr!

I need that function for my members. We use it 3 or 4 deep on many topics.

Make it able to turn off, for those who don't want it, like they do in SMF.

My comments are really aimed at the vB developers. I don't know what they are thinking to not have it in place. :confused:

Skedoozy 10-06-2006 11:40 PM

I installed it. Would really like to see it work with more than 2 quotes as well. I set mine to 6 and still just get 2. :/

Viper007Bond 10-29-2006 03:13 PM

Thanks so much for this mod! Exactly what I've been looking for! :)

Skedoozy 11-02-2006 09:31 PM

X, you there?

baronvonwalz 11-27-2006 12:53 AM

You know, you can do it alot easier than this.

Find this:

Code:

function strip_quotes($text)
{

And follow it with

Code:

return text;
So it looks like

Code:

function strip_quotes($text)
{return text;


CoreIssue 11-27-2006 01:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by baronvonwalz (Post 1126044)
You know, you can do it alot easier than this.

Find this:

Code:

function strip_quotes($text)
{

And follow it with

Code:

return text;
So it looks like

Code:

function strip_quotes($text)
{return text;


Doesn't work on 3.6.4

You quote a post and all it says is
Quote:

text

baronvonwalz 11-30-2006 10:48 PM

Erm, I'm sorry, I did that wrong.

It should be.

Code:

function strip_quotes($text)
{return $text;


CoreIssue 11-30-2006 11:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by baronvonwalz (Post 1129050)
Erm, I'm sorry, I did that wrong.

It should be.

Code:

function strip_quotes($text)
{return $text;


No sweat. We all miss it a bit at times.

That works. Thanks!

But for clarity of others

Quote:

Find
function strip_quotes($text)
{
Quote:

Replace with
function strip_quotes($text)
{return text;
Leaving that { will give a parse error.

Again, thanks! You do good work!

I only tried this on 3.6.4

Nixonian 12-02-2006 08:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoreIssue (Post 1129066)
No sweat. We all miss it a bit at times.

That works. Thanks!

But for clarity of others
....

And to be really, really sure, don't omit the '$'
So change
PHP Code:

function strip_quotes($text)


to
PHP Code:

function strip_quotes($text)
{return 
$text

And yes, thanks to that, nested quotes work perfectly again. As simple as that :)
Also tested on 3.6.4

CoreIssue 12-02-2006 11:42 PM

Thanks! Trying to help I just created another issue! :confused:

infinityloop 12-03-2006 07:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nixonian (Post 1130273)
And to be really, really sure, don't omit the '$'
So change
PHP Code:

function strip_quotes($text)


to
PHP Code:

function strip_quotes($text)
{return 
$text

And yes, thanks to that, nested quotes work perfectly again. As simple as that :)
Also tested on 3.6.4

Many thanks. works like a charm :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01462 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,836KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (10)bbcode_code_printable
  • (4)bbcode_php_printable
  • (21)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete