vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   AUTOJOIN - Auto-entry in membergroup via field in profile (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=111870)

makaiguy 03-31-2006 10:00 PM

AUTOJOIN - Auto-entry in membergroup via field in profile
 
Here's a little something to give back to this community that has been of such help to me.

With this plugin, you can have a user entered into or removed from a secondary usergroup according to several types of controls that can be placed in the user's profile via custom fields. This acts only on SECONDARY usergroups and will not affect the user's PRIMARY usergroup.

At each login, the plugin will check for the appropriate setting in the user's profile, then add or remove the user from the specified membergroup as appropriate. Note that this does not act instantaneously upon entry of the data in the profile, but requires a new login for this to take effect. [Starting with vB 3.6.4 (maybe earlier, I didn't install anything between 3.5.4 and 3.6.4) this will take effect with one or two page reloads.]

Controls currently available:
1) Password for single usergroup
2) Yes/No choice for single usergroup via radio button
3) Choose one of several usergroups via radio buttons
4) Choose any of several usergroups via multiple checkboxes
Note that you may write your own additional controls and use the two included functions to do the actual insertion into, and removal from, the target usergroups.

Tested with vB 3.5.4, 3.6.4, 3.6.7-PL1, 3.8.7PL3 only.

Full instructions are in the downloadable text file autojoin.txt.

Update log:
  • 1.00 - Initial release
  • 1.01 - Sorts output membergroups numerically plus a few other small changes
  • 1.02 - Rewritten using defined functions for adding to, and removing from, memberbgroups. This should make it easier to follow the logic and to adapt the code for other situations (e.g.checkboxes or radio buttons instead of text profile fields)
  • 1.03 - InGroup() and OutGroup() functions rewritten to make them more useful when dealing with other situations than the somewhat restricted application of entry/exit of specific membergroup via stored password.
  • 1.03.1 - Additional tweaking of InGroup() and OutGroup() functions. Tested extensively and seem to be working as intended. Tested examples of using via radio buttons instead of text field added.
  • 1.04 - Added protection against doing anything re user's current PRIMARY usergroup in secondary usergroup list. Functions renamed to IntoGroup() and OutOfGroup().
  • 19 April 2006 - all code moved from this thread into the downloadable text file.
  • 1.05 - Added control for using multiple checkboxes to choose any of several usergroups.
  • 22 May 2007 - tested with vB 3.6.7-PL1
  • 24 Sep 2012 - tested with vB 3.8.7-PL3

makaiguy 04-02-2006 03:14 AM

[Post reserved fur future use. Control code that was previously here has been moved into the downloadable text file.]

nasser71 04-02-2006 11:54 AM

1st to install and say thanks m8

Murty 04-08-2006 10:50 PM

I dont understand how this works sorry?

makaiguy 04-11-2006 04:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Murty
I dont understand how this works sorry?

The user, by entering the required password in a custom field in his profile, will place himself into a specific user group. If he doesn't have the correct password in this field, it will make sure he is NOT in the usergroup.

This process is run each time the user logs in.

Is that what you're asking?

To make this work, you have to create a custom field in the profile where this password can be entered.

You also need to create a custom $vbphrase that houses the required password value.

GamerzWorld 04-11-2006 08:34 AM

Is it possible to enter them into the moderation of a private usergroup? I would love this but I need to know that the group leader can moderate these users

makaiguy 04-11-2006 11:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GamerzWorld
Is it possible to enter them into the moderation of a private usergroup? I would love this but I need to know that the group leader can moderate these users

If I understand the question...

This just adds the user to the usergroup, the same as if you checked the box for that forum after pulling up his record in the admincp. Whether this usergroup and/or forum require moderation is unaffected by this.

trigon 04-11-2006 11:58 PM

can i use this to divorce the guys from the girls in my board??

bada_bing 04-12-2006 12:43 AM

What if you want to kick a specific user out of the usergroup and he knows the password to get back in?

makaiguy 04-12-2006 03:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bada_bing
What if you want to kick a specific user out of the usergroup and he knows the password to get back in?

Change the password and tell everybody but him ??

If that is a concern, I don't think this plugin will work for you.

If usergroup membership is used only for forum access purposes, you can lock him out of certain forums via access masks.

makaiguy 04-12-2006 03:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trigon
can i use this to divorce the guys from the girls in my board??

I assume you have two membergroups and want to put the user in one and remove from the other depending on their choice in their profile. I guess you could use this as a framework, but it would take some additional coding.

A wouldn't think a password text field is the best way to do this. As long as you're going to be modifying code anyway, a radio button would make more sense.

x_5 04-12-2006 05:08 AM

thanxxxxxxxxxxx

makaiguy 04-12-2006 02:51 PM

Code revised to version 1.02 - see first post in thread.

Rewritten using defined functions for adding to, and removing from, memberbgroups. This should make it easier to follow the logic and to make it easier for you to adapt the code for other situations (e.g. checkboxes or radio buttons instead of text profile fields).

GamerzWorld 04-12-2006 03:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by makaiguy
If I understand the question...

This just adds the user to the usergroup, the same as if you checked the box for that forum after pulling up his record in the admincp. Whether this usergroup and/or forum require moderation is unaffected by this.

Yes but as I am saying, I have several groups not moderated by an admin but by a user. Instead of just having to enter a password and automatically being joined, is it possible that they go into the default vbulletin moderation que in which the admin of the group has to accept there application before they can see it

So say for an example a clan called BobsArmy. Is it possible that BobsArmy can have a password, but once the user enters the password instead of being automatically joined into the BobsArmy usergroup he is added automatically to the application process which is found in the group membership page, allowing a second check by the group leader

makaiguy 04-12-2006 05:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GamerzWorld
Instead of just having to enter a password and automatically being joined, is it possible that they go into the default vbulletin moderation que in which the admin of the group has to accept there application before they can see it

Since I don't use that feature, I can't give you a definitive answer. But my GUESS is it will work exactly the same as if you went into the user's profile via the AdminCP and added him to the forum. If that throws him into the moderation queue then this hack should too, I'd think. If that bypasses the moderation queue, then I'd expect this hack would do the same.

Perhaps someone more familiar with that feature can give a more authoritative answer.

But in that case, as long as it requires moderator intervention anyhow, how would this be an improvement over the standard application process? The whole idea here was to eliminate moderator involvement.

makaiguy 04-12-2006 05:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by makaiguy
I assume you have two membergroups and want to put the user in one and remove from the other depending on their choice in their profile. I guess you could use this as a framework, but it would take some additional coding.

A wouldn't think a password text field is the best way to do this. As long as you're going to be modifying code anyway, a radio button would make more sense.

I've thrown together some code modifications to do this via radio buttons. See the second post in this thread. Again, these modifications are UNTESTED so use at your own risk. [Code no longer in this post - see the download file]

trigon 04-13-2006 03:41 AM

Understand i right, that for my problem i only modify this codes:
Code:

// Add or remove user from secondary usergroups
// according to radio button choice in user's profile
// (Choice of one of several forums)

  global $vbulletin;

// Enter values in the strings below for your forum
  // custom field containing your radio button
    $field = 'fieldX'
  // membergroup number associated with FIRST radio button choice
    $mg[0] = 'XX';                   
  // membergroup number associated with SECOND radio button choice
    $mg[1] = 'YY';
  // add additional radio button choices as needed
                       
// Derive additional needed variables
  $userid = ($vbulletin->userinfo['userid']);                          // userid of user
  $mgarr = explode(',' , (''.$vbulletin->userinfo['membergroupids']));  // current membergroups as array

// Do the work 
  foreach ($mg as $value)
  {
    $iii = 0
    {
      if ($field == pow(2,$iii))
      {
        InGroup($mgarr, $mg[$iii], $userid);
      }
      else
      {
        OutGroup($mgarr, $mg[$iii], $userid);     
      }
      $iii++
    }
  }


GamerzWorld 04-13-2006 07:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by makaiguy
Since I don't use that feature, I can't give you a definitive answer. But my GUESS is it will work exactly the same as if you went into the user's profile via the AdminCP and added him to the forum. If that throws him into the moderation queue then this hack should too, I'd think. If that bypasses the moderation queue, then I'd expect this hack would do the same.

Perhaps someone more familiar with that feature can give a more authoritative answer.

But in that case, as long as it requires moderator intervention anyhow, how would this be an improvement over the standard application process? The whole idea here was to eliminate moderator involvement.

Well the problem is that if the password is cracked then spies can easily gain access. My intention was to change password into Group, which would then allow users to apply for their clans group while registering without having to go to the group membership page and click apply. If you go to the admincp then you can simply tick the box and there in but I want them to go to the group leader for moderation before this ;)

makaiguy 04-14-2006 01:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trigon
Understand i right, that for my problem i only modify this codes:

Edit your info into the code and use it to REPLACE the portion of the original code ABOVE the functions. (In other words, add the functions from the original post to the end of the above code.)

BUT, I'm now trying to get this running on a test system, and there are some syntax errors that I'm working on correcting. (I warned you that this was untested code.) Please check back later.

trigon 04-14-2006 03:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by makaiguy
Edit your info into the code and use it to REPLACE the portion of the original code ABOVE the functions. (In other words, add the functions from the original post to the end of the above code.)

BUT, I'm now trying to get this running on a test system, and there are some syntax errors that I'm working on correcting. (I warned you that this was untested code.) Please check back later.

Here some information for you: i want to check if the user has in "field5" "women", then move him to usergroup "20". If he has "men", let him in this group.
Maybe you can wrote me a plugin, cause its to confusing for me what here is written, sorry.

makaiguy 04-14-2006 05:58 AM

I've updated to version 1.03. When trying to adapt for situations other than the narrow password-in-custom-field control, some modifications were necessary, as the 1.02 code did not deal well with situations where no radio button choice had yet been made by the user.

[S]Code in first post reflects latest version 1.03.[/S]

[S]See also the second post which has been updated with working code to use radio buttons in custom profile field to allow user to select one of several usergroups.[/S]

All Code now included in download file.

makaiguy 04-14-2006 06:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trigon
i want to check if the user has in "field5" "women", then move him to usergroup "20". If he has "men", let him in this group.
Maybe you can wrote me a plugin, cause its to confusing for me what here is written, sorry.

See the second post. The revised code there fits your situation exactly. Set up your custom field in the profile as a single choice radio button, with the two 'options' being 'men' and 'women'.

makaiguy 04-14-2006 03:27 PM

Version 1.03.1 now in place. See first and second posts in thread.

makaiguy 04-16-2006 11:12 PM

Version 1.04 is now in place. It adds a check to prevent modifying the user's PRIMARY usergroup.

trigon 04-18-2006 11:35 PM

If i activate the plugin, then this error comes: Fatal error: Call to undefined function: outgroup() in /home/********l/public_html/forum/global.php(349) : eval()'d code on line 86

If i deactivate, everything looks good.
Btw, the plugin doesnt work for me, maybe you can take a look on it:
I have three fields, one for women (written in german/turkish)
one for men, and one for "no i dont want to give this info", also in german/turkish. The only with a new usergroup is the first (groupid 20)

makaiguy 04-19-2006 03:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trigon
If i activate the plugin, then this error comes: Fatal error: Call to undefined function: outgroup() in /home/********l/public_html/forum/global.php(349) : eval()'d code on line 86

If i deactivate, everything looks good.
Btw, the plugin doesnt work for me, maybe you can take a look on it:
I have three fields, one for women (written in german/turkish)
one for men, and one for "no i dont want to give this info", also in german/turkish. The only with a new usergroup is the first (groupid 20)

Sorry, this is my fault. In 1.04 I changed the function names but failed to update to the new names in the code that called them. Replace the 'Do the work' section with:

PHP Code:

// Do the work  
  // Proceed only if there is a user choice
  
if ($fieldval != '')
  {
    if(
$ug[0] != '')
    {
      
$iii 0;
      
// Check user choice against possible options
      
foreach ($choice_text as $value
      {
          
// If we have a match, add to usergroups
          
if ($fieldval == $choice_text[$iii])
          {
            
$ugarr IntoGroup($ugarr$ug[$iii], $userid);
          } 
          
// If we have no match, remove from usergroups
          
else
          {
            
$ugarr OutOfGroup($ugarr$ug[$iii], $userid);      
          } 
          
$iii++; 
      } 
    }  
  } 

I've edited all three scripts in the first and second posts in the thread with this correction.

Also note that you have a problem with the third option you entered. That should be
Code:

  // THIRD radio button option     
    // Text shown in radio button for option
        $choice_text[2] = 'keine Angabe/Bilgi yok';
    // Associated usergroup number 
        $ug[2] = '2';


trigon 04-19-2006 10:16 PM

Ok, now it works, any hint to make it for the primary usergroup? Cause i want to move the primary usergroup, not the secondary ones.

makaiguy 04-19-2006 10:25 PM

All code has been removed from the first two posts in this thread. The latest versions of everything will always be located in the downloadable text file.

makaiguy 04-19-2006 10:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trigon
Ok, now it works, any hint to make it for the primary usergroup? Cause i want to move the primary usergroup, not the secondary ones.

In AdminCP, when you try to add a person into a secondary usergroup which also happens to be their current primary usergroup it won't let you, so I wrote that same restriction into the code for this plugin.

If you want to change only the primary usergroup, your query needs to update usergroupid instead of membergroupids. Also, since there can only be one primary usergroup, it is a simpler operation because you just reset usergroupid to the new value and don't have to worry about leaving any other primary usergroups alone.

This is untested, but it ought to be at least close to what you need:
PHP Code:

      // Place user in/out of selected single PRIMARY
      // usergroup, according to selection made in profile, via
      // custom radio button field. ver 1.04

      // **************  UNTESTED CODE ****************
      
      // Enter values in the strings below for your forum
        // custom field containing your radio button
           
$radio_field 'fieldX';
        
// FIRST radio button option 
           // Text shown in radio button for option
              
$choice_text[0] = 'Choice1';
           
// Associated usergroup number   
              
$ug[0] = 'XX';                     
         
// SECOND radio button option 
           // Text shown in radio button for option
              
$choice_text[1] = 'Choice2';
           
// Associated usergroup number   
              
$ug[1] = 'YY';                     
        
// add additional radio button choices as needed 
      
      // You don't need to enter anything below here                         
      // Derive additional needed variables
        
$userid = ($vbulletin->userinfo['userid']); 
        
$pgrp $vbulletin->userinfo['usergroupid'])); 
        
$new_pgrp $pgrp;
        
$fieldval $vbulletin->userinfo[$radio_field];        
      
      
// Do the work  
        // Proceed only if there is a user choice
        
if ($fieldval != '')
        {
          if(
$ug[0] != '')
          {
            
$iii 0;
            
// Check user choice against possible options
            
foreach ($choice_text as $value
            {
                
// If we have a match, set as new primary usergroup
                
if ($fieldval == $choice_text[$iii])
                {
                  
$new_pgrp $ug[$iii];
                } 
                
$iii++; 
            } 
          }
          
// if new group different than current group 
          
if ($new_gprp != $pgrp)
          {
            
// Put updated usergroup into database
            
$updatefields $vbulletin->db->query("
              UPDATE user
              SET usergroupid='
$new_gprp'
              WHERE userid=
$usrid
              "
);
          }
        } 


The Chief 04-19-2006 10:54 PM

screen shots?

makaiguy 04-19-2006 11:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Chief
screen shots?

There are no screen shots because nothing is displayed onscreen. It just sets the user's secondary usergroups when he logs on, according to whatever you have set up.

trigon 04-20-2006 12:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by makaiguy
In AdminCP, when you try to add a person into a secondary usergroup which also happens to be their current primary usergroup it won't let you, so I wrote that same restriction into the code for this plugin.

If you want to change only the primary usergroup, your query needs to update usergroupid instead of membergroupids. Also, since there can only be one primary usergroup, it is a simpler operation because you just reset usergroupid to the new value and don't have to worry about leaving any other primary usergroups alone.

This is untested, but it ought to be at least close to what you need:
PHP Code:

      // Place user in/out of selected single PRIMARY
      // usergroup, according to selection made in profile, via
      // custom radio button field. ver 1.04

      // **************  UNTESTED CODE ****************
      
      // Enter values in the strings below for your forum
        // custom field containing your radio button
           
$radio_field 'fieldX';
        
// FIRST radio button option 
           // Text shown in radio button for option
              
$choice_text[0] = 'Choice1';
           
// Associated usergroup number   
              
$ug[0] = 'XX';                     
         
// SECOND radio button option 
           // Text shown in radio button for option
              
$choice_text[1] = 'Choice2';
           
// Associated usergroup number   
              
$ug[1] = 'YY';                     
        
// add additional radio button choices as needed 
      
      // You don't need to enter anything below here                         
      // Derive additional needed variables
        
$userid = ($vbulletin->userinfo['userid']); 
        
$pgrp $vbulletin->userinfo['usergroupid'])); 
        
$new_pgrp $pgrp;
        
$fieldval $vbulletin->userinfo[$radio_field];        
      
      
// Do the work  
        // Proceed only if there is a user choice
        
if ($fieldval != '')
        {
          if(
$ug[0] != '')
          {
            
$iii 0;
            
// Check user choice against possible options
            
foreach ($choice_text as $value
            {
                
// If we have a match, set as new primary usergroup
                
if ($fieldval == $choice_text[$iii])
                {
                  
$new_pgrp $ug[$iii];
                } 
                
$iii++; 
            } 
          }
          
// if new group different than current group 
          
if ($new_gprp != $pgrp)
          {
            
// Put updated usergroup into database
            
$updatefields $vbulletin->db->query("
              UPDATE user
              SET usergroupid='
$new_gprp'
              WHERE userid=
$usrid
              "
);
          }
        } 



So i must only use this one? or must i something replace from the old one?
(the values i must change, that i have understand ;))

makaiguy 04-20-2006 12:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trigon
So i must only use this one? or must i something replace from the old one?
(the values i must change, that i have understand ;))

That one only. Edit in your values, and add the third radio button values as before.

trigon 04-20-2006 02:48 AM

thx, m8, installed it, now i must wait until my girls log in :D

makaiguy 04-20-2006 02:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trigon
thx, m8, installed it, now i must wait until my girls log in :D

You don't have a fake account to test stuff like this on?

trigon 04-20-2006 02:57 AM

tried with a fake account, but it doesnt go. take a look at the code plz:
// Place user in/out of selected single PRIMARY
// usergroup, according to selection made in profile, via
// custom radio button field. ver 1.04

// ************** UNTESTED CODE ****************

// Enter values in the strings below for your forum
// custom field containing your radio button
$radio_field = 'field5';
// FIRST radio button option
// Text shown in radio button for option
$choice_text[0] = 'Weiblich/Bayan';
// Associated usergroup number
$ug[0] = '20';
// SECOND radio button option
// Text shown in radio button for option
$choice_text[1] = 'Männlich/Erkek';
// Associated usergroup number
$ug[1] = '2';
// THIRD radio button option
// Text shown in radio button for option
$choice_text[2] = 'keine Angabe/Bilgi yok';
// Associated usergroup number
$ug[2] = '2';
// add additional radio button choices as needed

// You don't need to enter anything below here
// Derive additional needed variables
$userid = ($vbulletin->userinfo['userid']);
$pgrp = $vbulletin->userinfo['usergroupid']));
$new_pgrp = $pgrp;
$fieldval = $vbulletin->userinfo[$radio_field];

// Do the work
// Proceed only if there is a user choice
if ($fieldval != '')
{
if($ug[0] != '')
{
$iii = 0;
// Check user choice against possible options
foreach ($choice_text as $value)
{
// If we have a match, set as new primary usergroup
if ($fieldval == $choice_text[$iii])
{
$new_pgrp = $ug[$iii];
}
$iii++;
}
}
// if new group different than current group
if ($new_gprp != $pgrp)
{
// Put updated usergroup into database
$updatefields = $vbulletin->db->query("
UPDATE user
SET usergroupid='$new_gprp'
WHERE userid=$usrid
");
}
}

makaiguy 04-20-2006 04:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trigon
tried with a fake account, but it doesnt go. take a look at the code plz:

We've derailed this topic long enough. Taking this to PM.

SHalliday 06-04-2006 10:52 PM

This seems like an awesome hack. So far however I have not been able to get it to work like what I need. After spending the entire day trying different variations I finally decided to ask the experts and post here.

I want members to be able to select one or more public groups to join. I first tried using a multiple-selection checkbox and after not being able to get that to work I setup 7 different single radio button fields and created a different single radio button plugin for each field. That did not work either.

My question is --> Will this work with a multiple-selection checkbox?

I want to create a multiple-selection checkbox and allow members to check off the groups they would like to be a member of. Those that are not checked off, I would like them to be removed from. Can this hack be used to accomplish this?

Appreciate any help and/or assistance you can provide.

Thank you.

makaiguy 06-06-2006 02:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SHalliday
My question is --> Will this work with a multiple-selection checkbox?

Sure. It just requires a custom control to interract with the multiple-selection checkbox field. I'm in the middle of sketching it out now. Will be back in a day or two (or sooner if all goes exceptionally well and nothing blows up on my own bbs in the meanwhile).

SHalliday 06-06-2006 03:09 AM

Thank you very much. Looking forward to your custom control script for multiple-selection checkbox field.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01564 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,932KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (19)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete